DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a response dated 1/28/2026 in which claims 1-10 have been amended, claims 11-34 have been canceled and new claims 35-37 have been added. Thus, the claims 1-10 and 35-37 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 8, the scope of “an output of a medical device” is unclear. It is unclear how the characteristics of a user output of a medical device. Is the medical device stored in the database? Does output of a medical device imply using the medical device. This renders the claim indefinite. For compact prosecution, Examiner interprets output of a medical device to imply using a medical device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of meal planning and recipe recommendation without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to a system, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim 1 describes a system comprising: a memory; and at least one processor that is operatively coupled to the memory, the at least one processor being configured to execute: a. a database configured to store characteristics of a user that represent physical and financial conditions, the characteristics including an output of a medical device that is configured to measure a vital sign of the user, the database being further configured to store recommended nutritional or calorie intake levels about the user; b. a meal planning engine configured to use artificial intelligence and/or machine learning-based algorithms to generate at least one meal plan based on the characteristics and the recommended nutritional or calories intake levels of the user; and c. a recipe recommendation engine configured to use artificial intelligence and/or machine learning-based algorithms to suggest a plurality of recipes for at least one meal plan based on the characteristics and the recommended nutritional or calorie intake levels of the user, wherein the recommended nutritional or calories intake levels comprise at least one of a recommended minimum calorie intake level, and/or a minimum micronutrient intake level. These limitations (with the exception of italicized limitations) describe the abstract idea of meal planning and recipe recommendation, which may correspond to a certain methods of organizing human activity. The additional limitations of a memory, one processor, a database, a meal planning engine, artificial intelligence, machine learning-based algorithms and a recipe recommendation engine do not restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Thus, the claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitations of a memory, one processor, a database, a meal planning engine, artificial intelligence, machine learning-based algorithms and a recipe recommendation engine result in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional elements of a memory, one processor, a database, a meal planning engine, artificial intelligence, machine learning-based algorithms and a recipe recommendation engine are recited at a high level of generality and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computer arrangement. The presence of a generic computer arrangement is nothing more than to implement the claimed invention (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Therefore, the recitations of additional elements do not meaningfully apply the abstract idea and hence do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, the claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong 2: NO).
The claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations of a memory, one processor, a database, a meal planning engine, artificial intelligence, machine learning-based algorithms and a recipe recommendation engine are all recited at a high level of generality in that it result in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer element. The additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not amount to add significantly more as these elements provide nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment (Step 2B: NO). Thus, the claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 35-37 further define the abstract idea that is present in the independent claim 1, thus correspond to a certain methods of organizing human activity, and hence are abstract in nature for the reason presented above. Dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claims 1-10 and 35-37 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadad et al., US Patent Application No. 2014/0255882 in view of Mosher, US Patent Application No. 2006/0199155.
Regarding claim 1, Hadad discloses an artificial intelligence-based meal planning and recipe recommendation system comprising:
a memory [0007]); and
at least one processor that is operatively coupled to the memory, the at least one processor being configured to execute ([0007]):
a. a database configured to store characteristics of a user that represent physical and financial conditions, the characteristics including an output of a medical device that is configured to measure a vital sign of the user, the database being further configured to store recommended nutritional or calorie intake levels about the user ([0049], [0051], [0081]-[0082], Fig. 5);
b. a meal planning engine configured to use artificial intelligence and/or machine learning-based algorithms to generate at least one meal plan based on the individual characteristics and the recommended nutritional or calorie intake levels of the user ([0006], [0081]-[0105]); and
c. a recipe recommendation engine configured to use artificial intelligence and/or machine learning -based algorithms to suggest a plurality of recipes for at least one meal plan based on the individual characteristics and the recommended nutritional or calorie intake levels of the user ([0007], [0081]-[0105]),
wherein the recommended nutritional or calorie intake levels comprise at least one of a recommended minimum calorie intake level, and/or a minimum micronutrient intake level ([0081]-[0105]).
Hadad does not specifically disclose
an output of a medical device that is configured to measure a vital sign of the user.
However, Mosher discloses
an output of a medical device that is configured to measure a vital sign of the user ([0009], [0061], [0065], [0090], [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Hadad to include the above-noted disclosure of Mosher. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the quality of life as illustrated by Mosher in [0018].
Regarding claim 2, Hadad discloses wherein the characteristics of the user comprise personal data, diet goals, food allergies, activities, budget, medical information, and/or genetic characteristics ([0051], [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Hadad discloses wherein the database is further configured to store previous meal plans, respective calories of the previous meal plans, current meal plans, respective calories of the current meal plans, and the meal planning engine generates the at least one meal plan based at least in part on the respective calories of the current meal plans, and the respective calories of the previous meal plans ([0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Hadad discloses wherein the recipe recommendation engine is configured to recommend at least one recipe that contains only ingredients that are identified in the database ([0051], nutrition database, [0065], [0082], food database).
Regarding claim 5, Hadad does not specifically disclose
store dietary guidelines for each of a plurality of genotypes, the receive recommendation engine being configured to recommend at least one recipe based on genetic characteristics of the user and the dietary guidelines.
However, Mosher discloses
store dietary guidelines for each of a plurality of genotypes, the receive recommendation engine being configured to recommend at least one recipe based on genetic characteristics of the user and the dietary guidelines (abstract, claim 4, [0113], [0125]-[0126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Hadad to include the above-noted disclosure of Mosher. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the quality of life as illustrated by Mosher in [0018].
Regarding claim 10, Hadad discloses an artificial intelligence-based shopping list generating engine ([0065].
Hadad does not specifically disclose
the said shopping list generating engine configured to consider a budget provided by the user and recommend a list of ingredients that can be purchased by the user within that budget.
However, Mosher discloses
the said shopping list generating engine configured to consider a budget provided by the user and recommend a list of ingredients that can be purchased by the user within that budget ([0069], [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Hadad to include the above-noted disclosure of Mosher. The motivation for combining these references would have been to allow the user to adjust the meal plan based on their lifestyle as illustrated by Mosher in [0069].
Regarding claim 35, Mosher discloses wherein the vital sign includes at least one of blood sugar level and/or insulin level ([0009], [0061], [0065], [0090], [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Hadad to include the above-noted disclosure of Mosher. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the quality of life as illustrated by Mosher in [0018].
Regarding claim 36, Mosher discloses wherein the vital sign includes blood pressure ([0009], [0061], [0065], [0090], [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Hadad to include the above-noted disclosure of Mosher. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the quality of life as illustrated by Mosher in [0018].
Regarding claim 37, Hadad discloses to provide a recommendation for consuming at least one particular food item at a restaurant to meet the recommended nutritional or calorie intake levels of the user ([0007], [0065] local restaurant).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadad et al., US Patent Application No. 2014/0255882 in view of Mosher, US Patent Application No. 2006/0199155 in view of Hermann et al., US Patent Application No. 2013/0304492.
Regarding claim 6, Hadad discloses a plurality of medical conditions ([0068]), however, Hadad does not specifically disclose
wherein the database is configured to store respective dietary guidelines for each of a plurality of medical conditions, the recipe recommendation engine being configured to recommend at least one recipe that includes only ingredients which are allowed by a medical condition of the user.
However, Hermann discloses
wherein the database is configured to store respective dietary guidelines for each of a plurality of medical conditions, the recipe recommendation engine being configured to recommend at least one recipe that includes only ingredients which are allowed by a medical condition of the user (abstract, [0022], [0025]-[0026], Table 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Hadad and Mosher to include the above-noted disclosure of Hermann. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve general nutrition for patients as illustrated by Hermann in [0002].
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadad et al., US Patent Application No. 2014/0255882 in view of Mosher, US Patent Application No. 2006/0199155 in view of Karra, US Patent Application No. 2015/0161355.
Regarding claim 7, Hadad does not specifically disclose
wherein, the database is configured to store a list entry identifying a respective substitute for each of a plurality of ingredients, and the recipe recommendation engine is configured to substitute an original ingredient in one of the suggested recipes with a corresponding alternative ingredient based on allergen information of the user.
However, Karra discloses
wherein, the database is configured to store a list entry identifying a respective substitute for each of a plurality of ingredients, and the recipe recommendation engine is configured to substitute an original ingredient in one of the suggested recipes with a corresponding alternative ingredient based on allergen information of the user (abstract, [0028], [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Hadad and Mosher to include the above-noted disclosure of Karra. The motivation for combining these references would have been to generate a preferred diet plan for a patient with allergies as illustrated by Karra in [0008].
Regarding claim 8, Karra discloses wherein the substitution of the original ingredient is performed further based on a nutrient value of the original ingredient and a nutrient value of the corresponding alternative ingredient ([0030]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadad et al., US Patent Application No. 2014/0255882 in view of Mosher, US Patent Application No. 2006/0199155 in view of Wheaton, US Patent Application No. 2013/0138656.
Regarding claim 9, Hadad does not specifically disclose
store a list of ingredients purchased by the user and respective expiration dates of the ingredients purchased by the user, and the recipe recommendation engine is configured to suggest the plurality of recipes based on the list of ingredients purchased by the user.
However, Wheaton discloses
store a list of ingredients purchased by the user and respective expiration dates of the ingredients purchased by the user, and the recipe recommendation engine is configured to suggest the plurality of recipes based on the list of ingredients purchased by the user (abstract, [0018], [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Hadad and Mosher to include the above-noted disclosure of Wheaton. The motivation for combining these references would have been to use ingredients closer to expiration to prevent wastage as illustrated by Wheaton in [0030].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed dated 1/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the following reasons:
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 101, Applicant states that the practical application involves interacting with medical devices to obtain vital signs of the user to provide a tangible and context recommendation, which includes a plurality of recipes.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that obtaining vital signs of the user is an abstract idea as it corresponds to a certain method of organizing human activity. The medical device is acting as a tool to apply the abstract idea. There is no improvement to the medical device as a result of carrying out this abstract idea. Thus, these arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the features define an improved computing system that processes data in a non-conventional manner, whereby the output of a medical device, and optionally other information, is first converted into a meal plan, and the meal plan is then converted into a plurality of recipes.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that it is unclear how the characteristic output a medical device (see 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above). Moreover, the medical device is collecting data of a user which is abstract in nature and cannot furnish an inventive concept. Moreover, meal plan and plurality of recipes are also abstract in nature and thus cannot furnish an inventive concept. Thus, these arguments are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to newly added claim 37, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new ground of rejection presented above in this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAJESH KHATTAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/RAJESH KHATTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684