DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
After further review of the Restriction Requirement by Examiner Romanowski on 10/27/25 of Groups II and III, the examiner has reconsidered and vacates the restriction of Groups II and III. Therefore, claims 11-15 will be rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (JP2016088770).
With respect to claim 1, Ito et al. teaches method for printing onto containers made of glass (Paragraphs 0002, 0016, 0017) in which said containers in a state heated by hot end coating (Paragraphs 0009, 0017,0049) are transferred to a transport section (Figure 1) and are transported thereon to a printing machine (Paragraph 0041), and
where said containers are cooled down to a printing temperature (Paragraph 0009) in the region of said transport section and/or of said printing machine and are then provided with a printed image in said printing machine by direct printing (Paragraph 0004).
With respect to claim 5, Ito et al. teaches containers are cooled substantially to said print temperature (TD) in a cooling tunnel (Paragraph 0030).
With respect to claim 6, Ito et al. teaches the direct printing comprises the application of a primer layer onto a hot end coating layer produced by the hot end coating (Paragraph 0018).
With respect to claim 7, Ito et al. teaches said printed image is produced by way of inkjet printing (Paragraph 0004).
With respect to claim 10, Ito et al. teaches melt-forming said containers, their hot end coating immediately downstream and the immediately downstream execution of the method according to claim 1 (Paragraph 0012).
With respect to claim 11, Ito et al. teaches Container made of glass comprising: a container body made of silicate glass (Paragraphs 0002, 0016, 0017), a hot end coating layer formed thereon (Paragraphs 0009, 0017,0049), and a printed image applied thereonto in direct printing (Paragraph 0004) directly or by way of an adhesion layer (Paragraphs 0007, 0008, 0011, 0020) including according to the method according to claim 1.
With respect to claim 12, Ito et al. teaches a device for direct printing onto containers made of glass (Paragraphs 0002, 0016, 0017) following their hot end coating (Paragraphs 0009, 0017,0049), comprising:
a printing machine for direct printing onto said containers (Paragraph 0041);
at least one transport section for transport of said hot-end-coated containers from an outfeed region of a hot end coating unit to said printing machine (Paragraphs 0009, 0017,0049); and
a cooling tunnel arranged in the region of said transport section for cooling down said containers (Paragraphs 0009, 0029), heated as a result of the hot end coating, to a printing temperature for direct printing (Paragraphs 0004, 0009).
With respect to claim 13, Ito et al teaches a pretreatment unit arranged in the region of said transport section (Paragraphs 0009, 0017,0049) and/or said of printing machine for preparing a coating layer produced on said containers with hot end coating by way of plasma treatment and/or flame treatment and/or for spraying on an adhesion layer for the respective subsequent direct printing.
With respect to claim 15, Ito et al. teaches device for the production of containers made of glass (Paragraphs 0002, 0016, 0017) comprising said device according to claim 12 and upstream thereof a glass machine for melt-forming said containers and a downstream hot end coating unit for producing a hot end coating layer on said containers (Paragraphs 0009, 0017, 0049, Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JP2016088770) in view of Gertlowski et al. (WO 2017032553).
With respect to claim 2, Ito et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of containers are transported separated and at a distance throughout from one another from an infeed region of said transport section to the direct printing.
Ito et al. teaches a direct printing machine that provides containers (2) that are transported separated and at a distance throughout from one another (Figure 1) from an infeed region (6) of said transport section to the direct printing (5, 51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Ito et al. to transport containers separated and at a distance throughout from one another from an infeed region of said transport section to the direct printing as taught by Chisholm et al. for the purpose of ensuring the containers are conveyed in a constant manner.
With respect to claim 3, Gertlowski et al. teaches where said containers (2) are guided and/or held on said transport section (6, 7), while leaving a lateral wall region free that is provided for said printed image (Figure 1).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JP2016088770) in view of Chisholm et al. (US Publication 2020/0346971).
With respect to claim 4, Ito et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of where said containers have at least one rubbing edge formed from glass which keeps lateral wall regions of said containers for receiving said printed image at a distance from one another when said containers contact each other, or a rubbing edge corresponding functionally in this regard is applied by the direct printing.
Chisholm et al. teaches containers have at least one rubbing edge (12A, 12B) formed from glass which keeps lateral wall regions of said containers for receiving said printed image at a distance from one another when said containers contact each other (Paragraph 002, Figure 1D), or a rubbing edge corresponding functionally in this regard is applied by the direct printing (12A, 12B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Ito et al. since it would require obvious substitution of a known container with a container that has at least one rubbing edge formed from glass which keeps lateral wall regions of said containers as taught by Chisholm et al. for the purpose of protecting the transport of the containers.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JP2016088770) in view of Lauterbach et al. (DE 102013215637).
With respect to claim 8, Ito et al. teaches the claimed invention including coating a container however does explicitly disclose the direct printing comprises the application of a transparent protective layer onto said printed image.
Lauterbach et al. teaches the application (501) of a transparent protective layer onto said printed image (Paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Ito et al. since it would require obvious substitution of a known coating station with a coating station that provides a protective layer as taught by Lauterbach et al. for the purpose of improving print quality.
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (JP2016088770) in view of Hahn et al. (US Publication 2022/0063926).
With respect to claim 9, Ito et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception including transporting containers however is silent with respect to the containers transported separated are combined by a machine downstream of the direct printing to form packs and/or by palletizing for multiple transport.
Hahn et al. teaches a direct printing machine that transports containers separated are combined by a machine downstream of the direct printing to form packs and/or by palletizing for multiple transport (Paragraphs 0002, 0012, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Ito et al. to provide a machine that form packs and/or pallets as taught by Hahn et al. for the purpose of easily transporting containers.
With respect to claim 14, Ito et al. teaches the claimed invention with the exception of said transport section comprises grippers that are movable in the direction of transport for a neck finish portion and/or base portion of said containers, including while leaving free a wall region of said containers that is intended for said printed image.
Hahn et al. teaches a direct printing machine that provides a transport section comprises grippers (6.2) that are movable in the direction of transport for a neck finish portion (Paragraph 0020) and/or base portion of said containers (Figure 2A), including while leaving free a wall region of said containers that is intended for said printed image.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the present invention was made to modify the invention taught by Ito et al. to provide a machine with a transport section with grippers as taught by Hahn et al. for the purpose of easily picking up individual containers for transport.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Weikl et al. (WO 2022242960) teach a direct printing machine.
/Marissa Ferguson-Samreth/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852