DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to communication filed on 02/02/2026. Claims 1-98, 113-114, and 127-128 have been canceled. Claims 99, 117, and 119-122 have been amended. Claims 99-112, 115-126, and 129-130 are pending on this application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 99 and 117 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection based on reference Mayor et al. U.S. patent No. 6,700,388 in view of Clawson et al. U.S. patent No. 10,167,716.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 99-105, 107-112, 115-122, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayor et al. U.S. patent No. 6,700,388 in view of Clawson et al. U.S. patent No. 10,167,716.
Regarding claim 99. Figs. 1 and 2 of Mayor et al. discloses apparatus for downconverting (Col. 3 lines 45-46) a received frequency modulated communication signal (frequency modulated of Analog Input Signal; Col. 5 lines 32-40), the apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising processing circuitry (30, 40, 50, 60) to: convert the received frequency modulated communication signal (frequency modulated of Analog Input Signal; Col. 5 lines 32-40) into the frequency domain (DFT 64; Col. 7 lines 33-36) to provide obtain first digital frequency domain data (digital frequency domain 65 signal) based on the received frequency modulated communication signal (frequency modulated of analog Input Signal; Col. 5 lines 32-40); process (60) the first digital frequency domain data in the frequency domain (domain data digital frequency of 65 signal) to provide downconverted digital frequency domain data (digital frequency domain data 67), wherein the processing (processing of Select one of N Sub-bands via Window filter 66) is to comprise frequency shifting data (see Fig. 3 for disclosing frequency shifting data of frequency BINS; Col. 8 lines 11-20); based on at least a portion of the first digital frequency domain data (digital frequency domain data signal 65), wherein the downconverted digital frequency domain data (digital frequency domain data 67) has fewer data points (Col. 10 lines 31-36 discloses “The frequency-domain window filter is then applied to the frequency-domain signal by multiplying the FFT signal points by a weighted set of sample points representing the filter impulse response that corresponds to the selected frequency-domain window , thereby producing a series of bins of a predefined frequency range) than the first digital frequency domain data (65); and convert (IDFT 68) the downconverted digital frequency domain data (67) into the time domain (Col. 8 lines 45-47).
However, Mayor et al. do not disclose, the apparatus being for use in communications node for transmitting and receiving a communication signal and the apparatus being for use in downhole communication to provide a downhole communication signal.
Fig. 1 of Clawson et al. discloses, an apparatus (transmission medium 100) being for use in communications node (60) for transmitting and receiving a communication signal (70) and the apparatus (100) being for use in downhole communication (40) to provide a downhole communication signal (70).
Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. are common subject matter of wireless communication apparatus; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Clawson et al. into Mayour for the purpose of provide acoustic wireless network may be utilized to wirelessly transmit an acoustic signal, such as a vibration, via a tone transmission medium for down hole communication (Col. 1 lines 33-42 of Clawson et al.).
Regarding claim 100. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 99 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further disclose: wherein the processing (60) is to comprise reducing a quantity of data points (processing of Select one of N Sub-bands via Window filter 66) from a first quantity of data points (Col. 8 lines 11-20) in the first digital frequency domain data (65) to a second quantity of data points (67) in the downconverted digital frequency domain data (downconverted digital frequency domain data 67), the second quantity (quantity of 67) being less than the first quantity (quantity of 65).
Regarding claim 101. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 99 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further disclose: wherein the processing (60)further discloses wherein the downconverted digital frequency domain data (67 )comprises first and second data in respective first and second frequency ranges (Col. 10 lines 31-36 discloses “The frequency-domain window filter is then applied to the frequency-domain signal by multiplying the FFT signal points by a weighted set of sample points representing the filter impulse response that corresponds to the selected frequency-domain window , thereby producing a series of bins of a predefined frequency range”), the first data (bin) being based on a first portion of the first digital frequency domain data (65) corresponding to a first portion of a target frequency band (sub-band selected of window filter 66) of the frequency modulated communication signal (Frequency modulated of Analog input Signal) and the second data (second bin) being based on a second portion (second bin) of the first digital frequency domain data ( bins of 65) corresponding to a second portion of the target frequency band (sub-band selected of window filter 66) of the frequency modulated communication signal (Frequency modulated of Analog input Signal).
Regarding claim 102. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 100 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein the downconverted digital frequency domain data (67) comprises first and second data in respective first and second frequency ranges (Col. 10 lines 31-36 discloses “The frequency-domain window filter is then applied to the frequency-domain signal by multiplying the FFT signal points by a weighted set of sample points representing the filter impulse response that corresponds to the selected frequency-domain window , thereby producing a series of bins of a predefined frequency range”), the first data (bin) being based on a first portion of the first digital frequency domain data (65) corresponding to a first portion of a target frequency band (sub-band selected of window filter 66) of the frequency modulated communication signal (Frequency modulated of Analog input Signal) and the second data (second bin) being based on a second portion (second bin) of the first digital frequency domain data ( bins of 65) corresponding to a second portion of the target frequency band (sub-band selected of window filter 66) of the frequency modulated communication signal (Frequency modulated of Analog input Signal).
Regarding claim 103. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 101 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein the first and second data (first bin and second bin; Col. 8 lines 11-25) are based on all or substantially all information in the first digital frequency domain data (65) relating to the target frequency band (Col. 8 lines 39-40).
Regarding claim 104. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 101 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein the downconverted digital frequency domain data (67) further comprises intermediate data (intermediate of 67) in an intermediate frequency range between the first and second frequency ranges (Col. 2 lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 105. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 104 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein a number of data points (sub-band of 67) in the intermediate data (intermediate sub-band) of the downconverted digital frequency domain data (67) is lower than a number of data points of the first digital frequency domain data (bins of 65) outside of the first and second portions thereof (Col. 10 line 36 discloses “series of bins of a predefined frequency range” of window Filter 66).
Regarding claim 107. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 101 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein a ratio of a number of data points (total BINS of 165) of the first digital frequency domain data (frequency domain of 165) in the combination of the first and second portions (first BIN and second BIN of 165) thereof to a total number of data points (total BINS of 165) of the first digital frequency domain data (frequency domain 165) is less than a ratio of a number of data points (BINS selected 0f 166) in the combination of the first and second data (BINS selected of 166) of the downconverted digital frequency domain data (frequency domain of 167) to a total number of data points (total number of BINS select of 166) of the downconverted digital frequency domain data (167).
Regarding claim 108. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 101 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein a frequency range (span of 1GHz; Col. 2 lines 39-42) extending between a lower end of the first frequency range (0.5 KHz Col. 2 lines 39-42) and an upper end of the second frequency range (1GHz; Col. 2 lines 39-42) is greater than or equal to twice a bandwidth of the target frequency band (selected range of 0.5 kHz, 1.0 kHz, 5.0 kHz, 10 kHz, 25 kHz, 50 kHz, 75 kHz and 100 kHz ).
Regarding claim 109. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 104 above, Fig. 2 and Col. 2 lines 39-42 of Mayor et al. further disclose: wherein the first frequency range extends from DC to a frequency (0.5Khz) equal to a first proportion of a bandwidth (0.5Khz bandwidth) of the target frequency band (target frequency band 0.5 kHz, 1.0 kHz, 5.0 kHz, 10 kHz, 25 kHz, 50 kHz, 75 kHz and 100 kHz).
Regarding claim 110. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 101 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein the first digital frequency domain data (65) has a sampling frequency (Col. 8 lines 11-20), and wherein the second frequency range extends from a first frequency to a second frequency, the second frequency having a value lower than the sampling frequency, the first frequency being equal to the second frequency minus a second proportion of a bandwidth of the target frequency band (Col. 8 lines 11-20).
Regarding claim 111. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 99 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein the said processing (66) is to comprise one or more frequency domain multiplications (Col. 7 lines -64).
Regarding claim 112. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 10 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein the said processing (66) is to comprise one or more frequency domain multiplications (Col. 7 lines -64).
Regarding claim 115. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 99 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: a receiver (20) to receive the frequency modulated communication signal (Analog Input Signal) the receiver (20) being in communication with the processing circuitry (30, 40, 50, 60).
Regarding claim 116. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 100 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: a receiver (20) to receive the frequency modulated communication signal (Analog Input Signal) the receiver (20) being in communication with the processing circuitry (30, 40, 50, 60).
Regarding claim 117, the claimed incorporate the same subject matter as of claim 99 above, and rejected along the same rationale as applied to claim 99 above.
Regarding claim 118, the claimed incorporate the same subject matter as of claim 100 above, and rejected along the same rational as applied to claim 100 aobve.
Regarding claim 119. Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 99 above, Fig. 1 of Clawson further discloses a communications node (60) comprising apparatus of claim 99 (Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 99 above).
Regarding claim 120. Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 100 above, Fig. 1 of Clawson further discloses a communications node (60) comprising apparatus of claim 100 (Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 100 above).
Regarding claim 121. Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 117, above Fig. 1 of Clawson further discloses a communications node (60) comprising apparatus of claim 100 (Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 117 above).
Regarding claim 122. Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 118 above, Fig. 1 further discloses a communications node (60) comprising apparatus of claim 118 (Fig. 1 of Clawson further discloses a communications node (60) comprising apparatus of claim 100 (Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 118 above).
Regarding claim 129. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 99 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein the downconverted digital frequency domain data (67) comprises first data (Selected Sub-Band 66) based on a first portion of the first digital frequency domain data (65) corresponding to a target frequency band of the frequency modulated communication signal (Col. 2 lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 130. Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 117 above, Fig. 2 of Mayor et al. further discloses: wherein the downconverted digital frequency domain data (67) comprises first data (Selected Sub-Band of 66) based on a first portion of the first digital frequency domain data (65) corresponding to a target frequency band of the frequency modulated communication signal (Col. 2 lines 39-42).
7. Claims 106 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claim 104 above, and further in view of YU Pub. No. 2022/0272325.
Mayor et al. and Clawson et al. applied to claim 104 above do not discloses wherein the intermediate data comprises or consists of zero valued data points.
Paragraph 0108 of YU discloses wherein the intermediate data comprises or consists of zero valued data points.
Mayor et al., Clawson and YU are common subject matter of operation in data point of intermediate frequency; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate YU with Mayor et al. for the purpose of improve encoding efficiency, further reduce an amount of data in the compressed frame, and improve a compression ratio, while reducing a data loss and avoiding a loss of details (last 4 lines in paragraph 0067 of YU).
6. Claims 123-, 124, 125 and 126 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claims 99, 100, 117, 118 above in view of Pavlov et al. U.S. patent No. 8,234,537.
Mayor et al. and Clawson applied to claims 99, 100, 117, 118 above, Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 of Mayor et al. further discloses a method comprising executable instructions (Fig. 4) to cause processing circuitry (20, 30, 40, 50, 60) to perform in accordance with the processing circuitry (20, 30, 40, 50, 60) of the apparatus (Fig. 2).
However; Mayor et al. do no discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions.
Fig. 1 of Pavlove et al. discloses a method of down-converted comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions (Col. 10 lines 10-21).
Mayor et al./Clawson et al. and Pavlove et al. are common subject matter of down-convert apparatus; therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention to one ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate Pavlove et al. into Mayor et al./Clawson for the purpose of providing a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions for down converted as suggested by Pavlove et al. on Col. 10 lines 10-21.
Contact Information
03/06/2027
/LINH V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845