DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1 - 14 in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I, II and II are linked so as to form a single general inventive concept and the common features of the inventions contribute over the recited reference, “Nam”. This is found to be persuasive and the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 7, 14 – 18, 20 – 21 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Peng, Feng (CN 108143256 A) and hereinafter “Peng”.
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses a cooking appliance (pressure cooker, see FIG.1) comprising:
a main body (pot 1, see FIG.1) defining an inner pot accommodation space is formed therein (pot 1 has an inner pot accommodation space formed therein, please see FIG.5);
an inner pot disposed in the inner pot accommodation space (inner pot portion accommodated in the inside space of the pot 1, please see FIG.5);
a lid coupled to one surface of the main body to seal the inner pot accommodation space, the lid defining a storage space therein (a pot lid 2 coupled to the pot 1 to seal the pot, see FIGS.1 - 5, the pot lid 2 defines a storage space in a reception devices mounting portion 220 extending on one side of the pot lid 2 (the lid handle), (see FIG.2);
one or more electronic devices disposed in the storage space (power receiving electronic devices 22 (221 – 223) are fitted in the storage space of the reception device mounting portion 220, see FIG.2);
a power transmission coil (a first plate coil 121, see FIG.2) disposed inside a main body handle that is provided at one side of the main body (the first plate coil 121 disposed inside a transmission device mounting portion 120 extending on one side of the pot 1 (pot handle), see FIG.2), the power transmission coil being configured to receive power transferred from an outside of the main body (the first plate coil 121 is configured to receive power from external power supply through master control board of control panel 11, (0053 and see FIGS. 1 – 3)); and
a power reception coil disposed inside a lid handle that is provided at one side of the lid (a second plate coil 221, inside a reception device mounting portion 220 extending on one side of the pot 1 (the lid handle), see FIG.2), the power reception coil being configured to receive power transmitted by the power transmission coil (the second plate coil 221 configured to receive power transmitted by first plate coil 121, (0054 and see FIG.2)),
wherein the one or more electronic devices are configured to be driven by the power received by the power reception coil (the second plate coil 221 generate power to drive the 2nd PCB control panels 222, (0054)).
Regarding claim 2, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein:
the lid is rotatably coupled to the main body (the lid cover 2 is screwed into the pot 1, (0016, 0024 and 0054)); and
in a state in which the lid is coupled to the one surface of the main body to seal the inner pot accommodation space, the main body handle completely overlaps the lid handle (in a closed state, the lid handle 220 completely overlaps the pot handle 120, please see FIG.7).
Regarding claim 3, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the lid is a detachable lid that is completely detachable from the main body, (see FIG.2, showing the pot lid 2 completely detached from the pot 1).
Regarding claim 4, the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the main body handle and the lid handle are made of a nonmetallic material.
Regarding claim 5, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein: the main body handle protrudes in a radial direction from the one side of the main body (the pot handle 120, extends in a radial direction on one side of the pot 1, see FIG.2); and the lid handle protrudes in a radial direction from the one side of the lid (the lid handle 220, extends in a radial direction on one side of the pot lid 2, see FIG.2).
Regarding claim 6, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein a magnitude of power transferred to the one or more electronic devices is proportional to an area where the power transmission coil and the power reception coil overlap (the first flat coil 121 and the second flat coil 221 are disposed opposite to each other, wherein the second flat coil 221 generates an induced current under the influence of the changing magnetic field of the first flat coil 121, (0016, 0018 – 0022 and 0034) one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the changing magnetic field is proportional to the overlap area of the respective coils).
Regarding claim 7, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein further comprising a power conversion device disposed in the storage space, the power conversion device being configured to convert alternating current power supplied by the power reception coil into direct current power (a second PCB control board 222 disposed in the lid handle 220 storage space, converts the AC induced current in the second flat coil 221 into DC power, (0054)).
Regarding claim 14, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein a transverse cross-section of the main body and a transverse cross-section of the lid have a circular shape (a transverse cross-section of the pot 1 and a transverse cross-section of the pot lid 2 have a circular shape, see FIG.2).
Regarding claim 15, Peng discloses a cooking appliance (pressure cooker, see FIG.1) comprising:
a main body (pot 1, see FIG.1) defining an inner pot accommodation space is formed therein (pot 1 has an inner pot accommodation space formed therein, please see FIG.5);
an inner pot disposed in the inner pot accommodation space (an inner pot portion accommodated in the inside space of the pot 1, please see FIG.5);
a lid coupled to one surface of the main body to seal the inner pot accommodation space, the lid defining a storage space formed therein (a pot lid 2 coupled to the pot 1 to seal the pot, see FIGS.1 - 5, the pot lid 2 defines a storage space in a reception devices mounting portion 220 extending on one side of the pot lid 2 (the lid handle), (see FIG.2);
one or more electronic devices disposed in the storage space (power receiving electronic devices 22 (221 – 223) are fitted in the storage space of the reception device mounting portion 220, see FIG.2);
a power transmission coil (a first plate coil 121, see FIG.2) disposed at a position protruding in a radial direction from one side of the main body and configured to receive power transferred from an outside of the main body (the first plate coil 121 disposed inside a transmission device mounting portion 120 is protruding in a radial direction from one side of the pot 1 and is configured to receive power transferred from external power supply, (0053 and see FIG.2); and
a power reception coil (a second plate coil 221, see FIG.2) disposed at a position protruding in a radial direction from one side of the lid and configured to receive power transmitted by the power transmission coil (the second plate coil 221 disposed inside a reception device mounting portion 220 is protruding in a radial direction from one side of the pot lid 2 and is configured to receive power transmitted by first plate coil 121, (0054 and see FIG.2),
wherein the one or more electronic devices are configured to be driven by the power received by the power reception coil (the second plate coil 221 generate power to drive the 2nd PCB control panels 222, (0054)).
Regarding claim 16, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, wherein:
the lid is rotatably coupled to the main body (the lid cover 2 is screwed into the pot 1, (0016, 0024 and 0054)); and
in a state in which the lid is coupled to the one surface of the main body to seal the inner pot accommodation space, the power transmission coil and the power reception coil completely overlap each other (in a closed state, the first plate coil 121 completely overlaps the second plate coil 221, please see FIG.7).
Regarding claim 17, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, wherein the lid is a detachable lid that is completely detachable from the main body (see FIG.2, showing the pot lid 2 completely detached from the pot 1).
Regarding claim 18, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, wherein:
the power transmission coil is disposed inside a main body handle provided at one side of the main body (the first plate coil 121 disposed inside a transmission device mounting part 120 extending on one side of the pot 1 (pot handle), see FIG.2); and
the power reception coil is disposed inside a lid handle provided at one side of the lid (the second plate coil 221 disposed inside a reception device mounting part 220 is protruding in a radial direction from one side of the pot lid 2 (pot lid handle), see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 20, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, wherein a magnitude of power transferred to the one or more electronic devices is proportional to an area where the power transmission coil and the power reception coil overlap(the first flat coil 121 and the second flat coil 221 are disposed opposite to each other, wherein the second flat coil 221 generates an induced current under the influence of the changing magnetic field of the first flat coil 121, (0016, 0018 – 0022 and 0034) one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the changing magnetic field is proportional to the overlap area of the respective coils).
Regarding claim 21, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, wherein a power conversion device configured to convert alternating current power supplied by the power reception coil into direct current power is disposed in the storage space (a second PCB control board 222 disposed in the lid handle 220 storage space, converts the AC induced current in the second flat coil 221 into DC power, (0054)).
Regarding claim 28, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, wherein a transverse cross-section of the main body and a transverse cross-section of the lid have a circular shape (a transverse cross-section of the pot 1 and a transverse cross-section of the pot lid 2 have a circular shape, see FIG.2).
Claim(s) 15, 22 – 27, 29 – 31 and 34 – 42 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US 20200267806 A1), hereinafter “Nam”.
Regarding claim 15, Nam discloses a cooking appliance (wireless induction heating cooker 100, see FIG.2) comprising:
a main body defining an inner pot accommodation space is formed therein (a main body 110 defining an inner pot space formed therein, see FIG.2);
an inner pot disposed in the inner pot accommodation space (an internal pot 130 accommodated in the space, see FIGS.2 – 3);
a lid coupled to one surface of the main body to seal the inner pot accommodation space (a lid 120 coupled onto an upper surface of the main body 110 to seal the inner pot accommodation space, (0051 and see FIG.2)), the lid defining a storage space formed therein (the lid 120 has a storage space formed therein, see FIG.2);
one or more electronic devices disposed in the storage space (the storage space holding at least one electronic device, (0054 – 0056 and see FIG.2));
a power transmission coil disposed at a position protruding in a radial direction from one side of the main body and configured to receive power transferred from an outside of the main body (a power transmitting coil 150 positioned protruding radially from the lateral surface of the upper portion of the main body 110, (0117 – 0122 and see FIG.2)) and configured to receive power transferred from an outside of the main body (the power transmitting coil 150 configured to receive power transferred from heating coil 210 outside of the main body 110, (0123 – 0127 and see FIG.2); and
a power reception coil disposed at a position protruding in a radial direction from one side of the lid and configured to receive power transmitted by the power transmission coil (a second power receiving coil 140b positioned protruding radially from the lateral surface of the lid 120 and configured to receive power transmitted by the power transmission coil 150, (0130 – 0137 and see FIG.2)),
wherein the one or more electronic devices are configured to be driven by the power received by the power reception coil (plurality of electronic devices can be supplied with induced currents generated in the second power receiving coil 140b, (0143 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claims 22 – 23, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, wherein:
a controller (control module 121 in the lid 120 storage space, see Nam’s FIG.2) configured to determine a fastening state between the lid and the main body is disposed in the storage space; and the controller is configured to determine the fastening state between the lid and the main body by comparing a magnitude of current, a magnitude of voltage, or a magnitude of power supplied to the one or more electronic devices by the power reception coil with a predetermined reference value (claim 22), determine that the fastening state between the lid and the main body is normal in a case in which based on the magnitude of current, the magnitude of voltage, or the magnitude of power being equal to or greater than the reference value; and determine that the fastening state between the lid and the main body is abnormal based on the magnitude of current, the magnitude of voltage, or the magnitude of power being less than the reference value (claim 23), (the control module 121 determines the current, power deliver to the transmission and reception coils,(0144 – 0147) , wherein the amount of current or power induced first power receiving coil 140a is determined depending on a relative fastening of the heating coil 210 and power receiving coil 140a (e.g., a degree of positional matching between the heating coil 210 and the wireless induction heating cooker 100), (0127 and 0156 – 0158), this implies the fastening state (overlap) of the induction coils determines the amount of power, current or voltage induced between them and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate to come up with a reference power, current or volage value that determines the fastening state of the induction coils).
Regarding claim 24, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 22, wherein the controller is configured to (i) cause to be displayed information indicating the fastening state between the lid and the main body through a display module or(ii) send the information on the fastening state between the lid and the main body to another device through a communication module (the control module controls the display 123 that displays visual output of the power received by the power receiving coil 140b, (0144 and 0159 – 0160)).
Regarding claim 25, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, further comprising a heating coil disposed inside the main body, wherein the inner pot is configured to be heated by the heating coil (a lateral surface heating coil 160 disposed in the main body 110 configured to heat the internal pot 130, (0069 and see FIg.2)).
Regarding claim 26, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 15, further comprising a power transfer coil disposed inside the main body and configured to transfer power transmitted from an outside to the power transmission coil (a first power receiving coil 140 a disposed in the main body 110 configured to transfer power from the heating coil 210 outside of the main body 110, Nam (0049, 0060 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 27, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 26, wherein the inner pot is configured to be heated by the power transfer coil (the first power receiving coil 140a is configured to heat a bottom surface and a lateral surface of the internal pot 130, Nam (0049 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 29, Nam discloses a cooking appliance (wireless induction heating cooker 100, see FIG.2) comprising:
a main body defining an inner pot accommodation space is formed therein (a main body 110 defining an inner pot space formed therein, see FIG.2);
an inner pot disposed in the inner pot accommodation space (an internal pot 130 accommodated in the space, see FIGS.2 – 3);
a lid that is coupled to one surface of the main body to seal the inner pot accommodation space and that defines a storage space therein to accommodate one or more electronic devices (a lid 120 coupled onto an upper surface of the main body 110 to seal the inner pot accommodation space and the lid has a storage space formed therein (0051 and see FIG.2);
a power transmission coil disposed at one side of the main body and configured to receive power transferred from an outside of the main body (a power transmitting coil 150 positioned protruding radially from the lateral surface of the upper portion of the main body 110 and configured to receive power transferred from heating coil 210 outside of the main body 110, (0117 – 0127 and see FIG.2));
and a power reception coil disposed at one side of the lid and configured to receive power transmitted by the power transmission coil (a second power receiving coil 140b positioned protruding radially from the lateral surface of the lid 120 and configured to receive power transmitted by the power transmission coil 150, (0130 – 0137 and see FIG.2)),
wherein the inner pot is configured to be heated by power received by a power transfer coil (a lateral surface heating coil 160 configured to heat the internal pot 130, (0069 and see FIg.2)),
wherein the one or more electronic devices are configured to be driven by the power received by the power reception coil (plurality of electronic devices can be supplied with induced currents generated in the second power receiving coil 140b, (0143 and see FIG.2)),
wherein a distance between a center of a lower surface of the main body and a center of the power transmission coil is greater than a radius of the lower surface of the main body (the distance from the center of the main body to the center of the radially protruding power transmitting coil 150 from the side of the main body 110 is always going to be greater than the radius of the base of the main body 110, see FIG.2), and
wherein a distance between the center of the lower surface of the main body and a center of the power reception coil is greater than the radius of the lower surface of the main body (the distance from the center of the main body to the center of the radially protruding second power receiving coil 140b from the side of the main body 110 is always going to be greater than the radius of the base of the main body 110, see FIG.2).
Regarding claim 30, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29, wherein:
the lid is rotatably coupled to the main body (the lid 120 is rotatably coupled to the upper surface of the main body 110, (0051, 0053 and see FIG.2)); and
in a state in which the lid is coupled to the one surface of the main body to seal the inner pot accommodation space, the power transmission coil and the power reception coil completely overlap each other (in a closed state, the lid 120 is sealing the inner pot accommodation space by sealing an upper portion of the maid body, the power transmitting coil 150 and the second power receiving coli 140b care shown to completely overlap with each other, (0051, 0138 – 0140 and see FIG.2).
Regarding claim 31, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29, wherein the lid is a detachable lid that is completely detachable from the main body (the lid 120 is completely detachable from the main body 110, (0053)).
Regarding claim 34, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29, wherein a magnitude of power transferred to the one or more electronic devices is proportional to an area where the power transmission coil and the power reception coil overlap (the amount of power induced first power receiving coil 140a is determined depending on a relative fastening of the heating coil 210 and power receiving coil 140a (e.g., a degree of positional matching between the heating coil 210 and the wireless induction heating cooker 100), (0127 and 0156 – 0158)).
Regarding claim 35, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29, wherein a power conversion device configured to convert alternating current power supplied by the power reception coil into direct current power is disposed in the storage space (a power conversion circuit 180 disposed in the storage space is configured to convert alternating current power supplied to the second power receiving coil 140 b into a DC current, (0149 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claims 36 – 37, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29, further comprising:
a controller configured that is disposed in the storage space (a control module 121 in the lid 120 storage space, see Nam’s FIG.2) and configured to determine a fastening state between the lid and the main body, and the controller being configured to determine the fastening state between the lid and the main body by comparing a magnitude of current, a magnitude of voltage, or a magnitude of power supplied to the one or more electronic devices by the power reception coil with a predetermined reference value (claim 36), determine that the fastening state between the lid and the main body is normal based on the magnitude of current, the magnitude of voltage, or the magnitude of power being equal to or greater than the reference value; and determine that the fastening state between the lid and the main body is abnormal based on the magnitude of current, the magnitude of voltage, or the magnitude of power being less than the reference value (claim 37), (the control module 121 determines the current, power deliver to the transmission and reception coils,(0144 – 0147) , wherein the amount of current or power induced first power receiving coil 140a is determined depending on a relative fastening of the heating coil 210 and power receiving coil 140a (e.g., a degree of positional matching between the heating coil 210 and the wireless induction heating cooker 100), (0127 and 0156 – 0158), this implies the fastening state (overlap) of the induction coils determines the amount of power, current or voltage induced between them and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate to come up with a reference power, current or volage value that determines the fastening state of the induction coils).
Regarding claim 38, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 36, wherein the controller is configured to (i) cause to be displayed information indicating the fastening state between the lid and the main body through a display module or (ii) send the information on the fastening state between the lid and the main body to another device through a communication module (the control module controls the display 123 that displays visual output of the power received by the power receiving coil 140b, (0144 and 0159 – 0160)).
Regarding claim 39, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29, further comprising a heating coil disposed inside the main body, wherein the inner pot is configured to be heated by the heating coil (a lateral surface heating coil 160 disposed in the main body 110 configured to heat the internal pot 130, (0069 and see FIg.2)).
Regarding claim 40, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29, further comprising a power transfer coil disposed inside the main body and configured to transfer power transmitted from an outside to the power transmission coil (a first power receiving coil 140 a disposed in the main body 110 configured to transfer power from the heating coil 210 outside of the main body 110, Nam (0049, 0060 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 41, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 40, wherein the inner pot is configured to be heated by the power transfer coil (the first power receiving coil 140a is configured to heat a bottom surface and a lateral surface of the internal pot 130, Nam (0049 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 42, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29, wherein a transverse cross-section of the main body and a transverse cross-section of the lid have a circular shape (the transverse cross-section of the main body 110 and the transverse cross-section of the lid 120 have a circular shape, see FIG.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 – 13 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Peng.
Regarding claim 1, Nam discloses a cooking appliance (wireless induction heating cooker 100, see FIG.2) comprising:
a main body defining an inner pot accommodation space is formed therein (a main body 110 defining an inner pot space formed therein, see FIG.2);
an inner pot disposed in the inner pot accommodation space (an internal pot 130 accommodated in the space, see FIGS.2 – 3);
a lid coupled to one surface of the main body to seal the inner pot accommodation space (a lid 120 coupled onto an upper surface of the main body 110 to seal the inner pot accommodation space, (0051 and see FIG.2)), the lid defining a storage space therein (the lid 120 has a storage space formed therein, see FIG.2);
one or more electronic devices disposed in the storage space (the storage space holding at least one electronic device, (0054 – 0056 and see FIG.2));
a power transmission coil that is provided at one side of the main body, the power transmission coil being configured to receive power transferred from an outside of the main body (a power transmitting coil 150 positioned protruding radially from the lateral surface of the upper portion of the main body 110 and configured to receive power transferred from heating coil 210 outside of the main body 110, (0117 – 0127 and see FIG.2)); and
a power reception coil that is provided at one side of the lid, the power reception coil being configured to receive power transmitted by the power transmission coil (a second power receiving coil 140b positioned protruding radially from the lateral surface of the lid 120 and configured to receive power transmitted by the power transmission coil 150, (0130 – 0137 and see FIG.2)),
wherein the one or more electronic devices are configured to be driven by the power received by the power reception coil (plurality of electronic devices can be supplied with induced currents generated in the second power receiving coil 140b, (0143 and see FIG.2)).
Nam does not explicitly teach the power transmitting coil 150 and the second power receiving coil 140b are disposed inside a main body handle and a lid handle respectively.
However, Peng that relates to wireless power transmission electric pressure cooker (0001, 0016 and 0020), also discusses a first plate coil 121 disposed inside a transmission device mounting portion 120 extending on one side of the pot 1 (pot handle) and a second plate coil 221 disposed inside a reception device mounting portion 220 extending on one side of the pot 1 (the lid handle), (0053 and see FIG.2).
This provides a mounting space for the transmission and reception coils away from the cooking space in a manner that improves power transmission efficiency, (0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless induction heating cooker of Nam to include a transmission device mounting main body handle and a reception device mounting lid handle in order to provides amounting space for the transmission and reception coils away from the cooking space in a manner that improves power transmission efficiency as taught in Peng.
Regarding claims 8 – 9, Nam in view of Peng teaches the cooking appliance of claim 1, further comprising:
a controller disposed in the storage space (control module 121 in the lid 120 storage space, see Nam’s FIG.2), the controller being configured to determine a fastening state between the lid and the main body, wherein the controller is configured to determine the fastening state between the lid and the main body by comparing a magnitude of current, a magnitude of voltage, or a magnitude of power supplied to the one or more electronic devices by the power reception coil with a predetermined reference value (claim 8), determine that the fastening state between the lid and the main body is normal based on the magnitude of current, the magnitude of voltage, or the magnitude of power being equal to or greater than the reference value; and determine that the fastening state between the lid and the main body is abnormal based on the magnitude of current, the magnitude of voltage, or the magnitude of power being less than the reference value, (claim 9), (the control module 121 determines the current, power deliver to the transmission and reception coils, Nam (0144 – 0147) , wherein the amount of current or power induced first power receiving coil 140a is determined depending on a relative fastening of the heating coil 210 and power receiving coil 140a (e.g., a degree of positional matching between the heating coil 210 and the wireless induction heating cooker 100), Nam(0127 and 0156 – 0158), this implies the fastening state (overlap) of the induction coils determines the amount of power, current or voltage induced between them and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate to come up with a reference power, current or volage value that determines the fastening state of the induction coils).
Regarding claim 10, Nam in view of Peng teaches the cooking appliance of claim 8, wherein the controller displays is configured to (i) cause to be displayed information indicating the fastening state between the lid and the main body through a display module or (ii) send the information on the fastening state between the lid and the main body to another device through a communication module (the control module controls the display 123 that displays visual output of the power received by the power receiving coil 140b, Nam(0144 and 0159 – 0160).
Regarding claim 11, Nam in view of Peng teaches the cooking appliance of claim 1, further comprising a heating coil disposed inside the main body, wherein the inner pot is configured to be heated by the heating coil (a lateral surface heating coil 160 disposed in the main body 110 configured to heat the internal pot 130, Nam (0069 and see FIg.2)).
Regarding claim 12, Nam in view of Peng teaches the cooking appliance of claim 1, further comprising a power transfer coil disposed inside the main body and configured to transfer power transmitted from the outside to the power transmission coil (a first power receiving coil 140 a disposed in the main body 110 configured to transfer power from the heating coil 210 outside of the main body 110, Nam (0049, 0060 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 13, Nam in view of Peng teaches the cooking appliance of claim 12, wherein the inner pot is configured to be heated by the power transfer coil (the first power receiving coil 140a is configured to heat a bottom surface and a lateral surface of the internal pot 130, Nam (0049 and see FIG.2)).
Regarding claim 32, Nam discloses the cooking appliance of claim 29.
Nam does not explicitly teach that the power transmission coil is disposed inside a main body handle protruding in a radial direction from the one side of the main body; and the power reception coil is disposed inside a lid handle protruding in a radial direction from the one side of the lid.
However, Peng that relates to wireless power transmission electric pressure cooker (0001, 0016 and 0020), also discusses a first plate coil 121 disposed inside a transmission device mounting portion 120 extending on one side of the pot 1 (pot handle) and a second plate coil 221 disposed inside a reception device mounting portion 220 extending on one side of the pot 1 (the lid handle), (0053 and see FIG.2).
This provides a mounting space for the transmission and reception coils away from the cooking space in a manner that improves power transmission efficiency, (0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the wireless induction heating cooker of Nam to include a transmission device mounting main body handle and a reception device mounting lid handle in order to provides amounting space for the transmission and reception coils away from the cooking space in a manner that improves power transmission efficiency as taught in Peng.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Peng in further view of Matsumoto et al. (JP H09262176 A) and hereinafter “Matsumoto”.
Regarding claim 33, Nam in view of Peng teaches the cooking appliance of claim 32.
Nam in view of Peng does not explicitly teach wherein the main body handle and the lid handle are made of a nonmetallic material.
However, Matsumoto relates to an induction cooking appliance (0016), also teaches a handle 33 is attached around the circumference of this flange portion 32 of the pot 4 is made of a non-metallic material, (0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pot handle and the lid handle of claim 32 taught by Nam in view of Peng to be made of a nonmetallic material as taught in Matsumoto as one of ordinary skill in the art knows a nonmetallic material storing the transmitting and receiving coils does not interfere with the inductive properties of the coils.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Peng in view of Matsumoto.
Regarding claim 19, Peng discloses the cooking appliance of claim 18, wherein the transmission device mounting part 120 (pot handle) and the reception device mounting part 220 (lid handle), see FIG.2.
Peng does not explicitly teach the main body handle and the lid handle are made of a nonmetallic material.
However, Matsumoto relates to an induction cooking appliance (0016), also teaches a handle 33 is attached around the circumference of this flange portion 32 of the pot 4 is made of a non-metallic material, (0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the pot handle and the lid handle of claim 32 taught by Nam in view of Peng to be made of a nonmetallic material as taught in Matsumoto as one of ordinary skill in the art knows a nonmetallic material storing the transmitting and receiving coils does not interfere with the inductive properties of the coils.
Conclusion
/DILNESSA B BELAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761