DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 12/4/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1 and 7 have been amended. Claims 2 and 8 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-11 are pending. Claims 7 and 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5, filed 12/4/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 3 under § 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant argues that the newly amended limitations of the adhesive film is to be applied “by deflecting an elastic membrane by generating a negative pressure in a space between the elastic membrane and the surface of the component” is not taught by the prior art. The Examiner agrees that the prior art does not teach the newly amended limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the new prior art.
The Applicant argues that ICHIKAWA does not teach the newly amended limitation “wherein the adhesive film has a film thickness of 10 µm to 80 µm”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. ICHIKAWA teaches the adhesive has a thickness preferably about 0.05 to 10 µm [0033], which meets the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2003/0129389), hereinafter ICHIKAWA, in view of Nakata et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2008/0063494), hereinafter NAKATA.
Regarding claim 1, ICHIKAWA teaches: A method for applying an adhesive film to the surface of a component (ICHIKAWA teaches the adhesive film (cover tape) is applied to a component (electronic part storage member) [0069]), comprising: a. carrying out a physical surface activation of an adhesive layer of an adhesive film (ICHIKAWA teaches the surface of a thermally adhesive resin layer (2) may be subjected to surface treatment such as a plasma treatment [0055; Figs. 1-2]); b. moistening the adhesive layer of the adhesive film (ICHIKAWA teaches the thermally adhesive resin layer (2) may be subjected to a moistening treatment [0059]. ICHIKAWA teaches the moistening treatment may be conducted in combination with the surface treatment [0061]); and c. bringing the surface-activated and moistened adhesive film in contact with a surface of the component to which the adhesive film is to be applied (ICHIKAWA teaches the adhesive film (cover tape) is applied to a component (electronic part storage member) [0069]) . . . ; wherein the physical surface activation comprises a plasma treatment and/or a flame treatment (ICHIKAWA teaches the surface of a thermally adhesive resin layer (2) may be subjected to surface treatment such as a plasma treatment [0055; Figs. 1-2]); wherein the adhesive film has a film thickness of 10 µm to 80 µm (ICHIKAWA teaches the adhesive has a thickness preferably about 0.05 to 10 µm [0033], which meets the claimed range. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness.).
ICHIKAWA is silent as to applying the adhesive film: by deflecting an elastic membrane by generating a negative pressure in a space between the elastic membrane and the surface of the component. In the same field of endeavor, adhesives, NAKATA teaches a pressing member (21) that may bean elastically deformable material [0054]. NAKATA teaches upper and lower cases (30, 16) are enclosed in alignment with each other and then a predetermined decompression state is attached while controlling a first (S1) and second space (S2). The decompression state of the first space (S1) is released to bring the adhesive sheet to the component surface in the second space (S2), which maintains the decompressed state [0043-0044; Figs. 3-5]. NAKATA teaches when the pressing member (12) receives the downward force exerted to the pressing surface (21), resulting from the release of the decompression, the deformable portion (23) begins to be deformed [Fig. 4; 0044]. The deformation causes surface position of the pressing surface (21) to be pushed down, and thus the central area of the pressing surface (21) is adapted to press down the sheet S, resulting in that sticking of the sheet S to the central part of the component is carried out [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ICHIKAWA, by applying the adhesive by deflecting an elastic membrane by generating a negative pressure in the space between the component and elastic membrane, as suggested by NAKATA, in order to eliminate the trapping of air and ensure reliable sticking of the sheet [0009].
Regarding claim 4, ICHIKAWA teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: further comprising: a. bringing the adhesive film in contact with the surface to which the adhesive film is to be applied by initially pressing the adhesive film in a localized manner onto the surface to which the adhesive film is to be applied. In the same field of endeavor, adhesives, NAKATA teaches the deformation causes surface position of the pressing surface (21) to be pushed down, and thus the central area of the pressing surface (21) is adapted to press down the sheet S, resulting in that sticking of the sheet S to the central part of the component is carried out [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ICHIKAWA, by initially pressing the film onto the surface in a localized manner, as suggested by NAKATA, in order to eliminate the trapping of air and ensure reliable sticking of the sheet [0009].
Regarding claim 5, NAKATA further teaches: further comprising: a. bringing the adhesive film in contact with the surface to which the adhesive film is to be applied using an elastic membrane, which can be deflected for pressing the adhesive film onto the surface to which the adhesive film is to be applied (NAKATA teaches a pressing member (21) that may bean elastically deformable material [0054]. NAKATA teaches upper and lower cases (30, 16) are enclosed in alignment with each other and then a predetermined decompression state is attached while controlling a first (S1) and second space (S2). The decompression state of the first space (S1) is released to bring the adhesive sheet to the component surface in the second space (S2), which maintains the decompressed state [0043-0044; Figs. 3-5]. NAKATA teaches when the pressing member (12) receives the downward force exerted to the pressing surface (21), resulting from the release of the decompression, the deformable portion (23) begins to be deformed [Fig. 4; 0044]. The deformation causes surface position of the pressing surface (21) to be pushed down, and thus the central area of the pressing surface (21) is adapted to press down the sheet S, resulting in that sticking of the sheet S to the central part of the component is carried out [0044].).
Regarding claim 6, NAKATA further teaches: further comprising: a. deflecting the membrane by generating a negative pressure in a space between the elastic membrane and the surface of the component (NAKATA teaches the concept of deflecting the membrane (21) by generating a negative pressure in the space between the component and the membrane (21) [0043-0047; Figs. 3-6].).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2003/0129389), hereinafter ICHIKAWA, in view of Nakata et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2008/0063494), hereinafter NAKATA, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dike (U.S. 1,922,668), hereinafter DIKE.
Regarding claim 3, ICHIKAWA and NAKATA teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: further comprising: a. moistening the adhesive layer by the atomization of water. In the same field of endeavor, adhesives, DIKE teaches wetting an adhesive by the atomization of water [Col. 2, lines 90-108]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify ICHIKAWA and NAKATA, by spraying the layer of adhesive by atomization of water, as suggested by DIKE, in order for the water to spread evenly and uniformly [Col. 3, lines 18-23].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748