DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 33 and 42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11-17-2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 32, 34-41, and 43-51 in the reply filed on 11-17-2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “130” has been used to designate both the vertical rotational x-axis (see Figures 11-12) and the yaw controlling actuators (see Figures 15-16 and Figures 20-21), and one of the pivots (226) appears to be mislabeled as “26” in Fig. 24.
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference character (24) in Fig. 2 and reference character (28) in Fig. 24. It is noted that reference character (24) in Fig. 2 appears to point to the same element as reference character (51) in Fig. 5b used to designate telescoping arm section (51), and the Examiner believes reference character (28) in Fig. 24 means to refer to bracket (228) in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification contains recitations of both a “saggital” and “sagittal” plane. The correct spelling is “sagittal” and should be used consistently throughout the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 38, 40, and 49 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 38 line 2 “saggital vertical plane” should be –sagittal vertical plane--.
Claim 40 line 1 “in which a said” should be –in which said--.
Claim 49 lines 4-5 “blade body portions” should be --blade body portion’s--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 lines 6-7 recites “a pivotable connection point lying on the blade body portion's said vertical rotational z-axis”. However, Applicant’s election of the embodiment of Figs. 1-13 is drawn to a grader assembly wherein the two primary load links (15L, 15R) lie in a triangular arrangement within a horizontal plane such that the pivotable connection points (16) of each link are not lying on (i.e. coaxial with) the vertical z-axis (130), but rather, adjacent the vertical z-axis, as seen in Figs. 11-12.
The Examiner has therefore interpreted this portion of claim 32 as reading --a pivotable connection point adjacent the blade body portion's said vertical rotational z-axis— for purposes of examination. Support for this interpretation can be found on page 31 lines 22-24 of the specification which states “In practice the two lower pivotable connections (16) are positioned close to together and either side of the axis (130)”.
By virtue of their dependence on claim 32, this basis of rejection also applies to dependent claims 34-41 and 43-50.
Similar to independent claim 32 above, independent claim 51 in lines 7-8 recites “a pivotable connection point lying on, or close to, the blade body portion's said vertical rotational z-axis” and has therefore been interpreted as reading –a pivotable connection point close to the blade body portion's said vertical rotational z-axis-- for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "the lower edge" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 41 recites “a pair of the at least one adjustable roll controlling linkages, one disposed either side of their connections to said forward extending mounting portion”. The wording of claim does not make sense in the context of the invention as roll linkages (19) are not disposed on either side of connection points (21), but rather, are disposed on either side of forward mounting point (19) as seen in Fig. 2 and 3c.
The Examiner has therefore interpreted this portion of the claim as reading --a pair of the at least one adjustable roll controlling linkages, one disposed on either side of the forward extending mounting point, wherein the adjustable roll controlling linkages extend from their respective connection points to said forward extending mounting point—for purposes of examination.
Claim 43 recites “in which an adjustable controlling linkage comprises an actuator”. It is unclear if Applicant intends to set forth an additional adjustable controlling linkage here, or if the claim intends to refer to the adjustable roll controlling linkage set forth in claim 39. As claim 43 depends from claim 39, the Examiner has interpreted “an adjustable controlling linkage” in claim 43 as referring to the adjustable roll controlling linkage of claim 39.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
By virtue of its dependence on claim 44, this basis of rejection also applies to claim 45.
Claim 49 recites the limitation "the " in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, Applicant does not specify a coronal plane with respect to any element, therefore “the coronal plane” in this case has been interpreted as any y-z plane.
By virtue of its dependence on claim 49, this basis of rejection also applies to claim 50.
Claim 50 recites the limitation "the sagittal plane" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32, 34-35, 37-40, 43-44, and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cunningham (US 3027662 A).
Regarding independent claim 32, Cunningham discloses a grader assembly (Figs. 1-12) suitable for use on a vehicle, said grader assembly comprising:
- a main body portion (24 + 35) attachable to a vehicle (21), and
- a blade body portion (53 + 54) connected to rotate about a vertical rotational z-axis (78) (col. 3 line 74 – col. 4 line 2);
the main body portion and blade body portion connected by at least two primary load links (links 72) spanning between the main body portion and blade body portion, the connection of at least one said primary load link being to a pivotable connection point (76) adjacent the blade body portion's said vertical rotational z-axis (Fig. 2),
there being at least one adjustable length positional link (one of cylinders 47) spanning between, and pivotably connected to, said main body portion (at gimbals 48) and blade body portion (at ball joints 51).
the blade body portion including or having provision for a ground working assembly (i.e. grader blade).
Regarding claim 34, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32, further comprising a triangular arrangement of two of said primary load links (72) which, when viewed in plan, extending outwardly from their pivotable connection point (76) at the blade body portion so as to pivotably connect (at 73) to the main body portion outwardly of its middle when viewed in plan (see Fig. 2, links 72 arranged in triangular configuration and extend outwardly from respective pivot points 76 of blade body toward pivot points 73 of main body).
Regarding claim 35, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 34 in which said two primary load links (72) of the triangular arrangement lie substantially within a horizontal plane when a lower edge of the blade portion (53) is parallel to horizontal ground (oriented substantially horizontal when blade is horizontal as seen in Figs. 1 and 3, col. 4 lines 67-69).
Regarding claim 37, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32, further comprising at least one adjustable yaw controlling linkage (59) extending between the main body portion and blade body portion (links 59 extend between main body 24 and rear welded arms 54 of blade body), whose adjustment in length effects rotation of the blade body portion about its vertical rotational z-axis (see Figs. 9 & 11, col. 3 lines 62-68).
Regarding claim 38, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 37 in which said at least one adjustable yaw controlling linkage (59) lies outwardly, when viewed in plan, of a sagittal vertical plane intersecting the blade body portion's vertical rotational z-axis (78) (Fig. 2, links 59 lie on either side of a sagittal plane, i.e. vertical plane extending in longitudinal direction and intersecting central point 78).
Regarding claim 39, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32 in which there is a forward extending mounting point (31 + 48) associated with the main body portion, and wherein there is present at least one adjustable roll controlling linkage (other of cylinder 47) connected to said forward extending mounting point and extending outwardly therefrom when viewed in plan to a connection point (51) on the blade body portion (53) (Fig. 2-3, cylinder 47 extends outwardly from mounting point 31,48).
Regarding claim 40, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 39 in which a said at least one adjustable roll controlling linkage (47) lies substantially within a vertical plane passing through the blade body portion (53) (Fig. 2, cylinder 47 lies within a respective vertical plane passing through the blade 53 in a front-to-rear direction).
Regarding claim 43, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 39 in which the adjustable roll controlling linkage (47) comprises an actuator (link 47 comprises a hydraulic cylinder).
Regarding claim 44, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32 in which a bottom edge of the blade body portion (53) comprises any one or more of: a levelling blade, dual levelling blades for bidirectional levelling, a rotary powered accessory, a brush, and a rake (see Fig. 1 and 6, cutting edge 92).
Regarding claim 46, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32 in which the main body portion (boom portion 35 of main body) includes a forwardly extending mounting arm (34,36,37), and there is also provided at the forward end of the arm a wheeled carriage assembly (39).
Regarding claim 47, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 46 in which said forwardly extending mounting arm (34,36,37) is adjustable in length (col. 3 lines 21-22 boom elements 34,36,37 are telescoping).
Claims 32, 34-35, 39-41, 43-46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ulrich (US 3512589 A).
Regarding independent claim 32, Ulrich discloses a grader assembly suitable for use on a vehicle (col. 5 lines 70-75), said grader assembly comprising:
- a main body portion (10) attachable to a vehicle (col. 6 lines 2-20), and
- a blade body portion (12 + 22) connected to rotate about a vertical rotational z-axis (Fig. 4, “vertically considered axis 54”, see Figs. 20-22);
the main body portion and blade body portion connected by at least two primary load links (links 100) spanning between the main body portion and blade body portion (Fig. 1,4 links 100 extend between blade 12 and U-frame portion 62 of main body 10), the connection of at least one said primary load link being to a pivotable connection point (108) adjacent the blade body portion's said vertical rotational z-axis (Fig. 4),
there being at least one adjustable length positional link (cylinders 116) spanning between, and pivotably connected to, said main body portion and blade body portion (Fig. 3, cylinders 116 span between and pivotally connect to blade body portion and main body portion at 118,124),
the blade body portion including or having provision for a ground working assembly (i.e. grading blade assembly 80).
Regarding claim 34, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32, further comprising a triangular arrangement of two of said primary load links (100) which, when viewed in plan, extending outwardly from their pivotable connection point (108) at the blade body portion (12 + 22) so as to pivotably connect (at 104) to the main body portion (10) outwardly of its middle when viewed in plan (see Fig. 4, links 100 arranged in triangular configuration and extend outwardly from respective pivot points 108 on the blade body toward pivot points 104 of the main body).
Regarding claim 35, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 34 in which said two primary load links (100) of the triangular arrangement lie substantially within a horizontal plane when a lower edge of the blade portion (12) is parallel to horizontal ground (see Fig. 2, cylinders 102 of links 100 are oriented substantially horizontal when blade 12 is horizontal, col. 1 lines 60-62).
Regarding claim 39, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32 in which there is a forward extending mounting point (forward ends of 28,30) associated with the main body portion (10) (as seen in Fig. 2), and wherein there is present at least one adjustable roll controlling linkage (32 + 34, col. 6 lines 62-74) connected to said forward extending mounting point and extending outwardly therefrom when viewed in plan to a connection point (36) on the blade body portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 40, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 39 in which a said at least one adjustable roll controlling linkage (32 + 34) lies substantially within a vertical plane passing through the blade body portion (Fig. 1, each roll linkage assembly 32 + 34 lies within a respective vertical plane passing through blade 12 in a front-to-rear direction as known from Fig. 1, while both roll linkage assemblies 32 + 34 lie within a same vertical plane in a left-right direction as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 41, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 39 in which there are a pair of the at least one adjustable roll controlling linkages (pair of roll linkage assemblies 32 + 34), one disposed on either side of the forward extending mounting point (Fig. 2), wherein the adjustable roll controlling linkages extend from their respective connection points (36) to said forward extending mounting point (28, 30) (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 43, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 39 in which the adjustable roll controlling linkage (32 + 34) comprises an actuator (control shafts 28, 30 to rotate crank arms).
Regarding claim 44, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32 in which a bottom edge of the blade body portion (12 + 22) comprises any one or more of: a levelling blade, dual levelling blades for bidirectional levelling, a rotary powered accessory, a brush, and a rake (Fig. 3, lower cutting edge comprises a leveling blade).
Regarding claim 45, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 44 in which a feature (148) on the bottom edge of the blade body portion (12) can be replaced or substituted (Fig. 3, col. 14 lines 56-61 lower edges of blade sections 80 receive replaceable wear pieces 148).
Regarding claim 46, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32 in which the main body portion (10) includes a forwardly extending mounting arm (see Fig. 1), and there is also provided at the forward end of the arm a wheeled carriage assembly (16).
Regarding claim 48, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32 in which the main body portion (10) includes a quick hitch mounting arrangement to a vehicle (implicit from col. 5 line 71-col. 6 line 20 supporting frame 10 may be adapted to be releasably connected to a motor vehicle such as a motor truck, tractor, or other self-propelling vehicle for dragging there behind or to be pushed forwardly thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunningham as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Hoyt et al. (US 20170260715 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Cunningham discloses the grader assembly as claimed in either claim 34, but does not explicitly detail at least one additional primary load link located either or both above and below the plane of said triangular arrangement of two primary load links when viewed from the side, and which pivotably connect to a point lying on the vertical rotational z-axis of the blade body portion.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hoyt in Figs. 1-9 discloses a grader assembly (10) comprising a blade portion (14) connected by a linkage structure (12) to a frame (16), wherein the linkage structure comprises two lower links (26) and an upper link (link 42 of pitch assembly 36) extending between the blade and the frame such that the upper link pivotably connects to a point lying on the vertical rotational z-axis (30) of the blade body portion (see Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a similar upper load link in the grader assembly of Cunningham, as taught by Hoyt, in order to provide a means for adjusting the pitch angle of the blade relative to the frame as desired (Hoyt Figs. 6-9, para. [0018, 0039]).
Claims 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrich as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Sellett et al. (US 4545439 A).
Regarding claim 49, Ulrich discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 32, but does not explicitly detail a stabilized slope sensor assembly as claimed.
Sellett discloses an apparatus for determining the true cross slope of a similar grader assembly, the apparatus comprising a stabilized slope sensor assembly (12) including a sensor portion (34) and sensor mounting portion (30) (Fig. 1-2);
the sensor mounting portion pivotably attached to a blade body portion (23) to allow rotation about a vertical axis (120) parallel to the blade’s vertical rotational z-axis (i.e. rotation axis of circle 22) (Figs. 2-3, col. 5 lines 64-68 bearings 113,114 of vertical shaft 120 permit relative rotation of mounting assembly 30 relative to lower portion 84); said sensor mounting portion also attached to a point (36) on the grader assembly preventing rotation of the sensor portion about a vertical axis relative to a main body portion (14) during yaw rotational adjustments of the blade body portion (col. 3 line 66 – col. 4 line 2 assembly 30 is rigidly secured to main frame 14 via mounting plate 36 and is held in fixed relation thereto such that blade 23 pivots about circle 22 independently of sensor assembly);
the arrangement further defined such that the sensor rotates about a horizontal axis in response to roll rotational adjustments of the blade body portion, and in which said sensor portion is a slope sensor oriented, when viewed from above, substantially along a transverse axis and is restricted in position within the coronal plane during either or both roll and yaw adjustments of the blade body portion relative to the main body portion (col. 6 lines 28-40 mounting assembly 30 maintains the pin 76 parallel to mounting plate 36 while permitting movement in directions parallel to or normal to this plane as a result of the pivotal movement of rigid parallelogram 42 and flexible parallelogram 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a similar stabilized slope sensor assembly in the grader assembly of Ulrich, as taught by Sellett, in order to provide a means for determining the true cross slope of the blade regardless of blade slope, blade rotation, drawbar shift or drawbar rotation, or any other relative positioning of the grader blade with respect to the main frame of the grader to optimize performance and grading accuracy (Sellett at col. 1 lines 54-59).
Regarding claim 50, Ulrich in view of Sellett discloses the grader assembly as claimed in claim 49. Sellett further discloses wherein the sensor mounting portion (30) comprises an arm (64,69) extending between the main body portion and blade body portion, said arm falling substantially within or parallel to the sagittal plane of the grader assembly (Figs. 1-2).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asal (US 3670825 A) in view of Hoyt et al. (US 20170260715 A1) and Cunningham (US 3027662 A).
Regarding independent claim 51, Asal discloses a grader assembly (Figs. 1-3) suitable for use on a vehicle (bulldozer), said grader assembly comprising:
- a main body portion (10) attachable to a vehicle, and
- a blade body portion (11) connected to rotate about a vertical rotational z-axis (P) (col. 2 lines 63-68);
the main body portion and blade body portion connected by at least two lower fixed length primary load links (12, 13) spanning between the main body portion and blade body portion in a triangular arrangement when viewed in plan (Fig. 1), and wherein the connection of said two lower primary load links being to a pivotable connection point (28, 30) close to the blade body portion's said vertical rotational z-axis (P) (Figs. 1 and 4),
there being at least one adjustable length positional link (14, 15) spanning between, and pivotably connected to, said main body portion and blade body portion, the blade body portion including or having provision for a ground working assembly (16).
Asal does not explicitly disclose a upper primary load link, located elevated above said two lower primary load links when viewed from the side, said upper primary load link spanning between the main body portion and blade body portion and connecting to said blade body portion by a pivotable connection on or close to said vertical rotational z-axis.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hoyt in Figs. 1-9 discloses a grader assembly (10) comprising a blade portion (14) connected by a linkage structure (12) to a frame (16), wherein the linkage structure comprises two lower links (26) and an upper link (link 42 of pitch assembly 36) extending between the blade and the frame such that the upper link pivotably connects to a point lying on the vertical rotational z-axis (30) of the blade body portion (see Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a similar upper load link in the grader assembly of Asal, as taught by Hoyt, in order to provide a means for adjusting the pitch angle of the blade relative to the frame as desired (Hoyt Figs. 6-9, para. [0018, 0039]).
Asal further discloses a roll control linkage (21) for adjusting a roll angle of the blade body portion (col. 1 line 74 – col. 2 line 1), but does not explicitly detail elements of the roll control linkage as claimed.
However, such a structure is old and well-known. Cunningham discloses a similar grading assembly comprising a blade body portion (53) and a forward extending portion (35) of a main body portion extending over the blade body portion, wherein there are two roll control linkages (47) positioned one either side of said forward extending portion when viewed in plan (Fig. 2), each roll control linkage extending from said forward extending portion to a pivotable connection point (ball and socket connection 51) on said blade body portion which is spaced distally outwardly of the roll control linkage's pivotal connection (gimbal mounting 48) to the forward extending portion when viewed in plan (Fig. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the roll control linkage of Asal with the roll control linkages/assembly of Cunningham as a mere simple substitution of one known roll control linkage in a grading device for another to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Moore (US 0374691 A) discloses a road grading machine. Cook (US 1783009 A) discloses a road grader. Tourneau (US 2311553 A) discloses a push grader. Henneuse (US 2374016 A) discloses a scraper. Liess (US 3025620 A) discloses a diagonal brace mounting for a tiltable blade. Ulrich (US 3157099 A) discloses an earth material handling apparatus. Coontz (US 3439752 A) discloses an angle dozer. Weaver (US 3486567 A) discloses a land leveler and grader. Smith (US 3503457 A) discloses a bulldozer. Terai et al. (US 3974881 A) discloses a bulldozer blade mounting. Larsson (US 4635730 A) discloses a grader attachment for a loader. Quenzi et al. (US 7134227 B20 discloses an adjustable wing plow. Ditzler (US 20120279735 A1) discloses a blade pivot mechanism. Bloxdorf (US 8850724 B2) discloses a plow with pivoting blade wing. Mason (US 10378176 B2) discloses a scraper blade assembly. Thiessen (US 20210131059 A1) discloses a leveling blade assembly having diagonal brace arms. Gates et al. (US 20220112673 A1) discloses a plow assembly having diagonal swing links.
/JULIA C TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671