DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment submission filed on 9/4/2025. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-17 were amended, while claims 2 and 7 had been canceled in the previous Office Action. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-19 are pending in the application of which Claims 1, and 11 are independent and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Amendment filed 9/4/2025 (herein “Amendment”) with respect to the claim objection on the various claims raised in the previous office action are acknowledged. The previous claim objections are withdrawn in view of amendment.
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Amendment with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection have been fully considered, and are persuasive. Consequently, 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim rejections are withdrawn.
Regarding 112(f), claim interpretation, Examiner like state that the previous claim interpretation is withdrawn, however, the claim amendment has introduced a new set of claim interpretation and shown in this Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments in the Amendment with respect to the 35 USC §101 rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 8-19 raised in the previous office action have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Consequently, 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is maintained.
Applicant set forth on page 9 of the Amendment:” Applicant has amended claims 1 and 11 incorporate elements that are not mental process or methods of organizing human activity. Thus, Applicant submits that the amended claims are drawn toward patent-eligible subject matter.”… “The standard is not can humans perform such steps via a pen and paper. Rather, MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III(A) states "Claims do not recite a mental process when they do not contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations." … For example, the concept of "all possible variations of the formed grammar patterns of the lexical elements within the frame are compared with the stored grammar patterns," is not something that is practically performed in the human mind.
Examiner disagrees, since short of considering “all Possible variations” everything else within the claimed invention is pointing toward a mental process. Human can check for the grammatical correctness of a sentence by comparing the suspected word with the options available. The point toward “all the possible variations” only point toward an automation aspect of a mental process. Per MPEP 2106.05(a)(I)- “iii. Mere automation of manual processes, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase, Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017) or speeding up a loan-application process by enabling borrowers to avoid physically going to or calling each lender and filling out a loan application, LendingTree, LLC v. Zillow, Inc., 656 Fed. App'x 991, 996-97 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).”
Applicant further states on page 10:” Paragraph 10 of the application discusses how the computation times for syntactic parsing methods are very large. Table 3 illustrates how the invention enables much faster processing times for a computer, reducing time from 52.2 yrs to 1.3 secs. Thus, the methods discussed in the disclosure and claimed improve the functioning of the computer and the technical field of syntactic parsing.”
Examiner disagrees, since a generic computer can perform word by word comparison or repeated arithmetic much faster, however, that does not constitute an improvement to the technology at hand, nor it provides an inventive concept. To show that the involvement of a computer assists in improving the technology, the claims must recite the details regarding how a computer aids the method, the extent to which the computer aids the method, or the significance of a computer to the performance of the method. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not sufficient. Thus, the claim must include more than mere instructions to perform the method on a generic component or machinery to qualify as an improvement to an existing technology. See MPEP § 2106.05(f) for more information about mere instructions to apply an exception.
Applicant continues on page 11:” The Examiner has incorrectly applied the law cited in Intellectual Ventures I L.L.C. v. Capital One Bank ("Intellectual Ventures") and Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Insurance Co. ("Bancorp Servs") as being applicable to the claims.” … Furthermore, the specific elements that allow for the optimization have been claimed. In short, the claims are not directed to merely performing a process on a computer so that the process is performed more efficiently or faster, rather, the claims are directed to optimizing operations performed by a computer to perform computerized syntactic matching.
Examiner does not find the Applicant’s argument persuasive, and still believes that the case law applies, and there was no “incorrectly applied the law”. If Applicant argument was hold to be true, for every application, there should exist a case law specific to that disclosure. That is not the case, and the case law is a guide not a case specific. Therefore, all the arguments with respect to aforementioned reference is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Amendment with respect to the 35 USC §103 rejection raised in the previous office action have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which was necessitated by applicant’s amendment. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is introduced for independent claims further adding Robinson et al. (US20050192802), and new citations from the currently applied art combination of Kamatani and Birnbaum.
Please see prior art section below for more detail including updated citations and obviousness rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and therefore claims 3-6, 8 -10, and 12-19 which depend therefrom; and claim 6, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 7 recites: “… of the word in the word list, the ...”, which appears to be indefinite since it is not clear which word it is referring to.
Claim 1, line 8 recites: “… the reading device into a plurality...”, which appears to be indefinite since it is not clear which reading device it is referring to.
Claim 1, line 13 recites: “… elements of the language, and...”, which appears to be indefinite since it is not clear which language it is referring to.
Claim 6, line 3 recites: “… categories of the lexical items.”, which appears to be indefinite since it is not clear which lexical items it is referring to.
Claim 11, line 6 recites: “… of the word in the word list, the ...”, which appears to be indefinite since it is not clear which word it is referring to.
Claim 11, line 8 recites: “… elements of the language, and...”, which appears to be indefinite since it is not clear which language it is referring to.
Claim 14, line 4 recites: “… corrected by the verification device, in order...”, which appears to be indefinite since it is not clear which verification device it is referring to.
Claim 18, line 2 recites: “… wherein the sequence decisions causal to the computation results of the...”, which appears to be indefinite since it is not clear which sequence decisions , or computation results it is referring to.
Applicant is advised to review all claims for any potential antecedent basis issues.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1:
reading module, dictionary module, syntax module, verification module, reading device.
Claim 6:
verification module
Claim 8:
verification module
Claim 9:
dictionary module
Claim 10:
correction module
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The flowchart in MPEP 2106, subsection III, is used to determine whether a claim satisfies the criteria for subject matter eligibility. For analysis purposes, one can follow the flowchart for subject matter eligibility.
Step 1: The independent Claims is directed to statutory categories:
Step 1: Abstract Idea Groupings – MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)
The enumerated groupings of abstract ideas are defined as:
1) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I);
2) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II); and
3) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III).
Claim 1 is an apparatus claim and directed to the machine or manufacture category of patentable subject matter.
Claim 11 is a method claim and directed to the process category of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A is a two-prong test.
Step 2A, Prong One: Does the Claim recite a Judicially Recognized Exception? Abstract Idea? Are these Claims nevertheless considered Abstract as a Mathematical Concept (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations), Mental Process (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (1-fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), 2-commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations), 3- managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) and fall under the judicial exception to patentable subject matter?)
The rejected Claims recite Mental Processes or Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application? Identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and evaluating those additional elements to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. “Integration into a practical application” requires an additional element(s) or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Uses the considerations laid out by the Supreme Court and the Federal Circuit to evaluate whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
The rejected Claims do not include additional limitations that point to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the rejected Claims are directed to the abstract idea that they recite.
Claim 1 is a generic automation of a mental process since a human agent can receiving, reading, decomposing character string, assigning grammar category, verifying, validating, analyze, evaluate, etc. Other than the mental process under the BRI, there is only the mention of a computer system, which is considered to be generic processor. Such devices are not invented nor improved by the applicant, and as such it is considered a generic processor/computer due to lack of specificity. With such a generic extra element, one cannot identify anything that can be relied upon as an improvement. Prong 2 of step 2A, in the 101 analysis, asks whether the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. The answer is no in this instance because there is no technological solution in the Claim that “integrates” the abstract idea. The Claim only suggests that the abstract idea be applied. It does not describe an application.
An apparatus for analyzing natural language comprising a computer system that executes machine-executable instructions including:
a reading module for reading and providing at least one character string including natural language, [This is merely amount to a data gathering activity, by way of collecting information/character string (i.e. sentence) which can be written down on a piece of paper.]
a dictionary module that includes a dictionary including word lists and basic forms of the word in the word list, the dictionary module configured to decompose the at least one character string provided by the reading device into a plurality of lexical elements, [This involves in breaking up or segmenting a sentence into various components (lexical elements) which made up the sentence. This can be carried out by a human with the help of pen and paper.]
a syntax module configured to assign to each lexical element of the plurality of lexical elements in its basic form, grammatical categories of the lexical element by accessing a database that includes grammatical categories for lexical elements of the language, and [This involves in assigning/tagging/labeling each word its relevant grammatical category (such as POS). This can be carried out by a human with the help of pen and paper.]
a verification module configured to automatically determine, for the lexical elements in a frame, with a predetermined number of lexical elements greater than one of the at least one character string, which arrangements of the lexical elements in the frame are correct and which are incorrect by comparing formed grammar patterns formed by the grammatical categories of the lexical elements in the frame with stored grammar patterns of natural language stored in advance in the database for the grammatical categories of the lexical elements, [This is amount to evaluating/checking the lexical element (words) by considering one or more of the words (frame) at a time and figuring out the correctness of its placement in the sentence using grammatical rules. This is considered a mental process.]
wherein the frame is superimposable successively over each lexical element of the at least one character string, [This is amount to evaluating one or more words by sliding over a sentence such as sliding window (frame) over the sentence. In other words, a word-by-word evaluation. This is considered a mental process.]
wherein for each position of the frame at each of the lexical elements, all possible variations of the formed grammar patterns of the lexical elements within the frame are compared with the stored grammar patterns and grammatical categories of the lexical element at the position of the frame in the formed grammar patterns that are determined to be incorrect are unassociated with the lexical element and not considered in other formed grammar patterns with the grammatical categories of other lexical elements of the plurality of lexical elements when the frame is repositioned to another lexical element of the plurality of lexical elements, [This is amount to considering all the options for a given word, and if a particular grammatical category is being checked, i.e., if the word being check for is a verb, no noun will be considered. This is considered a mental process].
wherein the verification module validates the at least one character string as syntactically correct and unambiguous in response to exactly one permitted grammatical category being determined for each lexical element in the at least one character string; and [This is amount to validating the grammatical correctness of a word in the sentence. This is considered a mental process.]
a correction and completion module configured to determine, in the at least one character string and grammatical categories associated with the lexical elements, a change to the at least one character string by systematical changing at least one lexical element of the at least one character string or by adding one or more lexical elements with suitable grammatical categories so that the verification module recognizes the at least one character string, after the change in the at least one character string, as correct based on the grammatical categories of the lexical elements in the at least one character string with the change matching the stored grammar patterns of natural language. [This is amount to applying (changing) correctness to the individua element as encounter to a problem and/or issue by comparing it against an example or grammatical rule, and subsequently, recheck the corrected version for compliance against the grammatical rules.]
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting various modules plus “a computer system” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements of using modules and “a computer system” to perform all of the above-mentioned steps. The use modules and “a computer system” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer/processor device performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component See MPEP2106.05(f) Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception [R-10.2019].
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Search for Inventive Concept: Additional Element Do not amount to Significantly More: The limitations of " decompose the at least one character string provided by the reading device into a plurality of lexical elements,”, “ assign to each lexical element of the plurality of lexical elements in its basic form, grammatical categories of the lexical element by accessing a database that includes grammatical categories for lexical elements of the language, ”, “automatically determine, for the lexical elements in a frame, with a predetermined number of lexical elements … the lexical elements in the frame are correct and which are incorrect by comparing formed grammar patterns formed by the grammatical categories of the lexical elements in the frame with stored grammar patterns of natural language stored in advance in the database for the grammatical categories of the lexical elements,”, “change to the at least one character string by systematical changing at least one lexical element …” is a well-understood, routine, and conventional machine components that and are being used for their well-understood, routine, and conventional and rather generic functions. Additionally, these limitations are expressed parenthetically and lack nexus to the claim language and as such are a separable and divisible mention to a machine. Merely reciting various modules plus “a computer system” without significantly more appears to be equivalent to a generic computer/processor to process a task that a human can process in their mind or with the aid of a paper/pen.
As mentioned, the only additional element to be considered, is the recitation of various modules plus “a computer system”. However, according to the as-filed specification (PGPUB version Par. 0003, 0053, 0054, 0059 and 0073) it disavows specificity of the device/module and/or computer system used Therefore, the cited additional element of module and/or computer system does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, it is not sufficient to cause the Claim, as a whole, to amount to significantly/substantially more than the underlying abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements of using module and “computer system” to perform all of the above-mentioned steps. The use of module and “computer system” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer/processor device performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component See MPEP2106.05(f) Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception [R-10.2019]. Also, in case of device of the computer system, it is described in a broad manner such that it could include techniques that may be performed by a human, like a rule-based learning for example. The additional element of a “device of the computer system”, as cited the US PGPUB version of the as-filed specification in Par. 0003, 0053, 0054, 0059 and 0073 of the instant application appears to disclose a general-purpose computer component which are well-understood, routine and conventional elements. The use of an “computer and/or components of a computer” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer device performing a generic computer function of capturing input data, storing data and retrieval data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
With respect to independent Claim 11, does not rely on any additional component which are not sufficient to make the claim as a whole to amount to substantially more than the underlying abstract idea.
The dependent claims do not add limitations that would either integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application or could help the Claim as a whole to amount to significantly more than the Abstract idea identified for the Independent Claim:
Claim 3 recites: “wherein a lexical element comprises or consists of a word or a punctuation mark.” Human, as mentioned earlier, can appreciate word and or punctuation mark a lexical element. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 4 recites: “wherein a beginning of the at least one character string and an end of the at least one character string each represent a lexical element.” Human can recognize a character string under various condition. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 recites: “wherein punctuation marks each represent a lexical element.” Human can appreciate/recognize a punctuation mark to be a lexical element. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 6 recites: “wherein the verification module is further adapted to identify the frame-by-frame determined correct grammatical categories of the lexical items.” Human can also determine correctness of each lexical item one word at a time. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 8 recites: “wherein syntactic errors in the at least one character string are detected with the verification module, a syntactic error being present if the verification module does not retain a single grammatical category for at least one lexical element or has not determined any permitted grammatical category.” Human can identify or detect a lexical error if more than one grammatical category is assigned, or no grammatical category assigned. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 9 recites: “wherein a correctness of each lexical element is verifiable by matching each syntactic element against the dictionary of the dictionary module.” Human can identify an error by comparing each element against a similar element in a list/dictionary. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 10 recites: “wherein the computer system further comprises a correction module configured for automatically correcting syntactic errors contained in the at least one character string.” Human can identify a syntactic error and correcting the same in the sentence at hand. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 12 recites: “wherein the changing the at least one lexical element of the at least one character string includes reformulations of the character string with respect to tense, numerus, genus, case, gender, and are automatically performed in such a way that the lexical elements are recognized as correct.” Human can use the appropriate lexical element to reorder or rearrange the sentence to reflect proper tense, etc. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 13 recites:” automatically identifying, lexical elements that are suitable for purposes of summarizing or identifying action or event scenarios in context via case, via temporal adverbs or other time-representing words, via conjunctions and related connected clauses, via adverbs of quantity and related dimensions, via adverbs of nouns, and/or special punctuation marks.” Human can identify any lexical item (word) and their sutability for a given application/intent such as summarization, etc. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 14 recites:” wherein, in response to character strings being detected as ambiguous, automatically generating queries as character strings - including the identified, remaining lexical elements - which are recognized as correct by the verification device, in order to communicate the character strings for presentation to a user or subsequent program.” Human can identify an ambiguity of a character string and attempt to correct it by confirming the statement by reciting it back to the user where part/portion of the text is included in the prompt/query. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 15 recites:” assembling information available as text from an automatic speech recognition device into the at least one character string, which is recognized as correct, for use as machine-executable instructions, in any man-machine interface.” Human can transcribe an audio and use that for further processing. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 16 recites:” combining information available as text from at least one device for automatic image processing into the at least one character string.” Similarly human can act as an OCR and recognize the text included in an image for further processing. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 17 recites:” wherein the change to the at least one character string further includes automatically inserting commas in the case of blank characters of the character string until the modified character string is recognized as correct.” Human can recognize an ambiguity in a character string and correct/improve it by inserting a comma, such as “John Doe” where he can insert a comma in the blank space to resolve the ambiguity such as “John, Doe”. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 18 recites:” wherein the sequence decisions causal to the computation results of the steps of the method by machine-executable instructions are deterministically documentable for traceability of a man-machine interface with respect to its input and the resulting actions in which these machine-executable instructions have been applied.” Human can look at a character string decide on the appropriateness of it based on a sequence causal. A given sentence which appears a grammatically correct would result in having appropriate sequence. For example: "The heavy rain, followed by the flooded streets, caused a series of traffic accidents." This sentence shows a clear sequence where the rain leads to the flooding, which then leads to the accidents. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 19 recites:” wherein on the basis of formal specifications for texts, such as comprehensibility of the sentence structure (subject, predicate, object sequence) or formal logical coherence, but not exclusively, evaluations of the formal structure with respect to length, type and sequence of morphological components of the character string are carried out automatically in order to be able to communicate these online or offline to a user or subsequent program via visual, tactile/sensory or auditory signs or signals.” A grammatically correct sentence would have a structure which has subject, predicate, object sequence. As such it will be comprehensible and formal. Such a sentence by virtue of having appropriate structure would also have appropriate sequence of morphological components which can be passed on to another user by writing it on a piece of paper and pass it on ward. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim directed toward abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum (US 20150127325 A1), and in further view of Robinson et al. (US20050192802A1)(herein "Robinson"), and Kamatani (US 20090228263 A1).
Birnbaum and Kamatani were applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claims 1, and 11 Birnbaum teaches [An apparatus for analyzing natural language comprising a computer system that executes machine-executable instructions including: – claim 1], [A method for analyzing natural language in the form of at least one character string, the method comprising: - claim 11] (Birnbaum, Par. 0005:” … The method can detect an error by analyzing a sequence of two or more words, identifying characteristics of the words and determining that the sequence of words based on the identified characteristics of the words match a predefined error rule.”, Par. 0021:” … a computer networked environment for improving the probability of grammatical error detection”, and Par. 0045:” … executed on any type and form of computing device, e.g. a computer, network device or appliance capable of communicating on any type and form of network and performing the operations described”, and Par. 0116:” …to analyzing the writing for grammatical errors”, and Par. 0141:” … the score analyzer 230 (FIG. 2B) of the grammar correction system can be configured to determine a competency score of a writer indicating a level of competence of the writer in a natural language based on one or more writings associated with the writer.” )
[a reading module for reading and providing at least one character string including natural language, - claim 1], [reading at least one character string including natural language into a computer system; - claim 11] (Birnbaum, Par.0023:” … users can submit written text and view identified grammatical errors and corrections …”, and Par. 0030:” … evaluating a writer's level of competence in a natural language.”, and Par. 0064:” … the piece of writing can be any document or resource that includes any collection of words capable of being analyzed for grammatical errors.”, and Par. 0082:” … The sequence of words can be any text string including one or more words. … the writing analyzer can identify a sentence or phrase as a sequence of words.”)
[a verification module configured to automatically determine, for the lexical elements in a frame, with a predetermined number of lexical elements greater than one of the at least one character string, which arrangements of the lexical elements in the frame are correct and which are incorrect by comparing formed grammar patterns formed by the grammatical categories of the lexical elements in the frame with stored grammar patterns of natural language stored in advance in the database for the grammatical categories of the lexical elements, - claim 1], [automatically analyzing, by the computer system, the lexical elements in a frame having a predetermined number of the lexical elements of the at least one character string, where the predetermined number is greater than one, the analyzing performed on the basis of natural language grammar rules for the grammatical categories of the lexical elements stored in advance in a grammar patterns database; determining which of the arrangements of the lexical items in the frame is correct and which is incorrect by comparing formed grammar patterns formed by the grammatical categories of the lexical elements in the frame with stored grammar patterns of natural language stored in the grammar patterns database for the grammatical categories of the lexical elements, - claim 11] (Birnbaum, Par. 0114:” … a writing to be analyzed for grammatical errors is received ...”, and Par. 0116:” … the grammar correction system can be configured to identify words in the writing and tag each of the words in the writing.”, and Par. 0117:” … can utilize error-based rules to identify grammatical errors in the writing (step 420). In some implementations, the error-based rules can include one or more tags which when combined or arranged in a certain way identify an error. … Grammar-based rules can include one or more tags which when combined or arranged in a certain way identify that the grammar of the writing does not violate the particular grammar-based rule.”, and Par. 0128:” The grammatical checker can identify, based on the comparison of one or more of the sequence of words [sequence of frames] with the predetermined list of words, a word of the sequence of words that is included in the predetermined list of words …”, and 0098:” … The tag module 224 can be configured to identify a word, perform a lookup in a database of the word and identify one or more tags associated with the word. …”) Note: When identifying whether it violate the particular grammar-based rule, equivalently identifies if the grammar used is correct or incorrect. When it looks up in a database, it implies checking for grammar rules/categories compliance. Furthermore, it is analyzing one word (frame size) at a time.
[wherein the frame is superimposable by the verification submission successively over each lexical element of the at least one character string, - claim 1], [wherein the frame is superimposable successively over each lexical element of the at least one character string and -claim 11] (Birnbaum, Par. 0006:” … The grammatical checker identifies, based on the comparison, a word of the sequence of words that is included in the predetermined list of words. … The sequence of tags is arranged in the order of the words in the sequence of words.”, and Par. 0091:” … The grammatical checker may arrange the tags in the sequence of tags in the order of the words in the sequence of words such that all tags associated with a first word in the sequence of words may correspond to a first position in the sequence of tags and all tags associated with a second word in the sequence of words may correspond to a second position in the sequence of tags and so on.”) Note: Analysis of word by word in the sequence based on the order of the words implies a word (syntactic element) long sliding window.
[wherein for each position of the frame at each of the lexical elements, all possible variations of the formed grammar patterns of the lexical elements within the frame are compared with the stored grammar patterns and grammatical categories of the lexical element at the position of the frame in the formed grammar patterns that are determined to be incorrect [[are unassociated with the lexical element and not considered in other formed grammar patterns with the grammatical categories of other lexical elements of the plurality of lexical elements when the frame is repositioned to another lexical element of the plurality of lexical elements]], - claim 1], [for each position of the frame at each of the lexical elements, all possible variations of the formed grammar patterns of the lexical elements within the frame are compared with the stored grammar patterns and grammatical categories of the lexical element at the position of the frame in the formed grammar patterns that are determined to be incorrect [[are unassociated with the lexical element and not considered in other formed grammar patterns with the grammatical categories of other lexical elements of the plurality of lexical elements when the frame is repositioned to another lexical element of the plurality of lexical elements]]; - claim 11] (Birnbaum, Par. 0091:” … The grammatical checker may arrange the tags in the sequence of tags in the order of the words in the sequence of words such that all tags associated with a first word in the sequence of words may correspond to a first position in the sequence of tags and all tags associated with a second word …”, and Par. 0117:” … can utilize error-based rules to identify grammatical errors in the writing (step 420). In some implementations, the error-based rules can include one or more tags which when combined or arranged in a certain way identify an error. … Grammar-based rules can include one or more tags which when combined or arranged in a certain way identify that the grammar of the writing does not violate the particular grammar-based rule.”) Note: each word (lexical element) is checked for grammatical errors (correctness/incorrectness) word by word (each position of the frame).
[wherein the verification module validates the at least one character string as syntactically correct and unambiguous in response to exactly one permitted grammatical category being determined for each lexical element in the at least one character string; and – claim 1], [validating the at least one character string as syntactically correct and unambiguous in response to exactly one permitted grammatical category being determined for each lexical element in the at least one character string; and – claim 11] (Birnbaum, Par. 0089:” In some implementations, the grammar correction system [verification module] can be configured to identify [validate] a function of the word included in the predetermined list of words based on the context of the sequence of words. In some implementations, the word may be ambiguous in that the word may be used as different parts of speech based on the context in which the word is used. In some implementations, the grammar correction system can apply one or more rules to determine the function of the word and assign a tag based on the function of the word. For instance, in the phrase "I see her," the word `her` is a direct object. However, in the phrase "I see her book," the word `her` is a possessive adjective. The grammar correction system can be able to determine the function of the word `her` and assign a custom tag based on the function of the word `her` in the sequence of words.”) Note: the example of the “I see her book” for the “her” assigns a custom tag based on function of the word, which implies one grammatical (syntactically) category is determined for each lexical element regardless of being ambiguous or otherwise.
[a correction and completion module configured to determine, in the at least one character string and grammatical categories associated with the lexical elements, a change to the at least one character string by systematical changing at least one lexical element of the at least one character string or by adding one or more lexical elements with suitable grammatical categories so that the verification module recognizes the at least one character string, after the change in the at least one character string, as correct based on the grammatical categories of the lexical elements in the at least one character string with the change matching the stored grammar patterns of natural language. – claim 1], [determining, in the at least one character string and grammatical categories associated with the lexical elements, a change to the at least one character string by systematical changing at least one lexical element of the at least one character string or by adding one or more lexical elements with suitable grammatical categories so that the verification module recognizes the at least one character string, after the change in the at least one character string, as correct based on the grammatical categories of the lexical elements in the at least one character string with the change matching the stored grammar patterns of natural language. – claim 11] (Birnbaum, Par. 0094:” A grammar corrector [module] can be configured on the grammar correction system and may be implemented by the grammatical checker of the writing analyzer 222. The grammar corrector can, responsive to determining that the first sequence of tags matches the second sequence of tags of the error-based rule, adjust the sequence of words to a revised sequence of words. In some implementations, adjusting the sequence of words to a revised sequence of words can include rearranging the words in the sequence of words or replacing words in the sequence of words with other words.”, and Par. 0095:” … The grammar corrector can then identify a subset of words of the sequence of words corresponding to the subset of tags. The grammar corrector can then replace the subset of words with a revised subset of words from the corpus that when assigned tags, match the subset of the third sequence of tags [pattern matching].”, and Par. 0096:” … In some implementations, replacing one of the words with another word may include replacing the word with a similar word. …”, and Par. 0134:” … adjusting the sequence of words to a revised sequence of words can include rearranging the words in the sequence of words or replacing words in the sequence of words with other words.”, and Par. 0089:” In some implementations, the grammar correction system can be configured to identify [validate] a function of the word included in the predetermined list of words based on the context of the sequence of words. … In some implementations, the grammar correction system can apply one or more rules to determine the function of the word and assign a tag based on the function of the word.”, Par. 0030:” … evaluating a writer's level of competence in a natural language.”)
Birnbaum does not teach, however, Robinson teaches [[wherein for each position of the frame at each of the lexical elements, all possible variations of the formed grammar patterns of the lexical elements within the frame are compared with the stored grammar patterns and grammatical categories of the lexical element at the position of the frame in the formed grammar patterns that are determined to be incorrect]] are unassociated with the lexical element and not considered in other formed grammar patterns with the grammatical categories of other lexical elements of the plurality of lexical elements when the frame is repositioned to another lexical element of the plurality of lexical elements, - claim 1], [[for each position of the frame at each of the lexical elements, all possible variations of the formed grammar patterns of the lexical elements within the frame are compared with the stored grammar patterns and grammatical categories of the lexical element at the position of the frame in the formed grammar patterns that are determined to be incorrect]] are unassociated with the lexical element and not considered in other formed grammar patterns with the grammatical categories of other lexical elements of the plurality of lexical elements when the frame is repositioned to another lexical element of the plurality of lexical elements; - claim 11] (Robinson, Par. 0074:” FIG. 4C illustrates a situation in when a contextual and/or grammatical analysis further helps to resolve the ambiguity. For example, in FIG. 4C the user already entered the words "It is an." From a grammatical analysis, the device anticipates a noun as the next word. Thus, the device further adjusts the rank of the word candidates to promote the word candidates that are nouns. Thus, the most likely words becomes "offer" instead of "often." However, because an adjective is also likely between the noun and the word "an," the devices still presents the other choices, such as "often" and "after", for user selection.”) Note: Due to anticipating of the next word to be “noun”, this implies that the determination is made for the next word (unassociated) not to be verb, and eliminates (not considered in other formed grammar patterns) all the verb candidate from the possible choices/solutions.
Robinson is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to unassociate with the lexical element and not considered in other formed grammar patterns with the grammatical categories of other lexical elements of the plurality of lexical elements. Motivation to do so would improve accuracy and reduced computational requirement (Robinson, Par. 0009).
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Kamatani teaches [a dictionary module that includes a dictionary including word lists and basic forms of the word in the word list, the dictionary module configured to decompose the at least one character string provided by the reading device into a plurality of lexical elements, - claim 1], [decomposing, by the computer system, the at least one character string into a plurality of lexical elements using a dictionary including word lists and basic forms of the word in the word list; - claim 11] (Kamatani, Figure 1, element 121, and claim 1: " ... a morpheme analyzing unit that performs a morphological analysis [decompose] on the source language sentence and outputs a sequence of morphemes [syntactic elements] of the source language sentence ... ", and Par. 0040:” The morpheme analyzing unit 102 conducts a morphological analysis onto the received source language sentence, and outputs sequence of morphemes of the source language sentence as a result of the analysis.”, and Par. 0042:” … the dictionary storage unit 121 stores therein a vocabulary dictionary that is referred to when the syntax analyzing unit 103 (described later) conducts a syntax analyzing process. In FIG. 3, examples of grammatical categories of the morphemes of the morpheme string 202 shown in FIG. 2 are provided.”, and Par. 0043:” As shown in FIG. 3, the vocabulary dictionary includes words and grammatical categories of the words in association with one another. … Besides N (noun), the grammatical categories for the vocabulary include CM (case marker), ADJ (adjective), CJP (conjunctive particle), V (verb), and AUX (auxiliary verb).”)
[a syntax module configured to assign to each lexical element of the plurality of lexical elements in its basic form, grammatical categories of the lexical element by accessing a database that includes grammatical categories for lexical elements of the language, and – claim 1], [assigning, by the computer system, at least one grammatical category to each lexical item using a database that includes grammatical categories for lexical elements of the language, and – claim 11] ( Kamatani, Par. 0043:” As shown in FIG. 3, the vocabulary dictionary includes words and grammatical categories of the words in association with one another. For example, a Japanese word 301 representing “I, me” is associated with a grammatical category N (noun). Besides N (noun), the grammatical categories for the vocabulary include CM (case marker), ADJ (adjective), CJP (conjunctive particle), V (verb), and AUX (auxiliary verb).”, and Par. 0052:” … each node of the parse forest is associated with a grammatical category that is derived from the grammatical rules of FIG. 4.”, and Par. 0055:” In the parse forest of the morpheme string, when the roots of two subtrees or more are associated with the same grammatical category, the roots of these subtrees are merged (local ambiguities are packed), thereby further enhancing the efficiency in data retention.”)
Kamatani is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Kamatani to decompose the at least one character string into a plurality of lexical elements using a dictionary including word lists and basic forms of the word in the word list; assigning, by the computer system, at least one grammatical category to each lexical item using a database that includes grammatical categories for lexical elements of the language. Motivation to do so would improve the processing precision of morphological analysis and syntactic analysis technologies (Kamatani, Par. 0006).
Regarding claim 3, Birnbaum teaches wherein a lexical element comprises or consists of a word or a punctuation mark. (Birnbaum, Par. 0094:” … In some implementations, adjusting the sequence of words [lexical] to a revised sequence of words can include rearranging the words in the sequence of words or replacing words in the sequence of words with other words.”)
Regarding claim 4, Kamatani further teaches wherein a beginning of the at least one character string and an end of the at least one character string each represent a lexical element. (Kamatani, Par. 0125:” For this reason, the morpheme string including the morphemes corresponding to the nodes N1, CM2, V10, and AUX11 is replaced with the partial translation included in the partial translation information p, “I just can't buy it” (Step S1802).”) Note: beginning of the character string is “I”, while the end of the character string is “it”.
Regarding claim 6, Kamatani further teaches wherein the verification module is further adapted to identify the frame-by-frame determined correct grammatical categories of the lexical items. (Kamatani, Figure 1, element 121, and claim 1: " ... a morpheme analyzing unit that performs a morphological analysis [tokenize, frame by frame] on the source language sentence and outputs a sequence of morphemes [syntactic elements] of the source language sentence ... ", and Par. 0043:” As shown in FIG. 3, the vocabulary dictionary includes words [lexical items] and grammatical categories of the words in association with one another. For example, a Japanese word 301 representing “I, me” is associated with a grammatical category N (noun). Besides N (noun), the grammatical categories for the vocabulary include CM (case marker), ADJ (adjective), CJP (conjunctive particle), V (verb), and AUX (auxiliary verb).”), and Par. 0053:” … the parse forest is associated with a grammatical category that is derived from the grammatical rules of FIG. 4”, and Par. 0046:” For example, according to a grammatical rule 401, a sentence (grammatical category S) is constituted with a noun phrase (grammatical category NP) and a verb phrase (grammatical category VP). Moreover, according to a grammatical rule 402, a sentence (S) is constituted with a subordinate phrase (grammatical category SP) and a verb phrase (grammatical category VP). According to a grammatical rule 403, a subordinate phrase (grammatical category SP) is constituted with an adjective phrase (grammatical category AP) and a conjunctive particle (grammatical category CJP).”)
Regarding claim 8, Birnbaum teaches wherein syntactic errors in the at least one character string are detected with the verification module, a syntactic error being present if the verification module does not retain a single grammatical category for at least one lexical element or has not determined any permitted grammatical category. (Birnbaum, Par. 0089:” In some implementations, the grammar correction system can be configured to identify a function of the word included in the predetermined list of words based on the context of the sequence of words. In some implementations, the word may be ambiguous in that the word may be used as different [detected more than one single permitted grammatical category] parts of speech based on the context in which the word is used.”)
Regarding claim 9, Birnbaum teaches wherein a correctness of each lexical element is verifiable by matching each syntactic element against the dictionary of the dictionary module. (Birnbaum, Par.0122:” The grammatical checker can be configured to determine that each of the sequence of words [lexical element] matches a word in a corpus represented by corpus data stored on the device (BLOCK 510). In some implementations, the corpus can be one or more dictionaries. In some implementations, the corpus can be any list of words. In some implementations, the corpus data can be stored on the grammar correction system. In some implementations, the corpus data can be stored remote the grammar correction system but may be accessible by the grammar correction system. In some implementations, the corpus data may be stored on the grammar correction system when being accessed by the grammar correction system.”, and Par. 0083:” … The grammatical [syntactic] checker can be configured to determine that each of the sequence of words matches a word in a corpus represented by corpus data stored on the device. In some implementations, the corpus can be one or more dictionaries. …”).
Regarding claim 10, Birnbaum teaches wherein the computer system further comprises a correction module configured for automatically correcting syntactic errors contained in the at least one character string. (Birnbaum, Par. 0082:” The writing analyzer 222 may comprise … configured to analyze a writing for grammatical [syntactic] errors. The writing analyzer 222 can be configured to identify a writing to be analyzed. The writing can be a document or resource that includes a sequence of words [one character string]. … The sequence of words can be any text string including one or more words. In some implementations, the writing analyzer can identify a sentence or phrase as a sequence of words.”, and Par. 0083:” In some implementations, the writing analyzer 222 can include a grammatical [syntactic] checker that is configured on the grammar correction system. The grammatical checker can receive or identify word data representing a sequence of words to be analyzed for grammatical [syntactic] errors. The grammatical [syntactic] checker can be configured to determine that each of the sequence of words matches a word in a corpus represented by corpus data stored on the device. In some implementations, the corpus can be one or more dictionaries…”, and Par. 0094:”A grammar corrector can be configured on the grammar correction system and may be implemented by the grammatical checker of the writing analyzer 222.”)
Regarding claim 18, Birnbaum teaches wherein the sequence decisions causal to the computation results of the steps of the method by machine-executable instructions are deterministically documentable for traceability of a man-machine interface with respect to its input and the resulting actions in which these machine-executable instructions have been applied. (Birnbaum, Par. 0116:” … the grammar correction system can be configured to identify words in the writing and tag each of the words in the writing.”, and Par. 0117:” … can utilize error-based rules to identify grammatical errors in the writing (step 420). In some implementations, the error-based rules can include one or more tags which when combined or arranged in a certain way identify an error. … Grammar-based rules can include one or more tags which when combined or arranged in a certain way identify that the grammar of the writing does not violate the particular grammar-based rule.”, and Par. 0094:” … The grammar corrector can, responsive to determining that the first sequence of tags matches the second sequence of tags of the error-based rule, adjust the sequence of words to a revised sequence of words. In some implementations, adjusting the sequence of words to a revised sequence of words can include rearranging the words in the sequence of words or replacing words in the sequence of words with other words.”) Note: A rule-based grammar analysis would be a deterministic process and formal, and as such the process is also traceable. Furthermore, a grammatical correct sentence would comply with a causal sequence by virtue of being grammatically correct.
Claim 5, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum, Robinson, and Kamatani, and in further view of Zhou (US 20210319188 A1).
Zhou was applied in the previous Office action.
Regarding claim 5, Birnbaum, as modified above, teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Zhou teaches wherein punctuation marks each represent a lexical element. (Zhou, Par. 0078:” … where lexical elements include words and punctuation signs, such as full stops and commas.”)
Zhou is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Zhou to wherein punctuation marks each represent a lexical element. Motivation to do so would allow for an efficient way of representing each of the candidate words to the classifier module (Zhou, Par. 0019).
Claim 12, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum, Robinson, and Kamatani, and in further view of Wintner (US 20100332217 A1).
Wintner was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 12, Birnbaum, as modified above, teaches the method of claim 11.
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Wintner teaches wherein the changing the at least one lexical element of the at least one character string includes reformulations of the character string with respect to tense, numerus, genus, case, gender, and are automatically performed in such a way that the lexical elements are recognized as correct. (Wintner, Par. 0021:” The method can automatically, and, with no stipulation of grammar rules, provide various types of corrections and improvements, including detection and correction of spelling errors and typos; wrong agreement; wrong usage of grammatical features such as number, gender, case or tense; wrong selection of prepositions; alternative tense, aspect, voice (active/passive), word- and phrase-order; changes to the style, syntactic complexity and discourse structure of the input text [character string]. “)
Wintner is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Wintner to wherein the changing the at least one lexical element of the at least one character string includes reformulations of the character string with respect to tense, numerus, genus, case, gender, and are automatically performed in such a way that the lexical elements are recognized as correct. Motivation to do so would improve text quality in any natural language (Wintner, Par. 0021).
Claim 13, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum, Robinson, and Kamatani, and in further view of Mengle (US 20170316314 A1).
Mengle was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, Birnbaum, as modified above, teaches the method of claim 11.
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Mengle teaches automatically identifying lexical elements that are suitable for purposes of summarizing or identifying action or event scenarios in context via case, via temporal adverbs or other time-representing words, via conjunctions and related connected clauses, via adverbs of quantity and related dimensions, via adverbs of nouns, and/or special punctuation marks. (Mengle, Par. 0043:” … The attribute inference subsystem 121, for example, can perform syntactic parsing to identify grammar, structure, characters/syllables per word [lexical element], sentence complexity (e.g., words per sentence), point of view (e.g., user or company), punctuation (e.g., exclamation points, etc.), and other syntactic features.”)
Mengle is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Mengle to have automatically identifying lexical elements that are suitable for purposes of summarizing or identifying action or event scenarios in context via case, via temporal adverbs or other time-representing words, via conjunctions and related connected clauses, via adverbs of quantity and related dimensions, via adverbs of nouns, and/or special punctuation marks. Motivation to do so would provide in response to received requests for content (Mengle, Par. 0025).
Claim 14, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum, robinson, and Kamatani, and in further view of Ge (US 20200380077 A1).
Ge was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 14, Birnbaum, as modified above, teaches the method of claim 11.
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Ge teaches wherein, in response to character strings being detected as ambiguous automatically generating queries as character strings—including the identified, remaining lexical elements—which are recognized as correct by the verification device, in order to communicate the character strings for presentation to a user or subsequent program. (Ge, Fig. 2K depict a question: User Utterance 204K: “who founded Microsoft?” Agent Utterance 206K: “Microsoft was founded by Bill Gates and Paul Allen.” User Utterance 208K: “what other companies did he found?” Agent Utterance 210K:” what other companies did who found? Bill Gates or Paul Allen?”, and Par. 0015:” In the example described above, in response to the query “Who founded Microsoft?” the automated agent may respond, “Bill Gates and Paul Allen.” “, and Par. 0092:” … Accordingly, the clarifying question mentions these options to aid the user in disambiguation: “What other companies did who found? Bill Gates or Paul Allen?”) Note: query generated with identified remaining syntactic element is: What other companies did who found? Bill Gates or Paul Allen?
Ge is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Ge to wherein, in response to character strings being detected as ambiguous automatically generating queries as character strings—including the identified, remaining lexical elements—which are recognized as correct by the verification device, in order to communicate the character strings for presentation to a user or subsequent program. Motivation to do so would clarify response that was provided by the user responsive to a clarifying question (Ge, Par. 0081).
Claim 15, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum, Robinson, and Kamatani, and in further view of Henton (US9711141B2).
Henton was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 15, Birnbaum, as modified above, teaches the method of claim 11.
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Henton teaches wherein, assembling information available as text from an automatic speech recognition device into the at least one character string, which is recognized as correct, for use as machine-executable instructions, in any man-machine interface. (Henton, Col. 29, ll. 55-59:” … the processing unit 510 is configured to receive (e.g., from the audio input unit 504 and using the receiving unit 512), from a user, a speech input. The processing unit 510 is configured to process (e.g., using the speech processing unit 514) the speech input using an automatic speech recognition system to determine a text string corresponding to the speech input.”, and Claim 1: “… process the speech input using an automatic speech recognition system to determine a text string corresponding to the speech input, … determine an actionable intent based on the text string; …”)
Henton is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Henton to wherein, assembling information available as text from an automatic speech recognition device into the at least one character string, which is recognized as correct, for use as machine-executable instructions, in any man-machine interface. Motivation to do so would allow users to interact with devices or systems using natural language in spoken and/or text forms (Henton, Col. 1, ll. 23-25).
Claim 16, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum, Robinson, and Kamatani, and in further view of Phillips (US8489583B2).
Phillips was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 16, Birnbaum, as modified above, teaches the method of claim 11.
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Phillips teaches combining information available as text from the at least one device for automatic image processing into at least one character string. (Phillips, claim 12:” … receiving a first image; extracting, by an image processing system, strings of text from the first image; assigning a confidence value to each of the extracted text strings, the confidence value being indicative of a likelihood that the image processing system correctly identified content of each of the text strings and wherein assigning the confidence value further comprises: …”).
Phillips is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Phillips to combine information available as text from the at least one device for automatic image processing into at least one character string. Motivation to do so would provide techniques for retrieving electronic documents based upon images captured using an image capture device (Phillips, Col. 3, ll. 21-23).
Claim 17, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum, Robinson, and Kamatani, and in further view of Gerges (US 20200372105 A1").
Gerges was applied in the previous Office Action.
Regarding claim 17, Birnbaum, as modified above, teaches the method of claim 11.
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Gerges teaches automatically inserting commas in the case of blank characters of the character string until the modified character string is recognized as correct. (Gerges, Figure 3A: “depicts example 2 where comma has been added after “Thank you” and before Henry.”, and Par. 0038:” … whereas a decision as to whether to autocorrect a sentence to add a comma may be applied after a sentence is completed.”)
Gerges is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Gerges to automatically inserting commas in the case of blank characters of the character string until the modified character string is recognized as correct. Motivation to do so would employ auto correction to improve language usage (Gerges, Par. 0037).
Claim 19, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum, Kamatani, and in further view of Park et al. (US 20210327415 A1)(herein " Park ").
Regarding claim 19, Birnbaum, as modified above, teaches the method of claim 11.
Birnbaum further teaches wherein on the basis of formal specifications for texts, such as comprehensibility of the sentence structure (subject, predicate, object sequence) or formal logical coherence, but not exclusively, evaluations of the formal structure with respect to length, type and sequence of morphological components of the character string are carried out automatically [[in order to be able to communicate these online or offline to a user or subsequent program via visual, tactile/sensory or auditory signs or signals.]] (Birnbaum, Par. 0116:” … the grammar correction system can be configured to identify words in the writing and tag each of the words in the writing.”, and Par. 0117:” … can utilize error-based rules to identify grammatical errors in the writing (step 420). In some implementations, the error-based rules can include one or more tags which when combined or arranged in a certain way identify an error. … Grammar-based rules can include one or more tags which when combined or arranged in a certain way identify that the grammar of the writing does not violate the particular grammar-based rule.”, and Par. 0094:” … The grammar corrector can, responsive to determining that the first sequence of tags matches the second sequence of tags of the error-based rule, adjust the sequence of words to a revised sequence of words. In some implementations, adjusting the sequence of words to a revised sequence of words can include rearranging the words in the sequence of words or replacing words in the sequence of words with other words.”, and Par. 0098:” … each word is also associated with one or more root [morpheme] words such that tags associated with the root word may also be associated with the word.”) Note: Correctly structured sentence/text would be complying with subject, predicate, object sequence, which allows it to be comprehensible.
Birnbaum, as modified above, does not teach, however Park teaches in order to be able to communicate these online or offline to a user or subsequent program via visual, tactile/sensory or auditory signs or signals. (Park, Par. 0115:” When the natural language generator 120 generates an output sentence, the text-to-speech (TTS) engine of the result processor 160 converts the output sentence in text form into an audio signal and transmits it to the user terminal through the communicator 150. The transmitted voice signal may be output through a speaker provided in the user terminal.”)
Park is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Birnbaum, as modified above, further in view of Park to be able to communicate these online or offline to a user or subsequent program via visual, tactile/sensory or auditory signs or signals. Motivation to do so would provide a service corresponding to the user intention, based on the analysis result of the input sentence (Park, Par. 0068).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Appleby (US20020059056A1) teaches in Par. 0079:” … a rule database 210 comprising a plurality of rules 210a, 210b . . . 210n each specifying a rule of syntax structure of the target language and associated with a particular syntactic category. For example, the rule for a noun phrase will specify that it must comprise a noun and the associated article, whereas that for a verb phrase specifies that it must include a verb and its associated complement(s), and may include a subject, with which the form of the verb must agree, and which may (together with the object of the verb) be one of several different syntactic categories (e.g. a noun, a noun phrase, a pronoun and so on).”
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DARIOUSH AGAHI, P.E.
Primary Examiner
/DARIOUSH AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656