Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on October 6th, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on October 6th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 states “additionally comprising” while claim 1 states “consisting of”. Claim 4 does not further limit claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minty (WO 2018222545 A1).
With regard to claim 1 and claim 2, Minty discloses a polymer rheology modifier (see Abstract) which may be used in household or industrial cleaners (see Claim 11). Minty further discloses a crosslinked polymer composed of D,L-y-poly(glutamate) with ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether as a cross linker (see Example 1 and [0037]). Minty further discloses the composition may comprise a surfactant (see [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the crosslinked polymer composed of D,L-y-poly(glutamate) with ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether as a cross linker as this is described in Example 1 of Minty.
With regard to claim 3, Minty discloses the crosslinking bond ranging from 1 cross link bond per 10 (10mol%) amino acid monomers to 1 per 50 (2mol%) (see [0035]).
With regard to claim 7, Minty discloses the poly(amino acid) as having a concentration of 1g/L to 100g/L in the aqueous composition (see Claim 10).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minty (WO 2018222545 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Tang (US 20150337236 A1).
With regard to claim 8, Minty discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Minty fails to disclose the detersive surfactant as chosen from anionic, cationic, amphoteric or nonionic detersive surfactants.
Tang discloses a liquid laundry detergent (see Abstract) comprising a surfactant (see [0030]) and a rheology modifier (see [0052]). Tang further discloses the anionic surfactants are known in the art of laundry detergents (see [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the anionic surfactant of Tang in the composition of Minty as Minty discloses surfactants. Anionic surfactants are a type of surfactant. Further, Tang discloses that anionic surfactants are known in the art of laundry detergents.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is Miao (“Synthesis and characterization of hydrophobically modified derivatives of polysaccharides”). Miao discloses the synthesis of polysaccharides. Miao further discloses modified hydroxypropyl guar (HPG) (page 43). Miao further teaches modifications comprising epoxides containing long alkyl chains as exhibiting remarkable increase of viscosity compared to initial guar (see page 43). Miao further teaches such polymers as useful as thickening agents for aqueous systems (see page 43).
Conclusion
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761