Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 29 September, 2025 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claim objection(s) regarding claim 15 previously set forth has been overcome in view of the amendment to the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 29 September, 2025 regarding claim(s) 15 has been fully considered and is not considered persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks filed 29 September, 2025 regarding claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-14 has been fully considered but is moot in view of a new ground of rejection.
Applicant’s argument: “Har-Zion does not teach that transmitter and receiver elements should not be allocated to a service once the proportion of elements available for a service is reached, as positively claimed in these claims (the receiver elements used for data transmission can be below the determined proportion to be used for data transmission)”.
Examiner’s response: With respect to claim 15, the Examiner would like to note that Har-Zion teaches that the processor identifies an event that requires configuration modification and responses accordingly. The processor may allocate a RF chain to the given RF band or de-allocate a RF chain from the given RF band. Additionally, the processor may allocate one or more RF chains for performing the desired operation (e.g., implementing spectrum sensing and/or radar detection) in the given RF band [0077]. Additionally, claim 15 does not currently recite the feature(s) in the Applicant’s remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0020425 A1 previously cited “ZHANG”), in view of Har-Zion et al. (US 2020/0077412 A1 previously cited “HAR-ZION”), and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0143284 A1 newly cited “WANG”).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG discloses (Examiner’s note: What ZHANG does not disclose is ) a method of detecting motion of an object using a wireless transceiver device (a wireless signal multi-antenna transmitting-receiving system and a processing server (a processing system) [0046]), the method including the steps of
transmitting wireless signals from a transmitter element in the transceiver device, the signals being reflected by the object (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
receiving the signals reflected by the object in a receiver element in the transceiver device (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
estimating at least one channel characteristic from the reflected signals (the receiving terminal collecting channel state information (CSI) on different antennas [0050])
applying time and/or frequency domain analysis to the estimated channel characteristic (calculating the frequency spectrum using the MUSIC [0054]). It is further noted that the claim is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
detecting any variation in the estimated channel characteristic over time (a path length of the wireless signal reflected by the moving object varies with the motion of the object, which results in time delay variation represented on the phase of the CSI [0012])
detecting motion of the object based on the detected variation (therein, a rate of the CSI phase variation represents the magnitude of the Doppler frequency shift, and a direction of the phase variation (increased or decreased) represents a direction of the Doppler frequency shift. The wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object has the strongest energy in all the dynamic paths, thus a frequency value of highest peak in the frequency spectrum corresponds to the Doppler frequency shift of the wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object [0012])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, HAR-ZION teaches that various types of events may require a modification to the currently used operational configuration. The processor itself identifies an event that requires configuration modification and responses accordingly. Example events are: The communication performance of the WLAN device with a remote device has degraded below a required quality of service level. The communication performance may be improved by increasing the number of RF chains allocated to the relevant RF band. The processor may allocate a RF chain to the given RF band or de-allocate a RF chain from the given RF band. Additionally, the processor may allocate, at least temporarily, one or more RF chains for performing the desired operation (e.g., implementing spectrum sensing and/or radar detection) in the given RF band [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of HAR-ZION, because doing so would allow for efficient utilization of computational resources, as recognized by HAR-ZION.
ZHANG, as modified by HAR-ZION, discloses the invention as set forth above, but does not disclose that wherein the adjusting tunes the sensitivity of the motion detection.
In a same or similar field of endeavor, WANG teaches that a number of antennae is then selected for AoA determination in the embodiment. The antennae are selected to steer the sensitivity of the selected antennae such as to maximise their sensitivity in an area in which the presence of a transmitter is suspected [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of WANG, because doing so would improve localization and processing time, as recognized by WANG.
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG/ HAR-ZION/ WANG discloses a method according to claim 1 wherein the time and/or frequency domain analysis include one or more of: a time impulse response and/or Multi-Signal-Classification-like estimators (calculating the frequency spectrum using the MUSIC [ZHANG 0054], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1). It is further noted that the claim is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG/ HAR-ZION/ WANG discloses a method according to claim 1, further including the step of determining a proportion of the transmission and reception capacity of the transmitter and receiver elements to be used for motion detection and a proportion to be used for data transmission (various types of events may require a modification to the currently used operational configuration. The processor itself identifies an event that requires configuration modification and responses accordingly. Example events are: The communication performance of the WLAN device with a remote device has degraded below a required quality of service level, e.g., because of varying channel conditions. The communication performance may be improved by increasing the number of RF chains allocated to the relevant RF band. The WLAN device operates in a multi-user mode, and a communication link with a remote device over a given RF band is established or terminated. In this case, the processor may allocate a RF chain to the given RF band or de-allocate a RF chain from the given RF band. Additionally, the processor may allocate, at least temporarily, one or more RF chains for performing the desired operation (e.g., implementing spectrum sensing and/or radar detection) in the given RF band [HAR-ZION 0077], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG/ HAR-ZION/ WANG discloses a method according to claim 6 further including the step of dynamically adjusting said proportions based on one or more of: the demands for data transmission, the amount of moving objects detected, the number of devices in wireless communication with the wireless transceiver device (the processor itself identifies an event that requires configuration modification and responses accordingly. Example events are: The communication performance of the WLAN device with a remote device has degraded below a required quality of service level, e.g., because of varying channel conditions. The communication performance may be improved by increasing the number of RF chains allocated to the relevant RF band [HAR-ZION 0077], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 6). It is further noted that the claim is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG discloses a wireless transceiver device having a transmitter element, a receiver element and a controller (a wireless signal multi-antenna transmitting-receiving system and a processing server (a processing system) [0046]), wherein:
the transmitter element is arranged to transmit wireless signals, which are reflected by an object (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
the receiver element is arranged to receive the reflected wireless signals (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
and the controller is arranged to:
estimate at least one channel characteristic from the reflected signals (the receiving terminal collecting channel state information (CSI) on different antennas [0050])
apply a time and/or frequency domain analysis to the estimated channel characteristic (calculating the frequency spectrum using the MUSIC [0054]). It is further noted that the claim is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
detect any variation in the estimated channel characteristic over time and thereby detect motion of the object based on the detected variation (a path length of the wireless signal reflected by the moving object varies with the motion of the object, which results in time delay variation represented on the phase of the CSI. Therein, a rate of the CSI phase variation represents the magnitude of the Doppler frequency shift, and a direction of the phase variation (increased or decreased) represents a direction of the Doppler frequency shift. The wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object has the strongest energy in all the dynamic paths, thus a frequency value of highest peak in the frequency spectrum corresponds to the Doppler frequency shift of the wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object [0012])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, HAR-ZION teaches that various types of events may require a modification to the currently used operational configuration. The processor itself identifies an event that requires configuration modification and responses accordingly. Example events are: The communication performance of the WLAN device with a remote device has degraded below a required quality of service level. The communication performance may be improved by increasing the number of RF chains allocated to the relevant RF band. The processor may allocate a RF chain to the given RF band or de-allocate a RF chain from the given RF band. Additionally, the processor may allocate, at least temporarily, one or more RF chains for performing the desired operation (e.g., implementing spectrum sensing and/or radar detection) in the given RF band [0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of HAR-ZION, because doing so would allow for efficient utilization of computational resources, as recognized by HAR-ZION.
ZHANG, as modified by HAR-ZION, discloses the invention as set forth above, but does not disclose that wherein the adjusting tunes the sensitivity of the motion detection.
In a same or similar field of endeavor, WANG teaches that a number of antennae is then selected for AoA determination in the embodiment. The antennae are selected to steer the sensitivity of the selected antennae such as to maximise their sensitivity in an area in which the presence of a transmitter is suspected [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of WANG, because doing so would improve localization and processing time, as recognized by WANG.
Claims 13-14 correspond to claims 6-7 sufficiently in scope and therefore are similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG, in view of HAR-ZION and WANG, and further in view of Fang et al. (US 2017/0078076 A1 newly cited “FANG”).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG/ HAR-ZION/ WANG discloses a method according to claim 1,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, FANG teaches full-duplex MIMO radio station [0093 & FIG. 8].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of FANG, because doing so would improve system efficiency and resource allocation.
Claim 10 corresponds to claim 3 sufficiently in scope and therefore is similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG, in view of HAR-ZION and WANG, and further in view of Cronie et al. (US 2019/0273540 A1 newly cited “CRONIE”).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG/ HAR-ZION/ WANG discloses a method according to claim 1,
In a same or similar field of endeavor, CRONIE teaches that when device 1 transmits data to neighboring device 11 using beamforming, it can be assumed that device 1 transmits a sinusoidal signal from each of the elements 17a-p of antenna array 13. In a practical communication system, narrow-band communications, where the modulated carrier signal resembles a sinusoidal signal, may for example be used [0079].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of CRONIE, because using carrier signals is simply applying a known technique to a known wireless device ready for improvement to yield predictable result of data transmission.
Claim 12 corresponds to claim 5 sufficiently in scope and therefore is similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG, in view of HAR-ZION.
Regarding claim 15, ZHANG discloses a wireless transceiver device having a transmitter element, a receiver element and a controller (a wireless signal multi-antenna transmitting-receiving system and a processing server (a processing system) [0046]), wherein:
the transmitter element is arranged to transmit wireless signals, which are reflected by an object (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
the receiver element is arranged to receive the reflected wireless signals (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
and the controller is arranged to:
estimate at least one channel characteristic from the reflected signals (the receiving terminal collecting channel state information (CSI) on different antennas [0050])
apply a time and/or frequency domain analysis to the estimated channel characteristic, the time and/or frequency domain analysis including one or more of: a time impulse response and/or Multi-Signal-Classification-like estimators (calculating the frequency spectrum using the MUSIC [0054]). It is further noted that the claim is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
detect any variation in the estimated channel characteristic over time and thereby detect motion of the object based on the detected variation (a path length of the wireless signal reflected by the moving object varies with the motion of the object, which results in time delay variation represented on the phase of the CSI. Therein, a rate of the CSI phase variation represents the magnitude of the Doppler frequency shift, and a direction of the phase variation (increased or decreased) represents a direction of the Doppler frequency shift. The wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object has the strongest energy in all the dynamic paths, thus a frequency value of highest peak in the frequency spectrum corresponds to the Doppler frequency shift of the wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object [0012])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, HAR-ZION teaches that various types of events may require a modification to the currently used operational configuration. The processor itself identifies an event that requires configuration modification and responses accordingly. Example events are: The communication performance of the WLAN device with a remote device has degraded below a required quality of service level. The communication performance may be improved by increasing the number of RF chains allocated to the relevant RF band. The processor may allocate a RF chain to the given RF band or de-allocate a RF chain from the given RF band. Additionally, the processor may allocate, at least temporarily, one or more RF chains for performing the desired operation (e.g., implementing spectrum sensing and/or radar detection) in the given RF band [0077]. It is further noted that the claim is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of HAR-ZION, because doing so would allow for efficient utilization of computational resources, as recognized by HAR-ZION.
Regarding claim 16, ZHANG discloses a method of detecting motion of an object using a wireless transceiver device (a wireless signal multi-antenna transmitting-receiving system and a processing server (a processing system) [0046]), the method including the steps of:
transmitting wireless signals from a transmitter element in the transceiver device, the signals being reflected by the object (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
receiving the signals reflected by the object in a receiver element in the transceiver device (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
estimating at least one channel characteristic from the reflected signals (the receiving terminal collecting channel state information (CSI) on different antennas [0050])
applying time and/or frequency domain analysis to the estimated channel characteristic (calculating the frequency spectrum using the MUSIC [0054]). It is further noted that the claim is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
detecting any variation in the estimated channel characteristic over time (a path length of the wireless signal reflected by the moving object varies with the motion of the object, which results in time delay variation represented on the phase of the CSI [0012])
and detecting motion of the object based on the detected variation (therein, a rate of the CSI phase variation represents the magnitude of the Doppler frequency shift, and a direction of the phase variation (increased or decreased) represents a direction of the Doppler frequency shift. The wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object has the strongest energy in all the dynamic paths, thus a frequency value of highest peak in the frequency spectrum corresponds to the Doppler frequency shift of the wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object [0012])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, HAR-ZION teaches that various types of events may require a modification to the currently used operational configuration. The processor itself identifies an event that requires configuration modification and responses accordingly. Example events are: The communication performance of the WLAN device with a remote device has degraded below a required quality of service level. The communication performance may be improved by increasing the number of RF chains allocated to the relevant RF band. The processor may allocate a RF chain to the given RF band or de-allocate a RF chain from the given RF band. Additionally, the processor may allocate, at least temporarily, one or more RF chains for performing the desired operation (e.g., implementing spectrum sensing and/or radar detection) in the given RF band [0077]. It is further noted that the claim “wherein the number of transmitter and receiver elements that are used to detect motion is equal to or below the determined proportion to be used for motion detection, and the number of transmitter and receiver elements that are used for data transmission is equal to or below the determined proportion to be used for data transmission” is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of HAR-ZION, because doing so would allow for efficient utilization of computational resources, as recognized by HAR-ZION.
Regarding claim 17, ZHANG discloses a wireless transceiver device having a transmitter element, a receiver element and a controller (a wireless signal multi-antenna transmitting-receiving system and a processing server (a processing system) [0046]), wherein:
the transmitter element is arranged to transmit wireless signals, which are reflected by an object (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
the receiver element is arranged to receive the reflected wireless signals (determining a Doppler frequency shift of a wireless signal directly reflected by a moving object [0046])
and the controller is arranged to:
estimate at least one channel characteristic from the reflected signals (the receiving terminal collecting channel state information (CSI) on different antennas [0050])
apply a time and/or frequency domain analysis to the estimated channel characteristic (calculating the frequency spectrum using the MUSIC [0054]). It is further noted that the claim is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
detect any variation in the estimated channel characteristic over time and thereby detect motion of the object based on the detected variation (a path length of the wireless signal reflected by the moving object varies with the motion of the object, which results in time delay variation represented on the phase of the CSI. Therein, a rate of the CSI phase variation represents the magnitude of the Doppler frequency shift, and a direction of the phase variation (increased or decreased) represents a direction of the Doppler frequency shift. The wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object has the strongest energy in all the dynamic paths, thus a frequency value of highest peak in the frequency spectrum corresponds to the Doppler frequency shift of the wireless signal directly reflected by the moving object [0012])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, HAR-ZION teaches that various types of events may require a modification to the currently used operational configuration. The processor itself identifies an event that requires configuration modification and responses accordingly. Example events are: The communication performance of the WLAN device with a remote device has degraded below a required quality of service level. The communication performance may be improved by increasing the number of RF chains allocated to the relevant RF band. The processor may allocate a RF chain to the given RF band or de-allocate a RF chain from the given RF band. Additionally, the processor may allocate, at least temporarily, one or more RF chains for performing the desired operation (e.g., implementing spectrum sensing and/or radar detection) in the given RF band [0077]. It is further noted that the claim “wherein the number of transmitter and receiver elements that are used to detect motion is equal to or below the determined proportion to be used for motion detection, and the number of transmitter and receiver elements that are used for data transmission is equal to or below the determined proportion to be used for data transmission” is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHANG to include the teachings of HAR-ZION, because doing so would allow for efficient utilization of computational resources, as recognized by HAR-ZION.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hailey R Le/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 December 15, 2025
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648