DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 7/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 10-15 and 17-24 remain pending in the application. Claims 7-9 and 16 were cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-11, 13-15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malliaros (US 20210187770 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Malliaros teaches a connector for connecting a razor head to a razor handle, comprising:
a body portion (30); and
a connector portion (50) extending from the body portion and having an expanding and contracting mechanism (via hinge of 53c and 52d, see Figures 3A3B), wherein the connector portion is configured to be coupled to the razor handle via the expanding and contracting mechanism (see Figure 4), wherein the connector portion includes an opening (opening of 30) extending from the body portion at least partially in a direction of a longitudinal axis towards an end face (see Figure 4);
wherein the expanding and contracting mechanism comprises a dilator component positioned in the opening (v opening of 50), and wherein the dilator component is configured to expand the expanding and contracting mechanism in a radial direction based on a location of the dilator component in the opening (see Figures 3A-C).
Regarding claim 2, Malliaros teaches the expanding and contracting mechanism is configured to couple the connector to the razor handle by a friction-locking connection (via 50, see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Malliaros teaches the connector portion comprises at least one recess (recess in 54c and 54d, see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Malliaros teaches the expanding and contracting mechanism comprises at least one elastic component configured to expand and contract in the radial direction (elastic hinge, see Figures 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 10, Malliaros teaches the connector portion comprises at least one slot extending along the longitudinal axis at least partially over a length of the connector portion between the opening and an outer circumferential surface in the radial direction (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Malliaros teaches the connector portion comprises at least two segments (52c and 52d, see Figure 4) extending along the longitudinal axis direction, wherein the at least two segments are at least partially separated to each other by at least one slot, wherein in a contracted state (see Figure 3B), the at least two segments are adapted to at least partially contact each other, and wherein in an expanded state, the at least two segments are separated to each other by the at least one slot (see Figure 3A).
Regarding claim 13, Malliaros teaches a razor, comprising: a razor handle; a razor head; and a connector according to claim 1, wherein the connector is coupled to the razor handle and to the razor head (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Malliaros teaches the razor handle comprises a tubular body portion having a cavity with an inner surface (44, see Figure 2), wherein the expanding and contracting mechanism applies a force in the radial direction against the inner surface of the tubular body portion to form a press-fit connection (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, Malliaros teaches a method of assembling a razor, comprising: providing a razor handle; providing a connector as claimed in claim 1, inserting the connector portion into the razor handle, and coupling the connector to the razor handle via the connector portion and the expanding and contracting mechanism (see Figure 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 17, Malliaros teaches the at least one recess comprises a longitudinal shape extending substantially in the direction of the longitudinal axis (see Figure 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 18, Malliaros teaches the body portion comprises a body portion cavity, and wherein the opening opens into the body portion cavity (cavity in the spring, see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 19, Malliaros teaches either the dilator component is slidably inserted into the opening through a body portion cavity (see Figure 4) or wherein the dilator component is screwed into the opening, wherein the opening comprises an internal thread, and wherein the dilator component comprises an external thread.
Regarding claim 20, Malliaros teaches the at least two segments are at least partially separated from each other by at least one slot (segment of 52c and 52d, see Figures 3A-3C), wherein in the contracted state, the at least two segments are adapted to at least partially contact each other, and wherein in the expanded state, the at least two segments are separated to each other by the at least one slot (see Figures 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 21, Malliaros teaches the opening has a conical shape (at least from the middle portion of the element 30 to an end portion opening) such that the opening has a first diameter proximate to the body portion and a second diameter proximate to the end face, and wherein the first diameter is larger than the second diameter (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 22, Malliaros teaches the body connector portion includes a first elastic component, the first elastic component configured to expand or contract based on the location of the dilator mechanism component in the opening (elastic of 590, see Figures 3A-3C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helmrich (US 20040107585 A1).
Regarding claims 4-5, Malliaros teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Malliaros fails to teach the expanding and contracting mechanism comprises at least one elastic component configured to expand and contract in the radial direction (as required by claim 4), with the at least one elastic component extends in the radial direction beyond an outer circumferential surface of the connector portion by a distance of unknown value (as required by claim 5).
Malliaros fails to teach at least 0.05 mm.
Furthermore, with respect to the specific distance of at least 0.05 mm, the courts have held that where the general conditions of the invention are met, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art., In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Malliaros to have the specific distance as set forth in the claim, in order to get the desired fit of the connect wanted by the end user.
Regarding claim 6, modified Malliaros further teaches the connector portion comprises a diameter, and wherein the at least one recess extends in the radial direction through the whole diameter of the connector portion (see Figure 4 of Malliaros).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malliaros (US 20210187770 A1) in view of Iten (US 3970194).
Regarding claim 12, Malliaros teaches a kit of parts, comprising: a razor head holder comprising a razor head; and a connector according to claim 1 (see Figure 2).
Malliaros fails to teach a plurality of razor heads.
Iten teaches a kit with a plurality of razor heads, and connector and razor head holder (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Malliaros to add a plurality of razor heads, as taught by Iten, in order to teach a better display of razor for sale (abstract of Iten).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helmrich (US 20040107585 A1) in view of Helmrich (US 20040107585 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Malliaros teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 22 above.
Malliaros fails to teach the connector portion further includes a second elastic component axially aligned along the longitudinal axis with the first elastic component, the second elastic component configured to expand or contract based on the location of the dilator component in the opening.
Helmrich teaches a second elastic component (56) axially aligned along the longitudinal axis (see Figure 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Malliaros to add the second elastic component, in order to make a better connection (Figure 2b of Helmrich).
Regarding claim 24, modified Malliaros further teaches the first elastic component tapers from a first face of the first elastic component to a center of the first elastic component (see Figure 4 of Malliaros).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 10-15 and 17-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 9/27/2026