Applicant's arguments filed 4/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argued that MATSUMURA does not disclose " receive a configuration for a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) of the non-serving cell (e.g., figure 8 and paragraph 121)" as recited in amended claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees because the office action now relies on Matsumura figure 8 and paragraph 121 to show receive a configuration for a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) of the non-serving cell.
Applicant’s argued that MATSUMURA does not disclose “the QCL chain rule indicating that a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the non-serving cell as a source reference signal provides QCL information for the CSI_RS of the non-serving cell and that the CSI-RS of the non-serving cell”. The examiner respectfully disagrees because the office action now relies on Matsumura, abstract, figure 3 and paragraphs 28, 37, 90 and 121, to show the QCL chain rule indicating that a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the non-serving cell as a source reference signal provides QCL information for the CSI_RS of the non-serving cell and that the CSI-RS of the non-serving cell.
Applicants argued that MATSUMURA does not disclose at least "wherein the one or more channels or second signals of the non-serving cell include at least one of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PDCCH, a physical downlink shared channel (PD SCH), a DMRS of the PDSCH, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a DMRS of the PUCCH, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a DMRS of the PUSCH, or a sounding reference signal (SRS)," as recited in claim 6, as amended. The examiner respectfully disagrees because Matsumura does show at least wherein the one or more channels or second signals of the non-serving cell include at least one of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PDCCH, a physical downlink shared channel (PD SCH), a DMRS of the PDSCH, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a DMRS of the PUCCH, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a DMRS of the PUSCH, or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (e.g., paragraph 41 and 121).
102 rejections
Claim(s) 1, 5-14, 18-27, 31-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura (2024/0137176).
As per claim 1, Matsumura teaches the use a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor (e.g. paragraph 216, figures 1A-1D “UE”), is configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication to use a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for receiving or transmitting a communication, wherein the TCJ state indicates non-serving cell information associated with a non-serving cell of the UE (e.g. abstract); receive a configuration for a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) of the non-serving cell (e.g., figure 8 and paragraph 121); and receive or transmit the communication based at least in part on the TCJ state and a quasi co-location (QCL) chain rule applied for the TCJ state that indicates the non- serving cell information, the QCL chain rule indicating that a synchronization signal block (SSB) of the non-serving cell as a source reference signal provides QCL information for the CSI_RS of the non-serving cell and that the CSI-RS of the non-serving cell as source reference signal provides QCL information for one or more channels or signals of the non-serving cell (e.g. abstract, figure 3 and 8 and paragraphs 28, 37 90 and 121) .
As per claim 5, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 1, wherein QCL chain rule further indicates that the SSB of the non-serving cell can provide QCL information for a tracking reference signal (TRS) (e.g. paragraphs 42 and 121).
As per claim 6, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more channels or signals of the non-serving cell include at least one of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PDCCH, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a DMRS of the PDSCH, a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), a DMRS of the PUCCH, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a DMRS of the PUSCH, or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (e.g. paragraph 41).
As per claim 7, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: receive another configuration for the one or more channels or signals of the non- serving cell; and wherein, to cause the UE to receive or transmit the communication, the processor- readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to receive or transmit the communication further based at least in part on the other configuration (e.g. abstract and paragraphs 28 and 37).
As per claim 8, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 1, wherein configuration indicates a set of radio resource control (RRC) parameters for a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource (e.g. paragraphs 42 and 44).
As per claim 9, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 7, wherein the other configuration includes a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration associated with the non-serving cell, the SRS configuration indicating a set of radio resource control (RRC) parameters for an SRS resource (e.g. paragraphs 42, 44 and 103-105).
As per claim 10, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 7, wherein the other configuration includes a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) configuration associated with the non-serving cell, the PDCCH configuration indicating a set of radio resource control (RRC) parameters for PDCCH reception (e.g. paragraphs 44, 53, 103-105 and figures 1A-2B).
As per claim 11, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 7, wherein the other configuration includes a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration associated with the non-serving cell, the PDSCH configuration indicating a set of radio resource control (RRC) parameters for PDSCH reception (e.g. paragraphs 44, 53, 103-105 and figures 1A-2B).
As per claim 12, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 7, wherein the other configuration includes a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration associated with the non-serving cell, the PUCCH configuration indicating a set of radio resource control (RRC) parameters for PUCCH transmission (e.g. paragraphs 44, 103-105 and 130).
As per claim 13, Matsumura teaches the use of the UE of claim 7, wherein the other configuration includes a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration associated with the non-serving cell, the PUSCH configuration indicating a set of radio resource control (RRC) parameters for PUSCH transmission (e.g. 44, 103-105 and 130).
As per claims 14, 18-27, 31-39, they are rejected for similar reasons as the above rejections of claims 1-13.
Conclusion
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444