DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 34-48 are pending.
Claims 42-48 have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 42-48 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 38, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the limitations following the phrase are not part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 39, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that the limitations following the phrase are not part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 34-39 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by La Roux (US 20120065042).
Regarding claim 34, Le Roux teaches a method for making a filter element [0001] comprising the steps of:
advancing two sheets of filtering material in a longitudinal direction (the two sheets of filtering material depicted in Fig. 18);
separating the two or more sheets of longitudinally advancing filtering material (two sheets of filtering material are separated in Fig. 18);
gathering the separated sheets of longitudinally advancing filtering material to form a partially gathered rod of filtering material ([0038] and [0087]) having a longitudinally extending recess (which is formed by output tube 55C in Fig. 18, specifically the output tube forms the longitudinally extending recess);
inserting an additive release vessel into the longitudinally extending recess (via output tube 55c in Fig. 18 and [0087]);
gathering the filtering material around the additive release vessel to close the recess and thereby form a rod comprising a longitudinally extending core of filtering material and one or more additive release vessels ([0038] and [0087]).
Regarding claim 35, Le Roux teaches that the two or more sheets of longitudinally advancing filtering material are separated by a separator (output tube, 55c in Fig. 18), and wherein the gathering of the separated two or more sheets of longitudinally advancing filtering material comprises drawing the separated two or more sheets of longitudinally advancing filtering material into a gathering chamber (‘tongue’, 4 and [0087]).
Regarding claim 36, Le Roux teaches that the separator (output tube’, 55c) is coupled to the gathering chamber (‘tongue’, 4) such that the two or more sheets of longitudinally advancing filtering material are separated before entering the gathering chamber (‘tongue’, 4), and the separator (‘output tube’, 55c) prevents complete gathering of the two or more sheets of longitudinally advancing filtering material to thereby form a longitudinally extending recess in the partially gathered filtering material (specifically the output tube, 55c, forms the longitudinally extending recess).
Regarding claim 37, Le Roux teaches wherein the gathering chamber (‘tongue’, 4) comprises an inlet for receiving the separated sheets of filtering material and an outlet for the partially gathered filtering material to exit, and wherein the gathering chamber is tapered longitudinally away from the inlet (Fig. 18 and [0087]).
Regarding claim 38, Le Roux teaches wherein the separated two or more longitudinally advancing sheets of filtering material are drawn into a preliminary chamber (‘stuffer jet’, 3) before entering the gathering chamber (‘tongue’, 4).
Regarding claim 39, Le Roux teaches that the additive release vessel (‘capsule’) is inserted into the longitudinally extending recess by an additive release vessel inserter (output tube, 55c in Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 41, Le Roux teaches comprising a step of cutting the rod to form a filter element comprising a longitudinally extending core of filtering material and one or more additive release vessels ([0038],[0044] and [0075]-[0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La Roux as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Sebastian (US 20110180084).
Regarding claim 40, Le Roux does not expressly teach that the filtering material, specifically filter tow, is a non-woven material or paper.
Sebastian teaches a method and apparatus for making a filter rod element (abstract) and teaches that filter rods can be formed of filter materials such as paper or nonwoven polypropylene [0032]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have made the filter tow of La Roux out of convention filter tow material, as taught by Sebastian, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results.
Conclusion
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755