DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 2 and 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 12, 2026.
Claims 3-7, 14-20 have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 3, 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more.
Claim 3 recites a composition comprising at least one bacterium of Sphingomonas xenophaga species; claim 5 is directed to the composition of claim 3 and further requires spring water. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because Sphingomonas xenophaga is a naturally occurring organism found at least in the natural spring water in la Roche Posay. See Berardesca et al. “Randomized, split-face study of a dermocosmetic cream containing Sphingobioma xenophaga extract and Neurosensine in subjects with rosacea associated with erythema and sensitive skin”, Skin Res Technol. 2024. As the spring water comprising the bacteria is a naturally occurring composition, the claims lack additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Similarly, claim 14 is directed to a composition comprising at least one bacterium of Sphingomonas xenophaga whose strain is registered under accession number CNCM I-5455. This strain from the bacterium found in the thermal spring water of La Roche-Posay, and the claim is rejected for the same reason indicated above. See Hilaire et al. “Evaluation of the effect of an extract of Sphingomonas xenophaga present in a Thermal Spring Water in the management of sensitive skin associated with cutaneous vascular disorder”, Int J Cosmet Sci 2025; 47; 1019, Materials and Methods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
In this case, claims are rejected for lack of an enabling disclosure without access to a specific biological material as the specification fails to meet the conditions of deposit set forth in 37 C.F.R. 1.801 – 1.809.
Claim 14 depends on claim 2, which recites “the strain of Sphingomonas xenophaga .. . registered under accession number CNCM I-5455”. The specification discloses that the strain has been “registered according to the Budapest Treaty, on November 21, 2019, with the Collection Nationale de Culture de Microorganismes ((CNCM), Paris, France) under the number CNCM 1-5455 by L'Oreal, 101 Avenue Gustave Eiffel, 37390 Notre Dame d'Oe.” See spec. p. 8, lines 5-8. However, mere reference to a deposit or the biological material itself in any document or publication does not necessarily mean that the deposited biological material is readily available. See MPEP 2404.01. Furthermore, there is no statement regarding the viability of the material or irrevocable public availability upon granting of a patent. See MPEP 2402-2410.
The specification fails to disclose that the biological material is known and readily available to the public; since there is no disclosure to enable public access to the specific biological material used in the present invention, a personal skilled in the art could not make or use the invention defined in and commensurate with the claims. See MPEP 2164.06 (a), II.
Claims 3-7 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 depends on claim 1 and recites “[a] composition comprising an extract according to claim 1 or at least one bacterium of Sphingomonas xenophaga species as described therein.” (emphasis inserted) As the claimed subject matter in claim 1 is specifically limited to “[a]n extract of bacteria of Sphingomonas xenophaga species” only, the alternative limitation of claim 3, which recites the at least one bacterium, the source of the extract, improperly broadens the scope of the dependent claim.
Similarly, claim 14 depends on claim 2 and recites “[a] composition comprising an extract according to claim 2 or at least one bacterium of Sphingomonas xenophaga species as described therein.” (emphasis inserted). Since the base claim is directed the extract of a specific strain, the scope of the dependent claim which recites the bacterium is broader than that of the base claim; claim 14 is an improper dependent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
The remaining claims are rejected for depending on the improper dependent claim, claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3, 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention.
As indicated above, the thermal spring water from La Roche-Posay, France naturally contains the bacteria of Sphingomonas xenophaga species.
Claims 3, 5-7, 14, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin et al. (US 6806070 B1, published on October 19, 2004) (“Martin” hereunder).
Martin discloses a cosmetic composition comprising La Roche-Posay thermal spring water, which naturally and inherently contains the bacteria of Sphingomonas xenophaga, according to Berardesca. See the present claims 3 and 5.
Regarding the present claims 6, 7, 17, 19 and 20, the disclosed composition contains glycerol (water-miscible solvent), and additives including self-emulsifiable glycerol monostearate, preservatives, etc.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN 105524870 A, published on April 27, 2016).
Zhang discloses a preparation product comprising a compound microorganism bacterium agent with an auxiliary material according to a weight ratio 1 to 4, wherein the comound microorganism bacterium agent is prepared by mixing trichoderma aureoviride, penicillium ochrochloron, bacillus mucilaginosus, sphingomonas xenophaga, bacillus licheniformis, alcaligenes faecalis and saccharomyces cerevisiae according to a volume ratio of 4 to 3 to 2 to 7 to 1 to 3 to 2. See translation, abstract. In this case, the concentration of spingomonas xenophaga in the preparation product would be about 6.36 %. See the present claim 4.
Zhang further teaches that the auxiliary material can be liquid organic solvent, vegetable oils, mineral oil or water, or macromolecular compound which can be polyvinyl alcohol or polyglycol. See full translation, p. 5, bridging paragraph; the present claims 6 and 16. Other bacterium agents as active ingredients present in the composition would meet the present claims 7 and 18.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GINA C JUSTICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617