Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2020-0170000, filed on 12/08/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hyun et al. (US 2020/0377492 A1, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on 06/08/2023, hereafter “Hyun”).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claim 1, Hyun discloses Compound 31 which reads on Applicant’s Formula I (shown below),
wherein:
Ar is an aryl group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) substituted with four fluorine atoms and one cyano group, m is 1,
L is an unsubstituted arylene group having 6 carbon atoms, n is 1,
R1 and R2 are each represented by Structural Formula 1 wherein,
X is O,
Z is CR,
R are each hydrogen,
R3 is linked to Formula 1 at the R1 and R2 positions.
Regarding Claim 2, Compound 31 comprises Structural Formula 1 which is represented by Structural Formula 2 (shown below),
wherein:
X is O,
Z is CR,
R are each hydrogen,
R3 is linked to Formula 1 at the R1 and R2 positions.
Regarding Claim 3, Ar is substituted with four halogen groups (fluorine) and one cyano group, while L, R, and R3 each have no substituents.
Claims 1–3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (CN 111777602 A, provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on 06/08/2023, hereafter “Zhou”). An English translation was provided in this office action.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou discloses Compound 23 which reads on Applicant’s Formula I (shown below),
wherein:
Ar is an aryl group having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) substituted with one cyano group, m is 1,
L is a single bond, n is 0,
R1 and R2 are each represented by Structural Formula 1 wherein,
X is S,
Z is CR,
R are each either hydrogen or linked to Formula 1 at the R1 and R2 positions,
R3 is an alkyl group having 3 carbon atoms (tert-butyl).
Regarding Claim 2, Compound 23 comprises Structural Formula 1 which is represented by Structural Formula 2 (shown below),
wherein:
X is S,
Z is CR,
R are each either hydrogen or linked to Formula 1 at the R1 and R2 positions,
R3 is an alkyl group having 3 carbon atoms (tert-butyl).
Regarding Claim 3, Ar is substituted with one cyano group, while L, R, and R3 each have no substituents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Hyun et al. (US 2020/0377492 A1) as applied to claims 1–3 above.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Hyun teaches organic electroluminescent compounds which is employed as a material in at least one layer of an electroluminescent device, achieving high luminous efficiency and quantum efficiency [0008]. Specifically, Hyuan teaches example electroluminescent devices comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode, wherein the organic electroluminescent compound taught by Hyun is used as a host material [0116] – [0117].
However, Hyun does not disclose an exemplified device comprising Compound 31.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound 31 as a host material in the organic electroluminescent devices taught by Hyun, because it would have been choosing between the exemplified compounds of Hyun, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as a host material in the light emitting layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Hyun and possessing the benefits taught by Hyun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising Compound 31 having the benefits taught by Hyun in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The resulting organic electroluminescent device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer comprises Compound 31 as a host material.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Hyun teaches a capping layer may be formed under the first electrode or on the second electrode [0044]. Hyun further teaches that compounds of present intention have a relatively high refractive index, and can therefore increase the luminous efficiency of an organic electroluminescent device if used in a capping layer [0045]. Additionally, Hyun teaches devices including an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, electron blocking layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, a cathode, and a capping layer which comprises a compound of present invention in the capping layer [0123] – [0124].
However, Hyun does not disclose an exemplified device comprising Compound 31 in a capping layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound 31 in the capping layer of the organic electroluminescent devices taught by Hyun, because it would have been choosing between the exemplified compounds of Hyun, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as a capping material in the capping layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Hyun and possessing the benefits taught by Hyun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising Compound 31 in the capping layer having the benefits taught by Hyun in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The resulting organic electroluminescent device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, a cathode, and a capping layer which comprises Compound 31.
Regarding Claim 7, Hyun teaches that having a compound of present invention in at least one organic layer of an organic electroluminescent device, such as a light emitting layer, a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, an electron blocking layer, and/or a capping layer ensures high luminous efficiency and quantum efficiency [0011].
However, Hyun does not disclose an exemplified device comprising Compound 31 in an electron transport layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound 31 in the electron transport layer, because it would have been choosing between light emitting layer, a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, an electron blocking layer, and/or a capping layer, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the electron transport material in the electron transport layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Hyun and possessing the benefits taught by Hyun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising Compound 31 in the electron transport layer having the benefits taught by Hyun in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The resulting organic electroluminescent device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises Compound 31 in the electron transport layer.
Regarding Claim 4, Compound 31 is nearly identical to Applicant’s Compound 26, however Compound 31 is substituted by four fluorine atoms.
Compound 31 is represented by Hyun’s Formula (I) (shown below) [0008]. Hyun teaches Ar does not have to be a fluorine atom. In fact, Hyun teaches Compound 2, which is nearly identical to Compound 31 but it has no fluorine atoms and no cyano group [0039]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 31 to not have fluorine atoms, like Compound 2, based on the teaching of Hyun. The motivation for doing so would have been to produce additional compounds with the luminous efficiency and quantum efficiency benefits, as taught by Hyun.
The modified version of Compound 31 is identical to Applicant’s Compound 26.
Claims 4–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhou et al. (CN 111777602 A) as applied to claims 1–3 above.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, Zhou teaches compounds of present invention have a high refractive index, improving the device’s light output efficiency, thus enhancing the device’s luminous efficiency. Additionally, an organic light emitting device comprising a compound of present invention can extend the device’s service life and improve its luminous efficiency [pg. 2]. Zhou further teaches devices including an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, a cathode, and a cover layer comprising a compound of present invention [pg. 11].
However, Zhou does not teach an exemplified device comprising Compound 23 in the cover layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound 23 in the cover layer of the organic electroluminescent devices taught by Zhou, because it would have been choosing between the exemplified compounds of Zhou, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as a cover material in the cover layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Zhou and possessing the benefits taught by Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising Compound 23 in the cover layer having the benefits taught by Zhou in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The resulting organic electroluminescent device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, a cathode, and a cover layer comprising Compound 23.
Regarding Claim 4, Compound 23 does not read on the compounds listed in claim 4.
Compound 23 is represented by Zhou’s Formula (I) wherein R1 and R2 are each an alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms (tert-butyl) [pg. 2]. Zhou further teaches Compound 33 wherein R1 and R2 are each aryl groups having 6 carbon atoms (phenyl) [pg. 4].
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Zhou, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound 23 by substituting phenyl for tert-butyl, because Zhou teaches the variable may suitably be selected as phenyl or tert-butyl. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as a cover material in the cover layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Zhou and possess the benefits taught by Zhou. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
The modified version of Compound 23 reads on Applicant’s limitation since it is identical to Applicant’s Compound 71 (shown below).
Claims 5–7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhou et al. (CN 111777602 A) as applied to claims 1–4 and 8–9 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2016/0181544 A1, hereafter “Choi”)
Regarding Claims 5, 6, and 7, Zhou teaches an organic electroluminescent device including an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, a cathode, and a cover layer comprising a compound of present invention [pg. 11].
However, Zhou does not teach an organic electroluminescent device wherein the electron transport layer comprises Compound 23.
Choi teaches compounds which provide excellent light emitting efficiency, extended lifespan, and enhanced thermal stability when used in a light emitting element [0025]. Choi teaches compounds which may be included in one of a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, and a light emitting layer of a light emitting element [0081]. Specifically, Choi teaches Compound 4, which comprises a benzothiozole and three carbazoles [0161]. Therefore, since Compound 4 is similar to Compound 23 as they both comprise a benzothiozole and a carbazole, it is expected that Compound 23 may be used in the hole transport layer, electron transport layer, or light emitting layer, like Compound 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Compound 23 in the electron transport layer of the organic electroluminescent device taught by Zhou, because it would have been choosing between including Compound 23 in the hole transport layer, light emitting layer, or electron transport layer, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as a electron transport material in the electron transport layer of the organic electroluminescent device of Zhou and possessing the benefits taught by Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising Compound 23 in the electron transport layer having the benefits taught by Choi in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
The resulting organic electroluminescent device reads on Applicant’s limitation since it comprises an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, a cathode, and a cover layer, wherein the electron transport layer comprises Compound 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (KR 2017/0116927 A, an English translation was provided in this office action) teaches compounds for a capping layer of an organic electroluminescent device, such as Compound 1-25 (shown below). Compound 1-25 nearly reads on Applicant’s Formula 1, however it does not comprise a cyano group.
Zhao et al. (CN 111039938 A, an English translation was provided in this office action) teaches compounds which appear to read on Applicant’s Formula 1, such as Compound 16 (shown below).
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789