DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in at least Figures 7-11, 14-16 and 19-21 there are lead lines with no corresponding reference number and/or reference numbers that have been improperly cropped in half. All lead lines need a full, clear reference number, or they should be removed from the Figures. Similarly, in [0059], Figure is referred to and defined as showing an end pickup device 20; however, there is no “20” in Fig. 1.
At least Figs. 7-10, 13, and 16 appear to show cross sectional views, yet none of the Figures show the proper cross hatching. Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty, 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3).
In Fig. 8, “3” does not appear to be pointing to a driving mechanism, as “3” is defined in the Specification. Similarly, in Figs. 10 and 14, “7” does not appear to be pointing to a limiting device, as “7” is defined in the Specification.
In Fig. 19, there are two “23” which appear to be pointing to different components, which is improper. Also in Fig. 19, “24” and “26” appear to be pointing to the same thing, which is improper.
Finally, in the claims the at least two pickup apparatuses are defined as being relatively telescopic. The Figures and the invention would be clearer if the at least two pickup apparatuses were shown in varying relatively telescopic positions, which currently is not shown.
The Figures should be reviewed in their entirety for other errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the pickup apparatus” in line 5. This recitation is unclear as “at least two pickup apparatuses” were previously defined in the claim, thereby making the claim indefinite because it is unclear which pickup apparatus is being referred to in line 5. Consequently, claims 2-18 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite since they depend from rejected claim 1.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the sleeve of the second pickup apparatus" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Consequently, claims 8-12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite since they depend from rejected claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Polido et al. (US 2020/0189122 A1) (“Polido”).
Referring to claim 1: Polido teaches an end pickup device, comprising:
a mounting seat 34, 36;
a pickup mechanism 14, 16, disposed on the mounting seat (Fig. 3) and comprising at least two pickup apparatuses 10,14 and 12,16, wherein the at least two pickup apparatuses are movable relative to each other (Figs. 1-4), and the pickup apparatus comprises a pickup part 32 for picking up articles; and
a driving mechanism 50, disposed on the mounting seat and in driving connection with the pickup mechanism, wherein the driving mechanism drives the at least two pickup apparatuses to move relatively, so that the at least two pickup apparatuses pick up the articles in a switching way [0015].
Referring to claim 2: Polido teaches the pickup apparatus further comprises a sleeve 40, the pickup part is disposed at an end part of the sleeve (Figs. 4 and 7), the at least two pickup apparatuses are disposed in a sequentially sleeving way and are relatively telescopic, and the driving mechanism drives the at least two pickup apparatuses to extend and retract relatively, so that the at least two pickup apparatuses pick up the articles in a switching way (Figs. 1-2; [0015]).
Referring to claim 14: Polido teaches a limiting device disposed on the mounting seat to limit a displacement of the pickup apparatus [0034].
Referring to claim 16: Polido teaches the pickup part comprises a suction cup 32.
Referring to claim 17: Polido teaches a manipulator [0022] comprising the end pickup device according to claim 1.
Referring to claim 18: Polido teaches a robot [0022],comprising the manipulator according to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polido, alone.
Referring to claim 3: Polido teaches the at least two pickup apparatuses comprise a first pickup apparatus 10,14 and at least one second pickup apparatus 12,16, the first pickup apparatus is fixedly disposed, the at least one second pickup apparatus sleeves inside the first pickup apparatus (Fig. 2) and is telescopic relative to the first pickup apparatus (Fig. 1), and the driving mechanism is in driving connection with the at least one second pickup apparatus and drives the at least one second pickup apparatus to extend and retract, so that the at least one second pickup apparatus and the first pickup apparatus pick up the articles in a switching way (Figs. 1-2; [0015]).
Polido does not specifically teach the at least one second pickup apparatus sleeves outside the first pickup apparatus. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have placed the at least one second pickup apparatus outside the first pickup apparatus with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Referring to claim 4: Polido does not specifically teach the at least two pickup apparatuses comprise at least two second pickup apparatuses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Polido to include at least two second pickup apparatuses since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Referring to claim 5: Polido teaches the driving mechanism comprises a driving device 50 corresponding to the at least one second pickup apparatus one to one, and the driving device is in driving connection with the second pickup apparatus to drive the second pickup apparatus to extend and retract [0015].
Referring to claims 6 and 7: While Polido teaches the driving device is in driving connection with the second pickup apparatus, Polido does not specifically teach the driving device comprises a lead screw motor, and the lead screw motor is in driving connection with the second pickup apparatus, wherein the driving device further comprises a nut seat, and the nut seat connects a nut of the lead screw motor with the sleeve of the second pickup apparatus to realize driving connection between the lead screw motor and the second pickup apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the driving device taught by Polido to comprise a lead screw motor with a reasonable expectation of success since such a modification would only require a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Further, once modified to include a lead screw motor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the driving device taught by Polido to include a nut seat that connects a nut of the lead screw motor with the sleeve of the second pickup apparatus with a reasonable expectation of success since a connection between the driving device and the second pickup apparatus is necessary for the device taught by Polido to function, and the type of connection, such as one including a nut and a nut seat, could be chosen by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Referring to claim 13: Polido teaches in the two pickup apparatuses which are adjacent to each other and are both telescopic (Figs. 1-4; [0015]), and the sleeve of the pickup apparatus is located inside. Polido does not specifically teach the sleeve of the pickup apparatus is located outside. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have placed the sleeve outside with a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. Once modified this way, Polido teaches the sleeve is provided with an avoidance opening (the space inside the [now] outer sleeve) to avoid the extending and retracting of the pickup apparatus located inside.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. O’Connor et al. (US 2019/0160691 A1) also teaches a telescopic device (FIGS. 10-15) comprising double suction cups 440, 450 and an actuator 492 to drive the telescoping tubes relatively [0051-0052].
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
13 June 2026