DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on November 10, 2025. Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
2. The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-3, 5, and 10-15 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and Claims 4 and 6-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1-13 and 15 filed on November 10, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0137690 A1) in view of Nurchis et al. (“Target Wake Time: Scheduled Access in IEEE 802.11AX WLANs”, April 2019).
Min et al. teach a first Access Point (AP) (Fig.1 @ 102) comprising:
circuitry (Fig.8 @ 806), which in operation, generates a request frame (read as TWT frame (Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135])) indicating one or more service periods (SPs) between the first AP and a second AP (read as “… the AP) may request to setup TWT SPs with different SP durations depending on requirements based on traffic load, etc.”(Fig.1 @ 102 and 104, 8 @ 800, and 9 @ 900; Paragraph [0127]) Also, “existing TWT elements and frame formats can be modified/extended to signal additional information.”(Fig(s).5A-5E; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135])); and
a transmitter, which in operation, transmits the request frame to the second AP. (Fig.1 @ 102, 104 and Fig.8 @ 810)
However, Min et al. fail to explicitly teach initiating a negotiation for one or more service periods (SPs) coordinated between the first AP and a second AP;
Nurchis et al. teach a method for initiating a negotiation for one or more service periods (SPs) coordinated between the first AP and a second AP (read as negotiation phase for a TWT agreement (page 145); For example, “… each AP communicates the desired period(s) of time for its own TWT session(s) to a central entity, or directly to the other APs, a kind of TDMA scheduling for the OBSSs can be found.”(page 149) For example, “the requesting station sends a TWT Request message to the responding station.”(page 145) Further, the request frames can comprise of a specific type (e.g.: Suggest, Request, Demand) (page 145));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating a negotiation phase for a TWT agreement as taught by Nurchis et al. with the AP as taught by Min et al. for the purpose of enhancing TWT negotiations between devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 15, Min et al. teach a method (Fig(s).1 and 5A-5E) comprising:
generating a request frame (read as TWT frame (Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135])) indicating one or more service periods (SPs) between the first AP and a second AP (read as “… the AP) may request to setup TWT SPs with different SP durations depending on requirements based on traffic load, etc.”(Fig.1 @ 102 , 8 @ 800, and 9 @ 900; Paragraph [0127]) Also, “existing TWT elements and frame formats can be modified/extended to signal additional information.”(Fig(s).5A-5E; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135])); and
transmitting, by the first AP, the request frame to the second AP. (Fig.1 @ 102, 104 and Fig.8 @ 810)
However, Min et al. fail to explicitly teach initiating a negotiation for one or more service periods (SPs) coordinated between the first AP and a second AP;
Nurchis et al. teach a method for initiating a negotiation for one or more service periods (SPs) coordinated between the first AP and a second AP (read as negotiation phase for a TWT agreement (page 145); For example, “… each AP communicates the desired period(s) of time for its own TWT session(s) to a central entity, or directly to the other APs, a kind of TDMA scheduling for the OBSSs can be found.”(page 149) For example, “the requesting station sends a TWT Request message to the responding station.”(page 145) Further, the request frames can comprise of a specific type (e.g.: Suggest, Request, Demand) (page 145));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating a negotiation phase for a TWT agreement as taught by Nurchis et al. with the AP as taught by Min et al. for the purpose of enhancing TWT negotiations between devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) comprising
a receiver, which in operation, receives a response frame from the second AP (Fig(s).1, 8 @ 810),
the response frame transmitted in response to the request frame (read as TWT response (Fig(s).1 and 5A-5E));
wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit frames to one or more associated stations (STAs) to setup Scheduled SPs that overlap with the SPs coordinated between the first AP and the second AP. (read as TWT frame(s) and TWT elements (Fig.1; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135]))
Regarding claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the request frame, the response frame and the frames are target wait time (TWT) Setup frames and the SPs coordinated between the first AP and the second AP are TWT SPs. (read as TWT frame(s) and TWT elements (Fig(s).5A-5E; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135]))
Regarding claim 5, and as applied to claim 3 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the TWT Setup frames received from the second AP (Fig(s).1 @ 104, 5A-5E, and 8) also carries identity information of one or more other APs that are also members of the SPs coordinated between the first AP and the second AP. (read as TWT frame(s) and TWT elements (Fig(s).5A-5E; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135]))
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to claim 1 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1@ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) comprising a receiver (Fig.8 @ 810), which in operation, receives a frame transmitted by the second AP, the frame being one of a Beacon frame, Action frame or Data frame (read as AP Beacon (Fig(s).5A-5E)); and
wherein the circuitry is configured to extract information of SPs associated with the second AP from the received frame.(Fig.8 @ 806)
Regarding claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) clearly shows and discloses a first AP wherein the SPs coordinated between the first AP and the second AP are target wait time (TWT) SPs. (read as TWT frame(s) and TWT elements (Fig(s).5A-5E; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135]))
Regarding claim 12, and as applied to claim 11 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit a TWT Setup Request frame to the second AP for requesting to join one or more of the second AP's associated SPs.(Fig(s).5A-5E and 8 @ 810)
Regarding claim 13, and as applied to claim 10 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit frames to one or more associated STAs to setup Scheduled SPs that do not overlap with the second AP's associated SPs. (Fig(s).5A-5E and 8 @ 810)
Regarding claim 16, and as applied to claim 1 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the second AP transmits, to one or more STAs associated with the second AP (Fig.1 @ 104), a beacon frame which advertises information on the one or more SPs coordinated between the first AP and the second AP. (read as beacon frames (Fig(s).1 @ 104, 4A; 5A-5E, and 8; Paragraph [0102])
Regarding claim 17, and as applied to claim 16 above, Min et al. teach a first AP (read as “the STA 1 (or the AP) may request to setup TWT SPs with different SP durations depending on requirements based on traffic load, etc.”(Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8; Paragraph [0127])
However, Min et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the beacon frame includes a target wait time (TWT) element indicating a Broadcast TWT and a TWT Wake Interval.
Nurchis et al. teach a method wherein the beacon frame includes a target wait time (TWT) element indicating a Broadcast TWT and a TWT Wake Interval. (read as a Broadcast TWT ID and TWT Wake Interval mantissa (Fig.3, page 145))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the TWT frame architecture comprising of a Broadcast TWT ID and TWT Wake Interval mantissa as taught by Nurchis et al. with the AP as taught by Min et al. for the purpose of enhancing TWT negotiations between devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 18, and as applied to claim 1 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the receiver, in operation, receives a response frame transmitted from the second AP in response to the request frame, and the request frame and the response frame are a Public Action frame or a new Action frame. (read as action frame (Paragraph [0034]))
Regarding claim 19, and as applied to claim 1 above, Min et al. teach a first AP (read as “the STA 1 (or the AP) may request to setup TWT SPs with different SP durations depending on requirements based on traffic load, etc.”(Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8; Paragraph [0127])
However, Min et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the request frame includes information on a Target Wake Time (TWT), including a TWT Wake Interval Mantissa and a Nominal Minimum TWT Wake Duration.
Nurchis et al. teach a method wherein the request frame includes information on a Target Wake Time (TWT), including a TWT Wake Interval Mantissa and a Nominal Minimum TWT Wake Duration. (read as a Minimal TWT wake duration and TWT Wake Interval mantissa (Fig.3, page 145))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the TWT frame architecture comprising of a Minimal TWT wake duration and TWT Wake Interval mantissa as taught by Nurchis et al. with the AP as taught by Min et al. for the purpose of enhancing TWT negotiations between devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 20, and as applied to claim 1 above, , Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al., teach a first AP (Fig(s).1 @ 102, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the request frame includes identity information of the second AP. (read as Bluetooth ID (Paragraph [0075]))
Claims 4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0137690 A1), in view of Nurchis et al. (“Target Wake Time: Scheduled Access in IEEE 802.11AX WLANs”, April 2019), and Patil et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0137702 A1).
Regarding claim 4, and as applied to claim 3 above, Min et al. teach “the STA 1 (or the AP) may request to setup TWT SPs with different SP durations depending on requirements based on traffic load, etc.”(Fig(s).1, 5A-5E, and 8; Paragraph [0127]) Also, Min et al. teach a first AP (Fig(s).1, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the TWT Setup frames carry an indication that the SPs coordinated between the first AP and the second AP are for Multi-AP Coordinated transmissions (read as TWT frame(s) and TWT elements (Fig(s).1 and 5A-5E; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135])), and
Nurchis et al. teach negotiation phase for a TWT agreement (page 145) For example, “… each AP communicates the desired period(s) of time for its own TWT session(s) to a central entity, or directly to the other APs, a kind of TDMA scheduling for the OBSSs can be found.”(page 149)
However, Min et al. and Nurchis et al. fail to explicitly teach a timing synchronization function (TSF) value of the AP transmitting the TWT Setup frames.
Patil et al. teach a method wherein a timing synchronization function (TSF) value of the AP transmitting the TWT Setup frames. (read as an initial TSF (Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0133]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating a beacon with an TSF value as taught by Patil et al. and the function for generating a negotiation phase for a TWT agreement as taught by Nurchis et al. with the AP as taught by Min et al. for the purpose of enhancing TWT negotiations between devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, Min et al. teach “the STA 1 (or the AP) may request to setup TWT SPs with different SP durations depending on requirements based on traffic load, etc.”(Fig(s).1, 5A-5E, and 8; Paragraph [0127]) Also, Min et al. teach a first AP wherein the transmitter of the first AP is further configured to transmit frames to its associated STAs in a coordinated manner with the second AP. (read as TWT frame(s) and TWT elements (Fig(s).1, 5A-5E, and 8; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135]))
Nurchis et al. teach negotiation phase for a TWT agreement (page 145) For example, “… each AP communicates the desired period(s) of time for its own TWT session(s) to a central entity, or directly to the other APs, a kind of TDMA scheduling for the OBSSs can be found.”(page 149)
However, Min et al. and Nurchis et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the first AP is further configured to participate in a shared TXOP for Multi-AP Coordinated transmission initiated by the second AP within a SP coordinated between the first AP and the second AP, and
Patil et al. teach a method wherein the first AP is further configured to participate in a shared TXOP for Multi-AP Coordinated transmission initiated by the second AP within a SP coordinated between the first AP and the second AP (read as “APs may coordinate with each other for interference management, and simultaneous uplink (UL)/downlink (DL) transmission during a transmit opportunity (TXOP).”(Paragraph [0108])), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for coordinating UL and DL transmissions during a TXOP as taught by Patil et al. and the function for generating a negotiation phase for a TWT agreement as taught by Nurchis et al. with the AP as taught by Min et al. for the purpose of enhancing TWT negotiations between devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Min et al. teach “the STA 1 (or the AP) may request to setup TWT SPs with different SP durations depending on requirements based on traffic load, etc.”(Fig(s).1, 5A-5E, and 8; Paragraph [0127])
Nurchis et al. teach negotiation phase for a TWT agreement (page 145) For example, “… each AP communicates the desired period(s) of time for its own TWT session(s) to a central entity, or directly to the other APs, a kind of TDMA scheduling for the OBSSs can be found.”(page 149)
However, Min et al. and Nurchis et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit, at a start of a shared TXOP, a frame reporting a downlink (DL) & uplink (UL) buffer status of its basic service set (BSS) to the second AP.
Patil et al. teach a method wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit, at a start of a shared TXOP, a frame reporting a downlink (DL) & uplink (UL) buffer status of its basic service set (BSS) to the second AP. (read as “APs may coordinate with each other for interference management, and simultaneous uplink (UL)/downlink (DL) transmission during a transmit opportunity (TXOP).”(Paragraph [0108])), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for coordinating UL and DL transmissions during a TXOP as taught by Patil et al. and the function for generating a negotiation phase for a TWT agreement as taught by Nurchis et al. with the AP as taught by Min et al. for the purpose of enhancing TWT negotiations between devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 8, and as applied to claim 6 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al. and Patil et al., teach a first AP (Fig.1, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the Multi-AP Coordinated transmission is one of a Coordinated-orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) transmission, Coordinated-time division multiple access (TDMA) transmission, Coordinated-spatial reuse (SR) transmission, Coordinated-Beamforming (BF) transmission or Coordinated multi-user multiple input, multiple output (MU-MIMO) transmission. (read as OFDMA (Paragraph [0235]))
Regarding claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, Min et al., as modified by Nurchis et al. and Patil et al., teach a first AP (Fig.1, 5A-5E, and 8) wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine a suitable type of Multi-AP Coordinated transmission for each associated STA (Fig.8 @ 806), and
wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit frames to the associated STAs to setup Scheduled SPs that overlap with corresponding SPs coordinated between the first AP and the second AP based on the determined Multi-AP Coordinated transmission types (Fig(s).1, 5A-5E and 8 @ 810),
the request frame and the frames being TWT Setup frames. (read as TWT frame(s) and TWT elements (Fig(s).5A-5E; Paragraph(s) [0132]-[0135]))
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 and 15-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Wilhelmsson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2018/0352550 A1) teach “The 802.11ax standard has indicated to include two mechanisms to send the trigger message in a form of Target Wake Time, TWT, i.e. broadcast triggered TWT in the Beacon and solicited triggered TWT using a TWT negotiation procedure.”(Paragraph [0078])
Cariou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0015041 A1) teach “a target time of service periods for location service for the negotiation phase or the measurement phase (e.g., a TWT between measurement resource requests opportunities at the another coordinated AP);”(Paragraph [0043])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
January 7, 2026