DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As amended, claim 1 recites “wherein the second rotation control mechanism comprises a motor which is a rotary actuator of a slew drive type, positioned in place or integrated with said first bearing that allow the rotation of the secondary tube with respect to the main tube to which said rotation rotary actuator is fixed, in such a way the rotation imparted on one secondary tube by said rotary actuator is distributed to all of the other secondary tubes of the same group exploiting the transmission rod” (emphasis added) in lines 25-31. It is unclear what is being claimed, included and excluded by the recitation “a rotary actuator of a slew drive type positioned in place said first bearing”.
Claims 7 and 9-13 are rejected on the same ground as claim 1.
Claim 11 depends on claim 1 and recites limitation “said row” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claim. It is unclear if “said row” recited in claim 3 is the same as or different from “one or more rows” recited in line 4 of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Domingo Cabo et al. (US 2011/0203640) in view of Wares (US 2010/013974), and further in view of Deboldi et al. (WO 2018/193390).
Regarding claim 1, Domingo Cabo et al. discloses a plant for producing electricity comprising:
a support structure formed by support poles (see support 5 and footing 6 in fig. 3 aligned fixed to a ground, to form one or more rows of poles (see annotated figs. 1-3);
a profile or main tube (see pivoting shaft 4, figs. 1-3, and annotated fig. 1 below) rotating around a first axis positioned on each row of poles (see figs. 1-3, and more specifically annotated figs. 1below);
a plurality of secondary profiles or tubes (see coupling shafts 2, figs. 1-3 and more specifically annotated fig. 1 below), each secondary tube having an axis and rotating around its axis (see annotated fig. 1 below) constrained to said main tube (4) by means of first bearings (see bushing 3, figs. 1-3, also see annotated fig. 1 below) and arranged parallel to each other and substantially orthogonal with respect to the first axis of the main tube (4, see figs. 1-3 and annotated fig. 1 below;
solar energy receptor devices (1, figs. 1-3, also see annotated fig. 1 below) fixed on the secondary tubes (2, see annotated fig. 1 below), wherein the solar energy receptor devices (1) are rotated around the first axis and the axis of the secondary tubes due to the rotation of the main tubes and the secondary tubes (see fig. 1),
a first rotation control mechanism (see first actuator 11 with arm and lever, see figs. 3- 4, 18-19, [0045]) for rotating the solar energy receptor devices (1) around the first axis of the main tubes (or pivoting shaft 4);
a second rotation control mechanism (see second actuator 20 with radial arm and lever) for rotating the solar energy receptor devices (1) around the axis of the secondary tube (2, see figs. 1 and 19, [0049] and claims 1-6);
wherein the second rotation control mechanism (second actuator 20 with radial arm and lever) comprises a frame (or Y shaped radial arm 16 and connecting rod 15) made integral with each secondary tube (2, see figs. 1 and annotated fig. 19 below), and the frame comprising:
at least two rods or inclined profiles (see fig. 1 and annotated fig. 19 below),
at least one bar (see fig. 1 or annotated fig. 19 below), and
a transmission rod or profile (see connecting rod 15, fig. 1 or annotated fig. 19 below) which integrally connects the at least one bar of each frame,
wherein the transmission rod (15) determines the formation of groups of the secondary tubes (2) in which a substantially horizontal movement of said transmission rod (15) determines a same movement of the frames (16 and 15) and secondary tubes (2) belonging to a same group (see figs. 1-3);
wherein the connection between the transmission rod (15) and the at least one bar of each frame (16) designed to allow rotation of the at least one bar around the axis of each secondary pipe (2) with respect to linear movement of the transmission rod (15, see figs. 1 and 19 below), and
Domingo Cabo et al. discloses making pivotal connection of the transmission rod (e.g. 15) by using bearing (e.g. bearings or bushing, see figs. 1-3 and 19, [0043], claims 3 and 5). Domingo Cabo et al. does not explicitly disclose the connection (or pivot attachment) between the transmission rod (15) and the at least one bar of each frame is made through sleeves each provided with a second bearing.
Wares discloses a pivotal connection (or pivotal attachment such as shown in fig. 8) is made through pivot bearing assembly including a bushing (508, figs. 5-7) with sleeve (504, figs. 5-7, also see figs. 4 and 8, [0022-0029]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the (pivotal) connection between the transmission rod (15) and the bar (of the frame) through sleeves each provided with a (second) bearing as taught Wares, because Domingo Cabo et al. teaches making pivotal connection using bearings or bushing and Wares teaches such connection would be advantageous in that loads from the bearing are transmitted directly through the frame (see [0029]).
Domingo Cabo et al. teaches the at least one bar (see annotated fig. 19 above) is a pivotal connection (see figs. 1 and 19 above), and using motor unit for rotation (see [0012]) integrated with the first bearing (3) that allow the rotation of the secondary tubes (2) with respect to the main tube (4) in such a way the rotation imparted on one secondary tube by the motor unit is distributed to all of the secondary tubes of the same group exploiting the transmission rod (15, see figs. 1 and 19)
Domingo Cabo et al. does not teach the second rotation control mechanism comprises a motor that is a rotary actuator of a slew drive type.
Deboldi et al. teaches using a moto unit that is a rotary actuator of a slew drive type (see worm screw in fig. 9; page 4, lines 26-28, also see gear in fig. 7b).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of modified Domingo Cabo et al. by including a rotary actuator of a slew drive type as taught by Deboldi et al., because Domingo Cabo et al. explicitly suggests using motor unit for rotation. Such modification would involve nothing more than use of known motor unit for its intended use of rotating in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result. International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 13, modified Domingo Cabo et al. disclose a plant as in claim 1 above, wherein Domingo Cabo et al. discloses the receiving solar energy receptor devices are photovoltaic panels (see [0001]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Domingo Cabo et al. discloses a plant as claim 1 above, wherein Domingo Cabo et al. shows the discloses two adjacent sets of the plurality of secondary tubes (2) are connected by means of the main tube (4, see figs. 1-3).
Modified Domingo Cabo et al. does not teach the two adjacent sets of the plurality of secondary tubes are connected by means of a transmission bar.
Reboldi et al. discloses the two adjacent sets of the plurality secondary tubes (5) are connected by means of a transmission bar (82-83) located in the main tube (4, see figs. 7a-b).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of modified Domingo Cabo by connecting the two adjacent sets of the plurality of secondary tubes by means of a transmission bar located in the main tube as taught by Reboldi et al., because Domingo Cabo et al. explicitly suggests connecting the two adjacent sets of the plurality secondary tubes by means of the main tube and Reboldi et al. teaches connecting the sets of secondary tubes by means of transmission bar located in the main tube (or ultimately by means of the main tube) would provide correct balancing between weight and strength (see page 8, lines 27-29 of Reboldi et al.).
Regarding claim 9, modified Domingo Cabo et al. discloses a plant as in claim 1 above.
Modified Domingo Cabo does not disclose the first rotation control mechanism and the second rotation control mechanism are controlled by an electronic processing unit which determines an angle that the solar energy receptor devices must present using an inclination sensor.
Reboldi et al. discloses the rotation control mechanisms are controlled by an electronic processing unit (or a suitable electronic controller) which is determined an angle that the solar energy receptor devices (or panels) must present using an inclination sensor (see paragraph bridging cols. 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of modified Domingo Cabo et al. by incorporating the electronic processing unit and an inclination sensor as taught by Reboldi et al., because Reboldi et al. teaches such incorporation would allow the movement of the plant to be controlled simultaneously that still continue to move independently (see page 9, lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 10, modified Domingo Cabo et al. discloses a plant as in claim 1 above.
Modified Domingo Cabo et al. does not disclose the main tube is made by means of a plurality of lengths joined together at intermediate poles of a same row.
Reboldi et al. discloses the main tube is made by means of a plurality of lengths (4) joined together at intermediate poles (2) of a same row (see figs. 2-7).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the main tube (4) of Domingo Cabo et al. by making integral of a plurality lengths joined together at the intermediate poles of a same row as taught by Reboldi et al., since such modification would have involved making elements integral and making elements integral is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claim 11, modified Domingo Cabo et al. discloses a plant as in claim 1 above.
Modified Domingo Cabo et al. does not disclose the first rotation control mechanism as claimed.
Reboldi et al. discloses a first rotation control mechanism comprising a support and movement support arranged on each pole, having a housing to receive the main tube (4), a bracket crimped on the primary main tube, and a linear actuator, wherein the actuator is arranged between the bracket and the support pole.
Reboldi et al. discloses a first rotation control mechanism comprising a support and support movement (6, figs. 4a-b and 5) being arranged on each pole (2, figs. 4a-b and 5) and having a housing (see saddle 62, figs. 4a-b), a bracket (72, fig. 5), and a linear actuator (73) arranged between the bracket (72) and the support pole (2, see fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of modified Domingo Cabo et al. by using a first rotation control mechanism comprising a support and movement support having a housing, a bracket and a linear actuator as taught by Reboldi et al., because Reboldi et al. teaches such housing would provide a housing for the main tube and the bearings to allow rotation, the bracket would provide constrain to the actuator to allow rotation movement to be generated (see page 6, line 5 through page 7, line 21) such that the materials for the various parts are selected for correct balancing between weight and strength (see page 8, lines 27-29).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7, and 9-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Porter does not teach rotary actuator of slew drive type; and Reboldi merely describes a transmission mechanism 82 constrained to the joining flange 41 between two primary tubes through a plate 71, which rotates a worm screw 83 arranged in the main tube 4, a rack 88 constrained to a mobile plate moves the worm screw 83 is set in rotation, the rack abuts a plurality of gears 89 fitted on a secondary tube, such that when the worm screw 83 rotates and the rack 88 moves, the gears 89 rotate to move the second tubes about the axis Y. Applicant then concludes Reboldi fails to disclosed the claimed second rotation control mechanism.
The examiner replies a worm screw/gear is a motor/ rotatory actuator of a slew drive type.
Conclusion
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726