DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4 and 6-16 are currently pending. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 8-16 have been amended. Claim 5 has been cancelled. Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 13-15 have been amended to overcome the claim objections and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 31 December 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “holding device” in claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 11, 13, and 16.
“holding device” is interpreted as “a headband or head cuff,” as mentioned in [0014] of the PGPUB
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. ‘400 (US Pub No. 2013/0085400 – previously cited) in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 (US Pub No. 2021/0127998 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches a measuring device for non-invasively detecting the intracranial pressure pulsation of a patient (Title, Abstract), comprising:
a holding device which can be detachably attached to the outside of the patient's skull (Fig. 3 strap 3 and [0041]) in a force-locking and/or form-locking manner (Fig. 3 adjustment system 5 and [0041]);
at least one bimorph bending sensor which is arranged in or on the holding device (Fig. 9 strain sensor 15 and [0046]),
an analog signal amplifier for amplifying the measurement data supplied by the bimorph bending sensor (Fig. 1 signal amplifier 4 and [0037]),
an A/D converter for converting the analog measurement data into digital data (Fig. 1 A/D converter 6 and [0037]), and
a computing unit for preprocessing the data and calculating parameters from the intracranial pressure pulsation curve which correlate with vital state variables on the basis of the digital data (Fig. 1 processor 8 and [0038], [0081]).
Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for the at least one bimorph bending sensor having two sensor layers with antiparallel polarity arranged symmetrically around a neutral fiber, wherein upon bending in one direction one of the two sensor layers is stretched while the other is equally compressed, the signals adding up when the two sensor layers are loaded in opposite directions.
Nguyen et al. ‘998 teaches a pressure sensor 10 having layers that are stacked on each other (Fig. 2A and [0044]), indicating at least two layers. Electrodes 15 may be connected to create an additive polarization from all layers of the pressure sensor 10 ([0044]). This would aid in using the device with a high degree of reliability in varying conditions of time and pressure ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one bimorph bending sensor of Oliveira et al. ‘400 to include having two sensor layers with antiparallel polarity arranged symmetrically around a neutral fiber, wherein upon bending in one direction one of the two sensor layers is stretched while the other is equally compressed, the signals adding up when the two sensor layers are loaded in opposite directions as Nguyen et al. ‘998 teaches that this will aid in using the device with a high degree of reliability in varying conditions of time and pressure.
Oliveira et al. ‘400, as modified by Nguyen et al. ‘998, teaches wherein the at least one bimorph bending sensor is arranged at or in a middle section of a C-shaped holder (Fig. 9 lid 7 and [0043]; A cross-section of the lid 7 is C-shaped.) arranged between two end sections (Fig. 4 shows that the lid 7 is arranged between two end sections of sensor box base 9.).
Regarding claim 2, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches wherein the holding device is formed as a headband or head cuff (Fig. 2 band 3 and [0049]) and/or has a display to display a measurement curve, a calculated parameter and an associated time course (Figs. 8, 17, 18 internal display 12 and [0038]-[0039], [0086]-[0087]).
Regarding claim 3, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches wherein the at least one bimorph bending sensor is a piezoelectric bimorph bending sensor ([0036], Claim 5).
Regarding claim 12, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches wherein the measuring device comprises a data logger connected to the A/D converter or the computing unit (Fig. 1 digital memory 10 and [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches wherein the holding device arranged as a headband comprises an energy storage device, wherein the energy storage device comprises a battery or a rechargeable battery ([0037]; “battery”).
Regarding claim 14, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches wherein the at least one bimorph bending sensor and/or the analog signal amplifier and/or the A/D converter are connected to a transmitting device or a transmitting-receiving device for wireless data transmission ([0047]; “wireless communication technologies”).
Regarding claim 15, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches wherein the at least one bimorph bending sensor, the analog signal amplifier, the A/D converter, and at least one of a transmitting device, a transmitting-receiving device for wireless data transmission ([0047]; “wireless communication technologies”), a battery, or a rechargeable battery ([0037]; “battery”) are integrated in a single component (Fig. 1 and [0035]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Naser ‘979 (US Patent No. 4,233,979 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 4, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches wherein the at least one bimorph bending sensor is arranged like a rocker on a support which can be attached to the outside of the patient's skull (Figs. 6-10 pin 16 and [0046]).
Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the at least one bimorph bending sensor is movable about a pivot point.
Naser ‘979 teaches a pivot pin to measure pressure in a cranium (Column 1 Lines 6-10) to manage depth control during a screw-in operation on a human skull (Column 1 Lines 36-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one bimorph bending sensor of Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 to include being movable about a pivot point as Naser ‘979 teaches that this will aid in managing depth control during a screw-in operation on a human skull.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 (US Pub No. 2020/0113520 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 6, Oliveira et al. ’400 teaches wherein the holding device designed as a headband (Fig. 2 band 3 and [0049]) has a device for generating and adjusting a pretensioning force acting on the patient's skull (Fig. 3 adjustment system 5 and [0041]).
Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for the device having a force sensor or a strain sensor.
Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 teaches a headband with one or more indicators and/or limiters that can assist a wearer and/or caregiver in applying the headband. The one or more indicators and/or limiters can help the wearer and/or caregiver stretch the headband an appropriate amount to achieve a desired and/or optimal pressure and/or force to the sensor and/or portion of the wearer's body underneath, adjacent, and/or proximate the sensor ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 to include having a force sensor or a strain sensor as Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 teaches that this will aid in assisting a wearer and/or caregiver in applying the headband.
Regarding claim 7, Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the device for generating the pretensioning force comprises an indicator for the pretensioning force or a voltage associated therewith.
Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 teaches a headband with one or more indicators and/or limiters that can assist a wearer and/or caregiver in applying the headband. The one or more indicators and/or limiters can help the wearer and/or caregiver stretch the headband an appropriate amount to achieve a desired and/or optimal pressure and/or force to the sensor and/or portion of the wearer's body underneath, adjacent, and/or proximate the sensor ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 to include an indicator for the pretensioning force or a voltage associated therewith as Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 teaches that this will aid in assisting a wearer and/or caregiver in applying the headband.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 further in view of Damadian et al. ‘310 (US Patent No. 9,766,310 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the device for generating the pretensioning force is designed for automatically setting a predetermined pretensioning force and comprises an electromechanical or a pneumatic mechanism.
Damadian et al. ‘310 teaches a patient handling system that incorporates one or more actuators and an actuation control unit. Actuators may be conventional electrical, electromechanical, pneumatic, hydraulic or other devices capable of imparting the desired motion to the elements of the patient handling system. The actuation control unit is linked to a control computer (such as computer 30) and to manual controls which regulate the patient handling system 106 (Column 6 Lines 46-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Abdul-Hafiz et al. ‘520 to include generating the pretensioning force is designed for automatically setting a predetermined pretensioning force and comprises an electromechanical or a pneumatic mechanism as Damadian et al. ‘310 teaches that electromechanical and pneumatic devices are conventional for imparting the desired motion of elements.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Ferguson ‘272 (US Pub No. 2017/0042272 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the holding device is in the form of a headband having pads over at least part of its length.
Ferguson ‘272 teaches a circumferential band with impact-absorbing bands (Fig. 1 impact absorbing gel pads 102, 104, 106, 108 and [0010], [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the holding device of Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 to include being in the form of a headband having pads over at least part of its length as Ferguson ‘272 teaches that this will aid in distributing the force of impacts received ([0031]) and increase comfort ([0034]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of LeBoeuf et al. ‘519 (US Pub No. 2013/0131519 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the device comprises one or more of the following sensors: structure-borne sound sensor, acceleration sensor, position sensor, external pulse sensor, external blood pressure sensor, temperature sensor, and wherein the computing unit is designed to detect external disturbing influences or conditions detected by at least one of said sensors and to correct disturbing influences.
LeBoeuf et al. ‘519 teaches an accelerometer that may provide an inertial noise reference without measuring physiological information to cancel optical noise from an optical noise source as the noise may prevent a filter from working properly ([0187]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 to include one or more of the claimed sensors as LeBoeuf et al. ‘519 teaches that this will aid in cancelling optical noise as the noise may prevent a filter from working properly.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Quinn et al. ‘278 (US Pub No. 2021/0106278 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches the holding device is formed as a headband (Fig. 2 band 3 and [[0049]).
Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein the at least one bimorph bending sensor is removable and replaceable from the holding device.
Quinn et al. ‘278 teaches a user may also choose to replace the physiological sensors 204 with other types, such as replacing photodiode sensors with heart rate/blood pressure sensors to measure other types of physiological signals or data. Accordingly, the wearable physiological device 20 is customizable in design and the user can easily disassemble and reassemble the physiological device 20, possibly with repaired/upgraded components ([0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one bimorph bending sensor of Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 to include being removable and replaceable from the holding device as Quinn et al. ‘278 teaches that this will aid in customizing the device in design and the user easily disassembling and reassembling the device with repaired/upgraded components.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 further in view of Menkes et al. ‘827 (US Pub No. 2019/0289827 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 16, Oliveira et al. ‘400 teaches the holding device designed as a on the headband (Fig. 2 band 3 and [[0049]) and one strain sensor (Fig. 6 strain sensor 15 and [0043]).
Oliveira et al. ‘400 in view of Nguyen et al. ‘998 teaches all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above except for wherein a plurality of piezoelectric bimorph bending sensors is arranged at the holding device.
Menkes et al. ‘827 teaches at least one piezoelectric element embedded in a band (Fig. 3A and [0036], Claim 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the at least one piezoelectric element of Menkes et al. ‘827 for the one strain sensor of Oliveira et al. ‘400 as Menkes et al. ‘827 teaches that simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Oliveira et al. ‘400 does not teach “wherein at least one bimorph bending sensor is arranged at or in a middle section of a C-shaped holder arranged between two end sections” as the lid of Oliveira et al. ‘400 is shown as a cover rather than a C-shaped holder. However, Figs. 10, 11, 14a-e, and 17-19 show the side profile of the holder, which is C-shaped. Figs. 17-19 show the C-shaped holder from a different angle, which one of ordinary skill would see that the C-shaped holder is not entirely C-shaped. Rather, the “C-shape” is more so found in the side profile/cross-section of the C-shaped holder. The cross-section of the lid 7 of Oliveira et al. ‘400 is C-shaped. Furthermore, the side profile of the lid 7 is also C-shaped as the sides and top of the lid 7 would make a C-shape. Applicant argues that the configuration and function of the lid 7 is more of a cover rather than a C-shaped holder for holding the bending sensor. However, lid 7 encloses, or holds, the strain sensor 15. Claim 1 recites that the at least one bimorph bending sensor is “arranged or in a middle section of the C-shaped holder.” To best to the Examiner’s understanding, the strain sensor 15 of Oliveira et al. ‘400 is “arranged or in a middle section” of the lid 7, as shown in Figs. 6-9. It is noted that Fig. 10 of the current application shows that the bending sensor 3 is on top of the C-shaped holder 30, which is not recited in the claim. The Examiner suggests to amend the independent claim to clarify the exact configuration of the bimorph bending sensor and the C-shaped holder to potentially overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AURELIE H TU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791