DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 13, 24, 28, 31-35, 37 and 56-58 are pending. Claims 2, 3, 8-9, 28, 31-35, 37, and 56 have been withdrawn. Claims 4, 10-12, 14-23, 25-27, 29, 30, 36, 38-55 have been cancelled. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 57 and 58 have been added. Claims included in the prosecution are claims 1, 5-7, 13, 24 and 57-58.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection to claim 55 is withdrawn.
Upon further consideration, the rejection of claims 1, 4-7, 13, 24 and 55 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for enablement for non-oral methods of treatment is withdrawn.
In light of the new amendments to claim 1, the rejection of claims 1, 4-7, 13, 24 and 55 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for enablement of a method to treat proliferative disease is withdrawn.
New Rejections
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the following grounds of rejection:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 13, 24 and 57-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Moudgil et al. (US 20190359651 A1) in view of Londesbrough et al. (US 2023/0023092 A1, filed Apr. 17, 2020).
Moudgil discloses a method of detecting neuroinflammation in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a central nervous system homing peptide (title, abstract, [0054], claim 48). Multiple sclerosis (MS) is taught as a chronic debilitating autoimmune disease involving inflammation ([0006]). Moudgil discloses a molecular approach to identify novel markers in inflamed CNS ([0047]). Specifically regarding SEQ ID NO 1, Applicants disclose SEQ ID NO: 1 as having the amino acid sequence KRSS (see Spec., [0042], Table 1). Moudgil provides an isolated central nervous system-homing peptide, wherein the peptide comprises an amino acid motif selected from the group consisting of (SEQ ID NO: 1) KRSS ([0011], pg. 12, sequence listing: Lys Arg Ser Ser) and provides embodiments thereof ([0058]).
Moudgil teaches peptide, amino acid, and linker bond; ends or side chains(s) of homing peptide are joined to a scaffold that provides a molecular and either end (C or N-terminus) of a homing peptide can be coupled to the scaffold ([0057]). Compositions comprising the CNS-homing peptide and therapeutically active agent may be used to treat a variety of conditions associated with inflammation of the CNS ([0055]). The targeting peptide can be linked to a therapeutic agent, which may be used to treat neuroinflammation, serve as a “molecular homing device” to release the agent via reversible reductive cleavage of a disulfide bond ([0066-0070]). Moudgil teaches homing peptides distributed in the CNS conjugated with imaging agents which target inflamed CNS, and as the homing peptide target inflamed CNS, such conjugates can serve as good indicators of disease activity, specifically areas of inflammation ([0073]).
Moudgil does not teach psilocybin.
Londesbrough discloses a method comprising administering an effective amount of crystalline psilocybin to the subject (title, abstract, claim 1). The methods described may be used to treat a variety of diseases, disorders, and while Londesbrough focuses on the benefits of psilocybin in neural plasticity and cognitive function, the disclosure teaches that such benefits extend to subjects that have multiple sclerosis and demyelinating disease of central nervous system ([0025]); in treating central nervous disorders ([0223]). Londesbrough provides a pharmaceutical formulation comprising high purity crystalline psilocybin and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers of excipients ([0172], [0214]). Londesbrough provides pharmaceutical compositions a formulation comprising crystalline psilocybin and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers or excipients ([0213], [0225] see table, capsule, dry powder, solution; [0691] Examples formulation development where psilocybin is at 1.0 % w/w).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, ahead of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the psilocybin i.e., therapeutic agent, taught by Londesbrough in the targeting peptide of Moudgil to deliver psilocybin with enhanced targeting. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Moudgil provides results that show that peptide KRSS preferentially homed to inflamed spinal cord of EAE mice but not in normal mice, and by extrapolation, in patients with neuroinflammatory conditions of the CNS ([0126]). Moudgil discloses the CNS-homing peptide is capable of application in a kit that includes a pharmaceutical composition ([0098]). Londesbrough et al. teach a method of treating depression in a subject in need thereof (claim 1) and more specifically a depressive disorder due to another medical condition ([0006], [0015]), wherein the subject has multiple sclerosis.
Regarding the recitation of “the targeting peptide associated with psilocybin is carried by a liposome” in the last line of claim 1, Moudgil teaches liposome as a drug delivery vehicle ([0069], claims 42, 44). Moudgil discloses wherein the liposome further comprises a therapeutic agent (claim 45); wherein the therapeutic agent is released from the liposome (claim 46); wherein the therapeutic agent is conjugated to the surface of the liposome (claim 47).
Regarding claim 5 (i.e., wherein the targeting peptide is a CNS targeting peptide) and regarding claim 6 (i.e., targeting peptide is directly associated with psilocybin), Moudgil teaches in an embodiment, a composition comprising an isolated central nervous system homing peptide and a therapeutically active agent is provided, which can include a drug or prodrug, wherein the peptide and the therapeutically active agent are covalently bound to each other ([0097]).
Regarding claim 7 (i.e., covalently), Moudgil provides a homing peptide conjugate, i.e., a homing peptide having an amino acid sequence as described herein linked to one or more moieties (i.e., a physical, chemical, or biological material linked to a peptide) ([0067]). Drug molecules, prodrug molecules, or other therapeutic agents may be linked to a homing peptide via covalent bonds or non-covalent bonds ([0068]). The covalent linking of homing peptides to other components including therapeutic agents can be accomplished using techniques which would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art, e.g., homing peptides can be linked to molecules via the use of well-known coupling or activation agents ([0079-0080]).
In terms of a targeting peptide SEQ ID NO 1 covalently attached to psilocybin, it would have been prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the combined teachings of the references to arrive at the claimed invention. The CNS homing peptides taught by Moudgil mirror those in the instant claims. Moudgil teaches CNS-homing peptides combined with therapeutically active agent used to treat a variety of conditions associated with inflammation of the CNS. Moudgil discloses a therapeutic agent associated with the CNS-homing peptide. While Moudgil does not specifically disclose psilocybin as the active agent, Londesbrough teaches that psilocybin is used for treating subjects with neuroinflammatory conditions, and as a therapeutic to treat depressive disorders due to a medical condition (e.g., MS). Therefore, one of ordinary skills in the art would anticipate success in substituting the generic anti-inflammatory disclosed by Moudgil with psilocybin, which is taught by Londesbrough as a therapeutic to treat depression because of its ability to reduce neuroinflammation (Londesbrough [0650]). A simple substitution of one known equivalent element for another obtains predictable results and a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation, but of ordinary skill and common sense (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 13, Londesbrough teaches, at least one dose of psilocybin is administered to the subject, each dose of psilocybin administered to the subject is a therapeutically effective dose, and the dose of psilocybin is in the range of about 0.1 mg to about 100 mg ([0033], [0230-0248], [0251], claims 60-63). MPEP 2144.05 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art.
Regarding claim 24, pharmaceutical composition orally, Londesbrough discloses that in some embodiments the psilocybin is administered in an oral dosage form ([0032]).
Regarding claim 57, as mentioned above Moudgil et al. disclose that the targeting peptide is conjugated to the surface of a liposome ([0029]).
Regarding claim 58, as mentioned above, Moudgil discloses administering intravenously in paragraphs [0046] and [0106]. Londesbrough teach exemplary modes for administration of psilocybin to include intravenous ([0253]).
Double Patenting
Co-pending application no. 18/004,546
Claims 1, 5-7, 13, and 24 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/004,546 (reference application '546).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are each directed to overlapping embodiments: a method of treating a disease in a subject by administering a CNS-homing peptide associated with psilocybin and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same. Furthermore, the sequences of ‘546, represented by SEQ ID NOs: 1-22, are identical to those which are instantly claimed by SEQ ID NOs: 1-22. Therefore, '546 teaches an identical method and composition as what is instantly claimed and instant claims 1, 5-7, 13, and 24 are anticipated by '546 claims 1, 10, and 37. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Co-pending application no. 18/004,400
Claims 1, 5-7, 13, and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 9-10, and 13 of copending Application No. 18/004,400 (reference application '400).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are each directed to overlapping embodiments: a method of treating a disease in a subject by administering a CNS-homing peptide associated with psilocybin and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same. Furthermore, the sequences of '400, represented by SEQ ID NOs: 1-22, are identical to those which are instantly claimed by SEQ ID NOs: 1-22. Copending '400 teaches an identical method and composition as what is instantly claimed and instant claims 1, 5-7, 13, and 24 are anticipated by '400 claims 1, 7, 9-10, and 13. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments are based on newly amended limitations of claim 1 reciting in part “wherein the targeting peptide associated with psilocybin is carried by a liposome” which have been addressed by the new grounds of rejection above.
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that no motivation was provided to combine psilocybin with a targeting peptide and further argue that by doing so would compromise the drug’s purity of Londesborough et al. (Remarks, pg. 8, para. 3).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the cited art shows that there would be a reasonable expectation of success because the primary reference recognizes the need for the pharmaceutical composition comprising crystalline psilocybin and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers or excipients (see Londesborough [0213]). Moudgil et al. answers the need to provide a carrier specific to intravenous administering wherein sterile injectable solutions may be prepared by incorporating the pharmaceutical compositions in the required amounts of a powder of the active ingredient ([0110-0111]) to suggest a means by which purity and as recited in the claims, “therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition” may be delivered.
For these reasons, Applicants’ arguments are found unpersuasive.
Conclusion
All claims under consideration remain rejected; no claims are allowed. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Karen A Ketcham/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614