DETAILED ACTION
In light of the amendments to the claims filed 10/21/2025 in which claim 4 was amended, claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application and in light of the restriction requirement, claims 1-16 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/063058 which claims priority to U.S. Provisional App. no. 63/132,762 filed on 12/31/2020.
Claims 1-21 receive priority to the prior-filed application, filed on 12/31/2020.
Response to Arguments
Objections to the Specification
Upon reconsideration, the objection to the specification for introducing new matter into the disclosure is withdrawn as it seems that incorporation by reference of the provisional application no. 63/132,762 would not introduce any matter into the specification not already described therein.
Objections to the Claims
In light of the amendments to the claims, the objections to the claims are withdrawn.
Rejections of the Claims under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant asserts on pg. 6-7 that Bodaghi fails to cure the deficiencies of Bishop regarding the limitation “wherein the linear density of the polypropylene staple fibers is from 8-14 dtex”.
In response to the applicant’s arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to replace the low denier (4.4 denier) staple fibers as taught by Bishop with only the high denier staple fibers as taught by Bodaghi absent improper hindsight.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). The knowledge regarding the denier of the staple fibers comes only from the disclosures of Bishop and Bodaghi.
Further, the rejection of claim 1 in the previous Office Action filed 07/21/2025 did not require the replacement of the staple fibers of Bishop with the high denier staple fibers of Bodaghi. First, Bishop does not only disclose the use of 4.4 denier staple fibers. This disclosure is from a single exemplary embodiment of Bishop that the examiner did not cite to (col. 14 ln. 39-45). Rather, the examiner cited to the disclosure of Bishop stating that the fibers may range between 1.5-16 denier (col. 5 ln. 66-67 and col. 6 ln. 1-11). Second, Bodaghi was used in the rejection to show that the denier of monocomponent fibers is a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art looking to the disclosures of Bodaghi would understand that changing the range of denier of the fibers changes the cost of the fibers, the loft of the nonwoven, the density of the nonwoven, and the spreading capability of the nonwoven as explained in the rejection of claim 1. Applicant seems to note this in that they state in their argument that Bodaghi teaches that the first and second deniers of the first and second monocomponent fibers must be selectively balanced to ensure proper softness and loft of the resulting web (pg. 6-7).
Further regarding claim 1, the applicant asserts on pg. 7 that Bodaghi fails to teach utilization of structure fibers comprising polypropylene staple fibers.
In response to the applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant asserts that Bodaghi specifically prefers polyester monocomponent fibers and therefore fails to provide proper motivation to utilize polypropylene staple fibers. The rejection of claim 1 does not utilize Bodaghi to teach polypropylene staple fibers. In the previous Office Action filed 07/21/2025, Bishop was shown to disclose polypropylene staple fibers (col. 6 ln. 30-47). Even if Bodaghi was utilized in the rejection to teach polypropylene fibers, Bodaghi does teach the use of polypropylene staple fibers (para. 0020). MPEP 2123(II) states, “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).” Therefore, even if the rejection was based on Bodaghi, preferred polyester monocomponent fibers do not constitute a teaching away from non-preferred polypropylene staple fibers.
The rejections of the claims are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner recognizes claim 14 as a "product-by-process” claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
As a product claim, Examiner has determined that claim 14 requires the nonwoven web to comprise the following structural elements in addition to those in the claims from which they depend: a bonded web.
In the prior art rejection in this Office action, Examiner considers claim 14 to be met when a reference teaches these structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent no. 5,486,166 A to Bishop in view of US/2002/0177378 A1 to Bodaghi.
Regarding claim 1, Bishop discloses an absorbent article (col. 3 ln. 12-34) comprising: a body side liner (col. 3 ln. 12-16); an outer cover (col. 3 ln. 12-16); an absorbent structure positioned between the body side liner and the outer cover (col. 3 ln. 12-16); and a surge layer positioned between the body side liner and the absorbent structure (col. 3 ln. 25-36), the surge layer comprising a nonwoven web having fluid management features (col. 2 ln. 27-46; col. 3 ln. 25-36) comprising a blend of binder fibers and structure fibers (col. 6 ln. 30-47, polyethylene/polypropylene as binder fibers and polypropylene as structure fibers), the structure fibers comprising polypropylene staple fibers (col. 5 ln. 36-44; col. 6 ln. 30-47, polyethylene/polypropylene as binder fibers and polypropylene as structure fibers) having a linear density of from about 1.7-17.8 dtex (col. 5 ln. 66-67 and col. 6 ln. 1-11, fibers used in the processes for creating nonwovens may range between 1.5-16 denier;
d
e
n
i
e
r
0.9
=
d
t
e
x
), and wherein the binder fibers form bond sites within the surge layer (col. 6 ln. 30-41; col. 14 ln. 33-38).
Bishop differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Bishop fails to disclose wherein the linear density of the polypropylene staple fibers is from about 8-14 dtex.
Bodaghi teaches a nonwoven suitable for use as an acquisition/distribution layer that comprises two monocomponent fibers and a bicomponent fiber (para. 0018-0020) that have linear densities between 3.3-22.2 dtex (para. 0020, denier of bicomponent fiber and first monocomponent fiber may be similar; para. 0022-0023, monocomponent fibers may have 3-20 denier). Bodaghi further discloses that higher denier fibers are cheaper than lower denier fibers, higher denier fibers may result in a web of lower softness and less drapability so that the density of the web may be too low to permit effective spreading (para. 0022), lower denier fibers may not produce the desired loft effect, and higher denier fibers may be too bulky in a way that would produce a fabric of lower density than required in order to provide the desired distribution of a liquid insult prior to absorption thereof (para. 0023); therefore, the linear density of the fibers may be considered a result-effective variable in that changing the denier of the fibers changes the cost of the fibers, the loft of the nonwoven, the density of the nonwoven, and the spreading capability of the nonwoven.
Therefore, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Bishop device to have binder fibers having a linear density within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bishop by making the linear density of the polypropylene staple fibers be between 8-14 dtex as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the polypropylene staple fibers have a linear density of from about 1.7-17.8 dtex (col. 5 ln. 66-67 and col. 6 ln. 1-11, fibers used in the processes for creating nonwovens may range between 1.5-16 denier;
d
e
n
i
e
r
0.9
=
d
t
e
x
); however, the prior art differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to explicitly disclose wherein the polypropylene staple fibers have a linear density of from about 8.5-10.5 dtex.
As explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, the linear density of the fibers is a result-effective variable, and therefore, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Bishop device to have polypropylene staple fibers having a linear density within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bishop by making the linear density of the polypropylene staple fibers be between 8.5-10.5 dtex as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the polypropylene staple fibers comprise hollow fibers (col. 6 ln. 17-18).
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the structure fibers are present in the nonwoven web in an of amount of less than at least 50% by weight, and the binder fibers are present in the nonwoven web in an amount of at least 50% by weight (col. 6 ln. 42-51); however, the prior art differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to explicitly disclose wherein the structure fibers are present in the nonwoven web in an amount from about 20% to about 60% by weight, and the binder fibers are present in the nonwoven web in an amount from about 40% to about 80% by weight.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amount of each fiber of Bishop from less than 50% by weight and at least 50% by weight, respectively, to between 20-60% by weight and 40-80% by weight, respectively, since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pg. 2 ln. 18-22 indicating the weight percentages “can” be within the claimed ranges).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the nonwoven web does not contain any polyester fibers (col. 6 ln. 25-52, nonwoven web may be comprised of different fibers, does not require the use of polyester fibers).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the binder fibers comprise bicomponent fibers (col. 6 ln. 30-47, polyethylene/polypropylene as binder fibers).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 6. Bishop further discloses: wherein the bicomponent fibers are made from polyolefin polymers (col. 6 ln. 30-47, polyethylene/polypropylene as binder fibers).
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 6. Bishop further discloses: wherein the bicomponent fibers include a sheath layer surrounding a core, the sheath layer comprising a polyethylene polymer, the core comprising a polypropylene polymer (col. 6 ln. 30-47, polyethylene/polypropylene as binder fibers).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 6. Bishop further discloses: wherein the binder fibers have a linear density equal or greater than 2.2 dtex (col. 6 ln. 51-52, bicomponent fibers have an average denier equal to or greater than 2;
d
e
n
i
e
r
0.9
=
d
t
e
x
; col. 5 ln. 66-67 and col. 6 ln. 1-11, fibers used in the processes for creating nonwovens may range between 1.5-16 denier); however, the prior art differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to explicitly disclose wherein the binder fibers have a linear density of from about 3 dtex to about 6 dtex.
As explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, the linear density of the fibers is a result-effective variable, and therefore, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Bishop device to have binder fibers having a linear density within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bishop by making the linear density of the binder fibers be between 3-6 dtex as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 6. Bishop further discloses: wherein the binder fibers have a linear density equal or greater than 2.2 dtex (col. 6 ln. 51-52, bicomponent fibers have an average denier equal to or greater than 2;
d
e
n
i
e
r
0.9
=
d
t
e
x
; col. 5 ln. 66-67 and col. 6 ln. 1-11, fibers used in the processes for creating nonwovens may range between 1.5-16 denier); however, the prior art differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to explicitly disclose wherein the binder fibers have a linear density of from about 6.5 dtex to about 12.5 dtex.
As explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, the linear density of the fibers is a result-effective variable, and therefore, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Bishop device to have binder fibers having a linear density within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bishop by making the linear density of the binder fibers be between 6.5-12.5 dtex as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the nonwoven web has a basis weight of at least 20 gsm or 40-68 gsm (col. 2 ln. 42-48); however, the prior art differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to explicitly disclose wherein the nonwoven web has a basis weight of from about 30 gsm to about 90 gsm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the basis weight of the nonwoven web of Bishop from between 40-68 gsm to between 30-90 gsm since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pg. 10 ln. 1-5 indicating the basis weight “can” be within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the nonwoven web comprises a carded and through-air bonded web (col. 3 ln. 45-67, col. 4, and col. 5 ln. 1-65, processes of forming the nonwoven web; col. 6 ln. 30-41).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the binder fibers and the structure fibers have an average fiber length of from about 38 mm to about 51 mm (col. 5 ln. 66-67 and col. 6 ln. 1-11); however, the combination of the prior art differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to disclose wherein the binder fibers and the structure fibers have an average fiber length of from about 38 mm to about 65 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the fibers of Bishop from between 38-51 mm to between 38-65 mm since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see pg. 3 ln. 3-5 indicating the length “can” be within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 1. Bishop further discloses: wherein the surge layer further comprises a hydrophilic finish applied to fibers contained in the nonwoven web (col. 7 ln. 43-49; col. 14 ln. 45-48).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop and Bodaghi as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent no. 7,195,819 B2 to Hietpas.
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 6; however, the prior art differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to explicitly disclose wherein the binder fibers have a tenacity of greater than about 2 cN and less than about 4.5 cN.
Hietpas teaches bicomponent fibers that may be used to form fabrics having a tenacity (col. 4 ln. 1-10; col. 6 ln. 40-46). Hietpas further teaches that when tenacity-at-break is too low, fibers can break during carding and when tenacity-at-break is too high, fabrics comprising the fiber can exhibit undesirable pilling (col. 4 ln. 1-10); therefore, tenacity may be considered a result-effective variable in that changing the tenacity of the fibers changes the strength of the fibers during carding and the final product created from the fibers.
It appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Bishop device to have binder fibers having a tenacity within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bishop by making the tenacity of the binder fibers be greater than about 2 cN and less than about 4.5 cN as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bishop and Bodaghi as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent no. 6,610,039 B1 to Wilhelm.
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 6; however, the prior art differ from the instantly claimed invention in that they fail to explicitly disclose wherein the binder fibers have an elongation of greater than about 170%.
Wilhelm teaches fibers in a surge layer that have an elongation within 50-400% (col. 18 ln. 26-37). Wilhelm further teaches that if the elongation of the fibers in the surge layer is too low, the surge layer may not be sufficiently stretchable to allow the desired level of elongation and if the elongation of the fibers in the surge layer is too high, the surge layer may be excessively contracted and may not be able to intake liquid at a sufficiently rapid rate (col. 18 ln. 38-48); therefore, the elongation of the fibers may be considered a result-effective variable in that changing the elongation of the fibers changes the stretchability of the article and the speed of acquisition of liquid.
It appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Bishop device to have binder fibers having an elongation within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bishop by making the elongation of the binder fibers be greater than about 170% as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Linnae E. Raymond/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 28 January 2026