DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 1 recites “according to claim 1”. The claim should instead read “The film according to claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “step (iii) is carried out in the melt, as a dry blend or by dissolution/precipitation” which causes confusion. Does the applicant intend to claim step (iii) is carried out in 3 different methods or only as the dry blend or dissolution/precipitation? The examiner invites the applicant to clarify.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A film comprising:
(A) 70 - 99.9 wt.% of polyamide 6;
(B) 0.01- 30 wt.% of at least one long chain semi-crystalline polyamide; and
(C) 0 - 30 wt.% of one or more additives,
it being understood that (A), (B) and (C) add up to 100 wt.%.
Claim Interpretation
The term “long chain” is interpreted as “having, on average, 8 or more carbon atoms for each nitrogen atom” in view of instant specification page 3 line 29-31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 11, 16, 18, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto et al. (US 5612105).
Regarding claim 1 and 21, Okamoto et al. disclose in a film formed from a polyamide composition in Example 8 comprising 95 wt% of polyamide 6 and 5 wt% polyamide 11 (see Table 2), thereby reading on (A) and (B) wherein (B) is a semi-crystalline polyamide having 11 carbons and lying within the claimed ranges of (A), (B), and (C) as recited in the instant claims 1 and 21. (C) is interpreted as optional and therefore anticipated.
Regarding claim 3, 5, 16, 18, 19, and 22, Okamoto et al. disclose the polyamide film in Example 8 comprises 5 wt% of polyamide 11, thereby reading on the component (B) of claim 5, 16, 19, and 22 and lying within the claimed ranges of claim 3 and 18.
Regarding claim 6, Okamoto et al. is silent on the relative viscosity of the polyamide composition.
In view of the substantially identical polyamide composition of Okamoto et al., the polyamide composition of Okamoto et al. will possess the claimed property because relative viscosity is an inherent property. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Okamoto et al. disclose the polyamide film of Example 8 was formed by mixing polyamide 6 and polyamide 11 and melt extruded to form a sheet ([col 9, line 60-67], [col 10, lines 30-52 and 65-67]), thereby anticipating step (i), (ii), and (iii) of instant claim 8 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 13, 15, 17, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. (US 5612105).
The composition disclosed in claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 4, Okamoto et al. disclose in a polyamide film in Example 8 comprising 5 wt% polyamide 11, thereby lying outside the claimed range.
However, Okamoto et al. broadly disclose the amount of the aliphatic polyamide resin other than polyamide 6 is 1 to 25 wt% (claim 1), thereby overlapping the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the range taught by Okamoto et al.
Regarding claim 13 and 15, Okamoto et al. teach the polyamide film is used to form packaging for food [col 1, line 5-15], thereby reading on the instant claims.
Regarding claims 17, 20, and 23, Okamoto et al. do not teach in Example 8 polyamide 12 is used.
However, Okamoto et al. broadly disclose polyamide 12 among other polyamides may be used ([col 2, lines 59-67], see also Example 9, wherein polyamide 12 was used instead of polyamide 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the to add polyamide 12 as taught by Okamoto et al. since Okamoto et al. teach both polyamide 11 and 12 may be used as the secondary polyamide.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al. (US 5612105) in view of Mollison (US 4461808 as listed on IDs dated June 9, 2023).
The composition disclosed in claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 9, Okamoto et al. do not teach if step (iii) is carried out in the melt as a dry blend or by dissolution/precipitation.
Mollison teaches a method of forming a film made from a blend of polyamides (abstract). Mollison teaches the polyamides may be dry blended together [col 2, line 64-68]. Okamoto et al. is also concerned with films made from a blend of polyamides [col 2, line 7-33]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to carry out step (iii) as a dry blend since it is well known in the polyamide film industry.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763