DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendments filed on 10/20/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application No PCT/CN2021/075473 filed on 2/05/2021.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content and format of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details and not include design details of an apparatus.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-30 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 8/8/2025.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-16, 18-24, and 26-30 have been amended with Claims 1, 9, 16, and 24 being independent.
Claims 1-30 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 12-15, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to Claims 1, 9, 16, and 24 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguement. In view of amendments, a new ground of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art Tooher et al. (US 2023/0189055 A1; hereinafter Tooher) and further in view of previously used Belleschi et al. (US 2022/0078873 A1; hereinafter Belleschi) and Zheng et al. (US 2021/0219369; hereinafter Zheng). See rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8, 15, 22-23, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7-8, 15, 22-23, and 30 state the limitation of “…one or more data packets of the plurality of links…”. Examiner will read this as “…one or more data packets of the plurality of data packets”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 15, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. More specifically, Claims 8, 15, 23, and 30 recite “transmitting…one or more data packets of the plurality of links…outside the survival time period”. This is indefinite due to the limitation of “outside the survival time period” which is in conflict with Claim 1 which states that “the expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the network node via the plurality of links is lost.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 16-19, and 24-27 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tooher and further in view of Zheng.
Regarding Claim 1, Tooher disclose(s):
A method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising:
transmitting, via a first link [ (See Tooher ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138; ¶154-157; ¶161-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)
[0066] Data packets may originate in the application layer from an application. The non-access stratum (NAS) layer may assign QoS requirements and mapping rules. The NAS may map data/internet protocol (IP) flows carrying data packets to a QoS flow and may configure a QoS flow ID (QFI) for a QoS flow (e.g., each QoS flow). Data packets (e.g., all data packets) within the same QoS flow may have the same QFI. The access stratum (AS) layer may map a QoS flow to radio layer resources. A service data adaptation layer (SDAP) entity within a WTRU may map a QoS flow to a data radio bearer (DRB). Multiple data packets (e.g. all data packets) mapped to the same DRB may have the same transmission treatment in the AS (e.g., from a radio interface perspective). An SDAP QoS flow to DRB mapping rules may be configured semi-statically in radio resource control (RRC). A WTRU-SDAP may map a service data unit (SDU) to a DRB, for example, according to configured rules or according to a default DRB (e.g., if no rules are configured). RRC may configure a DRB (e.g., each DRB) with one or more logical channels (LCHs). A logical channel prioritization (LCP) function in a WTRU-medium access control (MAC) may allocate uplink radio resources among LCHs with buffered data in the WTRU, for example, based on configured QoS related LCP parameters (e.g., LCH priority, LCH prioritized bit rate (PBR), bucket size duration (BSD), and LCP mapping restrictions, which may be configured per LCH).
[0074] An application (e.g., a software program or group of programs that may be executed by a WTRU) may be composed of/use multiple flows (e.g., send and/or receive multiple flows). A flow (e.g., each flow) may be associated, for example, with a set of QoS criteria. In examples, a QoS for an overall application or of one or more flows may depend on the performance of one or more (e.g., other) flows. For example, satisfying or not satisfying one or more conditions for one or more flows may impact an ability of one or more other flows to meet QoS requirements. QoS adaptation may be enabled (e.g., configured or otherwise supported), for example, to ensure applications/verticals (e.g., that may be composed of multiple flows) satisfy one or more QoS requirements.
[0079] A WTRU may combine or remap data flows into the same QoS flow, IP flow, and/or DRB, for example, based on satisfying or triggering one or more QoS remapping conditions and/or upon transitioning between QoS states. A WTRU may be configured (e.g., via RRC signaling) with one or more data flow mapping rules (e.g., multiple data flow mapping rules). A WTRU may apply one or more mapping rules, for example, based on a current QoS state and/or upon satisfying one or more remapping conditions. RRC may configure a WTRU, for example, with a mapping between a data flow to one or more QoS flows, IP flows, and/or DRBs. A WTRU may undo a remapping or revert to a default/prior data flow mapping, for example, if the remapping triggers are cancelled and/or if another set of remapping conditions are triggered. A WTRU may track a duration of time (e.g., via a timer) upon triggering a QoS remapping condition and may revert or undo the remapping if the duration of time expires (e.g., the timer expires).
[0120] A metric may be determined over a time period or a window. A time period may start (e.g., as shown at 1 in FIG. 2A, for example, the WTRU may start tracking a duration of time, for example via a timer, at a first transmission), for example, based on a state transition (e.g., a transition to a new state), or if another event described herein occurs (e.g., a determination that a duration of time has expired such as an expiry of a timer). A time period may be relative to the time at which a metric is evaluated, e.g., a window of fixed duration ending at the time the metric is determined.
[0121] A event may be based on a duration of time (e.g., timer-based). An event may comprise, for example, a determination that a duration of time has expired (e.g., an expiration of a timer). A duration of time (e.g., a timer) may be associated with, for example, an RRC connection, a MAC entity, an LCH, an LCG, and/or a DRB. A duration of time (e.g., a timer) may correspond, for example, to one or more of the following: an existing timer, such as a timer that may be related to radio link monitoring (e.g., a T310), re-establishment or handover; a PDCP discard time (e.g., a PCP discard timer); a DRX inactivity time (e.g., a DRX inactivity timer); a data inactivity time (e.g., a data inactivity timer); a timing advance time (e.g., a timing advance timer); a beam failure detection time (e.g., a beam failure detection timer); and/or a bandwidth part time (e.g., a bandwidth part timer). A WTRU may transition to a default QoS adaptation state, for example, based on a determination that a duration of a time has expired (e.g., an expiry of a timer, such as a T310 timer). A duration of time (e.g., which may correspond to a new duration of time) may be tracked (e.g., via a timer), for example, if another event described herein occurs.
[0122] An event may be related to a failure detection. An event may be related to the detection of at least one instance of failure, e.g., as described below or otherwise herein. An instance of failure may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) an SDU or PDU loss for at least one SDU or PDU (e.g., PDCP, RLC or MAC SDU, or PDU), where loss detection may occur, for example, based on a reception of a status report (e.g., at MAC, RLC, PDCP or higher layers) or based on a duration of time expiring (e.g., an expiry of a timer such as a discard timer), and where an instance of failure may occur, for example, if the SDU or PDU pertains to a QoS flow or radio bearer part of a QoS adaptation group; (ii) an SDU or PDU error for at least one SDU or PDU (e.g., a PDCP, an RLC, or an MAC SDU or PDU), where loss detection may occur, for example, based on a reception or a lack of reception of a NACK, where the instance of failure may occur if the SDU or PDU pertains to a QoS flow or radio bearer part of the QoS adaptation group or the instance of failure may occur if an SDU or PDU (e.g., one, some, or all SDUs or PDUs) in a set of associated SDUs or PDUs are in error or are lost; (iii) an occurrence of power scaling for at least one transmission; (iv) a beam failure detection or other radio link problems; (v) a random access procedure failure; and/or (vi) a maximum number of retransmissions reached for scheduling request or for an RLC PDU. An event may occur, for example, if a specific number of instances of failure occurs within a time period. A time period may be defined, for example, as described herein (e.g., above) for events based on a metric.
[0161] FIG. 2B shows an example of RRC configuration adaptation using durations of time (e.g., using timers, which are illustrated as examples of tracking the durations of time in FIG. 2B). As illustrated on the left in FIG. 2B, the WTRU restarts timer 1 after successful transmission 1. If transmission 2 and transmission 3 are not successful, timer 1 may expire. The WTRU may start timer 2 and adapt to an RRC configuration 2 (e.g., where RRC configuration 2 may be more robust than RRC configuration 1) for subsequent transmissions. As illustrated by FIG. 2B, if one transmission is successful (e.g., transmission 4), the WTRU may stop timer 2 and start timer 1. The WTRU may remain in RRC configuration 2 (e.g., more robust RRC configuration). The WTRU may restart timer 1 after a successful transmission (e.g., after transmission 5 and after transmission 6). After a number of successful transmissions (e.g., m=3) in RRC configuration 2 (e.g., the more robust RRC configuration), the WTRU may restart timer 1 and adapt to the original RRC configuration 1. A WTRU restarting timer 1 and adapting to the original RRC configuration 1 may ensure that the WTRU does not remain in a resource intensive RRC configuration 2 (e.g., more robust RRC configuration) indefinitely. As shown in FIG. 2B, a transmission may fail (e.g., transmission 8), but if a transmission (e.g., transmission 9) succeeds before timer 1 expires, RRC adaptation may not be performed. In examples, if transmissions fail and a timer expires, the WTRU may take corrective actions as described herein. If transmission 4 is successful and timer 2 stops and timer 1 is started, later transmissions 5 and transmission 6 may have failed, and timer 1 may have expired, which may require a WTRU to start timer 2. If a WTRU is already in a robust RRC configuration 2, an RRC configuration adaptation may not occur.
[0162] A WTRU may perform one or more of the following in association with handling a burst spread. A WTRU may receive an indication that a burst spread has begun. The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, upon reception of the burst spread indication. The WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer). In examples, the WTRU may return to an original QoS adaptation state based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The WTRU may receive an indication to perform one of more of the following: (re)start, reset, pause, or stop the burst spread duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The WTRU may start a burst spread (e.g., determine that it is beginning a burst spread). The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, based on starting a burst spread. The WTRU may indicate to the base station (e.g., a gNB) that the WTRU has started or is starting a burst spread. The WTRU may indicate the value of the burst spread to the base station. The WTRU may provide updates (e.g., on the status of the burst spread) to the base station. The WTRU may be triggered to provide updates of the burst spread, for example, if the value of the burst spread has changed. The WTRU may determine that a burst spread has ended, for example, based on one or more of: a reception of a signal from the base station (e.g., a gNB), a buffer status, or a duration of time expiring (e.g., a timer expiring). The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, based a burst spread ending. The WTRU may indicate to the base station (e.g., a gNB) that the burst spread has ended.
[0163] MAC procedures may affect survival time. Survival time may be affected, for example, by one or more of the following, which may interrupt normal transmission: beam failure recovery (BFR); radio link failure (RLF); bandwidth part (BWP) switching; and/or LBT failure. An occurrence of BFR, RLF, BWP switching, and/or LBT failure may not affect ongoing survival time(s) (e.g., survival timer(s)), or may not require further indication, for example, if the WTRU is capable of fulfilling survival time requirements, or if an occurrence of BFR, RLF, BWP switching, and/or LBT failure were triggered by the network or intra-WTRU layer (e.g., in response to an update or status of pending survival times).
]
determining that the first data packet was not successfully communicated to the network node within the first time period via the first link; and [ (See Tooher ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138; ¶160-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)
[0122] An event may be related to a failure detection. An event may be related to the detection of at least one instance of failure, e.g., as described below or otherwise herein. An instance of failure may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) an SDU or PDU loss for at least one SDU or PDU (e.g., PDCP, RLC or MAC SDU, or PDU), where loss detection may occur, for example, based on a reception of a status report (e.g., at MAC, RLC, PDCP or higher layers) or based on a duration of time expiring (e.g., an expiry of a timer such as a discard timer), and where an instance of failure may occur, for example, if the SDU or PDU pertains to a QoS flow or radio bearer part of a QoS adaptation group; (ii) an SDU or PDU error for at least one SDU or PDU (e.g., a PDCP, an RLC, or an MAC SDU or PDU), where loss detection may occur, for example, based on a reception or a lack of reception of a NACK, where the instance of failure may occur if the SDU or PDU pertains to a QoS flow or radio bearer part of the QoS adaptation group or the instance of failure may occur if an SDU or PDU (e.g., one, some, or all SDUs or PDUs) in a set of associated SDUs or PDUs are in error or are lost; (iii) an occurrence of power scaling for at least one transmission; (iv) a beam failure detection or other radio link problems; (v) a random access procedure failure; and/or (vi) a maximum number of retransmissions reached for scheduling request or for an RLC PDU. An event may occur, for example, if a specific number of instances of failure occurs within a time period. A time period may be defined, for example, as described herein (e.g., above) for events based on a metric.
[0160] In examples, if a second duration of time is running (e.g., a timer associated with the second duration of time is running), the WTRU may stop tracking the second duration of time and start tracking the first or second duration of time (e.g., start a timer associated with the first duration of time or a timer associated with the second duration of time) if n successful transmissions have occurred. The WTRU may perform a QoS state adaptation, an RRC configuration adaptation, or a MAC function adaptation if m successful transmissions have occurred (e.g., as shown at 3 in FIG. 2A, for example, the WTRU may return to QoS state A if the WTRU receives an ACK for at least one transmission), where m may be greater than n. A WTRU may determine whether to perform a QoS adaptation, an RRC configuration, or a MAC function adaptation if the WTRU starts tracking the second duration of time (e.g., if the WTRU starts a timer associated with the second duration of time), where the determination may be a function of the QoS state, RRC configuration, or MAC function the WTRU is using when the WTRU is triggered to track the second duration of time.
]
transmitting, based on the determination, a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a time period defines a period of time when the connection with the network node via the plurality of links is lost. [(See Tooher ¶66; ¶88; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138-141; ¶154-157; ¶160-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)
[0088] A QoS remapping trigger/condition may include, for example, a time since a last transmission (e.g., including survival time or data inactivity timer) on the flow. A WTRU may trigger a QoS remapping based on a condition occurring, for example, if the time since last transmission for the associated application or on the given flow is larger than a configured threshold (e.g., a configured survival time per QoS flow). A WTRU may trigger a QoS remapping based on a condition occurring, for example, based on a determination that a data inactivity time has elapsed (e.g., after the expiry of a data inactivity timer). In examples, a WTRU may track a duration of time (e.g., maintain a timer) and may reset the duration of time (e.g., via the timer), for example, if data is transmitted for the data flow. A WTRU may remap a flow, for example, based on a determination that a duration of time has elapsed (e.g., via an expiry of a timer).
[0122] An event may be related to a failure detection. An event may be related to the detection of at least one instance of failure, e.g., as described below or otherwise herein. An instance of failure may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) an SDU or PDU loss for at least one SDU or PDU (e.g., PDCP, RLC or MAC SDU, or PDU), where loss detection may occur, for example, based on a reception of a status report (e.g., at MAC, RLC, PDCP or higher layers) or based on a duration of time expiring (e.g., an expiry of a timer such as a discard timer), and where an instance of failure may occur, for example, if the SDU or PDU pertains to a QoS flow or radio bearer part of a QoS adaptation group; (ii) an SDU or PDU error for at least one SDU or PDU (e.g., a PDCP, an RLC, or an MAC SDU or PDU), where loss detection may occur, for example, based on a reception or a lack of reception of a NACK, where the instance of failure may occur if the SDU or PDU pertains to a QoS flow or radio bearer part of the QoS adaptation group or the instance of failure may occur if an SDU or PDU (e.g., one, some, or all SDUs or PDUs) in a set of associated SDUs or PDUs are in error or are lost; (iii) an occurrence of power scaling for at least one transmission; (iv) a beam failure detection or other radio link problems; (v) a random access procedure failure; and/or (vi) a maximum number of retransmissions reached for scheduling request or for an RLC PDU. An event may occur, for example, if a specific number of instances of failure occurs within a time period. A time period may be defined, for example, as described herein (e.g., above) for events based on a metric.
[0138] There may be impacts on QoS parameters. A WTRU may be triggered to perform a task, for example, due to a condition being met (e.g., for at least one of the aforementioned RRC configuration parameters). A trigger may be tied to one or more QoS parameters, a measurement, a WTRU position, and/or an indication from a gNB. A triggered task may include, for example, at least one of the following: (i) performing a RACH procedure on the cell or another cell; (ii) changing an active BWP; (iii) transmitting a report to a cell (e.g., radio link failure (RLF), UL LBT failure, and/or the like); (iv) performing a handover (HO); (v) performing beam failure recovery (BFR); and/or (vi) changing an activity state (e.g., CONNECTED mode, IDLE mode, or INACTIVE mode).
[0161] FIG. 2B shows an example of RRC configuration adaptation using durations of time (e.g., using timers, which are illustrated as examples of tracking the durations of time in FIG. 2B). As illustrated on the left in FIG. 2B, the WTRU restarts timer 1 after successful transmission 1. If transmission 2 and transmission 3 are not successful, timer 1 may expire. The WTRU may start timer 2 and adapt to an RRC configuration 2 (e.g., where RRC configuration 2 may be more robust than RRC configuration 1) for subsequent transmissions. As illustrated by FIG. 2B, if one transmission is successful (e.g., transmission 4), the WTRU may stop timer 2 and start timer 1. The WTRU may remain in RRC configuration 2 (e.g., more robust RRC configuration). The WTRU may restart timer 1 after a successful transmission (e.g., after transmission 5 and after transmission 6). After a number of successful transmissions (e.g., m=3) in RRC configuration 2 (e.g., the more robust RRC configuration), the WTRU may restart timer 1 and adapt to the original RRC configuration 1. A WTRU restarting timer 1 and adapting to the original RRC configuration 1 may ensure that the WTRU does not remain in a resource intensive RRC configuration 2 (e.g., more robust RRC configuration) indefinitely. As shown in FIG. 2B, a transmission may fail (e.g., transmission 8), but if a transmission (e.g., transmission 9) succeeds before timer 1 expires, RRC adaptation may not be performed. In examples, if transmissions fail and a timer expires, the WTRU may take corrective actions as described herein. If transmission 4 is successful and timer 2 stops and timer 1 is started, later transmissions 5 and transmission 6 may have failed, and timer 1 may have expired, which may require a WTRU to start timer 2. If a WTRU is already in a robust RRC configuration 2, an RRC configuration adaptation may not occur.
[0162] A WTRU may perform one or more of the following in association with handling a burst spread. A WTRU may receive an indication that a burst spread has begun. The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, upon reception of the burst spread indication. The WTRU may start tracking a duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The value of the duration of time (e.g., timer) may be determined, for example, as a function of the burst spread value. The WTRU may go to a certain QoS adaptation state, for example, based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer). In examples, the WTRU may return to an original QoS adaptation state based on expiration of the duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The WTRU may receive an indication to perform one of more of the following: (re)start, reset, pause, or stop the burst spread duration of time (e.g., via a timer). The WTRU may start a burst spread (e.g., determine that it is beginning a burst spread). The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, based on starting a burst spread. The WTRU may indicate to the base station (e.g., a gNB) that the WTRU has started or is starting a burst spread. The WTRU may indicate the value of the burst spread to the base station. The WTRU may provide updates (e.g., on the status of the burst spread) to the base station. The WTRU may be triggered to provide updates of the burst spread, for example, if the value of the burst spread has changed. The WTRU may determine that a burst spread has ended, for example, based on one or more of: a reception of a signal from the base station (e.g., a gNB), a buffer status, or a duration of time expiring (e.g., a timer expiring). The WTRU may change a QoS adaptation state, for example, based a burst spread ending. The WTRU may indicate to the base station (e.g., a gNB) that the burst spread has ended.
[0163] MAC procedures may affect survival time. Survival time may be affected, for example, by one or more of the following, which may interrupt normal transmission: beam failure recovery (BFR); radio link failure (RLF); bandwidth part (BWP) switching; and/or LBT failure. An occurrence of BFR, RLF, BWP switching, and/or LBT failure may not affect ongoing survival time(s) (e.g., survival timer(s)), or may not require further indication, for example, if the WTRU is capable of fulfilling survival time requirements, or if an occurrence of BFR, RLF, BWP switching, and/or LBT failure were triggered by the network or intra-WTRU layer (e.g., in response to an update or status of pending survival times).
[0164] In examples, a WTRU may perform one or more of the following actions (e.g., based on an occurrence of one or more procedures that may impact normal transmission): (i) suspend one or more survival times (e.g., survival timers), for example, until normal transmission may resume; (ii) declare failure of one or more pending survival times (e.g., survival timers); and/or (iii) indicate a survival time interruption (e.g., including providing the cause of interruption) to the network or another intra-WTRU layer.]
Tooher does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, via a first link of a plurality of links, a first data packet of a plurality of data packets during a first time period, wherein the first time period defines a period of time that the wireless communication device is connected to a network node via the first link; and
transmitting, based on the determination, a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a second link of the plurality of links during a survival time period immediately subsequent to expiration of the first time period, wherein combination of the first time period and the survival time period defines a period of time where a connection with the network node via the plurality of links is maintained, and wherein expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the network node via the plurality of links is lost.
However Zheng¸ analogous art also teaching radio link failure protocol, does disclose:
transmitting, via a first link of a plurality of links, a first data packet of a plurality of data packets during a first time period, wherein the first time period defines a period of time that the wireless communication device is connected to a network node via the first link; and [Zheng discloses a first and second radio link such that when determining that the first radio link is about to fail, the terminal device can be switched to a second radio link as well as a timer (e.g. T310) used in determining radio link failure (¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; Fig. 3-4)]
transmitting, based on the determination, a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a second link of the plurality of links during a survival time period immediately subsequent to expiration of the first time period, wherein combination of the first time period and the survival time period defines a period of time where a connection with the network node via the plurality of links is maintained, and wherein expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the network node via the plurality of links is lost. [Zheng discloses a first and second radio link such that the 2 links may be different radio links with different service requirements and when determining that the first radio link is about to fail, the terminal device can be switched to a second radio link as well as a timer (e.g. T310) used in determining radio link failure (¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; ¶204; Fig. 3-4)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Tooher with that of Zheng to explicitly include a plurality of links to be able to switch to a second link in a timely manner when the first link fails, as per Zheng (¶36), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 2, 10, 17, and 25 Tooher and Zheng disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein the second link is associated with a lower latency than the first link. [ (See Tooher ¶21; ¶56; ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138; ¶154-157; ¶161-163; Fig. 2a and 2b; See Zheng ¶112; ¶204; Fig. 3-4)
[0021] The RAN 104/113 may be in communication with the CN 106/115, which may be any type of network configured to provide voice, data, applications, and/or voice over internet protocol (VoIP) services to one or more of the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d. The data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements, data throughput requirements, mobility requirements, and the like. The CN 106/115 may provide call control, billing services, mobile location-based services, pre-paid calling, Internet connectivity, video distribution, etc., and/or perform high-level security functions, such as user authentication. Although not shown in FIG. 1A, it will be appreciated that the RAN 104/113 and/or the CN 106/115 may be in direct or indirect communication with other RANs that employ the same RAT as the RAN 104/113 or a different RAT. For example, in addition to being connected to the RAN 104/113, which may be utilizing a NR radio technology, the CN 106/115 may also be in communication with another RAN (not shown) employing a GSM, UMTS, CDMA 2000, WiMAX, E-UTRA, or WiFi radio technology. The CN 106/115 may also serve as a gateway for the WTRUs 102a, 102b, 102c, 102d to access the PSTN 108, the Internet 110, and/or the other networks 112. The PSTN 108 may include circuit-switched telephone networks that provide plain old telephone service (POTS). The Internet 110 may include a global system of interconnected computer networks and devices that use common communication protocols, such as the transmission control protocol (TCP), user datagram protocol (UDP) and/or the internet protocol (IP) in the TCP/IP internet protocol suite. The networks 112 may include wired and/or wireless communications networks owned and/or operated by other service providers. For example, the networks 112 may include another CN connected to one or more RANs, which may employ the same RAT as the RAN 104/113 or a different RAT.
[0063] WTRUs may be served (e.g., in a new radio (NR) mobile network) with one or more services that may have varying latency and reliability requirements, e.g., ultra-reliable and low latency communications (URLLC) and enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) services. Transmissions may be received with a higher level of latency and reliability, for example, to support operation with different types of service, such as URLLC and eMBB.
[0066] Data packets may originate in the application layer from an application. The non-access stratum (NAS) layer may assign QoS requirements and mapping rules. The NAS may map data/internet protocol (IP) flows carrying data packets to a QoS flow and may configure a QoS flow ID (QFI) for a QoS flow (e.g., each QoS flow). Data packets (e.g., all data packets) within the same QoS flow may have the same QFI. The access stratum (AS) layer may map a QoS flow to radio layer resources. A service data adaptation layer (SDAP) entity within a WTRU may map a QoS flow to a data radio bearer (DRB). Multiple data packets (e.g. all data packets) mapped to the same DRB may have the same transmission treatment in the AS (e.g., from a radio interface perspective). An SDAP QoS flow to DRB mapping rules may be configured semi-statically in radio resource control (RRC). A WTRU-SDAP may map a service data unit (SDU) to a DRB, for example, according to configured rules or according to a default DRB (e.g., if no rules are configured). RRC may configure a DRB (e.g., each DRB) with one or more logical channels (LCHs). A logical channel prioritization (LCP) function in a WTRU-medium access control (MAC) may allocate uplink radio resources among LCHs with buffered data in the WTRU, for example, based on configured QoS related LCP parameters (e.g., LCH priority, LCH prioritized bit rate (PBR), bucket size duration (BSD), and LCP mapping restrictions, which may be configured per LCH).
[0075] An application may be based on, for example, eXtended Reality (XR). An XR application may provide an immersive XR experience, for example, through a combination of extremely large throughput with high reliability and low latency. Delivering an XR scene at a high (e.g., the highest) quality of experience (QoE) (e.g., resolution, refresh rate) may burden the air interface capacity (e.g., to achieve the throughput (TPT), latency, reliability, etc.) and processing power (e.g. to achieve sleek form factor and low power consumption requirements). Transmissions may be adapted, for example, to relax requirements on the air interface and/or requirements on processing (e.g., without introducing perceptible degradation for a user).
Zheng
[0112] In the embodiment of this application, both the first radio link and the second radio link are links between the terminal device and the access network device, and the first radio link and the second radio link may be different radio links. For example, that bandwidth of the first radio link is greater than bandwidth of the second radio link may be understood as: the first radio link is a wideband link and the second radio link is a narrowband link; or the first radio link is a radio link corresponding to a URLLC service, and the second radio link is a radio link corresponding to an eMBB service. The first radio link and the second radio link are not limited in the embodiments of this application. A frequency domain resource corresponding to the first radio link may be the same as or different from a frequency domain resource corresponding to the second radio link. In one manner, as shown in FIG. 3A, the frequency domain resource corresponding to the first radio link includes the frequency domain resource corresponding to the second radio link. Bandwidth of the two frequency domain resources may be the same or may be different, and the two radio links may be located in one bandwidth part (bandwidth part, BWP). In another manner, frequency domain resources corresponding to the first radio link and the second radio link may be frequency division multiplexed (frequency division multiplexing, FDM). As shown in FIG. 3B, the two radio links are located in different BWPs.
[0204] For example, the first threshold included in the first radio link quality assessment mechanism is different from the third threshold included in the second radio link quality assessment mechanism. For example, the first threshold included in the first radio link quality assessment mechanism is specifically a first SINR, and the third threshold included in the second radio link quality assessment mechanism is specifically a second SINR. In this case, the first threshold is greater than the third threshold, that is, a value of the first SINR is greater than a value of the second SINR. In this case, after determining, based on the first radio link quality assessment mechanism, that the first radio link fails, the terminal device may further determine a state of the second radio link between the terminal device and the access network device based on the second radio link quality assessment mechanism. Because the value of the second SINR corresponding to the second radio link quality assessment mechanism is less than the value of the first SINR corresponding to the first radio link quality assessment mechanism, the terminal device may probably determine, based on the second radio link quality assessment mechanism, that the second radio link between the terminal device and the access network device can work normally. This is relatively applicable to the following scenario: For example, the first radio link is a radio link corresponding to a URLLC service, and the second radio link is a radio link corresponding to eMBB. The terminal device has both a URLLC service requirement and an eMBB service requirement. Because the URLLC service requires much higher reliability than the eMBB service, if a working point corresponding to the URLLC service is represented by, for example, an SINR value, the working point corresponding to the URLLC service is greater than a working point (for example, also represented by an SINR value) corresponding to the eMBB service. When the URLLC service of the terminal device cannot meet a requirement, the terminal device may fall back to an eMBB working mode, because the eMBB working mode requires relatively low on an SINR. Therefore, even if a normal service of the URLLC service cannot be ensured if the first radio link between the terminal device and the access network device is used, there is still a relatively high probability that the eMBB service of the terminal device can be ensured if the second radio link between the terminal device and the access network device is used. Even if the terminal device currently has no requirement on the eMBB service, according to the technical solutions provided in this embodiment of this application, the terminal device can maintain the second radio link between the terminal device and the access network device based on the second radio link quality assessment mechanism corresponding to the eMBB service, and does not need to perform an RRC reestablishment process or enter an RRC idle state.
]
Regarding Claim 4, 12, 19, and 27, Tooher and Zheng disclose(s):
The method of claim 1, wherein each data packet of the plurality of data packets is associated with a priority level. [(see Tooher ¶66; ¶108-113; ¶130; ¶153-157; and Zheng ¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; ¶204; Fig. 3-4)
[0155] A WTRU may determine that the survival time is about to expire and/or may switch a QoS adaptation state. The time when a WTRU may switch the QoS adaptation state may be determined based on (e.g., relative to) at least one of: a survival time duration (e.g., a maximum survival time duration), priority information (e.g., priority of one or more of an application, a transmission, a LCH, or a LCH group), a QoS adaptation state (e.g., a current QoS adaptation state), or a channel status (e.g., a channel congestion or channel measurement).
]
Regarding Claims 5, 13, 20, and 28, Tooher and Zheng disclose(s):
The method of claim 4, wherein
one or more priority levels corresponding to one or more data packets of the plurality of data packets are increased after a period of time during the survival time period has elapsed. [(See Tooher ¶88-112)]
Regarding Claim 9, Tooher disclose(s):
A method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device, the method comprising:
receiving, via a [(See Tooher ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138; ¶154-157; ¶161-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)]
receiving, based on the first data packet being not successfully communicated to the wireless communication device within the first time period via the first link, a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a [(See Tooher ¶66; ¶88; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138-141; ¶154-157; ¶160-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)]
Tooher does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, via a first link of a plurality of links, a first data packet of a plurality of data packets during a first time period, wherein the first time period defines a period of time that the wireless communication device is connected to a user equipment (UE) via the first link; and
receiving, based on the first data packet being not successfully communicated to the wireless communication device within the first time period via the first link, a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a second link of the plurality of links during a survival time period immediately subsequent to expiration of the first time period, wherein combination of the first time period and the survival time period defines a period of time where a connection with the UE via the plurality of links is maintained, and wherein expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the UE via the plurality of links is lost.
However Zheng¸ analogous art also teaching radio link failure protocol, does disclose:
receiving, via a first link of a plurality of links, a first data packet of a plurality of data packets during a first time period, wherein the first time period defines a period of time that the wireless communication device is connected to a user equipment (UE) via the first link; and [(Zheng ¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; Fig. 3-4)]
receiving, based on the first data packet being not successfully communicated to the wireless communication device within the first time period via the first link, a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a second link of the plurality of links during a survival time period immediately subsequent to expiration of the first time period, wherein combination of the first time period and the survival time period defines a period of time where a connection with the UE via the plurality of links is maintained, and wherein expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the UE via the plurality of links is lost. [(Zheng ¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; ¶204; Fig. 3-4)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Tooher with that of Zheng to explicitly include a plurality of links to be able to switch to a second link in a timely manner when the first link fails, as per Zheng (¶36), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 16, Tooher disclose(s):
A wireless communication device comprising:
a processor; and [Tooher discloses a processor (¶ 23-32; Fig. 1B)]
a transceiver coupled to the processor, wherein the transceiver is configured to: [Tooher discloses a processor coupled with transceiver (¶ 23-32; Fig. 1B)]
transmit, via a (See Tooher ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138; ¶154-157; ¶161-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)
determine that the first data packet was not successfully communicated to the network node within the first time period via the first link; and (See Tooher ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138; ¶160-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)
transmit, based on the determination a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a network node via the plurality of links is maintained, and wherein expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the network node via the plurality of links is lost. (See Tooher ¶66; ¶88; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138-141; ¶154-157; ¶160-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)
Tooher does not explicitly disclose:
transmit, via a first link of a plurality of links, a first data packet of a plurality of data packets during a first time period, wherein the first time period defines a period of time that the wireless communication device is connected to a network node via the first link
transmit, based on the determination a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a second link of the plurality of links during a survival time period immediately subsequent to expiration of the first time period, wherein combination of the first time period and the survival time period defines a period of time where a connection with the network node via the plurality of links is maintained, and wherein expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the network node via the plurality of links is lost.
However Zheng¸ analogous art also teaching radio link failure protocol, does disclose:
transmit, via a first link of a plurality of links, a first data packet of a plurality of data packets during a first time period, wherein the first time period defines a period of time that the wireless communication device is connected to a network node via the first link [Zheng discloses a first and second radio link such that when determining that the first radio link is about to fail, the terminal device can be switched to a second radio link as well as a timer (e.g. T310) used in determining radio link failure (¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; Fig. 3-4)]
transmit, based on the determination a second data packet of the plurality of data packets via a second link of the plurality of links during a survival time period immediately subsequent to expiration of the first time period, wherein combination of the first time period and the survival time period defines a period of time where a connection with the network node via the plurality of links is maintained, and wherein expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the network node via the plurality of links is lost. [Zheng discloses a first and second radio link such that the 2 links may be different radio links with different service requirements and when determining that the first radio link is about to fail, the terminal device can be switched to a second radio link as well as a timer (e.g. T310) used in determining radio link failure (¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; ¶204; Fig. 3-4)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Toohey with that of Zheng to explicitly include a plurality of links to be able to switch to a second link in a timely manner when the first link fails, as per Zheng (¶36), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 24, Tooher disclose(s):
A wireless communication device comprising:
a processor; and [Tooher discloses a processor (¶ 23-32; Fig. 1B)]
a transceiver coupled to the processor, wherein the transceiver is configured to: [Tooher discloses a processor coupled with transceiver (¶ 23-32; Fig. 1B)]
receive, via a first link [(See Tooher ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138; ¶154-157; ¶161-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)]
receive, based on the first data packet being not successfully communicated to the wireless communication device within the first time period via the first link, a second data packet of the plurality of data packets during a survival time period immediately subsequent to expiration of the first time period, wherein combination of the first time period and the survival time period defines a period of time where a connection with the UE via the plurality of links is maintained, and wherein expiration of the survival time period defines a period of time when the connection with the UE via the plurality of links is lost. (See Tooher ¶66; ¶88; ¶74-79; ¶120-122; ¶138-141; ¶154-157; ¶160-163; Fig. 2a and 2b)
Tooher does not explicitly disclose:
receive, via a first link of a plurality of links, a first data packet of a plurality of data packets during a first time period, wherein the first time period defines a period of time that the wireless communication device is connected to a user equipment (UE) via the first link; and
However Zheng¸ analogous art also teaching radio link failure protocol, does disclose:
receive, via a first link of a plurality of links, a first data packet of a plurality of data packets during a first time period, wherein the first time period defines a period of time that the wireless communication device is connected to a user equipment (UE) via the first link; and [(See Zheng ¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; Fig. 3-4)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Tooher with that of Zheng to explicitly include a plurality of links to be able to switch to a second link in a timely manner when the first link fails, as per Zheng (¶36), with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 6-8, 14-15, 21-23, and 29-30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tooher, Zheng, and further in view of Belleschi.
Regarding Claim 6, 14, 21, and 29, Tooher and Zheng disclose(s):
The method of claim 5, further comprising:
transmitting, via [(see Tooher ¶21; ¶56; ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶85-88; ¶108-113; ¶120-122; ¶130-141; ¶153-157; ¶160-163; and Zheng ¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; ¶204; Fig. 3-4)]
Tooher and Zheng do not explicitly disclose:
transmitting, via a last-attempt link of the plurality of links, one or more data packets of the plurality of data packets having a corresponding priority level satisfying a priority-level threshold prior to the expiration of the survival time period.
However Belleschi¸ analogous art also teaching radio link failure protocol, does disclose:
transmitting, via a last-attempt link of the plurality of links, one or more data packets of the plurality of data packets having a corresponding priority level satisfying a priority-level threshold prior to the expiration of the survival time period. [Belleschi discloses a radio link failure (RLF) may be declared after a timer expires as well as a RLF recovery procedure which includes switching to another bandwidth part, channel, sub-band, cell, or carrier; or a handover (¶16; ¶214-218; ¶148-156; Fig. 2). Belleschi further discloses that UL transmissions may be of different priority with different associated quality of service requirements and so have different parameters for determining radio link failure (RLF), including T310 timer used to determine RLF failure and that the UE monitors the channel quality and compares measured channel quality with out-of-sync and in-sync thresholds Qout and Qin (¶8-13; ¶115-117; ¶126-145; ¶176-184; Fig. 7). Belleschi further discloses that an access condition may define a maximum number of channel access failures per time unit for triggering a recovery procedure (¶ 218) and that a counter for a priority level is stepped by one whenever channel access fails for the transmission associated to that priority level (¶ 160-167; ¶ 187).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Tooher and Zheng with that of Belleschi to explicitly include a maximum number of channel access failures per time unit for triggering a recovery procedure, as per Zheng (¶218), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 7 and 22, Tooher, Zheng, and Belleschi disclose(s):
The method of claim 6, further comprising:
transmitting, one or more data packets of the plurality of links having a corresponding priority level not satisfying the priority-level threshold in a different link of the plurality of links than the last-attempt link. [(Tooher ¶21; ¶56; ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶85-88; ¶108-113; ¶120-122; ¶130-141; ¶153-157; ¶160-163) (Zheng ¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; ¶204; Fig. 3-4) (Belleschi ¶8-16; ¶115-117; ¶126-145; ¶ 160-167; ¶176-187; ¶214-218; ¶148-156; Fig. 2; Fig.7)]
Regarding Claims 8, 15, 23, and 30, Tooher, Zheng, and Belleschi disclose(s):
The method of claim 6, further comprising:
transmitting, via the last-attempt link, one or more data packets of the plurality of links having a corresponding priority level not satisfying the priority-level threshold outside of the survival time period. [(Tooher ¶21; ¶56; ¶66; ¶74-79; ¶85-88; ¶108-113; ¶120-122; ¶130-141; ¶153-157; ¶160-163) (Zheng ¶36; ¶ 49-55; ¶ 101; ¶ 110-112; ¶145-148; ¶204; Fig. 3-4) (Belleschi ¶8-16; ¶115-117; ¶126-145; ¶ 160-167; ¶176-187; ¶214-218; ¶148-156; Fig. 2; Fig.7)]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 11, 18, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468 /MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468