DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 7-19 are pending, and claims 1-5 and 8-18 are currently under review.
Claim 6 is cancelled.
Claims 7 and 19 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 7-19 remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azuma et al. (US 2014/0234657) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2004/0234807).
Regarding claim 1, Azuma et al. discloses a hot dip galvanized steel having a composition as seen in table 1 below [abstract, 0029]. Azuma et al. further teaches that the galvanized layer includes Fe in an amount of 7 to 15 weight percent [0054]. Azuma et al. also teaches a microstructure which includes a balance of ferrite, 20% to 90% of a combination of both martensite and bainite, as well as up to 8% retained austenite and up to 10% pearlite [0025-0026]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition and microstructure of Azuma et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Azuma et al. further discloses controlling oxide inclusions on a surface of the base steel [abstract]; however, Azuma et al. does not expressly teach an amount as claimed. Suzuki et al. discloses that it is known to control an oxide amount to be 0.01 to 1 g/m2 to achieve desirable surface adhesion on the base steel [0170]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the steel of Azuma et al. to have an oxide amount disclosed by Suzuki et al. for the aforementioned purpose, which overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner notes that “surface” as taught by Suzuki et al. would be recognized by one of ordinary skill to refer to the surface of the base steel (ie. depth of 0 micrometers) absent a specific teaching to the contrary, which meets the claimed range.
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Azuma et al. (wt.%)
C
0.09 – 0.17
0.05 – 0.4
Si
0.3 – 1.1
0.5 – 3
Mn
1.9 – 2.7
1.5 – 3
P
0 – 0.1
0 – 0.04
S
0 – 0.05
0 – 0.01
Al
0.01 – 0.2
0 – 2
N
0 – 0.1
0 – 0.01
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned microstructure of Azuma et al. further overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claims 1-2 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned Fe content of Azuma et al. further overlaps with the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 4 and 9-11, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claims 1-3 and 8 (see previous). Azuma et al. further teaches a plating amount of 5 to 100 g/m2 per surface, which overlaps with the claimed range [0056]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 5 and 12-18, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claims 1-4 and 8-11 (see previous). Azuma et al. further teaches an inclusion of Nb of 0.005 to 0.3 weight percent among others, which overlaps with the claimed range [0029]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to the previous 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Azuma et al. as explained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734