Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 17-18, 20-22, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onggosanusi et al. (Patent No: US 2016/0156401 A1), hereinafter, Onggosanusi, in view of TONG et al. (US 2018/0069323 A1), hereinafter, TONG.
Regarding Claim 1, Onggosanusi teaches,
A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a first indication of a first number of antenna ports for which the UE is to report channel state information, and a second indication of a second number of antenna ports on which the UE is to measure channel state information reference signals, the second number of antenna ports being less than the first number of antenna ports; -Paragraph [0004][0128] ([0004] recites, “User equipment (UE) is configured to receive two types of channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RS), the first containing more antenna ports and measured less often than the second. A first CSI report is based on first type CSI-RS and a second CSI report on the second type CSI-RS..,” As explained above, UE receives configuration information from the base station over RRC signaling and the first CSI-RS contains more number of antenna ports than the second one, i.e., the second number of antenna ports being less than the first number of antenna ports)
-Paragraph [0004] ( [0004] recites, “The first CSI report contains a first precoding matrix indicator (PMI) parameter and the second CSI report contains only a second PMI parameter of a two-PMI codebook, where the first PMI parameter is a long-term and wideband PMI. The first PMI is derived from measuring the first type CSI-RS in a plurality of subframes and resource blocks.” The additional indication is the precoding matrix indicator (PMI))
receiving the channel state information reference signals on the second number of antenna ports; -Paragraph [0096, 0117] ([0117] recites, “Since this additional CSI-RS resource is used to compute the long-term precoder or channel statistics, such a second CSI-RS can be transmitted with lower duty cycle (or with longer periodicity) compared to the first CSI-RS. “[0096] recites, “precoded CSI-RS or partially precoded CSI-RS refers to CSI-RS transmitted by a serving eNodeB to at least one UE where the associated CSI-RS ports are formed by applying a precoder or a beamformer and thus fewer in number compared to a previously non-precoded CSI-RS”)
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
receiving an additional indication of one or more antenna port parameters, each associated with one of the first number of antenna ports or the second number of antenna ports, the one or more antenna port parameters comprising either an antenna port pattern or a transfer domain basis;
determining the channel state information for antenna ports of the first number of antenna ports not included in the second number of antenna ports using the one or more antenna port parameters and measurements made by the UE based on the channel state information reference signals received on the second number of antenna ports;
and transmitting a report comprising the channel state information for the first number of antenna ports.
However, in an analogous invention TONG teaches,
receiving an additional indication of one or more antenna port parameters, each associated with one of the first number of antenna ports or the second number of antenna ports, the one or more antenna port parameters comprising either an antenna port pattern or a transfer domain basis; -Fig. 13, Paragraph [0122] ([0122] recites, “As illustrated in FIG. 13, in step S31, the transmitter 210 of the eNB 200 transmits information related to the antenna array 250 (antenna information) to the UE 100. The antenna information is information on the above-described θ of the antenna array, the location of the specific antenna port, and the like. The information on the location of the specific antenna port may be information indicating an arrangement pattern of the specific antenna port. Furthermore, the antenna information may include information indicating a row and a column at which the antenna array 250 is located, information indicating an interval between antenna ports, and the like. Alternatively, the antenna information may be an index indicating information on θ of the antenna array and/or the location of the specific antenna port..”
determining the channel state information for antenna ports of the first number of antenna ports not included in the second number of antenna ports using the one or more antenna port parameters and measurements made by the UE based on the channel state information reference signals received on the second number of antenna ports; -Fig. 13, Paragraph [0124-0126] ([0124-0126] recites, “In step S33, the controller 130 of the UE 100 uses the CSI-RS to estimate channel characteristics of each specific antenna port. The channel characteristics estimated here are considered as total channel characteristics H in the horizontal direction and in the vertical direction. In step S34, the controller 130 of the UE 100 performs, based on the channel characteristics H, complementing processing for complementing the channel characteristics corresponding to an antenna port other than the specific antenna ports in the antenna array 250. The controller 130 of the UE 100 may perform one complementing processing for one transmission of the CSI-RS. The method of the complementing processing is the same as that of the second embodiment. In step S35, the controller 130 of the UE 100 generates CSI (feedback information) corresponding to the channel characteristics H after the complement.”)
and transmitting a report comprising the channel state information for the first number of antenna ports. -Fig. 13 (S36), Paragraph [0127] ([0127] recites, “ In step S36, the transmitter 120 of the UE 100 transmits the CSI (feedback information) to the eNB 200. The receiver 220 of the eNB 200 receives the CSI.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “receiving an additional indication of one or more antenna port parameters, each associated with one of the first number of antenna ports or the second number of antenna ports, the one or more antenna port parameters comprising either an antenna port pattern or a transfer domain basis; determining the channel state information for antenna ports of the first number of antenna ports not included in the second number of antenna ports using the one or more antenna port parameters and measurements made by the UE based on the channel state information reference signals received on the second number of antenna ports; and transmitting a report comprising the channel state information for the first number of antenna ports.
the preference comprises a value of second number of antenna ports, an antenna port pattern associated with the second number of antenna ports, “ of TONG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce overhead and processing complexity [0074].
Regarding Claim 2, Onggosanusi and TONG combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Onggosanusi further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the additional indication of the one or more antenna port parameters further comprises: receiving a message indicating a first set of antenna port patterns associated with the first number of antenna ports, and indicating a second set of antenna port patterns associated with the second number of antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna port patterns are a subset of the first set of antenna port patterns. -Fig. 4; Paragraph [0110] ([0110] recites, “That is, each resource is characterized by a time-frequency pattern (time/RE shift, periodicity) and antenna port assignment (starting with antenna port 15). Here min(M, 8) ports (or another number of ports which represents the maximum number of ports) are configured for each CSI-RS resource. In subframe n, the eNodeB triggers an aperiodic CSI report from UE-k (using a new DCI format for UL grant), which indicates a subset of the configured CSI-RS ports (block 402). A bitmap or an indicator field (length depending on the subset size N.sub.P as a function of M) may be used. The total number of precoded CSI-RS ports N.sub.P may be associated with either one or more than one two-dimensional CSI-RS port pattern. This association can be a static (fixed) configuration or semi-static (configured via higher layer signaling) configuration. If more than one two-dimensional pattern is available for a given number of ports, an additional parameter can be signaled to a UE.”)
Regarding Claim 3, Onggosanusi and TONG combination teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Onggosanusi further teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein receiving the message indicating the first set of antenna port patterns and the second set of antenna port patterns further comprises: receiving the first set of antenna port patterns and the second set of antenna port patterns as a plurality of rectangular or linear antenna arrays with inter-antenna distance information. -Paragraph [0110] ([0110] recites, “A bitmap or an indicator field (length depending on the subset size N.sub.P as a function of M) may be used. The total number of precoded CSI-RS ports N.sub.P may be associated with either one or more than one two-dimensional CSI-RS port pattern. This association can be a static (fixed) configuration or semi-static (configured via higher layer signaling) configuration. If more than one two-dimensional pattern is available for a given number of ports, an additional parameter can be signaled to a UE.” CSI-RS ports are antenna ports and one or more two-dimensional pattern corresponds to rectangular antenna array. It is readily understandable to an ordinary person with skill in the art that inter-antenna distance is based on design choice (e.g., what frequency it will operate on etc.) and might be communicated through higher layer signaling)
Regarding Claim 4, Onggosanusi and TONG teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Onggosanusi further teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein receiving the message indicating the first set of antenna port patterns and the second set of antenna port patterns further comprises: receiving one or more pattern indications that refer to a plurality of predefined antenna port patterns. -Paragraph [0110] ([0110] recites, “…A bitmap or an indicator field (length depending on the subset size N.sub.P as a function of M) may be used. The total number of precoded CSI-RS ports N.sub.P may be associated with either one or more than one two-dimensional CSI-RS port pattern. This association can be a static (fixed) configuration or semi-static (configured via higher layer signaling) configuration. If more than one two-dimensional pattern is available for a given number of ports, an additional parameter can be signaled to a UE.” As explained above UE receives a bitmap or an indicator field that is associated with one or more two-dimensional CSI-RS port (antenna port) pattern)
Regarding Claim 6, Onggosanusi and TONG combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Onggosanusi further teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving the first indication, the second indication, and the additional indication via at least one of a channel state information report configuration or a channel state information resource configuration. -Paragraph [0103][0110] ([0103] recites, “The eNodeB configures (block 301) CSI-RS resource(s) for UE-k. This configuration is performed semi-statically (e.g., via RRC signaling)..” [0110] recites, “..The total number of precoded CSI-RS ports N.sub.P may be associated with either one or more than one two-dimensional CSI-RS port pattern. This association can be a static (fixed) configuration or semi-static (configured via higher layer signaling) configuration. If more than one two-dimensional pattern is available for a given number of ports, an additional parameter can be signaled to a UE.”)
Regarding Claim 7, Onggosanusi and TONG combination teach the limitations of Claim 6.
Onggosanusi further teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein receiving the first indication, the second, indication, and the additional indication further comprises: receiving, via the channel state information report configuration, the first indication and the additional indication, wherein the additional indication indicates a first antenna port parameter associated with the first number of antenna ports and a second antenna port parameter associated with the second number of antenna ports; and receiving, via the channel state information resource configuration, the second indication. -Paragraph [0004][0103] ([0004] recites, “User equipment (UE) is configured to receive two types of channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RS), the first containing more antenna ports and measured less often than the second. A first CSI report is based on first type CSI-RS and a second CSI report on the second type CSI-RS. The second type CSI-RS is at least partially precoded in response to the first CSI report, is precoded for the specific UE, and is transmitted more often than the first type CSI-RS, while the first type CSI-RS is not precoded. The first CSI report contains a first precoding matrix indicator (PMI) parameter and the second CSI report contains only a second PMI parameter of a two-PMI codebook, where the first PMI parameter is a long-term and wideband PMI. The first PMI is derived from measuring the first type CSI-RS in a plurality of subframes and resource blocks.” Additional indication is precoding matrix indicator (PMI) associated with the first CSI-RS ports (antenna ports) and second antenna port parameter associated with the second antenna ports. Also, UE receives the CSI report configuration from base station by RRC signaling [0103])
Regarding Claim 8, Onggosanusi and TONG combination teach the limitations of Claim 6.
Onggosanusi further teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein receiving the first indication, the second indication, and the additional indication further comprises: receiving, via the channel state information report configuration, the second indication and the additional indication, wherein the additional indication indicates a first antenna port parameter associated with the first number of antenna ports and a second antenna port parameter associated with the second number of antenna ports; and receiving, via the channel state information resource configuration, the first indication. -Paragraph [0004][0103] ([0004] recites, “User equipment (UE) is configured to receive two types of channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RS), the first containing more antenna ports and measured less often than the second. A first CSI report is based on first type CSI-RS and a second CSI report on the second type CSI-RS. The second type CSI-RS is at least partially precoded in response to the first CSI report, is precoded for the specific UE, and is transmitted more often than the first type CSI-RS, while the first type CSI-RS is not precoded. The first CSI report contains a first precoding matrix indicator (PMI) parameter and the second CSI report contains only a second PMI parameter of a two-PMI codebook, where the first PMI parameter is a long-term and wideband PMI. The first PMI is derived from measuring the first type CSI-RS in a plurality of subframes and resource blocks.” Additional indication is precoding matrix indicator (PMI) associated with the first CSI-RS ports (antenna ports) and second antenna port parameter associated with the second antenna ports. Also, UE receives the CSI report configuration from base station by RRC signaling [0103])
Claim 17 is very similar to Claim 1, except Claim 17 is viewed from network side and claim 1 is viewed from UE side. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 which is rejected above. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
Claim 18 is essentially same as Claim 2 viewed from network side perspective (e.g., base station transmits etc.) compared to UE side perspective (e.g., UE receives etc.) as in Claim 2. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 2 which is rejected above. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 2.
Claim 20 is essentially same as Claim 6 viewed from network side perspective (e.g., base station transmits etc.) compared to UE side perspective (e.g., UE receives etc.) as in Claim 6. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 6 which is rejected above. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 6.
Claim 21 is essentially same as Claim 7 viewed from network side perspective (e.g., base station transmits etc.) compared to UE side perspective (e.g., UE receives etc.) as in Claim 7. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 7 which is rejected above. Claim 21 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 7.
Claim 22 is essentially same as Claim 8 viewed from network side perspective (e.g., base station transmits etc.) compared to UE side perspective (e.g., UE receives etc.) as in Claim 8. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 8 which is rejected above. Claim 22 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 8.
Claim 29 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 which is rejected above. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
Onggosanusi further teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to -Paragraph [0077] ([0077] recites, “As shown in further detail in FIG. 1A, each system 120 for the UE (UE0) depicted in FIG. 1 and other, similar UEs (not shown) and for the eNB 101 depicted in FIG. 1 and other, similar eNBs (not shown) include: a processor 121, a memory 122, a transceiver 123 including a transmitter and a receiver, and an antenna array 124. The receiver and the transmitter (or transceiver 123) are each coupled to the antenna array for receiving or transmitting wireless signals, including reference signals such as CSI-RS. The controller or processor 121 is coupled to the receiver and the transmitter and performs one or more of the various computations or determinations…”)
Claim 30 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 17. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 17 which is rejected above. Claim 30 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 17.
Onggosanusi further teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to -Paragraph [0077] ([0077] recites, “..for the eNB 101 depicted in FIG. 1 and other, similar eNBs (not shown) include: a processor 121, a memory 122, a transceiver 123 including a transmitter and a receiver, and an antenna array 124. The receiver and the transmitter (or transceiver 123) are each coupled to the antenna array for receiving or transmitting wireless signals, including reference signals such as CSI-RS. The controller or processor 121 is coupled to the receiver and the transmitter and performs one or more of the various computations..”)
Claims 5, 9-16, 19, 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onggosanusi
in view of TONG and further in view of Eko Onggosanusi et al. (Patent No: US 2016/0359538 A1), hereinafter, Eko.
Regarding Claim 5, Onggosanusi and TONG teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the additional indication of the one or more antenna port parameters further comprises: receiving a message indicating a first set of transfer domain bases associated with the first number of antenna ports, and indicating a second set of transfer domain bases associated with the second number of antenna ports, wherein the second set of transfer domain bases are a subset of the first set of transfer domain bases.
However, in an analogous invention Eko teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the additional indication of the one or more antenna port parameters further comprises: receiving a message indicating a first set of transfer domain bases associated with the first number of antenna ports, and indicating a second set of transfer domain bases associated with the second number of antenna ports, wherein the second set of transfer domain bases are a subset of the first set of transfer domain bases. -Paragraph [0117-0120] ( The applicant did not mention anywhere in the specification what he means by “transfer domain base” . The examiner perceives this as number of basis vectors. [0117] recites, “Referring to FIG. 4, the size of the precoding matrix W is N.sub.TX×N.sub.L where N.sub.TX=2M.sub.aN.sub.a is the total number of antenna or CSI-RS ports and N.sub.L is the number of transmission layers (also termed the rank). The first-stage precoder W.sub.1 pertains to a long-term component and is associated with long-term channel statistics. In addition, W.sub.1 is wideband (the same W.sub.1 for all the set S subbands). The second-stage precoder W.sub.2 pertains to a short-term component which performs selection, co-phasing, or any linear operation to W.sub.1. Therefore, the number of columns of W.sub.1 can be perceived as the number of basis vectors N.sub.b for W.sub.2. In addition, W.sub.2 can be either wideband (the same W.sub.2 for all the set S subbands) or subband (one W.sub.2 for each set S subband).” [0120] recites, “In either of the above two embodiments, the number of columns of W.sub.1,1 and W.sub.1,2 can be perceived as the number of basis vectors, or the number of spatial beams associated with a first and a second dimensions, N.sub.b,1 and N.sub.b,2 for the second-stage precoder(s)..”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “receiving a message indicating a first set of transfer domain bases associated with the first number of antenna ports, and indicating a second set of transfer domain bases associated with the second number of antenna ports, wherein the second set of transfer domain bases are a subset of the first set of transfer domain bases. “ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Regarding Claim 9, Onggosanusi and TONG teach the limitations of Claim 6.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving, via a codebook configuration within the channel state information report configuration, one or more codebook types that are based at least in part on the first indication, the second indication, and the additional indication, wherein the additional indication indicates at least a first antenna port parameter associated with the second number of antenna ports.
However, in an analogous invention Eko teaches
The method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving, via a codebook configuration within the channel state information report configuration, one or more codebook types that are based at least in part on the first indication, the second indication, and the additional indication, wherein the additional indication indicates at least a first antenna port parameter associated with the second number of antenna ports. -Paragraph [0244] ([0244] recites, “The eNB transmits the configuration information to UE-k via higher-layer (RRC) signaling (step 1102). In turn, the eNB receives a CSI report from UE-k (step 1103) and decodes the content in accordance with the configuration information for UE-k (steps 1104, 1106, or 1107). For one of the CSI-RS resources associated with a CSI-RS type or a MIMO type of ‘beamformed’/CLASS B, a CQI, a RI, and a PMI are decoded from the CSI report based one a codebook A (step 1104). For K≧1 other CSI-RS resources configured with a same CSI-RS type or a MIMO type (either ‘beamformed’/CLASS B or ‘non-precoded’/CLASS A), the eNB decodes either a plurality of quantized channel coefficients (step 1106) or a first PMI i.sub.1 based on a codebook B different from codebook A (step 1107), depending on a CSI content configuration parameter for UE-k. This first PMI can include one codebook index or two codebook indices (i.sub.1,1, i.sub.1,2) depending on codebook configuration as identified by the eNB in step 1105. This configuration can be performed semi-statically via higher-layer signaling or dynamically via a DL control channel. That is, the UE receives either an RRC parameter or a DCI field indicating whether the UE reports a CSI including explicit feedback (such as a plurality of quantized channel coefficients) or not.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “receiving, via a codebook configuration within the channel state information report configuration, one or more codebook types “ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Regarding Claim 10, Onggosanusi and TONG combination teach the limitations of Claim 6.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 6, wherein receiving the first indication, the second, indication, and the additional indication further comprises: receiving, via the channel state information resource configuration, the first indication, the second indication, and the additional indication, wherein the additional indication indicates a first antenna port parameter associated with the first number of antenna ports and a second antenna port parameter associated with the second number of antenna ports.
However, in an analogous invention Eko teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein receiving the first indication, the second, indication, and the additional indication further comprises: receiving, via the channel state information resource configuration, the first indication, the second indication, and the additional indication, wherein the additional indication indicates a first antenna port parameter associated with the first number of antenna ports and a second antenna port parameter associated with the second number of antenna ports. -Paragraph [0135][0146] ([0135] recites, “Semi-static signaling or configuration can be done as a part of CSI process definition and/or CSI-RS resource configuration. In one embodiment, these two sets of associations (one for NP CSI-RS, another for UE-specific BF CSI-RS) are included in a same NZP CSI-RS resource configuration. In another embodiment, two separate NZP CSI-RS resource configurations (one for NP CSI-RS, another for UE-specific BF CSI-RS) are defined in a same CSI-RS process assigned to the UE. In yet another embodiment, a UE is configured with two separate CSI processes, one associated with a NZP CSI-RS resource for NP CSI-RS, another associated with a NZP CSI-RS resource for UE-specific BF CSI-RS.”[0146] recites, “Each configuration includes a number of antenna ports, a 2D CSI-RS/antenna port pattern indicator (or, in another example, a 2D codebook pattern), a resource configuration, and a subframe configuration. As explained above, the 2D antenna port pattern can either be represented by either M.sub.a or N.sub.a described above; or a codebook or a codebook subset selection indicator…” As explained above for each configuration (NP CSI-RS (first) and BF CSI-RS (second)) parameters are associated with the first and second number of antenna ports associated with the first and second configurations.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “receiving, via the channel state information resource configuration, the first indication, the second indication, and the additional indication, wherein the additional indication indicates a first antenna port parameter associated with the first number of antenna ports and a second antenna port parameter associated with the second number of antenna ports“ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Regarding Claim 11, Onggosanusi and TONG teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the channel state information further comprises :identifying one or more precoding matrix indicators for the first number of antenna ports using the one or more antenna port parameters and measurements made by the UE on the second number of antenna ports.
However, in an analogous invention Eko teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the channel state information further comprises :identifying one or more precoding matrix indicators for the first number of antenna ports using the one or more antenna port parameters and measurements made by the UE on the second number of antenna ports. -Paragraph [0114][0118] ([0114] recites, “The example 2D dual-polarized antenna port array arrangement results in a total of 2M.sub.aN.sub.a=16 ports, each mapped to one CSI-RS port. The three indexings 400, 410, and 420 are three examples in indexing the 16 antenna ports as a means of mapping antenna ports to precoding matrix elements…” [0118] recites,” UE measures a CSI-RS in a subframe designated to carry CSI-RS, calculates a CSI (including PMI, RI, and CQI where each of these three CSI parameters can include multiple components) based on the measurement, and reports the calculated CSI to a serving eNB 102. This PMI represents an index of a recommended precoding matrix in the precoding codebook. Different precoding codebooks can be used for different values of RI.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “identifying one or more precoding matrix indicators for the first number of antenna ports using the one or more antenna port parameters and measurements made by the UE on the second number of antenna ports “ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Regarding Claim 12, Onggosanusi, TONG and Eko teaches the limitations of Claim 11.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving a message indicating a precoding matrix codebook comprising a plurality of precoding matrix indicators, wherein the one or more precoding matrix indicators are identified from the precoding matrix codebook
However, in an analogous invention Eko teaches,
The method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving a message indicating a precoding matrix codebook comprising a plurality of precoding matrix indicators, wherein the one or more precoding matrix indicators are identified from the precoding matrix codebook. -Paragraph [0118] ([0118] recites, “…UE measures a CSI-RS in a subframe designated to carry CSI-RS, calculates a CSI (including PMI, RI, and CQI where each of these three CSI parameters can include multiple components) based on the measurement, and reports the calculated CSI to a serving eNB 102. This PMI represents an index of a recommended precoding matrix in the precoding codebook…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “receiving a message indicating a precoding matrix codebook comprising a plurality of precoding matrix indicators, wherein the one or more precoding matrix indicators are identified from the precoding matrix codebook “ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Regarding Claim 13, Onggosanusi, TONG and Eko teaches the limitations of Claim 12.
Onggosanusi further teaches
The method of claim 12, wherein receiving the message indicating the precoding matrix codebook further comprises: receiving a channel state information report configuration, the channel state information report configuration comprising the precoding matrix codebook. -Paragraph [0004] (The UE is configured by the base station with configurations including what to report, when to report etc. through RRC signaling message. [0004] recites, “User equipment (UE) is configured to receive two types of channel state information (CSI) reference signals (CSI-RS), the first containing more antenna ports and measured less often than the second. A first CSI report is based on first type CSI-RS and a second CSI report on the second type CSI-RS. The second type CSI-RS is at least partially precoded in response to the first CSI report, is precoded for the specific UE, and is transmitted more often than the first type CSI-RS, while the first type CSI-RS is not precoded. The first CSI report contains a first precoding matrix indicator (PMI) parameter and the second CSI report contains only a second PMI parameter of a two-PMI codebook, where the first PMI parameter is a long-term and wideband PMI.”)
Regarding Claim 14, Onggosanusi, TONG and Eko teaches the limitations of Claim 12.
Onggosanusi further teaches
The method of claim 12, wherein each precoding matrix indicator of the plurality of precoding matrix indicators is based at least in part on the first number of antenna ports, the second number of antenna ports, the one or more antenna port parameters, or a combination thereof. -Paragraph[0119] [0121] ([0121] recites, “The above description of embodiments is especially suitable when the serving eNB transmits non-precoded CSI-RS (NP CSI-RS). That is, a cell-specific one-to-one mapping between CSI-RS port and TXRU (transceiver unit) is utilized. Here, different CSI-RS ports have the same wide beam width and direction and hence generally cell wide coverage. Another type of CSI-RS applicable to FD-MIMO is beamformed CSI-RS (BF CSI-RS). In this case, beamforming operation, either cell-specific or UE-specific, is applied on a non-zero-power (NZP) CSI-RS resource (including multiple ports). Here, at least at a given time/frequency CSI-RS ports have narrow beam widths and hence not cell wide coverage, and (at least from the eNB perspective) at least some CSI-RS port-resource combinations have different beam directions. This beamforming operation is intended to increase CSI-RS coverage or penetration. In addition, when UE-specific beamforming is applied to a CSI-RS resource (termed the UE-specific or UE-specifically beamformed CSI-RS), CSI-RS overhead reduction can be obtained when NZP CSI-RS resources are allocated efficiently through resource sharing (pooling) for multiple UEs either in time domain (for instance, aperiodic transmission), beam domain (UE-specific beamforming), or dynamic CSI-RS resource (re)configuration. When a UE is configured to receive BF CSI-RS from a serving eNB, the UE can be configured to report PMI parameters associated with W.sub.2 (W.sub.2,1 and/or W.sub.2,2) without W.sub.1 (W.sub.1,1 and/or W.sub.1,2).” As explained above the PMI depend on the number of first and second antenna ports or a combination as in W.sub.2 (W.sub.2,1 and/or W.sub.2,2) without W.sub.1 (W.sub.1,1 and/or W.sub.1,2))
Regarding Claim 15, Onggosanusi and TONG teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach
The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a signal indicating a preference of the UE for selecting the second number of antenna ports, wherein receiving the second indication of the second number of antenna ports is based at least in part on transmitting the signal indicating the preference.
However, in an analogous invention, Eko teaches
The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a signal indicating a preference of the UE for selecting the second number of antenna ports, wherein receiving the second indication of the second number of antenna ports is based at least in part on transmitting the signal indicating the preference. -Paragraph [0135][0146] ([0135] recites, “ Semi-static signaling or configuration can be done as a part of CSI process definition and/or CSI-RS resource configuration. In one embodiment, these two sets of associations (one for NP CSI-RS, another for UE-specific BF CSI-RS) are included in a same NZP CSI-RS resource configuration. In another embodiment, two separate NZP CSI-RS resource configurations (one for NP CSI-RS, another for UE-specific BF CSI-RS) are defined in a same CSI-RS process assigned to the UE. In yet another embodiment, a UE is configured with two separate CSI processes, one associated with a NZP CSI-RS resource for NP CSI-RS, another associated with a NZP CSI-RS resource for UE-specific BF CSI-RS.” [0146] recites, “In a first example (TABLE 4), within one NZP CSI-RS resource, two separate configurations for NP CSI-RS and BF CSI-RS are defined. Each configuration includes a number of antenna ports, a 2D CSI-RS/antenna port pattern indicator (or, in another example, a 2D codebook pattern), a resource configuration, and a subframe configuration. As explained above, the 2D antenna port pattern can either be represented by either M.sub.a or N.sub.a described above; or a codebook or a codebook subset selection indicator…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “signal indicating a preference of the UE for selecting the second number of antenna ports, wherein receiving the second indication of the second number of antenna ports is based at least in part on transmitting the signal indicating the preference “ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Regarding Claim 16, Onggosanusi, TONG and Eko teaches the limitations of Claim 15.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach
The method of claim 15, wherein the preference comprises a value of second number of antenna ports, an antenna port pattern associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a transfer domain basis associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a combination thereof.
However, in an analogous invention Eko teaches,
The method of claim 15, wherein the preference comprises a value of second number of antenna ports, an antenna port pattern associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a transfer domain basis associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a combination thereof. -Paragraph [0146] ([0146] recites, “In a first example (TABLE 4), within one NZP CSI-RS resource, two separate configurations for NP CSI-RS and BF CSI-RS are defined. Each configuration includes a number of antenna ports, a 2D CSI-RS/antenna port pattern indicator (or, in another example, a 2D codebook pattern), a resource configuration, and a subframe configuration..”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “the preference comprises a value of second number of antenna ports, an antenna port pattern associated with the second number of antenna ports, “ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Claim 19 is essentially same as Claim 5 viewed from network side perspective (e.g., base station transmits etc.) compared to UE side perspective (e.g., UE receives etc.) as in Claim 5. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 5 which is rejected above. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 5.
Claim 23 is essentially same as Claim 9 viewed from network side perspective (e.g., base station transmits etc.) compared to UE side perspective (e.g., UE receives etc.) as in Claim 9. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 9 which is rejected above. Claim 23 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 9.
Claim 24 is essentially same as Claim 10 viewed from network side perspective (e.g., base station transmits etc.) compared to UE side perspective (e.g., UE receives etc.) as in Claim 10. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 10 which is rejected above. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 25, Onggosanusi, and TONG teach the limitations of Claim 17.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 17, further comprising: transmitting a channel state information report configuration message indicating a precoding matrix codebook comprising a plurality of precoding matrix indicators, wherein each precoding matrix indicator of the plurality of precoding matrix indicators is based at least in part on the first number of antenna ports, the second number of antenna ports, or the one or more antenna port parameters, or a combination thereof.
However, in an analogous invention, Eko teaches
The method of claim 17, further comprising: transmitting a channel state information report configuration message indicating a precoding matrix codebook comprising a plurality of precoding matrix indicators, wherein each precoding matrix indicator of the plurality of precoding matrix indicators is based at least in part on the first number of antenna ports, the second number of antenna ports, -Paragraph [0115] ([0115] recites, “In these illustrative embodiments, both M.sub.a and N.sub.a can be configured by an eNB for a UE. In another example, rather than defining M.sub.a and N.sub.a as the number of rows and columns of the rectangular array of ports or port pattern, respectively, these two parameters can be defined as two-dimensional precoding codebook parameters. The values of M.sub.a and N.sub.a partly determine the manner in which a codebook (hence each precoding matrix element in the codebook) is mapped onto antenna ports of a one- or two-dimensional antenna array. This configuration can be performed with and without signaling the total number of antenna ports. When a UE is configured with a codebook, these parameters can be included either in a corresponding CSI process configuration or NZP (non-zero-power) CSI-RS resource configuration.”)
or the one or more antenna port parameters, or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “transmitting a channel state information report configuration message indicating a precoding matrix codebook comprising a plurality of precoding matrix indicators, wherein each precoding matrix indicator of the plurality of precoding matrix indicators is based at least in part on the first number of antenna ports, the second number of antenna ports“ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Regarding Claim 26, Onggosanusi and TONG teach the limitations of Claim 17.
Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 17, further comprising: receiving a signal indicating a preference of the UE for selecting the second number of antenna ports, the preference comprising a value of second number of antenna ports, an antenna port pattern associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a transfer domain basis associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the second indication of the second number of antenna ports is based at least in part on transmitting the signal indicating the preference.
However, in an analogous invention, Eko teaches,
The method of claim 17, further comprising: receiving a signal indicating a preference of the UE for selecting the second number of antenna ports, the preference comprising a value of second number of antenna ports, an antenna port pattern associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a transfer domain basis associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the second indication of the second number of antenna ports is based at least in part on transmitting the signal indicating the preference. -Paragraph [0135] [0146] ([0146] recites, “In a first example (TABLE 4), within one NZP CSI-RS resource, two separate configurations for NP CSI-RS and BF CSI-RS are defined. Each configuration includes a number of antenna ports, a 2D CSI-RS/antenna port pattern indicator (or, in another example, a 2D codebook pattern), a resource configuration, and a subframe configuration. As explained above, the 2D antenna port pattern can either be represented by either M.sub.a or N.sub.a described above; or a codebook or a codebook subset selection indicator…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “receiving a signal indicating a preference of the UE for selecting the second number of antenna ports, the preference comprising a value of second number of antenna ports, an antenna port pattern associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a transfer domain basis associated with the second number of antenna ports, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the second indication of the second number of antenna ports is based at least in part on transmitting the signal indicating the preference. “ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Regarding Claim 27, Onggosanusi and TONG teach the limitations of Claim 17.
Although implicit, Onggosanusi does not explicitly teach,
The method of claim 17, wherein transmitting the additional indication of the one or more antenna port parameters further comprises: transmitting a message indicating a first set of antenna port patterns associated with the first number of antenna ports, and indicating a second set of antenna port patterns associated with the second number of antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna port patterns are a subset of the first set of antenna port patterns.
However, in an analogous invention, Eko teaches
The method of claim 17, wherein transmitting the additional indication of the one or more antenna port parameters further comprises: transmitting a message indicating a first set of antenna port patterns associated with the first number of antenna ports, and indicating a second set of antenna port patterns associated with the second number of antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna port patterns are a subset of the first set of antenna port patterns. -Paragraph [0146] ([0146] recites, “ In a first example (TABLE 4), within one NZP CSI-RS resource, two separate configurations for NP CSI-RS and BF CSI-RS are defined. Each configuration includes a number of antenna ports, a 2D CSI-RS/antenna port pattern indicator (or, in another example, a 2D codebook pattern), a resource configuration, and a subframe configuration. As explained above, the 2D antenna port pattern can either be represented by either M.sub.a or N.sub.a described above; or a codebook or a codebook subset selection indicator. Guidelines and value restrictions for these two configurations follow the description for the first component. For example, N.sub.PORT,BF<N.sub.PORT, M.sub.BF≦M.sub.a, and N.sub.BF≦N.sub.a. In this case, the number of antenna ports and the 2D CSI-RS port pattern for BF CSI-RS are by default semi-statically configured.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Downlink Signaling for Partially Precoded CSI-RS and CSI feedback” proposed by Onggosanusi to include the concept of “transmitting the additional indication of the one or more antenna port parameters further comprises: transmitting a message indicating a first set of antenna port patterns associated with the first number of antenna ports, and indicating a second set of antenna port patterns associated with the second number of antenna ports, wherein the second set of antenna port patterns are a subset of the first set of antenna port patterns “ of Eko. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement [0122]
Claim 28 is the same as Claim 19. The Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 19 which is rejected above. Claim 28 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 19.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475