DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 11.25.25. Claims 1,3,6-8,11-12 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made amendment to the independent claim 1 and cancelled claim 2 which will be examined below.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the
Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: As can be seen, Applicant's claimed invention includes (among other features) a low- conducting axle combined with a non-magnetic but also electrically conducting motor case material. None of the cited references would appear to provide a basis for such a combination. Please note and recall that neither Wendt nor Roeck consider factor (3) at all.
Examiner Response 1: Applicant has added new limitations “a motor case surrounding the rotor, the motor case comprising a non-magnetic and electrically conducting material, wherein the axle extends beyond the motor case and does not radiate electromagnetic noise from the mechanically commutated motor” which will be prosecuted in below sections. Further there are no limitations specific to a structure which prevents eddy currents as argued while being conducting electrically.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “a low-conducting material that does not radiate electromagnetic noise” in claim 1. Examiner will prosecute these limitations using Specification Page 16, Line 2-4 as the standard for “a low-conducting material”.
Claim 6 recites “a high field magnet”. The closest standard Examiner could find in instant specification is Para 0061 “ The terms “high magnetic field” or “strong magnetic field” are intended to include magnetic fields of greater than approximately 0.1 Tesla (T), in some cases from 2-10 T, and in some cases greater than about 20 T which Examiner will use as the as the standard.
Claim 7 recites “a superconducting magnet”. The closest standard Examiner could find in instant specification is Para 0071 “ The motor concept is designed to utilize an external high magnetic field, such as the magnetic field of a superconducting magnet of an MRI scanner which obviates the need for permanent magnets. Since the magnetic field is homogeneous, strong (1.5-3T for standard clinical systems), and extends well beyond…” which Examiner will use as the as the standard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3, 8, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt (DE29914116U1 English translation) in view of Albrecht (DE102008034685A1 English translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Wendt discloses (Figs 1-2) a mechanically commutated motor (1) configured for use with an external magnetic field (Bo), comprising:
an axle (2,8) comprising a non-magnetic material [0025 discloses system components which includes axle from materials that have low magnetic susceptibility and examples are provided in claim 14 which are non-magnetic], wherein the axle is comprised of a low-conducting material (Claim 14 discloses plastics which are low-conductive as per standard defined in Claim interpretation);
a rotor (3) coupled to the axle, the rotor comprising:
actuator units (Claim 6 discloses several winding packages) spaced about the axle, wherein each actuator unit comprises a non-magnetic material [0025, claim 14];
a coil winding (Claim 5) along each of the actuator units; and
a commutator (4) coupled to the axle (2,8) and electrically associated with one or more of the coil windings;
two or more resilient contacts (5) oriented to direct a current through the commutator (4) to one of the coil windings to induce a current in the coil winding to form an electromagnet that is configured to rotate the rotor (3) relative the external magnetic field (Bo) from a magnet located external to the mechanically commutated motor (1), and
a motor case (7) surrounding the rotor (3), the motor case comprising a non-magnetic (Claim 14 materials are non-magnetic), wherein the axle (2,8) extends beyond the motor case (7) and does not radiate electromagnetic noise from the mechanically commutated motor (Claim 14 materials do not radiate electromagnetic noise).
Wendt does not explicitly disclose rotor having three or more actuator units(Claim 6 discloses several winding packages) comprising a coil winding along each of the three or more actuator units and motor case comprising electrically conducting material.
Albrecht discloses (Fig 1, Para 35) rotor (13) having 3 or more actuator units comprising a coil winding (13.1) along each of the three or more actuator units and motor case (23) comprising electrically conducting material [Para 0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Wendt with three of more actuator units with winding coils and electrically conducting case as taught by Albrecht in order to meet the nature of torque profile required which is a function of design choice of rotor poles and electrical shielding of the motor components [Para 0035].
Regarding Claim 3, Wendt in view of Albrecht discloses the mechanically commutated motor of claim 2. Wendt in view of Albrecht further discloses wherein the non-magnetic material [Wendt 0025, claim 14 discloses plastics such as PMMA] of the three or more actuator units (Wendt Claim 6 discloses several winding packages and combination with Albrecht discloses 3 coils) and the axle and the motor case (7,9) have a magnetic susceptibility X that meets the condition |Xw - X|<10-1 where the magnetic susceptibility of water (Both water and material such as PMMA are diamagnetic and have very low magnetic susceptibility and are of the order of 9x10-6 Wikipedia search Magnetic Susceptibility).
Regarding Claim 8, Wendt in view of Albrecht discloses the mechanically commutated motor of claim 2. Wendt in view of Albrecht further discloses further comprising power supply terminals coupled to the two or more resilient contacts (Wendt, 5) and configured to be coupled to a power supply to provide a direct current voltage [Wendt,Para 0023 discloses DC motors which will inherently have a power supply] .
Regarding Claim 11, Wendt in view of Albrecht discloses the mechanically commutated motor of claim 1. Wendt in view of Albrecht further discloses further comprising electromagnetic shielding [Para 0035 of Albrecht] configured to substantially enclose the motor (10) to reduce electromagnetic interference from the motor to an external device [Para 0035](Limitations in this claim seems covered by amended claim 1) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Wendt in view of Albrecht with in order to have desired signal to noise ratio in an MRI system.
Regarding Claim 12, Wendt in view of Albrecht discloses the mechanically commutated motor of claim 1. Wendt in view of Albrecht further discloses wherein each coil winding is comprised of a conductive material (Wendt Claim 5 discloses “at least one current-carrying conductor, which can be designed in multiple windings) , that is non-magnetic (Para 0025, Claim 14).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt in view of Albrecht and Instant Specification Background).
Regarding Claim 6, Wendt in view of Albrecht discloses the mechanically commutated motor of claim 1. Wendt in view of Albrecht further discloses wherein the magnet located external to the motor is a high field magnet in a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (Wendt Para 0034 discloses “significant magnetic field” but does not explicitly disclose as interpreted – See claim interpretation above).
Instant specification Background discloses (Para 0005 discloses “More recently, the improved image resolution and widespread availability of closed-bore and high-field scanners (1.5-T and 3-T)..”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Wendt in view of Albrecht with external magnet being high field magnet as taught by Instant specification Background in order to have desired resolution in a MRI intraoperative system.
Regarding Claim 7, Wendt in view of Roeck discloses the mechanically commutated motor of claim 1. Wendt in view of Roeck further discloses wherein the magnet located external to the motor is a superconducting magnet (Wendt Para 0034 discloses “significant magnetic field” but does not explicitly disclose as interpreted – See claim interpretation above).
Instant specification Background discloses (Para 0005 discloses “More recently, the improved image resolution and widespread availability of closed-bore and high-field scanners (1.5-T and 3-T)..”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed motor of Wendt in view of Albrecht with external magnet being a super conducting magnet as taught by Instant specification Background in order to have desired resolution in a MRI intraoperative system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834