DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Tanaka (JP 2010127545 A and see PDF translation attached).
Regarding independent claim 1, Tanaka discloses, a method for operating a cooking appliance (see heating cooker 1in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) having a cooking chamber (see heating chamber 2 in Fig. 2) for receiving a food to be cooked (see Fig. 1 and disclosed in the specification “food is placed in the heating chamber 2”), an operating device (see setting means 41 in Fig. 2) for setting an operating mode of the cooking appliance (disclosed in the specification “setting means 41, and the user can instruct the cooking device 1 with the cooking menu, cooking temperature, and method by operating the setting means 41”), a heating device (see a flat heater 33, a hot air heater 34 in Fig. 2) for heating the cooking chamber (disclosed in the specification “A flat heater 33 is provided on the upper surface of the heating chamber 2, a hot air heater 34 is provided on the rear surface […] these constitute a heating means”), and a control device (see control means 30 in Fig. 2) for controlling at least the heating device in such that a heating program is carried out after the operating mode has been set (disclosed in the specification “When it is determined that there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the upper exhaust hole 22 is closed by the exhaust opening / closing means 24, and based on the setting of the setting means 41, the control means 30 causes the hot air heater 34 and the flat heater 33 as heating means”), the method comprising:
determining a loading state of the cooking chamber by a monitoring device (see food detection means 31 in Fig. 2 and disclosed in the specification “The food detection means 31 is not limited to the open / close detection sensor, and may be a weight sensor that detects the weight of the food, an ultrasonic sensor that detects the position of the food, or an infrared light receiving sensor that detects the presence of the food”) after an operating mode of the cooking appliance has been set (disclosed in the specification “At the time of preheating, the door 4 in front of the heating chamber 2 is closed first, the cooking temperature and cooking time are set by the setting means 41, preheating is instructed to the heating cooker 1, and preheating is started”), the determining of the loading state comprising at least one distinction as to whether the food to be cooked is located in the cooking chamber (disclosed in the specification “When preheating is started, the presence or absence of food in the heating chamber 2 is first detected by the food detection means 31”); and
as a function of the determined loading state (determined presence or absence of food), selecting a heating program (selecting absence of food heating program or selecting presence of food heating programs as disclosed the specification “When it is determined that there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the upper exhaust hole 22 is closed by the exhaust opening / closing means 24, and based on the setting of the setting means 41, the control means 30 causes the hot air heater 34 and the flat heater 33 as heating means […] When food is present in the heating chamber 2, after confirming the presence of the food, check the setting conditions and menus instructed by the user by the setting means 41, and cook without applying steam (to make the surface crisp) Judge whether it is cooking, pottery, boiled food, normal warming) or steaming cooking (steamed food, food that wants to prevent drying, steam warming)”) from a plurality of stored heating programs (presence of food heating program and absence of food heating program) and carrying out the selected heating program (disclosed in the specification “When it is determined that there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the upper exhaust hole 22 is closed by the exhaust opening / closing means 24, and based on the setting of the setting means 41, the control means 30 causes the hot air heater 34 and the flat heater 33 as heating means”); and based on an opening and subsequent closing of a cooking chamber door during the heating process, again determining the loading state of the cooking chamber and changing the heating program based on a change in the loading state (disclosed in the specification “At the time of preheating, the door 4 in front of the heating chamber 2 is closed first, the cooking temperature and cooking time are set by the setting means 41, preheating is instructed to the heating cooker 1, and preheating is started […]When preheating is started, the presence or absence of food in the heating chamber 2 is first detected by the food detection means 31. When it is determined that there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the upper exhaust hole 22 is closed by the exhaust opening / closing means 24, and based on the setting of the setting means 41, the control means 30 causes the hot air heater 34 and the flat heater 33 as heating means. The hot air fan 35 and the hot air motor 36, which are blowing means, are driven to preheat the heating chamber 2 so that the temperature in the heating chamber 2 detected by the temperature detecting means 32 becomes the set temperature […]At the time of cooking, after setting the cooking conditions by the setting means 41 and preheating as necessary, the setting means 41 starts cooking with the door 4 opened and the food stored in the heating chamber 2 […]When food is present in the heating chamber 2, after confirming the presence of the food, check the setting conditions and menus instructed by the user by the setting means 41, and cook without applying steam (to make the surface crisp) Judge whether it is cooking, pottery, boiled food, normal warming) or steaming cooking (steamed food, food that wants to prevent drying, steam warming)”).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka discloses, the method of claim 1, and wherein the plurality of heating programs comprises at least one heating program with low heating power (disclosed in the specification “When storage of food is detected by the food detection means 31, steam is generated by the steam generation means 51 while the oven is heated by the hot air heater 34, the hot air fan 35, the hot air motor 36, etc., and the steam is supplied into the heating chamber 2”) and one heating program with high heating power (disclosed in the specification “the steam generating means 51 is driven, and after a predetermined time has elapsed, the steam generating means 51 is stopped and grill cooking by the flat heater 33 is started […]Since the steam in the heating chamber 2 is discharged to the outside and is heated by the flat heater 33, the steam can be baked while drying the food surface without condensing the steam on the food surface, and the food surface is burnt ”).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka discloses, the method of claim 2, and wherein the one heating program with high heating power (both heaters 33 and 34 are on) is carried out when a loading state is determined in which no food to be cooked is located in the cooking chamber (disclosed in the specification “When it is determined that there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the upper exhaust hole 22 is closed by the exhaust opening / closing means 24, and based on the setting of the setting means 41, the control means 30 causes the hot air heater 34 and the flat heater 33 as heating means”), and wherein the one heating program with low heating power (only heater 33 is on) is carried out when a loading state is determined in which the food to be cooked of a first class of food (cook without applying steam to make the surface crisp) to be cooked is located in the cooking chamber (disclosed in the specification “the steam generating means 51 is driven, and after a predetermined time has elapsed, the steam generating means 51 is stopped and grill cooking by the flat heater 33 is started […]Since the steam in the heating chamber 2 is discharged to the outside and is heated by the flat heater 33, the steam can be baked while drying the food surface without condensing the steam on the food surface, and the food surface is burnt ”).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka discloses, the method of claim 3, and wherein a heating program with medium heating power (with steam generator and heater 34 are on) is carried out when a loading state is determined in which the food to be cooked of a second class of food (steamed food, food that wants to prevent drying, steam warming) to be cooked is located in the cooking chamber (disclosed in the specification “When storage of food is detected by the food detection means 31, steam is generated by the steam generation means 51 while the oven is heated by the hot air heater 34, the hot air fan 35, the hot air motor 36, etc., and the steam is supplied into the heating chamber 2”).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka discloses, the method of claim 1, and wherein, at least when a loading state is determined in which no food to be cooked is located in the cooking chamber, the end of the selected and carried out heating program is displayed (disclosed in the specification “the food detection means 31 detects the presence or absence of food in the heating chamber 2, and if there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the user is warned that no food is stored and ends cooking […] The end of cooking is notified to the user by a display (not shown) provided on the door 4 or a buzzer sound on the control means 30”).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka discloses, the method of claim 1, and wherein the determined loading state of the cooking chamber is used to check a plausibility of program steps of a cooking program controlling the cooking appliance (disclosed in the specification “the food detection means 31 detects the presence or absence of food in the heating chamber 2, and if there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the user is warned that no food is stored and ends cooking”).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka discloses, a cooking appliance (1), comprising:
a cooking chamber (2) configured to receive a food to be cooked (see Fig. 1 and disclosed in the specification “food is placed in the heating chamber 2”);
a heating device (see a flat heater 33, a hot air heater 34 in Fig. 2) configured to heat the cooking chamber (disclosed in the specification “A flat heater 33 is provided on the upper surface of the heating chamber 2, a hot air heater 34 is provided on the rear surface […] these constitute a heating means”);
a control device (see control means 30 in Fig. 2) configured to control at least the heating device (disclosed in the specification “When it is determined that there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the upper exhaust hole 22 is closed by the exhaust opening / closing means 24, and based on the setting of the setting means 41, the control means 30 causes the hot air heater 34 and the flat heater 33 as heating means”); and
a monitoring device (see food detection means 31 in Fig. 2 and disclosed in the specification “The food detection means 31 is not limited to the open / close detection sensor, and may be a weight sensor that detects the weight of the food, an ultrasonic sensor that detects the position of the food, or an infrared light receiving sensor that detects the presence of the food”) configured to determine a loading state of the cooking chamber and to carry out theft method of claim 1 (see claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Ishii (US 5360965 A).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka discloses, the method of claim 1.
However, Tanaka does not explicitly disclose, wherein the determination of the loading state comprises evaluation of at least one image of the cooking chamber recorded by an image recording device comprising the monitoring device.
Nonetheless, Ishii teaches, the microcomputer 67 calculates the area S of the food from image information from the CCD camera 62, wherein the microcomputer 67 functions as image processing means (see Col. 23 lines 37-40).
Since Tanaka discloses the determination of the loading state comprises detection of the presence or absence in the cooking chamber recorded by sensor comprising the monitoring device (disclosed in the specification “The food detection means 31 is not limited to the open / close detection sensor, and may be a weight sensor that detects the weight of the food, an ultrasonic sensor that detects the position of the food, or an infrared light receiving sensor that detects the presence of the food”), it would have been obvious to modify the determination of the loading state step of Tanaka wherein the determination of the loading state comprises evaluation of at least one image of the cooking chamber recorded by an image recording device comprising the monitoring device as taught/suggested by Ishii in order to obtain real-time visual feedback of food while cooking, without having to open the door and an automated kitchen appliance that make cooking more precise, convenient, and safer.
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 06/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see remarks, filed on 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In this case, the specification of Tanaka states “At the time of preheating, the door 4 in front of the heating chamber 2 is closed first, the cooking temperature and cooking time are set by the setting means 41, preheating is instructed to the heating cooker 1, and preheating is started […]When preheating is started, the presence or absence of food in the heating chamber 2 is first detected by the food detection means 31. When it is determined that there is no food in the heating chamber 2, the upper exhaust hole 22 is closed by the exhaust opening / closing means 24, and based on the setting of the setting means 41, the control means 30 causes the hot air heater 34 and the flat heater 33 as heating means. The hot air fan 35 and the hot air motor 36, which are blowing means, are driven to preheat the heating chamber 2 so that the temperature in the heating chamber 2 detected by the temperature detecting means 32 becomes the set temperature […]At the time of cooking, after setting the cooking conditions by the setting means 41 and preheating as necessary, the setting means 41 starts cooking with the door 4 opened and the food stored in the heating chamber 2 […]When food is present in the heating chamber 2, after confirming the presence of the food, check the setting conditions and menus instructed by the user by the setting means 41, and cook without applying steam (to make the surface crisp) Judge whether it is cooking, pottery, boiled food, normal warming) or steaming cooking (steamed food, food that wants to prevent drying, steam warming)”. In other words, Tanaka discloses a cooking device is configured to detect presence or absence of the food in the heating chamber, wherein the preheating is started when the absence of the food is detected with the door is closed, when the preheating has reached to the predetermined temperature, the door is opened so as the food is placed in the heating chamber, and the cooking device is changing from the preheating process to the cooking process after detecting the presence of the food in the heating chamber. It is noted that the door is inherently closed after the opening of the door to place the food in the heating chamber to perform the cooking process.
The remarks provide a conclusion requesting allowance. However, the claims are presently rejected as set forth and explained above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VY T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761