DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/9/23 is considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The Drawings submitted on 7/24/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, it is unknown if solid oxide “type” is pertaining to the intrinsic, extrinsic property of electrochemical cells. Appropriate corrections and/or further clarification are required.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, in claims 1 and 5, it is unknown what “hydrogen/water electrodes” are pertaining to a fuel cell. A fuel cell only comprises a hydrogen electrode. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claims dependent upon the rejected claims 1 and 5 are also rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishimura et al (US Publication 20130149627).
Regarding claim 1, the Nishimura et al. reference discloses an operating method of a fuel cell stack with fuel cell units in which an anode gas is pulsated (regular interval for a given period of time) at startup (Applicant’s claim “for a given period of time in which there is no electrical current exiting”) to optimized or renew anode gas (Abstract) in the fuel cell stack on the anode side (hydrogen electrode).
Regarding claims 3, the Nishimura et al. reference disclose that pulsating the supply of the safety gas is performed at startup wherein the voltage threshold is 0V.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, the Nishimura et al. reference discloses at startup, the onset of startup of the fuel cell, the initial pulsation of the hydrogen gas is 0 (at S1) or less than 10Nml/min/cm2 and less than 5 Nml/min/cm2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimura et al (US Publication 20130149627).
Regarding claim 2, the Nishimura et al. reference discloses the claimed invention above and further incorporated herein. The Nishimura reference discloses the pulsing gas is a hydrogen gas but is silent in disclosing the hydrogen is pure, however, it would have been obvious to provide pure hydrogen because the method comprises maintaining high hydrogen concentration inside the fuel cell stack. Impurities of fuel gas would contaminate the fuel cell. If a person of ordinary skill in the art can implement a predictable variation, and would see the benefit of doing so, §103 likely bars its patentability. KSR v. Teleflex
Regarding claim 10 recites multiple compounds in an alternative manner. Thus as long as one of the components are disclosed by the prior art such as pure hydrogen. It is unnecessary to address the rest of the claimed limitations such as hydrogen diluted in nitrogen.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimura et al (US Publication 20130149627) in view of Perry (US Patent 6,391,485).
Regarding claim 6, the Nishimura reference discloses the claimed invention above and further incorporated herein. The Nishimura reference discloses at startup and during the fuel cell is shut down, the cathode comprises nitrogen gas but does not explicitly discloses with a temporal shift from pulsing of safey gas, purging compartments on a side of oxygen electrodes using at least one gas selected from the group consisting of neutral gas such as nitrogen, however, the Perry reference disclose during shut down (temporal shift) of the fuel cell, it is known to protect the fuel cell by flooding the cathode with purge gas such as nitrgoen to prevent chemical process to occur that may lead to safety concerns and degradation in performance life of the cell at shut down. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate during shut down (temporal shift) of the fuel cell, to protect the fuel cell by flooding the cathode with purge gas such as nitrogen disclosed by the Perry reference for the fuel cell method at startup and/or shut down disclosed by the Nishimura reference for fuel cell efficiency.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimura et al (US Publication 20130149627) in view of Nakato et al. (JP09-45353).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the Nishimura et al. reference discloses the claimed invention above and further incorporated herein. The Nishimura reference discloses at startup of the fuel cell, the fuel cell generally needs warming to operational temperature but does not explicitly recite further comprising at the same time as the pulsing of the anode gas, heating the stack to maintain a stack temperature. However, the Nakato et al. reference discloses at start up, where the fuel and air input starts, the temperature of the stack is low, the reaction efficiency of air and hydrogen gas is low that would affect power generation efficiency. By providing a heat base plate in contact with the fuel cell, heating the stack at startup to operational temperature can be uniform, the power generation can increase. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of heating the fuel cell with a heat base plate during startup while fuel and air is provided to the anode and cathode, respectively to uniformly heat the fuel cell to operational temperature disclosed by the Nakato et al. reference for the fuel cell startup method at the time the fuel gas is provided to the anode (at startup S8) disclosed by the Nishimura et al. to uniformly heat the fuel cell for efficient power output.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Nishimura et al (US Publication 20130149627) in view of McElroy et al. et al. (US Patent 4657829).
Regarding claim 9, the Nishimura et al. reference discloses the claimed invention above and further incorporated herein. The Nishimura reference is silent in disclosing that the method of claim 1 is implemented in a power-to-gas unit comprising a plurality of electrolysis reactors having a stack of elementary electrochemical cells. However, the McElroy et al. reference discloses implemented in a power-to-gas unit comprising a plurality of electrolysis reactors having a stack of elementary electrochemical cells allowing the fuel cell stack for operate at peak power capacity several times greater than that of normal operations (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method implemented in power-to-gas unit comprising a plurality of electrolysis reactors having a stack of elementary electrochemical cells disclosed by the McElroy et al. reference ino the fuel cell stack disclosed by the Nishimura et al. reference in order to maximize the fuel cell operations.
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752