DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 10-12, and 14-15 are amended. Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9, and 13 are as previously presented. Claims 16-18 are newly added. Therefore, claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 09, 2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-12, filed on 07/09/2026, with respect to the U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. A second non-final has been issued to correct for the “rigidly connected” segments limitation.
Applicant’s argument that Schnick et al has no translation provided is not persuasive. A translation with the NPL doc code was provided on 03/18/2026.
Applicant’s argument that Azuma is non-analogous art is not persuasive. Analogous art is defined in the MPEP 2141.01(a) as, “A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention).”. It is the Examiner’s position that Azuma is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, where one of ordinary skill in the art would look for devices capable of connecting a nozzle to another device.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP20020622.5, filed on 12/16/2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernuchon et al. (US 5084603 Al, hereinafter Bernuchon) in view of Schnick et al. (WO 2018073293 A2, hereinafter Schnick).
Regarding claim 1, Bernuchon discloses a gas for a welding torch (Section 1, lines 6-9, “a protective shield for use with a gaseous-diffusion welding head wherein the shield may be readily shaped to conform to the contour of the welded parts, or to the contour of the desired weld bead.”, where the protective gas shield can be used with different welding methods that have torches, Section 1, lines 15-16, “well-known welding techniques as TIG (tungsten inert gas), plasma arc or laser beam welding.”), comprising:
- an elongated body comprising an internal space for receiving a trailing gas (Section 3, lines 25-28, “Tubes 15 and 16 are associated with shield members 5 and 6, respectively, and communicate with the feed lines 7 to direct the protective, inert gas into the shield members.”), and an elongated discharge area on a bottom side of the body for discharging the trailing gas onto a weld seam (Section 3, lines 28-33, “The gas is directed into a first chamber 19a, through a passageway 21a and into a second chamber 20a. From chamber 20a, the gas passes through end 30 plates 17 and 18, which are made of a porous material to insure uniform gas diffusion over the length of the weld bead.”), wherein
for adjusting a curvature of the elongated discharge area to a desired curvature, the elongated body comprises a plurality of segments rigidly connected to one another, wherein each two neighboring segments contact each other via a contact surface of the respective segment (Section 3, lines 57-64, “Since the shield members are freely pivotably, the force of gravity will enable them to assume the desired contours. Once the shield members have assumed the desired configuration, the application of the pressurized, protective gas to the shield members will urge pistons 23 into contact with the adjacent wing members, thereby locking the shield members in the desired configuration.”, where the segments or shield members are rigidly connected as pressurized gas causes the pivots to be locked in place, where the contact surface between members is located at the overlap where the pivot pin 27 is present, Section 3, lines 12-15, “The shield member 6 is pivotally attached to the shield member 5 by a pivot pin 27, such that the these members are relatively pivotable about the longitudinal axis of the pivot pin 27.”),
wherein an angle of each contact surface with respect to a center axis of the corresponding segment is selected such that the discharge area comprises said desired curvature (Section 3, lines 51-56, “The welding head is positioned such that the shield members 5 and 6 come into contact with the parts to be welded and, due to their own weight, assume the contour of the parts. In FIG. 5, the shield will assume the convex shape of the part la, while in FIG. 6, the shield assumes the general contour of the convex part lb.”).
Bernuchon does not disclose:
explicitly stating that the gas for the welding torch is supplied through a gas nozzle, and explicitly stating that an elongated discharge area is located on the bottom side of the body discharges gas.
However, Schnick discloses, in the similar field of supplying gas to welding devices (Page 2, Para. 4, “applying a welding area with a gas”), where the gas for the welding torch is supplied through a gas nozzle (Page 2, Para. 5 from end, “For the purposes of this document, gas is to be understood as any gas which a welding nozzle or the welding area, which is processed by this welding nozzle, is supplied.”), and where there is also an elongated discharge area at the bottom side of the body to discharge gas (Page 5, Para. 5 from end, “Gas distribution body 7 may be provided from an open-cell metal foam, which extends over an entire length of the tow chamber 2. The gas distribution body 7 ensures a desired flow of individual gas channels 9 and thus a defined flow of the weld area.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the welding torch and discharge area in Bernuchon to have explicitly stated the gas nozzle and discharge area openings for gas as taught by Schnick.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to supply gas to protect a weld bead from oxidation for weld beads of different geometries, as stated by Schnick, Page 4, Para. 5, “Thus, a functionality of the entrainment gas nozzle is increased and the entrainment gas nozzle can be adapted specifically to different applications, in particular to the geometry of the component and the required burner positioning and alignment.”.
Regarding claim 2, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein a segment of said plurality of segments comprises a gas inlet for feeding the trailing gas into the internal space of the body (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 25-28, “Tubes 15 and 16 are associated with shield members 5 and 6, respectively, and communicate with the feed lines 7 to direct the protective, inert gas into the shield members.”, where the segments include the gas inlet of the tubes to allow trailing gas to be allowed into the internal space of the body of the members).
Regarding claim 3, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the gas nozzle comprises a first segment configured to be arranged adjacent the welding torch and to be connected to the welding torch (Bernuchon, Section 2, lines 48-50, “The articulated protective shield 3 for gaseous diffusion welding is attached to the welding head 1 by an attachment member 4.”, where the welding head includes the welding torch and is held by an attachment member 4, where the first segment is construed as shield member 5 that is connected to the attachment member and therefore also connected to the welding torch).
Regarding claim 5, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the plurality of segments comprises a last segment being arranged at an opposite end of the body with respect to the first segment (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 25-26, “shield members 5 and 6”, where shield member 6 is construed as the last segment arranged at the opposite end of the body with respect to the first segment or shield member 5).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one segment of said plurality of segments is a middle segment, the middle segment comprising two opposing contact surfaces for contacting contact surfaces of neighboring segments, wherein the contact surfaces of the middle segment extend parallel to one another (Bernuchon, Section 4, lines 15-18, “The shield member is attached to the welding head (not shown) via welding nozzle 104 and, in this particular instance, comprises three shield members, 105, 106 and 106a.”, where the middle shield member 106 contacts the shield members 105 and 106a at the pivot points, which would be opposite contact surfaces for the middle shield member 106).
Regarding claim 8, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein at least one segment of said plurality of segments comprises a gas distributor (Bernuchon, Section 4, lines 24-27, “As in the previous embodiment, a metering needle 122a may be associated with each of the shield members to control the flow of gas through the associated passageway 121a”).
Regarding claim 9, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein each segment of said plurality of segments comprises a top wall and two opposing lateral walls (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 44-46, “chambers urges the pistons 23 outwardly against the inner surfaces of the wing members 11, 12, 13 or 14.”, where the wing members are shown in Fig. 2 as having side walls and in Fig. 3 as having a top wall, where the wing members enclose the chamber that contains the gas) and an outflow area arranged between the lateral walls and facing the top wall (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 28-30, “The gas is directed into a first chamber 19a, through a passageway 21a and into a second chamber 20a.”, where the second chamber is shown in Fig. 2 as being arranged between the two side walls of the wings and facing the top wall by being underneath the top wall), so that the trailing gas can be discharged through the outflow area in the direction of a workpiece to be welded, wherein the outflow areas together form said discharge area of the body of the gas nozzle (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 30-34, “From chamber 20a, the gas passes through end plates 17 and 18, which are made of a porous material to insure uniform gas diffusion over the length of the weld bead.”, where the chambers 20a that allow gas to outflow are present within all the segments and allow for gas diffusion to occur throughout the entire weld bead).
Regarding claim 13, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above.
Modified Bernuchon does not disclose:
wherein each outflow area is covered by a flexible sheet comprising a plurality of discharge openings for discharging the trailing gas, or wherein the discharge area is covered by a single flexible sheet comprising a plurality of discharge openings for discharging the trailing gas.
However, Schnick discloses where the outflow area is covered by a flexible sheet comprising a plurality of discharge openings for discharging the trailing gas (Page 5, Para .7 from end, “Covering element 6, typically a cover plate, covered. The cover member 6 is provided with openings through which a gas can reach a welding area, which is located on the workpiece in the application of the Schleppgasdüse the elongated opening.”, where the cover can be made from a metal fabric, Page 4, Para. 1, “The cover element may be designed as a cover plate, a component made of a sintered material such as a sintered plate, preferably with honeycomb structure, and / or as a single-layer or multi-layer fabric layer, preferably a metal fabric.”, where metal fabrics can be flexible such as with Fabricoil, https://web.archive.org/web/20201109034232/https:/architizer.com/blog/practice/materials/fabricoil-steel-fabric/). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the outflow area in modified Bernuchon to be covered by a flexible metal sheet as taught by Schnick.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to prevent soiling and wear of the gas outflow channels, as stated by Schnick, Page 3, Para. 6 from end, “The gas channels are typically protected by the cover from soiling and wear.”.
Regarding claim 16, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein several of said plurality of segments comprise a gas distributor (Bernuchon, Section 4, lines 24-27, “As in the previous embodiment, a metering needle 122a may be associated with each of the shield members to control the flow of gas through the associated passageway 121a”, where all the segments include the gas distributor of the metering needle).
Regarding claim 17, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein all segments of said plurality of segments comprise a gas distributor (Bernuchon, Section 4, lines 24-27, “As in the previous embodiment, a metering needle 122a may be associated with each of the shield members to control the flow of gas through the associated passageway 121a”, where all the segments include the gas distributor of the metering needle).
Claims 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernuchon et al. (US 5084603 Al, hereinafter Bernuchon) in view of Schnick et al. (WO 2018073293 A2, hereinafter Schnick) in further view of Azuma (JP 2019198510 A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Bernuchon does not disclose:
wherein the first segment comprises a clamp for connecting the gas nozzle to the welding torch, the clamp surrounding an opening of the first segment and comprises a lever, the lever being pivotable between an open position and a closed position, wherein in the open position said opening comprises an inner diameter being larger than an outer diameter of an end portion of the welding torch allowing insertion of said end portion of the welding torch into the opening of the first segment, and wherein in the second position of the lever, the inner diameter of said opening is reduced to clamp said end portion of the welding torch and to therewith fasten the first segment to the welding torch.
However, Schnick discloses where components are connected via a clamp to allow for the components to be fastened together (Page 2, last Para., “As an alternative or in addition to the gas distributor, at least one, typically removable, gas distributor body can be arranged in the drag chamber, which distributes the gas in a desired manner by its shape and configuration or directs it in the direction of the elongate opening. By being removable and attachable, this gas distributor can be changed quickly and the entire entrainment gas nozzle adapted to various desired internal gas distributions. Typically, the gas distribution body is screwed into the drag chamber, screwed to the drag chamber and / or clamped in the drag chamber.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the first segment and welding torch connection in modified Bernuchon to be connected via a clamp as taught by Schnick.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to make the first segment removable and attachable through a clamp configuration, as stated by Schnick, Page 2, last Para., “As an alternative or in addition to the gas distributor, at least one, typically removable, gas distributor body can be arranged in the drag chamber, which distributes the gas in a desired manner by its shape and configuration or directs it in the direction of the elongate opening. By being removable and attachable, this gas distributor can be changed quickly and the entire entrainment gas nozzle adapted to various desired internal gas distributions”.
Further, Azuma discloses, in the similar field of clamps (Page 1, last Para., “a rubber elastic clamping ring having a through hole for passing the catheter”), where the clamp structure can include a lever that moves between an open and closed position and where the diameter of an opening that connects two structures can be increased or reduced (Page 1, last Para., “It consists of a clamp lever that can be moved, a catheter is passed through the through hole of the tightening ring, and the clamp ring sandwiched between the clamp body and the clamp cap is crushed from both ends by operating the clamp lever to compress the through hole of the tightening ring.”, where the catheter includes an outer diameter that is smaller than the inner diameter of the through hole of the tightening ring). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the clamp between a welding torch head and first segment in modified Bernuchon to include the lever that in an open position allows for the diameters of the structures being connected to be interconnected and where the lever in a closed position can reduce that diameter as taught by Azuma.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use a lever for a clamp to control the operation of the clamp, where this configuration provides a user with more control over the clamp’s functions, as stated by Azuma, Page 2, Para. 6 from end, “By the clamp lever 3 which is a slide operation unit for pressing and releasing the clamping ring 4 It constructed basically.”.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernuchon et al. (US 5084603 Al, hereinafter Bernuchon) in view of Schnick et al. (WO 2018073293 A2, hereinafter Schnick) in further view of Lorincz (WO 2008090393 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Bernuchon does not disclose:
wherein at least one segment of said plurality of segments is a wedge segment comprising two opposing contact surfaces being arranged at an angle with respect to one another.
However, Lorincz discloses, in the similar field of ducts that carry gas (Page 1, lines 10-11, “producing ductwork connecting components for air-handling systems”), where a plurality of segments can include a wedge segment with two opposing contact surfaces arranged at an angle with respect to one another (Page 3, lines 11-15, “Fig. 3 shows in lateral view a duct element coupled with a connecting component according to the invention being bent in an angle of 45° in relation to the axis of the duct element, Fig. 4 shows in lateral view a connecting component according to the invention being bent in an angle of go0 in relation to the axis of the duct element”, where Fig. 3 and 4 show that a connecting element 1 is located between two duct portions D, where the connecting element 1 is a wedge that includes opposing contact surfaces arranged at an angle with respect to one another). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the elongated body segments in modified Bernuchon to include wedge shapes between linear segments as taught by Lorincz.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to achieve different shape configurations for a duct structure through the use of different connecting elements, as stated by Lorincz, Page 1, liens 19-21, “The ductwork components may include ducts (straight or bent), boots, registers, tees, reducers, etc., hereafter referred as connecting components.”, where reducers or wedges allow for different angles to be created, as stated by Lorincz, Page 3, lines 9-10, “a reducer and arranged in an angle of 45" in relation to the axis of the duct element”.
Claims 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernuchon et al. (US 5084603 Al, hereinafter Bernuchon) in view of Lorincz (WO 2008090393 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Bernuchon discloses a kit for providing a gas nozzle for a welding torch (Bernuchon, Abstract, “A protective shield for a welding head is disclosed having an articulated construction to enable the shield to readily assume the contours of the parts to be welded or the contour of the weld bead.”, where the protective shield is construed as an attachment for a welding torch, where the protective shield includes a gas nozzle in 15 and 16) comprising:
- a plurality of segments comprising a first segment, a last segment, a plurality of middle segments (Bernuchon, Section 4, lines 15-18, “The shield member is attached to the welding head (not shown) via welding nozzle 104 and, in this particular instance, comprises three shield members, 105, 106 and 106a.”), the segments being configured to be connected to one another to form an elongated body of the gas nozzle, so that the body comprises an internal space for receiving a trailing gas (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 25-28, “Tubes 15 and 16 are associated with shield members 5 and 6, respectively, and communicate with the feed lines 7 to direct the protective, inert gas into the shield members.”), and an elongated discharge area on a bottom side of the body for discharging the trailing gas onto a weld seam (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 28-33, “The gas is directed into a first chamber 19a, through a passageway 21a and into a second chamber 20a. From chamber 20a, the gas passes through end 30 plates 17 and 18, which are made of a porous material to insure uniform gas diffusion over the length of the weld bead.”).
Bernuchon does not disclose:
a plurality of wedge segments,
each middle segment being configured to be arranged between two wedge segments, each wedge segment comprising at least one contact surface configured to contact a contact surface of a neighboring segment, wherein the at least one contact surface is arranged at an angle with respect to a center axis of the respective wedge segment,
- wherein for adjusting a curvature of the discharge area to a curvature of a weld seam, the kit comprises wedge segments having different angles.
However, Lorincz discloses, in the similar field of ducts that carry gas (Page 1, lines 10-11, “producing ductwork connecting components for air-handling systems”), where a plurality of segments can include a wedge segment with two opposing contact surfaces arranged at an angle with respect to one another (Page 3, lines 11-15, “Fig. 3 shows in lateral view a duct element coupled with a connecting component according to the invention being bent in an angle of 45° in relation to the axis of the duct element, Fig. 4 shows in lateral view a connecting component according to the invention being bent in an angle of go0 in relation to the axis of the duct element”, where Fig. 3 and 4 show that a connecting element 1 is located between two duct portions D, where the connecting element 1 is a wedge that includes opposing contact surfaces arranged at an angle with respect to one another), where wedge segments can have different angles to adjust the curvature of the discharge area (Fig. 3 and 6 show that wedges can create different angles of curvature, being a 45 and 90 degree bend; making the wedges from Fig. 3 and 6 be singular components would be a mere matter of making integral which has been held as an obvious modification to make. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). The end function of the wedges would still remain the same in changing the angle of the segments). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the elongated body segments in Bernuchon to include wedge shapes between linear segments as taught by Lorincz, where a user could position wedges on either side of an individual segment in order to change the angle of the entire body.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to achieve different shape configurations for a duct structure through the use of different connecting elements, as stated by Lorincz, Page 1, liens 19-21, “The ductwork components may include ducts (straight or bent), boots, registers, tees, reducers, etc., hereafter referred as connecting components.”, where reducers or wedges allow for different angles to be created, as stated by Lorincz, Page 3, lines 9-10, “a reducer and arranged in an angle of 45" in relation to the axis of the duct element”.
Claims 10-12, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernuchon et al. (US 5084603 Al, hereinafter Bernuchon) in view of Schnick et al. (WO 2018073293 A2, hereinafter Schnick) in further view of Laymon (US 20070284354 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Bernuchon does not disclose:
wherein several segments of said plurality of segments each comprise a protrusion on one of the contact surfaces of the respective segment and a corresponding recess on the other opposing contact surface of the respective segment, wherein the respective segment comprises a channel extending from the protrusion to the recess of the respective segment, and wherein the protrusion of the respective segment is configured to be arranged in a form-fitting manner in a corresponding recess of the contact surface of a neighboring segment for providing proper alignment between the respective segment and the neighboring segment.
However, Laymon discloses, in the similar field of welding torches (Abstract, “A conductor tube for use in a welding gun”), where segments can include a protrusion on one of the contact surfaces of a respective segment and a corresponding recess on the other opposing contact surface of the respective segment (Para. 0036, “Referring now to FIGS. 5-8, the flex joints 22 comprise a body 40 defining a proximal end portion 42 and a distal end portion 44, and an extension 46 rotatably secured within the distal end portion 44 of the body 40.”, where Fig. 10 shows that a segment includes a protrusion 46 that is inserted into a recess created by the proximal end portion of another segment, where a singular segment includes a protrusion 46 on one side and a recess on the other side), where the segment includes a channel that extends from the protrusion to the recess (Fig. 10 shows that a channel is within the segment that extends between the protrusion to the recess, where the channel carries gas, Para. 0004, “a conductor tube is secured to the end of a welding gun handle and generally functions to conduct gas and provide a conduit for feeding welding wire from a supply device (e.g., wire feeder) to the end of the conductor tube.”), where the protrusion of the segment is arranged in a form-fitting manner in a corresponding recess of the contact surface of a neighboring segment for providing proper alignment (Para. 0007, “end portion and a distal end portion, an extension rotatably secured within the distal end portion of the body, the extension defining a head portion, a cup disposed proximate the extension, the cup defining a concave inner surface adapted for engagement with the head portion of the extension, at least one spring element disposed around at least a portion of the cup, and a cap releasably secured to the proximal end portion of the body and adapted for engagement with the spring element.”, and Fig. 12 where a segment 22 is shown to include a recess towards the bottom and a protrusion towards the top, where the protrusion of the segment enters into the recess of the next segment in a form fitting manner as the segments are connected together and allow for gas to be carried to the welding head). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the segments in modified Bernuchon to include the features as taught by Laymon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the flex joints to achieve different angles for the welding head, where these joints can allow for different angles other than a constant curve to be achieved, which provides a user with more flexibility in moving the welding head, as stated by Laymon, Para. 0042, “the flex joints 22 are illustrated in a rotated condition, both rotated down (FIGS. 12, 14) and rotated up (FIGS. 13, 15). Although not shown, the flex joints 22 may also be rotated to the side or to any other appropriate angle that an operator desires in order to reach a welding area. Additionally, the flex joints 22 may be rotated at different angles relative to one another to define an overall shape that is not necessarily a constant curve as illustrated herein.”.
Regarding claim 11, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above.
Modified Bernuchon does not disclose:
wherein the last segment comprises a protrusion protruding from a contact surface of the last segment, the protrusion being configured to be received by a corresponding recess of the contact surface of a neighboring segment for providing proper alignment between the last segment and the neighboring segment;
and/or wherein the first segment comprises a recess on the contact surface of the first segment, the recess being configured to receive a protrusion of the contact surface of a neighboring segment for providing proper alignment between the first segment and the neighboring segment.
However, Laymon discloses, in the similar field of welding torches (Abstract, “A conductor tube for use in a welding gun”), where segments can include a protrusion on one of the contact surfaces of a respective segment and a corresponding recess on the other opposing contact surface of the respective segment (Para. 0036, “Referring now to FIGS. 5-8, the flex joints 22 comprise a body 40 defining a proximal end portion 42 and a distal end portion 44, and an extension 46 rotatably secured within the distal end portion 44 of the body 40.”, where Fig. 10 shows that a segment includes a protrusion 46 that is inserted into a recess created by the proximal end portion of another segment, where a singular segment includes a protrusion 46 on one side and a recess on the other side), where the segment includes a channel that extends from the protrusion to the recess (Fig. 10 shows that a channel is within the segment that extends between the protrusion to the recess, where the channel carries gas, Para. 0004, “a conductor tube is secured to the end of a welding gun handle and generally functions to conduct gas and provide a conduit for feeding welding wire from a supply device (e.g., wire feeder) to the end of the conductor tube.”), where the protrusion of the segment is arranged in a form-fitting manner in a corresponding recess of the contact surface of a neighboring segment for providing proper alignment (Para. 0007, “end portion and a distal end portion, an extension rotatably secured within the distal end portion of the body, the extension defining a head portion, a cup disposed proximate the extension, the cup defining a concave inner surface adapted for engagement with the head portion of the extension, at least one spring element disposed around at least a portion of the cup, and a cap releasably secured to the proximal end portion of the body and adapted for engagement with the spring element.”, and Fig. 12 where a segment 22 is shown to include a recess towards the bottom and a protrusion towards the top, where the protrusion of the segment enters into the recess of the next segment in a form fitting manner as the segments are connected together and allow for gas to be carried to the welding head). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the segments that include the first and last segments in modified Bernuchon to include the features as taught by Laymon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the flex joints to achieve different angles for the welding head, where these joints can allow for different angles other than a constant curve to be achieved, which provides a user with more flexibility in moving the welding head, as stated by Laymon, Para. 0042, “the flex joints 22 are illustrated in a rotated condition, both rotated down (FIGS. 12, 14) and rotated up (FIGS. 13, 15). Although not shown, the flex joints 22 may also be rotated to the side or to any other appropriate angle that an operator desires in order to reach a welding area. Additionally, the flex joints 22 may be rotated at different angles relative to one another to define an overall shape that is not necessarily a constant curve as illustrated herein.”.
Regarding claim 12, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Bernuchon does not disclose:
wherein each two neighboring segments are connected to one another via a threaded bolt that extends through one of the neighboring segments and is screwed into an inner thread of a hole of the other neighboring segment so that the contact surfaces of the two neighboring segments that face one another contact one another and a sealed flow connection between the channels of the two neighboring segments is established by pressing the protrusion of one of the neighboring segments into the recess of the other neighboring segment.
However, Laymon discloses, in the similar field of welding torches (Abstract, “A conductor tube for use in a welding gun”), where segments can include a protrusion on one of the contact surfaces of a respective segment and a corresponding recess on the other opposing contact surface of the respective segment (Para. 0036, “Referring now to FIGS. 5-8, the flex joints 22 comprise a body 40 defining a proximal end portion 42 and a distal end portion 44, and an extension 46 rotatably secured within the distal end portion 44 of the body 40.”, where Fig. 10 shows that a segment includes a protrusion 46 that is inserted into a recess created by the proximal end portion of another segment, where a singular segment includes a protrusion 46 on one side and a recess on the other side), where the segment includes a channel that extends from the protrusion to the recess (Fig. 10 shows that a channel is within the segment that extends between the protrusion to the recess, where the channel carries gas, Para. 0004, “a conductor tube is secured to the end of a welding gun handle and generally functions to conduct gas and provide a conduit for feeding welding wire from a supply device (e.g., wire feeder) to the end of the conductor tube.”), where protrusion is threaded and inserted into a corresponding hole so that the segments are contacting one another (Para. 0038, “The extension 46 also comprises a distal projection 80, which is adapted for attachment to the cap 62 of an adjacent flex joint 22 and to the diffuser end element 29 (FIG. 4). The distal projection 80 preferably defines external threads 82 that are adapted for engagement with corresponding internal threads 84 of the cap 62 of an adjacent flex joint 22.”, and Fig. 9, where each segment’s protrusion is shown with threads for connecting the protrusion to the recess of the next segment), where the connection of threaded protrusion and recess are create a sealed flow and are alternating on the left and right side of the channels (Para. 0004, “conductor tube is secured to the end of a welding gun handle and generally functions to conduct gas”, where each of the segments connected to the next segment must be sealed in order to conduct gas throughout the conductor tube, where Fig. 9 shows that the threaded protrusion and recess alternate along the channel of gas flow). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the segments that include the first and last segments in modified Bernuchon to include the features as taught by Laymon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the flex joints to achieve different angles for the welding head, where these joints can allow for different angles other than a constant curve to be achieved, which provides a user with more flexibility in moving the welding head, as stated by Laymon, Para. 0042, “the flex joints 22 are illustrated in a rotated condition, both rotated down (FIGS. 12, 14) and rotated up (FIGS. 13, 15). Although not shown, the flex joints 22 may also be rotated to the side or to any other appropriate angle that an operator desires in order to reach a welding area. Additionally, the flex joints 22 may be rotated at different angles relative to one another to define an overall shape that is not necessarily a constant curve as illustrated herein.”.
Regarding claim 15, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses a method for welding (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 1-2, “nozzle arrangement may also be used in a laser beam or plasma welding devices.”), wherein a gas nozzle according to claim 1 is connected to a welding torch (Teaching from Schnick, Page 2, Para. 5 from end, “For the purposes of this document, gas is to be understood as any gas which a welding nozzle or the welding area, which is processed by this welding nozzle, is supplied.”), wherein a curvature of the discharge area of the gas nozzle is adjusted to a desired curvature corresponding to a curvature of a weld seam that is to be welded (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 51-56, “The welding head is positioned such that the shield members 5 and 6 come into contact with the parts to be welded and, due to their own weight, assume the contour of the parts. In FIG. 5, the shield will assume the convex shape of the part la, while in FIG. 6, the shield assumes the general contour of the convex part lb.”), by
wherein each two neighboring segments contact each other via a contact surface of the respective segment, and angle of each contact surface with respect to a center axis of the corresponding segment being selected such that the discharge area comprises the desired curvature (Bernuchon, Section 3, lines 57-64, “Since the shield members are freely pivotably, the force of gravity will enable them to assume the desired contours. Once the shield members have assumed the desired configuration, the application of the pressurized, protective gas to the shield members will urge pistons 23 into contact with the adjacent wing members, thereby locking the shield members in the desired configuration.”, where the segments or shield members are rigidly connected as pressurized gas causes the pivots to be locked in place, where the contact surface between members is located at the overlap where the pivot pin 27 is present, Section 3, lines 12-15, “The shield member 6 is pivotally attached to the shield member 5 by a pivot pin 27, such that the these members are relatively pivotable about the longitudinal axis of the pivot pin 27.”).
Modified Bernuchon does not disclose:
-releasably connecting segments to one another.
However, Laymon discloses where segments can be connected to each other releasably through a threaded connection that still allows for each segment to be bent to a curvature (Para. 0038, “The distal projection 80 preferably defines external threads 82 that are adapted for engagement with corresponding internal threads 84 of the cap 62 of an adjacent flex joint 22.”, and where the segments can be bent, Para. 0042, “the flex joints 22 are illustrated in a rotated condition, both rotated down (FIGS. 12, 14) and rotated up (FIGS. 13, 15). Although not shown, the flex joints 22 may also be rotated to the side or to any other appropriate angle that an operator desires in order to reach a welding area. Additionally, the flex joints 22 may be rotated at different angles relative to one another to define an overall shape that is not necessarily a constant curve as illustrated herein.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the segments in modified Bernuchon to include a threaded connection as taught by Laymon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use different mechanical connections known in the prior art, where threaded removable connections can be used in replacement of a hinge connection as both connections achieve the same end result of allowing segments to have their curvature altered, as stated by Laymon, Para. 0041, “It should be understood that the threaded interfaces as illustrated and described herein are merely exemplary and that other types of mechanical connections, which also provide the requisite electrical connection, may also be employed while remaining within the scope of the present disclosure.”.
Regarding claim 18, modified Bernuchon teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Bernuchon does not disclose:
wherein each two neighboring segments are connected to one another via a threaded bolt that extends through one of the neighboring segments and is screwed into an inner thread of a hole of the other neighboring segment so that the contact surfaces of the two neighboring segments that face one another contact one another and a sealed flow connection between the channels of the two neighboring segments is established by pressing the protrusion of one of the neighboring segments into the recess of the other neighboring segment, wherein the threaded bolts and corresponding holes are arranged in an alternating fashion on the right side of the channels and on the left side of the channels.
However, Laymon discloses, in the similar field of welding torches (Abstract, “A conductor tube for use in a welding gun”), where segments can include a protrusion on one of the contact surfaces of a respective segment and a corresponding recess on the other opposing contact surface of the respective segment (Para. 0036, “Referring now to FIGS. 5-8, the flex joints 22 comprise a body 40 defining a proximal end portion 42 and a distal end portion 44, and an extension 46 rotatably secured within the distal end portion 44 of the body 40.”, where Fig. 10 shows that a segment includes a protrusion 46 that is inserted into a recess created by the proximal end portion of another segment, where a singular segment includes a protrusion 46 on one side and a recess on the other side), where the segment includes a channel that extends from the protrusion to the recess (Fig. 10 shows that a channel is within the segment that extends between the protrusion to the recess, where the channel carries gas, Para. 0004, “a conductor tube is secured to the end of a welding gun handle and generally functions to conduct gas and provide a conduit for feeding welding wire from a supply device (e.g., wire feeder) to the end of the conductor tube.”), where protrusion is threaded and inserted into a corresponding hole so that the segments are contacting one another (Para. 0038, “The extension 46 also comprises a distal projection 80, which is adapted for attachment to the cap 62 of an adjacent flex joint 22 and to the diffuser end element 29 (FIG. 4). The distal projection 80 preferably defines external threads 82 that are adapted for engagement with corresponding internal threads 84 of the cap 62 of an adjacent flex joint 22.”, and Fig. 9, where each segment’s protrusion is shown with threads for connecting the protrusion to the recess of the next segment), where the connection of threaded protrusion and recess are create a sealed flow and are alternating on the left and right side of the channels (Para. 0004, “conductor tube is secured to the end of a welding gun handle and generally functions to conduct gas”, where each of the segments connected to the next segment must be sealed in order to conduct gas throughout the conductor tube, where Fig. 9 shows that the threaded protrusion and recess alternate along the channel of gas flow). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the segments that include the first and last segments in modified Bernuchon to include the features as taught by Laymon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the flex joints to achieve different angles for the welding head, where these joints can allow for different angles other than a constant curve to be achieved, which provides a user with more flexibility in moving the welding head, as stated by Laymon, Para. 0042, “the flex joints 22 are illustrated in a rotated condition, both rotated down (FIGS. 12, 14) and rotated up (FIGS. 13, 15). Although not shown, the flex joints 22 may also be rotated to the side or to any other appropriate angle that an operator desires in order to reach a welding area. Additionally, the flex joints 22 may be rotated at different angles relative to one another to define an overall shape that is not necessarily a constant curve as illustrated herein.”.
Conclusion
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
09/03/2026