DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 19 and 21-22 are cancelled.
Claims 1-18, 20, and 23-24 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner acknowledges the synonyms of Methisoprinol as defined in the specification, “Methisoprinol, also known as Inosine pranobex, isoprinosine or inosine dimepranolacedoben”, and applies the broadest reasonable interpretation by also using these synonyms in the search and examination of the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15 and 20 are free of the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 7, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "such as" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 4, 7, and 8, the phrase "preferably " renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 is indefinite for reciting the acronym “SS” without defining what “SS” represents. The instant claim and the instant specification do not define this acronym. Examiner requests the acronym be spelled out.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-13, 16-18, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wahl et al. (US 20200138709 A1) hereinafter Wahl.
Regarding claims 1-13, 16-18, and 23-24, Wahl is drawn to a pharmaceutical composition in the form of an aqueous solution, containing inosine pranobex, characterised in that it contains a solubilizer from the group of hydroxy alcohols or mixtures thereof, preferably propylene glycol, glycerol, preservatives selected from the group of parahydroxybenzoic acid esters and mixtures thereof, preferably methyl parahydroxybenzoate, propyl parahydroxybenzoate, and pH regulators in the range from 5.7 to 12.0, and a method of preparation thereof (abstract and claims 1-6).
Wahl discloses a pharmaceutical composition in the form of an aqueous solution, containing inosine pranobex, characterised in that it contains a solubilizer from the group of hydroxy alcohols or mixtures thereof, preferably propylene glycol, glycerol, preservatives selected from the group of parahydroxybenzoic acid esters and mixtures thereof, preferably methyl parahydroxybenzoate, propyl parahydroxybenzoate, and pH regulators in the range from 5.7 to 12.0. It is also preferred for the composition contains from 0.05% to 13% inosine pranobex (overlaps with 2.5% to 15% which is 25 mg/ml to 150 mg/ml) [0003].
Wahl discloses a method of preparation of the composition in that it comprises:
a) dissolving the sweetener in water; b) cooling the solution from step a); c) adding to the solution from step b) a solubilizer from the group of hydroxy alcohols or mixtures thereof; d) adding to the solution of step c) preservatives selected from the group of parahydroxybenzoic acid esters and mixtures thereof until dissolution; e) cooling the solution from step d); f) adding the sweetener to the solution of step e); g) adding pH regulators; h) sequentially adding, until dissolution, inosine pranobex and then zinc gluconate, followed by cooling, and preferably adding the aroma [0004].
Wahl discloses it is possible to obtain a liquid form of the drug, which is characterised by stability despite the use of two active ingredients, and a better taste than medicinal products containing only inosine pranobex [0005].
Wahl does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wahl, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wahl discloses all the required components and Wahl discloses it is possible to obtain a liquid form of the drug, which is characterised by stability despite the use of two active ingredients, and a better taste than medicinal products containing only inosine pranobex [0005]. Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
Claim 15 is allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615