DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that “As shown throughout the figures of the reference, each end winding has a circular cross-section. Thus, FR 3054745 does not disclose "the connection portions have a pair of parallel side faces" as required by amended claim 1….Thus, FR 3054745 also fails to disclose "the first (N-1)th connection portions are deformed relative to the Nth connection portion such that the pair of parallel side faces of the first to the Nth connection portions are oriented substantially parallel to one another" as required by amended claim 1.”. This argument is not persuasive because having a circular cross-section does not mean that there are no parallel side faces. In fact, opposite sides of a circular cross-section of a wire are substantially parallel to each other.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by FR 3054745.
In re claim 1, Fr 3054745, in figures 1-8, discloses a stator arrangement for an electric machine (as shown in figure 1), comprising: a stator (10) comprising a stator core with an axial end face (as seen in figures 1-2), and a stator winding which has a number N of phases and is formed sectional from shaped conductors extending through the stator core, and from first to Nth connection portions which at the end face adjoin a part of the conductors, are situated at different angular positions of a circumferential direction and extend in the axial direction, and are configured either to form a star point or to form connections for the phases (as best seen in figure 2), wherein: the connection portions have a pair of parallel side faces, and the first (N-1)th connection portions are deformed relative to the Nth connection portion such that the pair of parallel side faces of the first to the Nth connection portions are oriented substantially parallel to one another (this is shown in figures 2 and 6b); a connection unit for the stator, comprising a number N of contact portions (34), wherein each contact portion has a first wall and a second wall, each contact portion forms a receiving chamber delimited by the first wall and the second wall and designed to encase one of the N connection portions of the stator (as best seen in figure 6a-b), and each contact portion is configured to electrically conductive contact the connection portion, wherein the first and second walls of the N contact portions are oriented parallel to one other; a conductor arrangement which electrically conductively connects the contact portions (as seen in figure 6a), wherein first to the Nth connection portions are each received in the receiving chamber of a contact portion of the connection unit (as seen in figures 2 and 6b).
In re claim 2, Fr 3054745, in figures 1-8, discloses that the contact portions are configured as recesses of the conductor arrangement (as seen in figure 6a).
In re claim 3, Fr 3054745, in figures 1-8, discloses that the contact portions each have a guide which is widened relative to a distance between the first wall and the second wall (as seen in figure 6a).
In re claim 4, Fr 3054745, in figures 1-8, discloses that the contact portions each have a third wall which connects the first wall and the second wall and delimits the receiving chamber (in the same way as shown by the applicant, see figure 6a).
In re claims 5, Fr 3054745, in figures 1-8, discloses an isolation body (33) which is arranged on the conductor arrangement and comprises openings exposing the contact portions (as best seen in figure 5).
In re claim 7, Fr 3054745, in figures 1-8, discloses that the first to the Nth connection portions are designed to form a star point (as discussed throughout the disclosure), wherein the stator winding is furthermore formed sectional from (N+1)th to (2N)th connection portions which at the end face adjoin a part of the shaped conductors (any portions meeting these limitations are sections), extend in the axial direction at different angular positions of a circumferential direction (as shown in figures 2-5 and 6b), and are configured to form connections for the phases, wherein the (N+1)th to (2N)th connection portion has a pair of parallel side faces (as shown in figure 6a-b), wherein the (N+1)th to (2N- 1)th connection portions are deformed relative to the (2N)th connection portion (as seen in figure 6a-b; all connection portions are deformed relative to each other) such that the pairs of parallel side faces of the (N+1)th to (2N)th connection portions are oriented substantially parallel to one another.
In re claim 8, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e connection portions, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. twisting around an axis. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
In re claims 12-14, the claimed structural limitations are taught by the prior art as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-10 above. With respect to the method limitation, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
In re claim 15, Fr 3054745, in figures 1-8, discloses a rotor (a rotor is discussed throughout the specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR 3054745 in view of Haga (US 2016/0149454).
In re claim 10, Fr 3054745 discloses that the conductor arrangement of the first connection unit electrically conductively connects the contact portions to form a star point. Fr 3054745 does not explicitly show the isolated second unit. Haga however, in figures 1-11, discloses a similar device having a stator arrangement with a second connection unit the conductor arrangement of which comprises N conductor portions which are electrically isolated from one another (33, see figure 6 for best view). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have isolated conductors in one of the units of Fr 3054745 as taught by Haga in order to isolate phases at the ends of the star to form a proper star connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837