DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, line 3 through page 8, line 6, filed January 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 6,755,615 to Chapman. Chapman teaches a fan having a base plate having a radial outer edge disposed at a first angle with respect to the radial direction and an inner contour of the scroll housing represents an imaginary extension of the radial outer edge of the base plate at a transition between the base plate and the scroll housing, wherein the imaginary transition is disposed at the first angle relative to the radial direction.
The corrections to the claims are noted with appreciation. The previous objections and rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted January 7, 2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reinforcing elements” in claim 15.
The generic, non-structural term “elements” is defined by the function of “reinforcing”, and is not defined by additional structure capable of performing the function. Therefore the “reinforcing elements” meet the requirements of 35 USC 112(f). Upon inspection of the applicant’s specification, page 8, lines 4-9 describe reinforcing elements 18 which are “reinforcing ribs 18” which provide dimensional stability. Accordingly, the “reinforcing elements” will be interpreted as “ribs” and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 21 recites “the imaginary transition” which should be changed to “the imaginary extension” to be consistent with line 20.
Claim 1, lines 21-22 recite “the angle” which should be changed to “the first angle” to be consistent with line 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,192,165 to Higashida in view of US 6,755,615 to Chapman and in further view of case law.
In Reference to Claim 1
Higashida teaches:
A fan (190) having an impeller (113) having blades (133), an electric motor (114) driving the impeller, and a scroll housing (191), wherein a flow channel (passage in scroll housing radially outward of impeller leading toward outlet 191b) is formed by an inner contour (inner wall of housing 191) of the scroll housing, wherein an inlet nozzle (191a) is provided on an inlet side (top of Figure 8), and wherein the flow channel guides the air aspirated by the inlet nozzle via the impeller to an outlet (191b), comprising:
the inlet nozzle being surrounded by an inflow area (193) comprising an inflow surface (flat surface on top of 193 in Figure 8), which inflow area expands the inlet nozzle essentially in a radial direction (left to right in Figure 8), transversely to an impeller axis (axis of rotation O), wherein the inlet nozzle expanded by the inflow area is symmetrical about the impeller axis, and
wherein there is a ring-shaped area of the inlet nozzle expanded by the inflow area projected onto a plane (radial-circumferential plane in Figure 8) perpendicular to the impeller axis, and a smallest flow cross-sectional area in the narrowest point of the inlet nozzle has an area;
a cover plate (132) attached to the impeller, wherein the cover plate has a recessed shape (upper, radially outer surface of 132) and the recessed shape of the cover plate and an inner wall (surface of 193 facing the cover plate 132) of the inflow area collectively form a secondary flow channel (space between inlet nozzle and side plate 132, where flow X1 passes in Figure 4) in an interior of the scroll housing, which extends in the radial direction beyond the impeller and is open to the flow channel and controls a secondary flow (X1) into the impeller between the inlet nozzle and the cover plate, wherein the secondary flow channel is formed approximately rotationally symmetrical about the impeller axis, and
a base plate (131) attached to the impeller which has a radial outer edge (radially outer end of the bade plate). (see column 4, lines 3 column 7, line 64 through column 8, line 13 and Figures 4 and 8).
Regarding the inflow area, Higashida teaches the convex portion 193 is annular, (column 7, line 67 through column 8, line 2) and therefore is symmetrical about the impeller axis.
Regarding the ring-shaped area, the inflow area forms a ring shape bounded radially inward by the inlet nozzle. The inlet nozzle narrows in the direction of flow toward the fan, and has a smallest flow cross-sectional area at the narrowest point of the inlet nozzle.
Higashida fails to teach:
The ring-shaped area is at least 1.5 times as large as the smallest flow cross-sectional area, and the base plate has a radial outer edge disposed at a first angle relative to the radial direction, wherein the inner contour of the scroll housing represents an imaginary extension of the radial outer edge of the base plate at a transition between the base plate and the scroll housing, wherein the imaginary extension is disposed at the first angle relative to the radial direction.
Chapman teaches:
A fan (62) having a base plate (not numbered, see annotated Figure 6) having a radial outer edge (not numbered, see annotated Figure 6) disposed at a first angle (not numbered, see annotated Figure 6) with respect to a radial direction (left to right in Figure 6), wherein an inner contour (65) of a scroll housing (61) represents an imaginary extension of the radial outer edge of the base plate at a transition between the base plate and the scroll housing, wherein the imaginary extension is disposed at the first angle relative to the radial direction (see column 5, lines 47-53 and Figure 6).
The bottom part of the base plate is aligned with the inner contour of the scroll casing. The imaginary extension of the bottom of the base plate transitions into the inner contour as seen in Figure 6.
The Court has held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), see MPEP §2144.04 IV A for further clarification).
In Gardner v TEC Syst., Inc., Gardner received a patent for an apparatus used to dry ink applied to high-gloss papers by supporting the paper with wet ink over a field of static air. The applied prior art taught the claimed apparatus except for dimensional limitations. The trial Court held the opinion that the dimensional limitations had no impact on the function of the apparatus and no evidence was shown that departing from the claimed dimensions would cause the apparatus to fail.
In the instant case, Higashida teaches the inflow area which expands and surrounds the inlet nozzle has a ring shape and the narrowest point of the inlet nozzle has a cross-sectional area which is circular.
The size of the ring-shaped area is related to the size of the impeller. The inflow area is a convex protrusion of the casing, and the shroud (132) fits within the open region directly beneath the protrusion (see Figure 8). If the inflow area increased in radius, then the area of the inflow area increases, and a larger impeller can fit within the inflow area.
There is a reasonable expectation of success that altering the size of the inflow area would still allow the fan to direct air in the desired directions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan of Higashida by re-shaping the base plate to be at a first angle with respect to the radial direction and re-shaping the inner contour of the scroll casing to be an imaginary extension of the base plate as taught by Chapman as both references are directed to fans having base plates and scroll housings, and which would yield predictable results. In this case, the predictable result would be a base plate which aligns with the inner contour of the scroll housing and provides a smooth transition for the air passing through the impeller.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan of Higashida by re-sizing the inflow area such that the ring-shaped area is at least 1.5 times as large as the smallest flow cross-sectional area in view of case law for the purpose of being able to accommodate an impeller of the desired size.
In Reference to Claim 3#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 1, wherein the inflow area is a rotationally symmetric body. The inflow area is an annular structure, which is rotationally symmetric about the impeller axis.
In Reference to Claim 4#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 1, wherein the inlet nozzle expanded by the inflow area is symmetrical about the impeller axis, wherein an elliptical outer contour is rotationally symmetrical about the impeller axis at least for at least one angle of rotation not being a multiple of 360°.
Higashida teaches the inflow area is circular (annular, see column 7, line 64 through column 8, line 5). A circle is a special type of ellipse, and therefore the inflow area has an elliptical outer contour. A circle is rotationally symmetric for any angle of rotation – including at least one angle of rotation which is not a multiple of 360°, such as an angle of 90°.
In Reference to Claim 5#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 1, wherein the inflow area is essentially flat (see Figure 8 of Higashida).
In Reference to Claim 6#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 1, wherein the inflow area extends in the radial direction beyond the radial extension of the impeller (see Figure 8).
In Reference to Claim 7
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 1 comprising the inflow area, when viewed radially, begins at an outer end (radially outer end) of the inlet nozzle, wherein the inflow area has a local surface curvature of a beginning and the inlet nozzle has an inner contour which has a maximum surface curvature. Figure 8 of Higashida shows the inflow area is approximately flat from the inlet nozzle end toward the radially outer end. The radially outer portion of the inflow area begins to have a curvature toward the transition region of the scroll casing.
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law fails to teach:
The local surface curvature of the inflow area is at most 20% of a maximum surface curvature at the inner contour of the inlet nozzle. Higashida shows the local surface curvature is less than the maximum surface curvature, however Higashida is silent regarding the percentage.
The Court has held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP §2144.05 II A for further clarification). In In re Aller, a claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be obvious over a prior art process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.
In the instant application, Higashida teaches an inflow area which has a local surface curvature which is less than a maximum surface curvature at the inner contour of the inlet nozzle. The shape of the curvature of the inner surface of the inflow area affects the swirling and smooth flow of the working fluid (column 8, lines 6-10 of Higashida).
There is a reasonable expectation of success that changing the curvature of the inflow area because while changing the curvature would affect the swirling being promoted in the annular convex portion 193, the fluid would still be able to swirl and smoothly flow in the space between the inner surface of the casing 191 and the axially extending portion 132b.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan of Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law by re-shaping the inflow area such that the local surface curvature is at most 20% of a maximum surface curvature at the inner contour of the inlet nozzle in view of case law for the purpose of optimizing the swirling of the working fluid along the inner surface of the casing.
In Reference to Claim 8#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 1, wherein a radial outer edge (radially outer portion of inflow area, see annotated Figure 8 of Higashida) of the inflow area is adjoined by a transition area (not numbered, see annotated Figure 8) to a contour (side wall of scroll housing 191) of the scroll housing guiding a main flow (working fluid), wherein the transition area is continuous (see annotated portion of Figure 8 below).
In Reference to Claim 9#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 8, wherein the inlet nozzle together with the inflow area are an integral part of the scroll housing (see Figure 8 of Higashida). The inlet nozzle and inflow area are monolithic with the scroll housing, and therefore are integral with the scroll housing.
In Reference to Claim 13#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan according to claim 1, wherein the scroll housing comprises a nozzle-side housing half (top half of housing in Figure 8 of Higashida) and a motor-side housing half (bottom half of housing in Figure 8 of Higashida).
In Reference to Claim 16#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 1, wherein the inlet nozzle is a rotationally symmetric body (see Figure 8).
In Reference to Claim 17#
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan of claim 1, wherein the inner contour of the scroll housing proximate to the imaginary extension is disposed at a second angle relative to the radial direction.
Chapman shows the inner contour of the scroll housing is aligned with the base plate which is angled with respect to the radial direction (and the first angle is formed between the radial direction and base plate). Accordingly, there is a second angle between the radial direction and the inner contour. Since the inner contour and base plate are aligned, the value for the first angle equals the value for the second angle (see Figure 6 of Chapman).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,192,165 to Higashida as modified by US 6,755,615 to Chapman and case law as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 5,336,046 to Hashimoto.
In Reference to Claim 14
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan according to claim 13 wherein the nozzle-side housing half and the motor-side housing half are connected to one another.
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law fails to teach:
The nozzle-side housing half and the motor-side housing half are connected to one another via a connection area forming a flange, by one of screws, rivets, adhesives, or clips.
Hashimoto teaches:
A fan (1) comprising a scroll housing (3), wherein the scroll housing comprises a nozzle-side housing half (20) and a motor-side housing half (70), wherein the nozzle-side housing half and the motor-side housing half are connected to one another via a connection area forming a flange (flanges for screws 13a), by screws (13a) (see column 3, lines 36-47 and Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan of Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law by forming the scroll casing of two separable halves joined by a flange and screws as taught by Hashimoto as both references are directed to centrifugal blowers comprising scroll casings, and for the purpose of making assembly of the fan easier by using smaller pieces joined together, and making repairs of the scroll housing easier by only needing to replace the damage half rather than the entire scroll housing.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,192,165 to Higashida as modified by US 6,755,615 to Chapman and case law as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 9,441,642 to Rao.
In Reference to Claim 15
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law teaches:
The fan according to claim 13 comprising the nozzle-side housing half and the motor-side housing half.
Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law fails to teach:
The nozzle-side housing half and the motor-side housing half are formed with reinforcing elements.
Rao teaches:
A fan comprising a scroll housing (110), wherein the scroll housing comprises a nozzle-side housing half (bottom half of scroll housing 110 in Figure 5) and a motor-side housing half (top half of scroll housing 110 in Figure 5), wherein the nozzle-side housing half and the motor-side housing half are formed with reinforcing elements (ribs 1231) (see column 3, lines 43-63 and Figures 5 and 6a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan of Higashida as modified by Chapman and case law by adding reinforcing elements as taught by Rao as both references are directed to centrifugal fans comprising scroll housings, and for the purpose of reducing vibrations (column 3, lines 59-61 of Rao).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON G DAVIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745