DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
However, upon further review of the Applicant’s remarks mailed on 03/31/2026 with respect to the Examiner’s interview conducted on 03/26/2026. During the interview, with regards to independent claim 1, the Applicant suggested moving some of the optional limitations of dependent claim 2 into the independent claim 1. The Examiner explained that although the amendments would potentially overcome the rejection on file, however, the broadly claimed optional limitations of claim 2 would not put the application in condition for allowance. The limitations of dependent claim 2 merely and/or broadly mention one or more “paging metrics”, therefore the Examiner does not believe that amending independent claim 1 to include one or more limitations that is simply describing “paging metric” would provide enough detail.
Furthermore, the Examiner agreed to extend a courtesy call only if the Applicant’s amendments put the application in a condition for allowance with minor issues which can be resolved with a call. In this case, the Applicant merely included some limitations from dependent claim 2, (i.e. one or more of 3 optional limitations describing “paging metrics”) without any details that clearly describe that Applicant’s invention and/or inventive concept so as be clearly distinguished from the applied prior arts as discussed in the rejection below.
Furthermore, for clarification’s sake with regards to at least claim 1, the Examiner kindly directs the Applicant to the Examiner’s reasonable interpretations of certain features of the claim (i.e. collect one or more paging metrics for a first paging carrier over a plurality of paging occasions in a collection period).
Tian e.g. fig. 3, fig. 8, discussed and/or showed the concept of receiving paging messages in a first paging channel (i.e. claimed collect one or more paging metrics for a first paging carrier) and that the paging messages are received during all or a portion of one or more paging slots (i.e. claimed over a plurality of paging occasions) according to a paging cycle (i.e. claimed in a collection period).
Tian e.g. fig. 11, pp0093, pp0033, further discussed and/or showed the concept of dynamically change paging channels used in a wireless M2M WAN to transmit paging messages to an M2M device. Upon detecting and demodulating a paging message, the M2M device may contact the base station to engage in further communications (i.e. claimed communicate with a base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier based at least in part on the one or more paging metrics for the first paging carrier).
Finally, Tian e.g. fig. 8, pp0047, further discussed the concept that the devices 115-a may become aware that instructions or other data are available by decoding a paging message during a paging slot of a frame. A paging cycle may indicate how often the base station 105-a should transmit a paging message to an M2M device 115-a. The device 115-a may wake up to monitor a paging slot for a paging message according to the paging cycle (i.e. claimed UE decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in the collection period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 17, 21, and 27, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (US Publication No. 20140126548) in view of You et al. (US Publication No. 20160353420).
As to claims 1, 17, 21, and 27, Tian teaches a user equipment (UE), a base station, and a method for wireless communication, comprising: one or more antennas; and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the UE to (fig. 1 and fig. 5A): collect one or more paging metrics or information for a first paging carrier over a plurality of paging occasions in a collection period (fig. 1, fig. 11, pp0003, pp0052, M2M device waking up to receive and process a paging message at first data rate in a first paging channel during all or a portion of one or more paging slots according to a paging cycle, and fig. 8); wherein the one or more paging metrics include [information] for the UE to decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in a collection period (fig. 1, fig. 8, different paging slots during a paging cycle, pp0047, decoding a paging message during a paging slot of a frame. A paging cycle may indicate how often the base station 105-a should transmit a paging message to an M2M device 115-a. The device 115-a may wake up to monitor a paging slot for a paging message according to the paging cycle), and communicate with a base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier based at least in part on the one or more paging metrics for the first paging carrier (fig. 1, fig. 11, pp0033, dynamically change paging channels to using a second paging channel. Upon detecting and demodulating a paging message, the M2M device may contact the base station to engage in further communications, and pp0094). However, fails to explicitly teach the concept wherein the paging metrics include a minimum number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions for UE to decode.
In an analogous field of endeavor, You teaches the concept wherein the paging metrics include a minimum number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions for UE to decode (pp0227, the eNB may inform the UE of a minimum number of repetitions of the PDCCH/PDSCH, pp0229, when the UE is aware of a minimum number of repetitions of the PDCCH/PDSCH according to the present invention, if HARQ is applied to DL data, the UE may use only the PDCCH/PDSCH corresponding to a minimum number of times for decoding, and pp0082, for paging message). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian with the teachings of You to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing a communication system wherein uplink/downlink signals can be efficiently transmitted/received. Therefore, overall throughput of a radio communication system can be improved (You, pp0020).
As to claim 5, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Tian further teaches wherein the processing system, to communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to the second paging carrier, is configured to cause the UE to: communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to the second paging carrier based at least in part on a determination, from the one or more paging metrics, that the first paging carrier is not efficient for the UE (fig. 1, fig. 11, pp0033, dynamically change paging channels to using a second paging channel. Upon detecting and demodulating a paging message, the M2M device may contact the base station to engage in further communications, and pp0004, dynamically changing the data rate by selecting a different sub-channel of the paging channel may increase the likelihood that the M2M device will successfully decode and demodulate the paging message).
As to claim 6, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Tian further teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to determine that the first paging carrier is not efficient for the UE based at least in part on at least one of a determination, from the one or more paging metrics, that a maximum repetition parameter associated with the first paging carrier is excessive, a determination, from the one or more paging metrics, that the maximum repetition parameter associated with the first paging carrier is insufficient, or a determination, from the one or more paging metrics, that a page decoding failure rate for the UE on the first paging carrier satisfies a threshold (pp0004, an M2M device is unable to decode the message at such a high data rate, the device may not wake up again to monitor for a paging message until the next paging cycle. If the paging message continues to be transmitted at the high data rate, the device may continue to be unsuccessful at decoding the paging message, and pp0059).
Claim(s) 2-4, 18, 22, 23, and 28, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (US Publication No. 20140126548) in view of You et al. (US Publication No. 20160353420) and further in view of Kurth (US Publication No. 20200413336).
As to claim 2, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Tian further teaches the concept of [information] for the UE to decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in a collection period (fig. 1, fig. 8, different paging slots during a paging cycle, pp0047, decoding a paging message during a paging slot of a frame. A paging cycle may indicate how often the base station 105-a should transmit a paging message to an M2M device 115-a. The device 115-a may wake up to monitor a paging slot for a paging message according to the paging cycle). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more paging metrics include at least one of: a total number of paging occasions successfully decoded by the UE in the collection period, a total number of paging occasion decode failures by the UE in the collection period, for each paging occasion of the plurality of paging occasions, a respective number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions for the UE to decode the paging occasion, a maximum number of PDCCH repetitions for the UE to decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in the collection period, or an average number of PDCCH repetitions for the UE to decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in the collection period.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kurth teaches wherein the one or more paging metrics include at least one of: a total number of paging occasions successfully decoded by the UE in the collection period, a total number of paging occasion decode failures by the UE in the collection period, for each paging occasion of the plurality of paging occasions, a respective number of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) repetitions for the UE to decode the paging occasion, a maximum number of PDCCH repetitions for the UE to decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in the collection period, or an average number of PDCCH repetitions for the UE to decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in the collection period (pp0012, coverage class specific paging configuration, broadcasted by a system information exchanged between the base station and the UE, and pp0015, Rmax corresponds to npdcch-NumRepetitionPaging within the system information, and pp0007). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Kurth to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing power consumption of NB-IoT devices in good signal coverage within idle mode in a communication system (Kurth, pp0011).
As to claim 3, 18, 22, and 28, Tian teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Tian further teaches the concept of [information] for the UE to decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in a collection period (fig. 1, fig. 8, different paging slots during a paging cycle, pp0047, decoding a paging message during a paging slot of a frame. A paging cycle may indicate how often the base station 105-a should transmit a paging message to an M2M device 115-a. The device 115-a may wake up to monitor a paging slot for a paging message according to the paging cycle). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more paging metrics include a minimum reference signal receive power measurement for the UE.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kurth teaches wherein the one or more paging metrics include a minimum reference signal receive power measurement for the UE (pp0012, paging configuration, broadcasted by a system information exchanged between the base station and the UE, is extended by an additional NRSRP rsrp-ThresholdPcch threshold, whereas the UE selects one carrier for paging with a Narrowband Reference signal received power (NRSRP) smaller than the rsrp-ThresholdPcch threshold). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Kurth to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing power consumption of NB-IoT devices in good signal coverage within idle mode in a communication system (Kurth, pp0011).
As to claims 4 and 23, Tian teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Tian further teaches the concept of [information] for the UE to decode a paging occasion over the plurality of paging occasions in a collection period (fig. 1, fig. 8, different paging slots during a paging cycle, pp0047, decoding a paging message during a paging slot of a frame. A paging cycle may indicate how often the base station 105-a should transmit a paging message to an M2M device 115-a. The device 115-a may wake up to monitor a paging slot for a paging message according to the paging cycle). However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the one or more paging metrics include an average reference signal receive power measurement.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kurth teaches wherein the one or more paging metrics include an average reference signal receive power measurement (pp0013, paging configuration for each carrier is extended by an optional rsrp-ThresholdPcch threshold of type RSRP-Range. When configured, the UE shall not select the carrier for paging if the estimated NRSRP is worse than the rsrp-ThresholdPcch threshold). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Kurth to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing power consumption of NB-IoT devices in good signal coverage within idle mode in a communication system (Kurth, pp0011).
Claim(s) 10-16, 19, 20, 24-26, 29, and 30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (US Publication No. 20140126548) in view of You et al. (US Publication No. 20160353420) and further in view of Park et al. (US Publication No. 20110292856).
As to claims 10, 19, 24, and 29, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing system, when communicating with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier, is configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, the one or more paging metrics; and receive, from the base station, paging carrier information associated with switching from the first paging carrier to the second paging carrier.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein the processing system, when communicating with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier, is configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, the one or more paging metrics (fig. 7, S740); and receive, from the base station, paging carrier information associated with switching from the first paging carrier to the second paging carrier (fig. 7, S760). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017).
As to claim 11, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing system, to communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier, is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, an indication that the one or more paging metrics are available; and receive, from the base station, a request for the one or more paging metrics, wherein transmitting the one or more paging metrics to base station is based at least in part on receiving the request for the one or more paging metrics.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein the processing system, to communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier, is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, an indication that the one or more paging metrics are available (fig. 7, S740, S750); and receive, from the base station, a request for the one or more paging metrics (fig. 7, pp0113, BS may indicate which of the multiple carriers includes the paging channel to the MS through a paging carrier support parameter), wherein transmitting the one or more paging metrics to base station is based at least in part on receiving the request for the one or more paging metrics (fig. 7, S740, S750, S760). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017).
As to claim 12, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing system, to transmit the indication that the one or more paging metrics are available, is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, the indication that the one or more paging metrics are available based at least in part on a determination, from the one or more paging metrics, that the first paging carrier is not efficient for the UE.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein the processing system, to transmit the indication that the one or more paging metrics are available, is further configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, the indication that the one or more paging metrics are available based at least in part on a determination, from the one or more paging metrics, that the first paging carrier is not efficient for the UE (fig. 7, pp0096, the BS and the MS may change the paging carrier of the MS according to the mobility of the MS, after the MS enters the idle mode. For example, although Carrier 2 is initially allocated to the MS which enters the idle mode due to low mobility, the MS may move at a high speed so as to frequently perform location update). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017).
As to claims 13, 20, 25, and 30, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the paging carrier information includes a paging carrier index that identifies the second paging carrier.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein the paging carrier information includes a paging carrier index that identifies the second paging carrier (fig. 7, S750, S760). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017).
As to claims 14 and 26, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the paging carrier information includes a paging carrier index that identifies a set of paging carriers, and wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: select the second paging carrier from the set of paging carriers identified by the paging carrier index.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein the paging carrier information includes a paging carrier index that identifies a set of paging carriers (fig. 7, pp0104, allocating multiple carriers including paging channels using a paging carrier index), and wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: select the second paging carrier from the set of paging carriers identified by the paging carrier index (fig. 7, S750, S760, pp0147, paging carrier index indicating the paging carrier allocated to the MS). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017).
As to claim 15, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the paging carrier information indicates a maximum repetition parameter value or a paging cycle value, and the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: select the second paging carrier from one or more paging carriers that have the maximum repetition parameter value or the paging cycle value.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches wherein the paging carrier information indicates a maximum repetition parameter value or a paging cycle value (fig. 7, pp0080, the paging information may include a paging cycle parameter, a paging offset parameter and a paging listen interval parameter), and the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: select the second paging carrier from one or more paging carriers that have the maximum repetition parameter value or the paging cycle value (fig. 7, S750, S760, pp0080, the paging information may include a paging cycle parameter, a paging offset parameter and a paging listen interval parameter). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017).
As to claim 16, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Tian further teaches wherein the paging carrier information indicates at least one of a downlink carrier frequency for the second paging carrier, a power offset for the second paging carrier, or one or more paging occasions, in a frame, that are associated with the second paging carrier (fig. 11, pp0057, communicate on one or more carrier frequencies, typically using a pair of frequency bands to define the forward and reverse links communications).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (US Publication No. 20140126548) in view of in view of You et al. (US Publication No. 20160353420) and further in view of Park et al. (US Publication No. 20110292856) and Kurth (US Publication No. 20200413336).
As to claim 7, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Tian further teaches wherein the processing system, to communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier (fig. 1, fig. 11, pp0033, dynamically change paging channels to using a second paging channel. Upon detecting and demodulating a paging message, the M2M device may contact the base station to engage in further communications, and pp0094). However, fails to explicitly teach is configured to cause the UE to: select the second paging carrier from a plurality of configured paging carriers based at least in part on a comparison of a maximum repetition criterion for the UE determined from the one or more paging metrics and a maximum repetition parameter associated with the second paging carrier; transmit, to the base station, an indication that identifies the second paging carrier; and receive, from the base station, a confirmation to switch to the second paging carrier.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches transmit, to the base station, an indication that identifies the second paging carrier; and receive, from the base station, a confirmation to switch to the second paging carrier (fig. 7, S750, S760, pp0147, paging carrier index indicating the paging carrier allocated to the MS). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017). However, they failed to explicitly teach select the second paging carrier from a plurality of configured paging carriers based at least in part on a comparison of a maximum repetition criterion for the UE determined from the one or more paging metrics and a maximum repetition parameter associated with the second paging carrier.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kurth teaches select the second paging carrier from a plurality of configured paging carriers based at least in part on a comparison of a maximum repetition criterion for the UE determined from the one or more paging metrics and a maximum repetition parameter associated with the second paging carrier (pp0060, UE is monitoring the paging channel on one carrier best matching its current channel conditions. As shown in FIG. 4, UEs in good signal coverage are using NB-IoT carrier 1 for paging, so that they have to monitor only for a small number of NPDCCH repetitions (8 in the example) reducing the time both RF and baseband are active. In the same line, UEs in medium and bad signal coverage are selecting paging carrier 2 and 3, respectively, which are configured with 16 and 32 repetitions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian, You, and Park, with the teachings of Kurth to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing power consumption of NB-IoT devices in good signal coverage within idle mode in a communication system (Kurth, pp0011).
As to claim 8, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing system, to communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier is configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, an indication of a preferred value for a maximum repetition parameter determined based at least in part on the one or more paging metrics; receive, from the base station, a confirmation to switch to a paging carrier selected from a set of paging carriers that have the preferred value for the maximum repetition parameter; and select the second paging carrier from the set of paging carriers that have the preferred value for the maximum repetition parameter.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches the concept wherein the processing system, to communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier, is configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, an indication determined based at least in part on the one or more paging metrics (fig. 7, S740); receive, from the base station, a confirmation to switch to a paging carrier selected from a set of paging carriers (fig. 7, S750, S760, pp0147, paging carrier index indicating the paging carrier allocated to the MS); and select the second paging carrier from the set of paging carriers (fig. 7, S750, S760, pp0147, paging carrier index indicating the paging carrier allocated to the MS, and pp0182, preferable that the primary carrier is selected from the fully configured carriers, and pp0213). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017). However, they failed to explicitly teach the concept of a preferred value for a maximum repetition parameter.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kurth teaches the concept of a preferred value for a maximum repetition parameter (pp0060, UE is monitoring the paging channel on one carrier best matching its current channel conditions, and clm. 17, UEs in good signal coverage use a first NB-IoT carrier of the three NB-IoT carriers for paging with 8 NPDCCH repetitions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian, You, and Park, with the teachings of Kurth to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing power consumption of NB-IoT devices in good signal coverage within idle mode in a communication system (Kurth, pp0011).
As to claim 9, Tian in view of You teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, fails to explicitly teach wherein the processing system, to communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier, is configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, an indication determined based at least in part on the one or more paging metrics; and receive, from the base station, an indication identifying the second paging carrier as a selected paging carrier from a set of paging.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Park teaches the concept wherein the processing system, to communicate with the base station to switch from the first paging carrier to a second paging carrier, is configured to cause the UE to: transmit, to the base station, an indication determined based at least in part on the one or more paging metrics (fig. 7, S740); and receive, from the base station, an indication identifying the second paging carrier as a selected paging carrier from a set of paging (fig. 7, S750, S760, pp0147, paging carrier index indicating the paging carrier allocated to the MS, and pp0182, preferable that the primary carrier is selected from the fully configured carriers, and pp0213). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian and You with the teachings of Park to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably allocating paging carriers to mobile stations if multiple carriers are supported in a radio access system (Park, pp0017). However, they failed to explicitly teach the concept of a preferred value for a maximum repetition parameter.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kurth teaches the concept of a preferred value for a maximum repetition parameter (pp0060, UE is monitoring the paging channel on one carrier best matching its current channel conditions, and clm. 17, UEs in good signal coverage use a first NB-IoT carrier of the three NB-IoT carriers for paging with 8 NPDCCH repetitions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tian, You, and Park, with the teachings of Kurth to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably reducing power consumption of NB-IoT devices in good signal coverage within idle mode in a communication system (Kurth, pp0011).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645