Election/Restrictions
Claims 13 and 20 remain in the application as withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: In each of claims 1 and 14 the first occurrence of “second region” lacks antecedent bases and the next occurrence is a double inclusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haines (US 9,194,412). Haines discloses a fastening collar (14) comprising: a first collar end (34); a second collar end (32); an elongate portion between the ends with a first region at the first end, a second region at the second end and an inner surface (40) between the ends; the second end region includes a flange (36); the first region includes a taper (50b) of 15° relative to the axis (column 3, lines 17-19) which is within the claimed range; the distance of the first and second regions are within the claimed range (Fig. 5); the collar is made of metal (column 1, lines 56-60); a pin (10) is disclosed with a threaded region (12); the fastener would be capable of installation in a transportation and/or building component; the pin diameter is disclosed can be within the claimed range (column 4, paragraph beginning line 4); wherein the tapered first region consists of a reduced diameter relative to a diameter (D1) of the elongated portion between the regions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haines (US 9,194,412) in view of Nordyke (US 4,921,384). Haines discloses a fastening collar as described above but does not disclose the collar end extends away from the longitudinal axis at a non-perpendicular angle. Nordyke discloses a fastening collar similar to Haines including a second collar end but in the embodiment shown in Fig. 6 discloses the second collar end extends away from a longitudinal axis at a first angle relative to an angle perpendicular to the axis; the perpendicular angle can be equated to the surface of the substrate 42c where it is clearly shown to be at least 1 degree, at least 5 degrees and less than 30 degrees. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the flange disclosed in Haines with the second collar end extending away from the longitudinal axis at a non-perpendicular angle as disclosed in Nordyke because Nordyke teaches it as an alternative a flange (Fig. 1) in the same field of endeavor.
In regards to claim 2-4, the examiner maintains that the first angle is shown to be within the claimed ranges. But to possibly expedite the prosecution, the claimed ranges would alternatively have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Nordyke disclose the angle is not critical and can be varied for different applications. As described in Nordyke the distance X which determines the first angle needs only to be greater than ½Y so it can be made to something within the claimed ranges depending on the desired high pre-assemble initial clamp force of a particular application (column 10, line 30 through column 12, line 26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schuster (US 2,955,505) teaches another example the of a fastener collar with a tapered second end smaller than an elongate portion.
Applicant’s remarks have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejections. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675