DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on August 20, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-11, and 13-20 were amended. Claims 21 and 22 were newly introduced. Claims 7 and 8 were canceled. Claims 1-6 and 9-22 are pending. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112b rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on May 20, 2025. Claims 1-6 and 9-22 are examined in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 13-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120073150 A1 by Fathallah et al. (hereinafter “Fathallah”).
Regarding claim 1, Fathallah discloses a connector (see Examiner annotated Fathallah Figure 4, hereinafter "EAFF4"; connector) for connecting a razor head to a razor handle, comprising: a body portion (EAFF4, body portion); and a connector portion (EAFF4, connector portion) extending from the body portion and having an expanding and contracting mechanism (Fathallah, Fig. 4, pod 50; Fathallah, para. 33, “a procedure for compressing and decompressing a flexible pod 110), wherein the connector portion (EAFF4, connector portion) is configured to be coupled to the razor handle (Fathallah, Fig. 4, handle 40) via the expanding and contracting mechanism (Fathallah, Fig. 4, pod 50), wherein the connector portion includes an opening (EAFF4, opening) extending from the body portion (EAFF4, body portion) at least partially in a direction of a longitudinal axis (EAFF4, axis) towards an end face; wherein the expanding and contracting mechanism comprises a dilator component (Fathallah, Fig. 5, perpendicular bar 68; Fathallah, Fig. 12A, perpendicular bar 128) positioned in the opening (see Examiner annotated Fathallah Figure 5, hereinafter "EAFF5"; opening), the expanding and contracting mechanism and the dilator component (Fathallah, Fig. 5, pod 60 & perpendicular bar 68) configured to couple the connector to the razor handle by a non-positively locking connection (Fathallah, para. 33, “Additionally or alternatively, the projections 114 correspond in size and mate with the apertures 118 via a pin arrangement, ball and socket arrangement, snap-fit connection, and friction-fit connection”; see also Fathallah Figure 11).
Regarding claim 2, Fathallah discloses the expanding and contracting mechanism is configured to couple the connector to the razor handle by a friction-locking connection (Fathallah, para. 33, “ the entire pod 110 is flexible and, therefore, compressible such that the pod 110 is engageable with a frame 116… Additionally or alternatively, the projections 114 correspond in size and mate with the apertures 118 via a pin arrangement, ball and socket arrangement, snap-fit connection, and friction-fit connection”).
Regarding claim 3, Fathallah discloses the connector portion comprises at least one recess (see Examiner annotated Fathallah Figure 8, hereinafter “EAFF8”; recess).
Regarding claim 4, Fathallah discloses the expanding and contracting mechanism comprises at least one elastic component (Fathallah, para. 33, “the entire pod 110 is flexible and, therefore, compressible… When decompressed (Step 2B), the pod 110 is free to spring back to is open”) configured to expand and contract in the radial direction (Fathallah, Fig. 11, Steps 2A & 2B).
Regarding claim 5, Fathallah discloses the at least one elastic component extends in the radial direction beyond an outer circumferential surface of the connector portion by a distance of at least 0.05 mm (Fathallah, para. 39, “The corresponding projections 64 of the base 62 of the pod 60 are preferably about 3.32 mm and about 2.38 mm in diameter, respectively”; para. 33, “when decompressed, the projections 114 penetrate deep into the apertures 118 for a secure fit into the frame 116…”).
While Fathallah does not disclose any specific dimension for the elastic components extension in the radial direction, based on the given dimensions for the other components of the connector, it would have been reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have the extension be at least 0.05 mm in order to fulfill the purpose of a secure fit with the frame. Without enough of an extension of the elastic component, the frame would not be able to properly grip the extension for coupling.
Regarding claim 6, Fathallah discloses the connector portion comprises a diameter (see Examiner annotated Fathallah Figure 6, hereinafter “EAFF6”; diameter), and wherein the at least one recess extends in the radial direction through the whole diameter of the connector portion (EAFF6 & EAFF8, recess).
Regarding claim 9, Fathallah discloses the expanding and contracting mechanism (Fathallah, Fig. 4, pod 50) is formed by the connector portion (EAFF4, connector portion) and the dilator component (Fathallah, Fig. 8, perpendicular bar 68); wherein the expanding and contracting mechanism is in an expanded state when the dilator component is proximate the end face (EAFF4, end face), wherein the expanding and contracting mechanism is in a contracted state when the dilator component is removed from the opening (Fathallah, Fig. 11, Step 2A) or is proximate a body portion cavity; wherein, in the expanded state, the expanding and contracting mechanism is expanded in the radial direction (Fathallah, Fig. 11, Step 2B), and wherein in the contracted state, the expanding and contracting mechanism is contracted in the radial direction (Fathallah, Fig. 11, Step 2A).
Regarding claim 13, Fathallah discloses a razor (Fathallah, Fig. 1, shaving razor 10), comprising: a razor handle (Fathallah, Fig. 1, handle 20); a razor head (Fathallah, Fig. 1, blade cartridge unit 30); and a connector according to claim 1 (Fathallah, Fig. 4, blade cartridge connecting assembly 44; see also the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the connector is coupled to the razor handle and to the razor head (Fathallah, para. 25, “a shaving razor 10 of the present invention comprises a handle 20 and a blade cartridge unit 30, which removably connects or releasably attaches to the handle 20; para. 26, “The handle 40 comprises a frame 42 and a blade cartridge connecting assembly 44 operably coupled thereto such that the blade cartridge connecting assembly 44 is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation”).
Regarding claim 14, Fathallah discloses the razor handle comprises a tubular body portion (Fathallah, Fig. 2, handle 20) having a cavity (Fathallah, Fig. 9, cradle 74) with an inner surface (Fathallah, para. 30, “the cradle 74 can be open at least at one end and define a hollow interior portion”), wherein the expanding and contracting mechanism applies a force in the radial direction against the inner surface of the tubular body portion (Fathallah, para. 30, “the apertures 76 may include non-cylindrical elements, e.g., ridges, protrusions, or recesses…”; para. 39, “any of the apertures 76 of the frame 72 can have a diameter sized in the range of about 0.5 mm to about 10 mm. The corresponding projections 64 of the base 62”), to form a press-fit connection (Fathallah, para. 33, “Additionally or alternatively, the projections 114 correspond in size and mate with the apertures 118 via a pin arrangement, ball and socket arrangement, snap-fit connection, and friction-fit connection”).
Regarding claim 15, Fathallah discloses a method of assembling a razor, comprising: providing a razor handle (Fathallah, Fig. 2, handle 20); providing a connector as claimed in claim 1 (Fathallah, Fig. 4, blade cartridge connecting assembly 44; see also the rejection of claim 1 above), inserting the connector portion into the razor handle (Fathallah, para. 32, “To engage the frame 82 and the pod 90, the pod 90 is positioned (Step 1) within the hollow interior portion of the frame 82”), and coupling the connector to the razor handle via the connector portion and the expanding and contracting mechanism (Fathallah, para. 32, “the first mounting member 98 of the pod 90 comprise one or more projections extending from the base 92 and the second mounting member 100 of the frame 82 comprise one or more apertures formed in the cradle 84… An ejector button assembly 104 corresponds in shape and mates (Step 5) with the pod 90 by aligning and engaging extensions of the ejector button assembly 104 with corresponding grooves and/or detents on the interior surface of the pod 90”).
Regarding claim 16, Fathallah discloses the connector comprises a longitudinal axis (EAFF4, axis), and the expanding and contracting mechanism is adapted to expand or contract in a radial direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (Fathallah, Fig. 11, Steps 2A & 2B).
Regarding claim 17, Fathallah discloses the at least one recess comprises a longitudinal shape extending substantially in the direction of the longitudinal axis (EAFF8, recess).
Regarding claim 21, Fathallah discloses the opening (EAFF5, opening) has a conical shape such that the opening has a first diameter proximate to the body portion and a second diameter proximate to the end face, and wherein the first diameter is larger than the second diameter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120073150 A1 by Fathallah in view of GB 3777958 A by Osberghaus.
Regarding claim 10, Fathallah does not explicitly disclose a slot.
Osberghaus, however, does teach the connector portion (see Examiner annotated Osberghaus Figure 1, hereinafter “EAOF1”; connector portion) comprises at least one slot (EAOF1, slot) extending along the longitudinal axis at least partially over a length of the connector portion, between the opening (EAOF1, opening) and an outer circumferential surface in the radial direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include a slot in the connector portion of Fathallah as taught by Osberghaus in order to allow for the connector portion to easily disengage the handle for rinsing (Osberghaus, pg. 2, lines 39-65, “The tongue 11, although fixedly connected to the hollow handle 1, has a certain elasticity, so that it can be pushed to one side when the push button 16 is depressed. The U-shaped spring 5, 6 is thus released… when the razor is open for rinsing”).
Regarding claim 11, Fathallah does not explicitly disclose two segments.
Osberghaus, however, does teach the connector portion comprises at least two segments extending in the longitudinal direction (Osberghaus, Fig. 1, springs 5 & 6), wherein the at least two segments are at least partially separated to each other by at least one slot (EAOF1, slot), wherein in a contracted state, the at least two segments are adapted to at least partially contact each other (Osberghaus, pg. 1, lines 62-66, “The arms of the U-shaped spring are preferably conical-shaped at their ends so that when the undercut head is moved out of engagement therewith, said ends will spring together”) and wherein in an expanded state, the at least two segments are separated to each other by the at least one slot (Osberghaus, Fig. 1, springs 5 & 6, undercut head 10; EAOF1, slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include two segments in the connector portion of Fathallah as taught by Osberghaus in order to allow for the connector portion to easily disengage from the undercut head of the handle for rinsing (Osberghaus, pg. 2, lines 39-65, “The tongue 11, although fixedly connected to the hollow handle 1, has a certain elasticity, so that it can be pushed to one side when the push button 16 is depressed. The U-shaped spring 5, 6 is thus released… when the razor is open for rinsing”).
Regarding claim 18, Fathallah does not explicitly disclose a cavity.
Osberghaus, however, does teach the body portion (EAOF1, body portion) comprises a body portion cavity (EAOF1, cavity), and wherein the opening (EAOF1, opening) opens into the body portion cavity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include a cavity in the body portion of Fathallah as taught by Osberghaus to permit space for the engagement and disengagement of the springs from the undercut head of the handle for rinsing (Osberghaus, pg. 2, lines 39-65, “The tongue 11, although fixedly connected to the hollow handle 1, has a certain elasticity, so that it can be pushed to one side when the push button 16 is depressed. The U-shaped spring 5, 6 is thus released… when the razor is open for rinsing”).
Regarding claim 19, Fathallah does not explicitly disclose the dilator component is slidably inserted into the opening nor a body portion cavity.
Osberghaus, however, does disclose the dilator component (Osberghaus, Fig. 1, springs 5 & 6, pin 7) is slidably inserted into the opening (EAOF1, opening; Osberghaus, pg. 2, lines 51-54, “the outer surfaces 14, 15 of the spring 5, 6 have moved into the recesses 12, 13 on the inner side of the handle”) through a body portion cavity (EAOF1, cavity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include a dilator component inserted through a cavity in the body portion of Fathallah as taught by Osberghaus to permit space for the engagement and disengagement of the springs from the undercut head of the handle for rinsing (Osberghaus, pg. 2, lines 39-65, “The tongue 11, although fixedly connected to the hollow handle 1, has a certain elasticity, so that it can be pushed to one side when the push button 16 is depressed. The U-shaped spring 5, 6 is thus released… when the razor is open for rinsing”).
Regarding claim 20, the Fathallah/Osberghaus combination is as detailed in the rejection of claim 11 above. Furthermore, Osberghaus discloses the at least two segments are at least partially separated from each other by at least one slot (EAOF1, slot), wherein in the contracted state, the at least two segments are adapted to at least partially contact each other (Osberghaus, pg. 1, lines 62-66, “The arms of the U-shaped spring are preferably conical-shaped at their ends so that when the undercut head is moved out of engagement therewith, said ends will spring together”) and wherein in the expanded state, the at least two segments are separated to each other by the at least one slot (Osberghaus, Fig. 1, springs 5 & 6, undercut head 10; EAOF1, slot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include two segments in the connector portion of Fathallah as taught by Osberghaus in order to allow for the connector portion to easily disengage from the undercut head of the handle for rinsing (Osberghaus, pg. 2, lines 39-65, “The tongue 11, although fixedly connected to the hollow handle 1, has a certain elasticity, so that it can be pushed to one side when the push button 16 is depressed. The U-shaped spring 5, 6 is thus released… when the razor is open for rinsing”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120073150 A1 by Fathallah in view of US 6581290 B1 by Fishel.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of the connector according to claim 1 is as detailed above. Furthermore, Fathallah does not explicitly disclose a plurality of razor heads.
Fishel, however, does teach a kit of parts (Fishel, Claim 1, “A shaving kit”), comprising: a razor head holder comprising a plurality of razor heads (Fishel, Claim 1, “a plurality of different sized detachable razor cartridges each with an attachment mechanism for selective engagement with said single razor cartridge receptacle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add the connector of Fathallah to a razor kit with a plurality of razor heads in order to allow for the user to easily replace the razor heads whenever the blades are dull or to implement a different type of blade (Fishel, col. 2, lines 37-38, “This enables replacement of unit 11 with a different sized cartridge; col. 2, lines 47-50, “Cartridge 35 has a length of about 50 mm. Blade 37, as can be appreciated, is of a different length (longer) than blade 25 depicted in FIGS. 1-4 and is sized for use in shaving the leg of a woman”).
Claim 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120073150 A1 by Fathallah in view of WO 2017174120 A1 by Efthimiadis.
Regarding claim 21, Fathallah does not explicitly disclose that the opening has a conical shape.
Efthimiadis, however, does teach the opening (see Examiner annotated Efthimiadis Figure 2, hereinafter “EAEF2”; opening) has a conical shape (see Efthimiadis Figure 8) such that the opening has a first diameter (see Examiner annotated Efthimiadis Figure 8, hereinafter “EAEF8”; d1) proximate to the body portion and a second diameter (EAEF8, d2) proximate to the end face (EAEF2, end face), and wherein the first diameter is larger than the second diameter (EAEf8, d1 & d2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to make the opening of Fathallah have a conical shape as taught by Efthimiadis in order to produce smoother movement for the connector, as the driving mechanism of Fathallah moves linearly just as Efthimiadis’ driving mechanism does, (Efthimiadis, pg. 7, lines 18-24, “it is desirable to provide the projections of the driving member with tips that are curved outwards, and to curve the recesses of the arms inward; this allows for smoother movement respecting the peculiarities of the present lock and release mechanism…”).
Regarding claim 22, Fathallah does not explicitly disclose the body portion includes an elastic component.
Efthimiadis, however, does teach the body portion (EAEF8, body portion) includes an elastic component (Efthimiadis, Fig. 3, biasing spring 111), the elastic component configured to expand or contract (Efthimiadis, pg. 17, lines 4-10, “The biasing spring 111 is positioned such that movement of the driving member 110 in the backward direction causes contraction of the biasing spring 111. Any alternative biasing means could be used… plastic or any elastic material”) based on a location of the dilator mechanism (Efthimiadis, Fig. 3, driving member 110) in the opening.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include an elastic component in the body portion of Fathallah as taught by Efthimiadis to work together with the dilator mechanism in order to actuate the connector for the razor and its handle (Efthimiadis, pg. 20-21, lines 29-2, “as the driving member 110 slides backwards, it cause the biasing spring 111 to compress, so that when the button 105 is released, the driving member is pushed back… any other suitable return means having adequate elasticity. Appropriate constructional modifications might be required in that case”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on August 20, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under header Section 102 and 103 Rejections beginning on page 9 have been considered. Applicant argues that with the newly introduced claim limitation “… wherein the expanding and contracting mechanism comprises a dilator component positioned in the opening, the expanding and contracting mechanism and the dilator component configured to couple the connector to the razor handle…,” the combination of prior art presented in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 20, 2025 does not teach all the claim limitations. However, as necessitated by the claim amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 20120073150 A1 by Fathallah. As detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Examiner disagrees that Fathallah does not teach a dilator component positioned in an opening of the connector portion. As seen in EAFF4 and further in Fathallah Figure 3, the body portion of the connector fits into through-holes of the connector portion, thus forming an opening (EAFF4, opening) of the connector portion. Furthermore, seen in EAFF5, the dilator component (Fathallah, Fig. 5, perpendicular bar 68) is positioned in an opening of the connector portion. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and claim 1 is rejected in conjunction with all its dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBORAH LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724