DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 10/1/2025, 6/13/2023 are being considered by the examiner
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed 6/13/2023 has been received and entered into the record. As a result, claims 1-19 have been canceled and claims 20-39 have been added. Therefore, claims 20-39 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 1/7/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the restriction requirement of October 7, 2025 provides no analysis of a special technical feature in light of prior art. While the invention groups share one or more of the same or corresponding technical features (an air handling unit AHU, a plurality of modules, a sensor, a peripheral controller of each module, arrangement of the modules in a predetermined layout), unity of invention is lacking a posteriori since the shared technical features are not special technical features because they are anticipated by or obvious over Benefield et al. [U.S. Pub. 2020/0056804] as follows: an air handling unit AHU ("HVAC system [par. 0047]"), a plurality of modules ("modular HVAC system comprising one or more air inlet, inlet damper, air filtration module, air purification module, air freshener module, dehumidifying coil, dehumidifying coil damper, cooling coil, coil damper, bypass air damper, blower module, air outlet, and a control cabinet [par. 0046]"), a sensor ("the said modules 502, 504, 506 contain sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller [par. 0051]"), a peripheral controller of each module ("the said modules 502, 504, 506 contain sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller [par. 0051]"), arrangement of the modules in a predetermined layout ("The individual modules can be serially connected to one another or may be arranged to function in parallel to facilitate airflow, into, through, within, or out of their inlet or outlet port, structure, or the like, dependent on their individual function. The components are configured to operate as an inter-connected modular system enabling the modulation of the total cooling capacity (sensible plus latent) to meet variable loads and to adjust SHR to meet a variable latent ratio of a conditioned space … the said modules 502, 504, 506 are exchangeable to meet a desired airflow capacity requirement or enable performance matching with one or more internal or external compressor, inverter, condenser, valve, thermostatic valve, electronic expansion valve, fan, pump, heat pump, or the like components of an AC thermodynamic circuit [par. 0051]"). As such the technical features shared among the inventions are not special technical features and unity of invention is lacking a posteriori. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"a peripheral controller … to receive" and "a central control unit … to exchange signals" in claim 1; and
"a proximity receive, configured to receive" in claims 21 and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-22, 28, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benefield et al. [U.S. Pub. 2020/0056804] ("Benefield") in view of Rumler et al. [U.S. Pub. 2021/0359721] ("Rumler").
With regard to claim 20, Benefield teaches air handling unit, AHU ("HVAC system [par. 0047]"), comprising:
a plurality of modules ("modular HVAC system comprising one or more air inlet, inlet damper, air filtration module, air purification module, air freshener module, dehumidifying coil, dehumidifying coil damper, cooling coil, coil damper, bypass air damper, blower module, air outlet, and a control cabinet [par. 0046]"), each of which includes:
a sensor, configured to detect values of a physical property and generate a control signal, and/or an actuator, configured to perform air handling operations ("the said modules 502, 504, 506 contain sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller [par. 0051]");
a peripheral controller, connected to the sensor, to receive the control signal, and to the actuator, to control it through a command signal ("the said modules 502, 504, 506 contain sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller [par. 0051]"),
the modules of the plurality of modules are operatively interconnected according to a predetermined layout ("The individual modules can be serially connected to one another or may be arranged to function in parallel to facilitate airflow, into, through, within, or out of their inlet or outlet port, structure, or the like, dependent on their individual function. The components are configured to operate as an inter-connected modular system enabling the modulation of the total cooling capacity (sensible plus latent) to meet variable loads and to adjust SHR to meet a variable latent ratio of a conditioned space … the said modules 502, 504, 506 are exchangeable to meet a desired airflow capacity requirement or enable performance matching with one or more internal or external compressor, inverter, condenser, valve, thermostatic valve, electronic expansion valve, fan, pump, heat pump, or the like components of an AC thermodynamic circuit [par. 0051]"); and
wherein each peripheral controller of the modules of the plurality of modules is configured to control ("the said modules 502, 504, 506 contain sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller. In various embodiment, the dehumidification coil and damper of module 502 operate together under feedback control enabling variable damper position, angle, rotation, to control volumetric airflow over the dehumidification coil. In various embodiment, the cooling coil and damper of module 504 operate together under feedback control enabling variable damper position, angle, rotation, to control volumetric airflow over the cooling coil. In various embodiment, the air bypass damper of module 506 operates under feedback control enabling variable damper position, angle, rotation, to control volumetric airflow over the air bypass space/volume [par. 0051]"), according to the predetermined layout ("The individual modules can be serially connected to one another or may be arranged to function in parallel to facilitate airflow, into, through, within, or out of their inlet or outlet port, structure, or the like, dependent on their individual function. The components are configured to operate as an inter-connected modular system enabling the modulation of the total cooling capacity (sensible plus latent) to meet variable loads and to adjust SHR to meet a variable latent ratio of a conditioned space [par. 0051]").
Although Benefield, in an embodiment, teaches a central control unit, in communication with a peripheral controller, to exchange signals with each peripheral controller ("Master controller 702 may coordinate the operation of one or more external components 722, through a local controller 724 [par. 0058]"),
Benefield does not explicitly teach the central control unit, in communication with each peripheral controller.
In the same field of endeavor (HVAC control) Rumler teaches a central control unit, in communication with each peripheral controller (see [fig. 3] where controller 100 is in communication with actuators 102-106, each actuator having a peripheral controller, e.g., processing circuit in [fig. 4]).
Because Benefield teaches where sensor and actuators can by controller by one or more controllers [par. 0012], including a master controller [par. 0058], and further teaches, "It should be appreciated by those skilled in the art that the conception and the disclosed specific methods and structures may be readily utilized as a basis for modifying or designing other structures for carrying out the same purposes of the present invention. It should be realized by those skilled in the art that such equivalent structures do not depart from the spirit and scope of the invention as set forth in the appended claims [par. 0031]," it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified Benefield's teachings, to include a central control unit in communication with each peripheral controller as taught by Rumler, since the modification would predictably use the controllers according to their established functions to yield the predictable result of being able to operate the respective module while communicating with the central controller.
Although Benefield teaches each peripheral controller of the modules of the plurality of modules controls the sensor and/or actuator which is connected to the corresponding peripheral controller (as presented above), Benefield does not explicitly teach wherein each peripheral controller of the modules of the plurality of modules is programmable, with the possibility of varying a control logic, in response to the sensor and/or the actuator which is connected to the corresponding peripheral controller.
Rumler in the combination teaches wherein each peripheral controller ("Processing circuit 1104 can be configured to operate transducer 1102 [par. 0157]") of modules of a plurality of modules ("Actuators 102-106 can be any actuators of HVAC system 20 [par. 0088]") is programmable, with a possibility of varying a control logic, in response to a sensor and/or an actuator which is connected to the corresponding peripheral controller ("Control logic 1122 can include one or more control programs that are used by processing circuit 1104 to operate transducer 1102. The control program can include logic for operating transducer 1102 based on variable configuration parameters (e.g., configuration parameters 1128) that are separate from the control program [par. 0159]" and "Model identification parameters 1126 can identify a particular actuator model and/or define configuration settings for a specific actuator model. Processing circuit 1104 can use model identification parameters 1126 to operate transducer 1102 according to configuration settings and/or control logic specific to the actuator model identified by model identification parameters 1126 [par. 0160]" and "Data communicated via wireless transceiver 1112 can include firmware data 1120, control logic data 1122, hyperlinks 1124, model identification parameters 1126, configuration parameters 1128, master-slave detection logic or signals, diagnostics logic or results 1134, log data 1136, device identifiers (e.g., serial numbers, MAC addresses, etc.), or any other type of information used by actuator 1100 and/or stored in memory 1108 [par. 0168]").
Rumler further teaches, "the actuator can be constructed and packaged as a generic actuator (e.g., without firmware data, control logic, and/or configuration parameters) and subsequently configured with suitable firmware, software, configuration parameters, or other data specific to a particular actuator model and/or implementation [par. 0178]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Rumler's teachings of programmable peripheral controllers, with the teachings of Benefield, for the benefit of simplifying the construction and packaging step when creating the modules, allowing the modules to be programmed at the job site.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 21, the combination above teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 20. Rumler in the combination further teaches wherein each module of the plurality of modules includes a proximity receiver ("wireless transceiver 1112 [par. 0165]"), configured to receive control data representative of the control logic, to program the peripheral controller ("Data communicated via wireless transceiver 1112 can include firmware data 1120, control logic data 1122, hyperlinks 1124, model identification parameters 1126, configuration parameters 1128, master-slave detection logic or signals, diagnostics logic or results 1134, log data 1136, device identifiers (e.g., serial numbers, MAC addresses, etc.), or any other type of information used by actuator 1100 and/or stored in memory 1108 [par. 0168]") by means of a near-field communication, NFC, technology ("Wireless transceiver 1112 can utilize any of a variety of wireless technologies and/or communications protocols for wireless data communications. For example, wireless transceiver 1112 can use near field communications (NFC) [par. 0169]").
Rumler further teaches, "This allows the actuator to send and receive data in the event that physical access to the actuator is limited. For example, the actuator can be installed in a location that is not readily accessible by a user or service technician [par. 0073]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Rumler's teachings of NFC, with the teachings of Benefield, for the benefit of communicating with a module even if the module is in a location that is not readily accessible by a user.
With regard to claim 22, the combination above teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 20. Benefield in the combination further teaches wherein each module of said plurality comprises a control container, including an external casing, delimiting an internal volume, and wherein each peripheral controller is housed in the internal volume ("the said dehumidifying coil and dehumidifying coil damper are contained and operate together within an insertable-removable module [par. 0046]" and "the said modules 502, 504, 506 contain sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller [par. 0051]" and [fig. 5]).
With regard to claim 28, the combination above teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 20. Benefield in the combination further teaches wherein the physical property detected by the sensor comprises one or more of the following physical parameters:
temperature; pressure; degree of humidity ("the dehumidification module contains sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) [par. 0018]"), and
wherein the actuator of the modules of said plurality of modules is configured to perform one or more of the following operations:
forced air circulation from the outside to the inside of the operating space;
forced air circulation from inside and expelled outside the operating space;
heat exchange for cooling or heating air ("The adaptive or interchangeable components include, but not limited to one or more said, outside air inlet, outside air inlet damper, return air inlet, air filtration module, air freshener module, dehumidification module, cooling module, blower module, air outlet [par. 0020]").
Note: claim is presented the alternative.
With regard to claim 29, the combination above teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 20. Benefield in the combination further teaches wherein the control signals are, at least in part, digital signals and/or analogic signals (" said HVAC system incorporates analog or digital circuits to enable variable speed, linear or rotation, operation of actuators, motors, or inverters [par. 0023]").
Note claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 31, the combination above teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 20, wherein all the peripheral controllers include the same number of connections ("Actuators 102-106 can have the same or similar internal processing components (e.g., a processing circuit having a processor, memory, and memory modules) [par. 0089]").
Claims 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benefield in view of Rumler further in view of Hillyard et al. [U.S. Pub. 2003/0002253] ("Hillyard").
With regard to claim 24, the combination of Benefield and Rumler teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 22.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein each peripheral controller comprises an indicator light, representative of an operating status of the corresponding module, and wherein the indicator light of the respective peripheral controller is visible from the outside.
In the same field of endeavor (status indication), Hillyard teaches where a device comprises an indicator light, representative of an operating status of a corresponding module, and wherein the indicator light of the device is visible from the outside ("the front surface 108 of the server chassis 100 contains a series of openings 102 that allow for visual inspection of a server computer module, power supply, communications hub, or other server component contained within the server chassis 100, including the visual inspection of any status lights or indicators on the server component that may be visible through the openings 102 [par. 0019]").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included an indicator light as taught by Hillyard, on the peripheral controller as taught by Benefield, for the benefit of allowing a user to see the status of components within the module.
With regard to claim 26, the combination of Benefield and Rumler teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 22.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the control container includes an inspection opening, the inspection opening being open to the internal volume of the control container.
In the same field of endeavor (status indication), Hillyard teaches wherein a control container includes an inspection opening, the inspection opening being open to the internal volume of the control container ("the front surface 108 of the server chassis 100 contains a series of openings 102 that allow for visual inspection of a server computer module, power supply, communications hub, or other server component contained within the server chassis 100, including the visual inspection of any status lights or indicators on the server component that may be visible through the openings 102 [par. 0019]").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included an inspection opening as taught by Hillyard, on the control container as taught by Benefield, for the benefit of allowing a user to see the status of components within the module.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benefield in view of Rumler further in view of Nardin et al. [U.S. Pub. 2020/0259446] ("Nardin").
With regard to claim 25, the combination of Benefield and Rumler teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 22. Rumler in the combination further teaches wherein each peripheral controller comprises a proximity receiver ("wireless transceiver 1112 [par. 0165]"), configured to receive data by means of a near-field communication, NFC, technology ("Wireless transceiver 1112 can utilize any of a variety of wireless technologies and/or communications protocols for wireless data communications. For example, wireless transceiver 1112 can use near field communications (NFC) [par. 0169]").
Rumler further teaches, "This allows the actuator to send and receive data in the event that physical access to the actuator is limited. For example, the actuator can be installed in a location that is not readily accessible by a user or service technician [par. 0073]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Rumler's teachings of NFC, with the teachings of Benefield, for the benefit of communicating with a module even if the module is in a location that is not readily accessible by a user.
Although Rumler teaches an antenna for the NFC chip [par. 0197], the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the proximity receiver is arranged on an external surface of the respective control container.
In the same field of endeavor (NFC signals), Nardin teaches wherein a proximity receiver is arranged on an external surface of a respective control container ("NFC antenna [par. 0007]" and "antenna 14 is positioned anywhere exterior to motor assembly 18, including any positions interior or exterior of housing 12 [par. 0022]").
Nardin further teaches, "Some known radio-based communications systems have a limited range. For example, NFC components' magnetic fields generally have a very limited range, usually no more than 10 centimeters. However, electronic controls are typically positioned in the motor housing such that the antenna signal from the antenna incorporated in the electronic controls would not reach the exterior of the housing. Additionally, the typical metal enclosure interferes with the signal [par. 0006]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have included Nardin's teachings of placing an antenna on an external surface, with the teachings of Benefield, for the benefit of providing adequate communication range for the NFC transceiver.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benefield in view of Rumler further in view of West et al. [U.S. Pub. 2015/0222541] ("West").
With regard to claim 27, the combination of Benefield and Rumler teaches the air handling unit, AHU, according to claim 20. Rumler in the combination further teaches wherein the central control unit is connected to at least one peripheral controller ("input data connection 108 of actuator 102 is connected (e.g., via communications bus 124) to output data connection 120 of controller 100 [par. 0090]").
Rumler does not explicitly teach a power cable to electrically feed the corresponding module and the signal cable defining a ModBus connection.
In the same field of endeavor (control communication), West teaches a power cable to electrically feed the corresponding module ("AC power 46 is delivered to the peripheral devices 52, 54 through the power 56 of the controller 20 [par. 0043]") and a signal cable defining a ModBus connection ("the controller may communicate with the plurality of network elements according to any one of a number of network protocols such as MODBUS RTU over serial RS-232, MODBUS RTU over serial RS-485, CAN, LIN, or Profibus [par. 0011]").
West further teaches, "Embodiments of the invention address this need in the art by providing communications between the probes 38 and the controller 20 without requiring direct wiring of probes 38 to the controller 20, thus freeing up valuable space for other typical inputs. As seen in the schematic diagram in FIG. 5, embodiments of the invention employ a network 64 to communicate with the probes. Some embodiments utilize an open source client/server architecture such as MODBUS RTU over serial RS-232 or RS-485 communications protocol [par. 0048]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have utilized a ModBus connection as taught by West, as the data connection taught by Rumer, for the benefit of conforming to a well known industry protocol while avoiding requiring the need to individually wire components to a controller.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have supplied power to the modules with a cable via the controller as taught by West, because in having done so would have predictably allowed the modules to receive power without having to go directly through a power source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 30, and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Benefield et al. [U.S. Pub. 2020/0056804] teaches a self-contained, integrated, modular HVAC system includes a plurality of adaptive or interchangeable components or swappable modules interconnected to enable the modulation of total airflow and total cooling capacity (sensible plus latent) to meet variable loads, and adjust a sensible heat ratio (SHR) to meet a variable latent ratio of a conditioned space. The components comprise one or more air inlet, damper, inlet damper, air filtration module, air purification module, air freshener module, dehumidifying module, cooling module, air bypass module, blower module, air outlet, I/O panel, and a control cabinet. The components have sensors and actuators that allows a programmable control system to coordinate diagnostics and operations of internal and external components of a refrigeration/heating cycle using various feedback control logics.
Rumler et al. [U.S. Pub. 2021/0359721] teaches where a sensor in a building HVAC system includes a transducer configured to measure a variable in the building HVAC system and to generate a sensor reading indicating a value of the measured variable. The sensor includes a communications interface configured to provide the sensor reading to a control device in the building HVAC system and a near field communication (NFC) circuit separate from the communications interface. The NFC circuit is configured to facilitate bidirectional NFC data communications between the sensor and a mobile device.
Noboa et al. [U.S. Pub. 2018/0224144] teaches a chilled water plant includes a communications bus, chilled water plant devices connected to the communications bus, and a chiller device connected to the communications bus. The chiller device is configured to detect the chilled water plant devices connected to the communications bus during a commissioning process, determine device status modules based at least in part on a type of each of the chilled water plant devices, control an operation of the chilled water plant, and display a user interface containing the device status modules.
DeLoach et al. [U.S. Pat. 11,187,418] teaches where an HVAC unit includes separate modular units, e.g. an evaporator module unit, a mechanical module unit, and a condenser module unit, that are mounted and interconnected to each other. The HVAC system includes vertically oriented HVAC components and component connections that are self-aligned, and can be further configured with a horizontal configuration portion for multi-zone capability.
Stewart et al. [U.S. Pub. 2011/0237177] teaches where an air handling unit has a first modular cabinet comprising a first profile, a second modular cabinet comprising a second profile that is complementary to the first profile, and the first profile comprises an alignment feature. An air handling unit has a heat exchanger cabinet comprising a first profile, a blower cabinet comprising a second profile complementary to the first profile, a first connector system disposed at least partially on each of the heat exchanger cabinet and the blower cabinet, and the first connector system is operable to releasably secure the first profile to the second profile.
Jacobi [U.S. Pub. 2018/0142935] teaches a racked modular system for heating and/or cooling requirements includes a first plurality of equipment modules, a second plurality of equipment modules, a first storage rack and a second storage rack. The first storage rack is constructed and arranged to receive the first plurality of equipment modules. The second storage rack is constructed and arranged to receive the second plurality of equipment modules.
The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest, alone or in combination,
wherein each control container comprises a respective cover, configured to divide the internal volume into a first volume and a second volume, and a respective plurality of connectors, for connecting the peripheral controller to the respective sensor and/or the respective actuator, and wherein the first volume houses the peripheral controller and the second volume houses the plurality of connectors recited by claim 23,
wherein each peripheral controller is configured so that it can be placed in any position of the predetermined layout and is configured to be programmed depending on the predetermined layout position in which it is installed recited by claim 30, and
wherein the peripheral controller controls the respective sensors and actuators according to the control logic, the control logic being installed in the peripherical controller and being updateable based on the sensor and/or on the actuator which are connected to the correspondent peripheral controller, responsive to a location of the respective module within the predetermined layout recited in claim 32, in combination with the limitations of base claim 20 and the limitations of any intervening claim.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WEN-LIANG CHANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119