DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-10, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (Publication No.: US 2009/0274468 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches An optical module, wherein the optical module comprises a pull ring (reference numeral 35 in Figure 3), a rotating fork (reference numeral 32 in Figure 3), an unlocking body (reference numeral 31 in Figure 3) provided with a fork opening (reference numeral 312 in Figure 3), an elastic member (reference numeral 33 in Figure 3); and a base (reference numeral 12 in Figure 3) provided with a protrusion (reference numeral 141 in Figure 3), wherein the unlocking body is provided on the base and is connected with the rotating fork (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4), and the rotating fork is movably connected with the base and is connected with the pull ring (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4); wherein the protrusion is used for coupling with a lock hole (reference numeral 410 in Figure 6) of an interface device, so as to lock the optical module on the interface device; wherein the pull ring is used for receiving an external force, so as to drive the rotating fork to rotate along the base, and during the rotation process, the rotating fork pushes the unlocking body to move in a direction close to the protrusion, until the fork opening abuts and opens the lock hole of the interface device, and then the protrusion is decoupled from the lock hole of the interface device (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6), wherein the base being provided with a first accommodating space (e.g. the elements on base 12 which retain reference numerals 334 as illustrated in Figure 2 and Figure 4), the elastic member being accommodated within the first accommodating space, and a blocking surface (reference numeral 313 in Figure 3) being provided on the unlocking body; and wherein the blocking surface compresses the elastic member when the unlocking body moves in the direction close to the protrusion; and after an external force applied to the pull ring is released, the elastic member recovers, and an external force is applied to the blocking surface, so that the unlocking body moves in a direction away from the protrusion (e.g. as illustrated in Figures 4-7), wherein the rotating fork comprises a rotating arm which is provided with a force bearing part (reference numeral 321 in Figure 3), a rotating part (reference numeral 324 in Figure 3) and a force applying part (reference numeral 325 in Figure 3), wherein the force bearing part is connected with the pull ring (reference numeral 35 in Figure 3), the rotating part is rotatably connected with the base (e.g. via reference numeral 151 in Figure 3), and the force applying part is connected with the unlocking body (e.g. via reference numeral 313 in Figure 3); and wherein the force bearing part receives an external force from the pull ring and drives the rotating arm to rotate around the rotating part, and during the rotating process, the force applying part pushes the unlocking body to move in the direction close to the protrusion, wherein the force applying part is specifically a rotating shaft (reference numeral 34 in Figure 3), and a groove (reference numeral 311, 313 in Figure 3) is provided on the unlocking body, wherein the rotating shaft is arranged in the groove; when the pull ring receives the external force, the rotating arm receives the external force and rotates around the rotating part, and during the rotation, the rotating shaft pushes the unlocking body to move in the direction close to the protrusion through the groove, wherein the force applying part is specifically a coupling hole (reference numeral 313 in Figure 3), and the unlocking body is provided with a fixing shaft (reference numeral 34 in Figure 3) which is arranged within the coupling hole; and the force bearing part receives the external force from the pull ring, and the rotating arm rotates around the rotating part, the coupling hole driving the unlocking body to move in the direction close to the protrusion during the rotation, wherein the force applying part is specifically a fixing shaft (reference numeral 34 in Figure 3), and a coupling hole (reference numeral 313 in Figure 3) is provided on the unlocking body, wherein the fixing shaft is provided within the coupling hole.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches The optical module of claim 2, wherein the force bearing part is specifically a fixing column (reference numeral 322 in Figure 3), the rotating part being specifically a shaft hole (reference numeral 324 in Figure 3), a shaft column (reference numeral 151 in Figure 3) being provided on the base, and a fixing hole being provided in the pull ring (reference numeral 35 in Figure 3); and wherein the fixing column is coupled with the fixing hole (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4), and the shaft column is accommodated within the shaft hole (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4), the shaft column and the shaft hole being rotatable relative to each other.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches The optical module of claim 2, wherein the force bearing part is specifically a fixing hole (reference numeral 325 in Figure 3), the rotating part being specifically a shaft hole (reference numeral 324 in Figure 3), a shaft column (reference numeral 151 in Figure 3) being provided on the base, and a fixing column (reference numeral 322 in Figure 3) being provided on the pull ring (reference numeral 35 in Figure 3); and wherein the fixing column is coupled with the fixing hole (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3), and the shaft column is accommodated within the shaft hole (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 3), the shaft column and the shaft hole being rotatable relative to each other.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches The optical module of claim 2, wherein the force bearing part is specifically a fixing column (reference numeral 322 in Figure 3), the rotating part being specifically a shaft column (reference numeral 34 in Figure 3), the base being provided with a shaft hole (reference numeral 152 in Figure 3), and the pull ring being provided with a fixing hole (reference numeral 35 in Figure 3); and wherein the fixing column is coupled with the fixing hole (e.g. via reference numeral 321 in Figure 3), and the shaft column is accommodated within the shaft hole (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4), the shaft column and the shaft hole being rotatable relative to each other.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches The optical module of claim 2, wherein the force bearing part is specifically a fixing hole (reference numeral 325 in Figure 3), the rotating part being specifically a shaft column (reference numeral 322 in Figure 3) , the base being provided with a shaft hole (reference numeral 152 in Figure 3) , and the pull ring (reference numeral 35 in Figure 3) being provided with a fixing column (reference numeral 32 in Figure 5 and/or reference numeral 332 in Figure 3) ; and wherein the fixing column is coupled with the fixing hole (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 5) , and the shaft column is accommodated within the shaft hole (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4), the shaft column and the shaft hole being rotatable relative to each other.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches The optical module of claim 1, wherein the base is provided with a guide groove (e.g. the elements on base 12 which retain reference numerals 334 as illustrated in Figure 2 and Figure 4) , and the pull ring (reference numeral 35 in Figure 4) is provided with a bending part (reference numeral 33 in Figure 3), wherein the bending part (reference numeral 334 in Figure 3) is arranged in the guide groove and is movable along the guide groove.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches The optical module of claim 1, wherein a side plate (e.g. the side plate on which reference numeral 151, 152 are formed as illustrated in Figure 2) and a fixing surface (e.g. roughly indicated via reference numeral 12 as illustrated in Figure 2) are provided on the base, the side plate, the fixing surface and a side surface of the base forming the first accommodating space (e.g. the space where reference numeral 334 of Figure 2 is fixed as illustrated in Figure 4), and a mounting column (e.g. the mounting columns on either side of reference numeral 12 as illustrated in Figure 2) is provided on the fixing surface, wherein one end of the elastic member is sleeved on the mounting column (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4), and the other end of the elastic member (reference numeral 333 in Figure 3) is provided adjacent to the blocking surface.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches The optical module of claim 12, wherein a step surface (reference numeral 142, 152 in Figure 3) is provided on the base, and a turning surface (reference numeral 34 in Figure 3) and a limiting surface (reference numeral 310, 312 in Figure 3) are provided on the unlocking body (reference numeral 31 in Figure 3) , the limiting surface (reference numeral 310, 312 in Figure 3) being connected with the blocking surface (reference numeral 313 in Figure 3) ; wherein the blocking surface compresses the elastic member (reference numeral 33 in Figure 3 as illustrated in Figure 6) when the unlocking body moves in the direction close to the protrusion; and the limiting surface moves along the side plate until the turning surface abuts against the step surface (e.g. as illustrated in Figures 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Publication No.: US 2009/0274468 A1) in view of Zhang (Publication No.: US 2005/0226626 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang (‘468) teaches The optical module of claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a circuit board (reference numeral 20 in Figure 3) and an upper cover (reference numeral 11 in Figure 2), an optical fiber device being provided on the circuit board (e.g. “a plurality of signal transmitting and receiving components” as in paragraph [0019]). Zhang (‘468) differs from the claim invention in that it fails to specifically teach the specifics of the optical module such as a cylindrical portion and a disc portion being provided on the optical fiber device, and a first cylindrical surface and a semicircular groove are provided on the base, a second cylindrical surface being provided on the upper cover, wherein the disc portion is arranged in the semicircular groove, and the cylindrical portion is limited in a space formed by the first cylindrical surface and the second cylindrical surface. However, Zhang’s (‘468) elements (reference numeral 200, 12 in Figure 2) suggests as much. Furthermore, Zhang (‘626) explicitly discloses that the above claimed optical module elements are well known in the art (reference numeral 308, 328, 310, 309 in Figure 3). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize the above claimed optical module elements in order to locate and retain the optical components (as in paragraphs [0060]-[0061] in Zhang (‘626)). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to utilize a cylindrical portion and a disc portion being provided on the optical fiber device, and a first cylindrical surface and a semicircular groove are provided on the base, a second cylindrical surface being provided on the upper cover, wherein the disc portion is arranged in the semicircular groove, and the cylindrical portion is limited in a space formed by the first cylindrical surface and the second cylindrical surface as taught by Zhang (‘626) in Zhang (‘468).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of references and Zhang (‘626) in particular teaches The optical module of claim 14, wherein the optical module further comprises a first housing (reference numeral 302 in Figure 3) , a top surface of the first housing being provided with a second through hole (reference numeral 305 in Figure 3) , a side surface of the first housing being provided with a third through hole (reference numeral 318 in Figure 3) , a first wedge table being provided on the base (reference numeral 319 in Figure 3) , wherein the protrusion passes through the second through hole (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6), and the third through hole is engaged with the first wedge table, so as to fix the first housing on the base (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of references and Zhang (‘626) in particular teaches The optical module of claim 14, wherein the optical module further comprises a second housing (reference numeral 304 in Figure 3) , a side surface of the second housing being provided with a fourth through hole (reference numeral 325 in Figure 3) , a second wedge table being provided on the base (reference numeral 326 in Figure 3) , wherein the fourth through hole is engaged with the second wedge table, so as to fix the second housing on the base (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Publication No.: US 2009/0274468 A1) in view of Zhang (Publication No.: US 2005/0226626 A1), as applied to claim 14, and further in view of MEI (Publication No.: US 2019/0289731 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhang and Zhang teaches The optical module of claim 14, but fails to specifically teach that the optical module further comprises a screw, a first through hole being provided in the upper cover, a threaded hole being provided in the base, wherein the screw penetrates the first through hole and forms a threaded connection with the threaded hole, so as to fix the upper cover and the base relative to each other. However, MEI teaches that this concept is well known in the art (reference numeral 4, in Figure 13, reference numeral 3-9 in Figure 18, reference numeral 1-2 in Figure 12). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize these elements in order to cooperatively assemble the elements of the optical module (as in paragraph [0059] of MEI). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to utilize a screw, a first through hole being provided in the upper cover, a threaded hole being provided in the base, wherein the screw penetrates the first through hole and forms a threaded connection with the threaded hole, so as to fix the upper cover and the base relative to each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner maintains the cited prior art meets all limitations of the claimed invention as outlined in the amended office action.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635