DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al. (US 20180350871).
Regarding claim 1, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification:
1. An optoelectronic device with at least two emission regions (see, 330R, 330G, fig. 3E, see also, paragraph [0079]) and with a radiation exit surface (see, arrow end of T1, T2, fir 3E) wherein
- the emission regions each comprise an active region (see, 311a, 311b, fig. 3E, see also, paragraph [0064]) provided for generating radiation,
- the active regions of the emission regions are arranged in a common emitter plane (see, upper surface of 309b, fig. E),
- the emission regions are each assigned a partial region (see, 321R, 321G, fig. 3.E) of the radiation exit surface through which the radiation emitted by the respective emission region exits,
- the radiation exit surface is formed at least in places by a radiation-transmissive body (see, 319, fig. 3E, see also, paragraph [0033]) arranged on at least one of the emission regions, and
- the partial regions of the radiation exit surface are arranged at different distances (dl, d2) (see, T1, T2, fig. 3E, see also, paragraph [0079]) from each other with respect to the common emitter plane.
Regarding claim 2, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein the virtual focal points of the emission regions differ in their distance from the associated active regions (inherent due to 330R and 330G).
Regarding claim 3, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein, during operation of the optoelectronic device, radiation cones of the emitted radiation emerging from the partial regions the radiation exit surface overlap (inherent due to distance between 330R and 330G).
Regarding claim 4, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein, during operation of the optoelectronic device, the radiation emitted by an emission region emerges in each case from only exactly one partial region of the radiation exit surface (inherent due to distance between 330R and 330G).
Regarding claim 5, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein the radiation-transmissive body has a front side which forms the partial region of the radiation exit surface, and a thickness of the radiation-transmissive body perpendicular to the front side is at most such that the radiation cone exiting from the associated emission region exits completely from the front side of the radiation- transmissive body (see, 319, fig. 3.E).
Regarding claim 6, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein one of the emission regions (2) is free of the radiation-transmissive body (see, 319, fig. 3.E).
Regarding claim 7, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein the radiation-transmissive body has a front side which forms the partial region of the radiation exit surface, and a thickness of the radiation-transmissive body perpendicular to the front side is at most such that the radiation cone exiting from the associated emission region exits completely from the front side of the radiation- transmissive body (see, 319, fig. 3.E).
Regarding claim 8, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein one of the emission regions is free of the radiation-transmissive body (see, 319, fig. 3.E).
Regarding claim 9, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein the radiation-transmissive body is a prefabricated element attached to the associated emission region (see, 319, fig. 3.E).
Regarding claim 10, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 9, wherein the active region of at least one emission region is divided into a plurality of individual emitters (see, paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 11, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 9, wherein the individual emitters of one emission region are integrated in a common semiconductor body (see, 317a, fig. 3E).
Regarding claim 12, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein the individual emitters of one emission region are integrated in a common semiconductor body (see, 317a, fig. 3E).
Regarding claim 13, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, herein the emission regions are each formed by surface emitters (see, arrow in 317a, fig. 3E).
Regarding claim 14, LEE et al. discloses in figure 3E and specification the optoelectronic device according to claim 1, wherein the emission regions are each formed by a matrix of vertical cavity surface emitting semiconductor lasers (see, arrow in 317a, fig. 3E).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons applied to claims 1-14 since the limitations of claim 15 are implemented by the limitations of claims 1-14.
Conclusion
4. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kinam Park whose telephone number is (571) 270-1738. The examiner can normally be reached on from 9:00 AM-5:00 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, MINSUN HARVEY, can be reached on (571) 272-1835. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/KINAM PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 .