DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments in the Request for Continued Examination, filed March 17, 2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramos et al. (WO 2019/072831, Apr. 18, 2019) (hereinafter Ramos) in view of Aubrun et al. (WO 2013/013902, Jan. 21, 2013) (hereinafter Aubrun).
Ramos discloses a cosmetic method for the treatment of human perspiration and optionally body odors resulting from the perspiration, that includes the use of at least one cation Xn+ of valency n, of at least one anion Ym- of valency m and at least one modulating agent (Abstract). The method includes (i) either the mixing just before use of at least one composition A and of at least one composition B; said compositions A and B being packaged separately followed by the application of the resulting mixture on the surface of the skin; (ii) or the application on the surface of the skin simultaneously or sequentially of at least one composition A and of at least one composition B packaged separately; (iii) or the application on the surface of the skin of a composition comprising in the same support at least one composition A and of at least one composition B; said composition A comprising in a cosmetically acceptable medium at least one cation Xn+ of valency n; said composition B comprising in a cosmetically acceptable medium at least one anion Ym- of valency m; the mixture of said composition A with said composition B comprising in addition at least one modulating agent (satisfies steps of claim 1) (pg. 1, line 10-25). When the cation Xn+ of valency n, the anion Ym- of valency m and the modulating agent are formulated in an anhydrous medium, they can be present within the same composition (i.e. a single composition). Alternatively, they can be formulated in two different compositions, one comprising the cation Xn+ of valency n (composition A), and the other comprising the anion Ym- of valency m (composition B). The modulating agent can however be present in the composition A and/or in the composition B (satisfies claim 2-5) (pg. 3, line 6-12). The cation Xn+ is preferably magnesium (pg. 5, line 5-6). Preferably, the composition A comprises at least one cation Xn+ of valency n in a content between 1 % and 25% by weight of the total weight of the composition (satisfies claim 9) (pg. 6, line 18-20). The anion Ym- is preferably phosphate (pg. 6, line 39-41). The anions are introduced into the composition in the form of water soluble salts (pg. 5, line 48-50). Preferably, the anion Ym- will be introduced in the form of an alkali metal salt, in particular potassium salt (pg. 7, line 18-19). The molar ratio between the cation Xn+ and the anion Ym- is more preferably from 4:1 to 1:4 (satisfies ratio of claim 1) (pg. 7, line 26-27). Preferably, the composition comprises at least one anion Ym- of valency n in a content between 0.5% and 30% by weight of the total weight of the composition (satisfies claim 10) (pg. 7, line 37-42). The modulating agent can be chosen from: - mono or polycarboxylic acids, optionally hydroxylated, in free or salified form; - amino carboxylic acids in free or salified form such as aspartic acid, glutamic acid, serine, alanine, dehydroalanine and the oligomers thereof, iminosuccinic acid and the derivatives thereof, ethylene diamine tetraacetic acid; - monosaccharides, oligosaccharides, polysaccharides and the derivatives thereof; - ascorbic acid; - phytic acid; - polymers or copolymers of carboxylic acids in free or salified form; - polymers or copolymers of amino carboxylic acids in free or salified form; - polymers or copolymers of maleic or itaconic acid; - polymers or copolymers of carboxymethylinulin (satisfies claim 11) (pg. 8, line 19-47). Preferably, the compositions A and/or B (or the ready-to-use composition or the single anhydrous composition) comprise less than 5% by weight of aluminum salt (satisfies claim 12) (pg. 13, line 38-39). Magnesium oxide was used in Inventive Composition B4-3 (pg. 40, line 20-25).
Ramos differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the water-soluble phosphate acid salt is potassium dihydrogen phosphate.
However, Aubrun teaches a method for the treatment of human perspiration which utilizes a composition A' comprising at least one polyvalent cation salt and a composition B' comprising at least one anion salt (Abstract). A preferably used polyvalent cation present in composition A' is magnesium (pg. 5, line 20-25). Preferably used anions in the salt present in the composition B' include phosphate and the salt will preferably be made of an alkali metal salt, in particular potassium salt (pg. 6, line 30-45). Preferred salts include NaH2PO4 and KH2PO4 (i.e., potassium dihydrogen phosphate) (pg. 7, line 1).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Ramos discloses wherein the composition comprises an alkali metal salt, in particular a potassium salt, as the anion Ym-. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Ramos to comprise KH2PO4 as the anion Ym-, since it is a known alkali metal salt, in particular a potassium salt, used as an anion for use in a composition comprising a polyvalent cation such as magnesium and an anion, to be utilized in a method for the treatment of human perspiration as taught by Aubrun.
Alternatively, it is obvious to replace one component for another equivalent component if it is recognized in the art that the two components are equivalent and is not based on the Applicant disclosure. See MPEP 2144.06. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the composition of Ramos to contain KH2PO4 in place of NaH2PO4 because they are taught as equivalents by Aubrun.
Regarding claim 1 reciting wherein compositions A and B are devoid of chloride, Ramos in view of Aubrun does not require the presence of chloride. Ramos in view of Aubrun merely requires the use of at least one cation Xn+ of valency n, of at least one anion Ym- of valency m and at least one modulating agent (Abstract). Accordingly, a composition A and B being devoid of chloride would have been obvious.
Regarding the ratio between the water-soluble phosphate acid salt and magnesium oxide recited in instant claim 1, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, Ramos in view of Aubrun disclose that the molar ratio between the cation Xn+ (i.e., magnesium oxide) and the anion Ym- (i.e., KH2PO4) is more preferably from 4:1 to 1:4. Accordingly, because the ratio recited in the instant claims lies inside the range disclosed by Ramos in view of Aubrun, the range disclosed by Ramos in view of Aubrun meets the instantly recited limitation.
Regarding the amounts of magnesium oxide and water-soluble phosphate acid salt recited in instant claims 9-10, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the composition of Ramos in view of Aubrun preferably comprises the cation Xn+ (i.e., magnesium oxide) in a content between 1 % and 25% and the anion Ym- (i.e., KH2PO4) in a content between 0.5% and 30% by weight of the total weight of the composition. Accordingly, because the ranges recited in the instant claims overlap with the ranges disclosed by Ramos in view of Aubrun, the ranges disclosed by Ramos in view of Aubrun meet the instantly recited limitations.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Ramos and Aubrun render obvious claims 1-5 and 9-12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Ramos preferably uses disodium hydrogen phosphate, the Examiner submits that a reference is relied upon for all it teaches and suggests, even non-preferred embodiments. See MPEP § 2141.02 (VI). Ramos discloses wherein the composition the anion Ym- will be introduced in the form of an alkali metal salt, in particular potassium salt and Aubrun discloses wherein KH2PO4 since it is a known alkali metal salt, in particular a potassium salt, used as an anion for use in a composition comprising a polyvalent cation such as magnesium and an anion, to be utilized in a method for the treatment of human perspiration. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized potassium dihydrogen phosphate in the composition. Assuming, purely arguendo, that this were not the case, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the composition of Ramos to contain KH2PO4 in place of NaH2PO4 because they are taught as equivalents by Aubrun.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to the molar ratio claimed, the Examiner again points to the fact that a reference is relied upon for all it teaches and suggests, even non-preferred embodiments. See MPEP § 2141.02 (VI). Ramos in view of Aubrun disclose that the molar ratio between the cation Xn+ (i.e., magnesium oxide) and the anion Ym- (i.e., KH2PO4) is more preferably from 4:1 to 1:4. The claimed ratio lies within the range disclosed by Ramos in view of Aubrun and would, therefore, be obvious.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that composition B4-3 was used in combination with composition A16, the Examiner points to the fact that Ramos merely discloses that composition “A16 was tested with compositions B4-2, B4-3 or B4-4 below”. Ramos doesn’t disclose wherein this is a specific combination that is used, or preferentially used etc. Furthermore, as discussed above, Ramos in view of Aubrun does not require the presence of chloride. Ramos in view of Aubrun requires the use of at least one cation Xn+ of valency n, of at least one anion Ym- of valency m and at least one modulating agent (Abstract). Accordingly, a composition A and B being devoid of chloride would have been obvious.
Regarding allegations of unexpected results, any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some difference in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. The burden is on applicant to establish that the results are in fact really unexpected and of statistical and practical significance. Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992). See also MPEP § 716.02. Applicant does not appear to have discussed same with respect to objective data. Applicant’s findings do not appear unexpected. For instance, the test product that contained magnesium oxide on its own performed just as well as one of the inventive samples and outperformed the other inventive sample. Additionally, when the KH2PO4 was used on its own it provided no deodorant activity whatsoever and performed like the control. The results presented in Example 3 demonstrate what appears to be a predictable decrease in deodorant activity as the proportion of KH2PO4 increases, which appears to be consistent with the continued dilution of the apparent effective component, which is MgO. Accordingly, one cannot conclusively point to the molar ratio as the factor contributing to the deodorant activity and it is unclear if the findings are indeed “unexpected”.
Furthermore, the Examiner notes that odor intensity perception is an inherently subjective analysis which can be influenced by many factors such as measurement methodology, individual sensitivity, tester/assessor fatigue, and environmental conditions. As such, intensity ratings such as the ones presented are subject to significant variability and one of ordinary skill in the art shouldn’t assume they represent an absolute or reproducible effect.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Ramos does not recognize the molar ratio as a result effective variable, the Examiner submits that the rejection with respect to the molar ratio is based on the fact that the art discloses a ratio range where the claimed ratio range lies inside the disclosed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(A). It is understood that a component must be a result effective variable in order to make a routine optimization argument. However, this is not the basis of the argument of record. The basis of the argument of record is that the claimed weight ratio would have been obvious from one selecting a ratio from the range disclosed by the prior art and arriving at a weight ratio range that overlaps with the claimed range.
Regarding Applicant’s about the use of the Aubrun reference, the Examiner submits that Aubrun cures any alleged deficiencies of Ramos where Aubrun teaches that KH2PO4 is a known alkali metal salt, in particular a potassium salt, used as an anion for use in a composition comprising a polyvalent cation such as magnesium and an anion, to be utilized in a method for the treatment of human perspiration.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Aubrun preferably uses NaHCO3, the Examiner submits that a reference is relied upon for all it teaches and suggests, even non-preferred embodiments. See MPEP § 2141.02 (VI). Ramos discloses the composition wherein the anion Ym- will be introduced in the form of an alkali metal salt, in particular potassium salt and Aubrun discloses wherein KH2PO4 since it is a known alkali metal salt, in particular a potassium salt, used as an anion for use in a composition comprising a polyvalent cation such as magnesium and an anion, to be utilized in a method for the treatment of human perspiration. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized potassium dihydrogen phosphate in the composition. Assuming, purely arguendo, that this were not the case, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the composition of Ramos to contain KH2PO4 in place of NaH2PO4 because they are taught as equivalents by Aubrun.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the Examiner’s conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). As discussed above, where Aubrun discloses that KH2PO4 is a suitable alkali metal salt/potassium salts for use in a composition comprising a polyvalent cation such as magnesium and an anion, to be utilized in a method for the treatment of human perspiration and/or wherein they disclose it is an equivalent to NaH2PO4, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art ordinary skill in the art to have used KH2PO4 in the composition of Ramos. Accordingly, no improper hindsight was used in the conclusion of obviousness in the rejection of record.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Ramos and Aubrun share an inventor, the Examiner submits that the fact that the two prior art references share an inventor does not negate the fact that Aubrun does unambiguously disclose that KH2PO4 is a known alkali metal salt used as an anion for use in a composition comprising a polyvalent cation such as magnesium and an anion, to be utilized in a method for the treatment of human perspiration within the four corners of its disclosure.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to the unpredictability of the art, the Examiner submits that obviousness does not require absolute predictability, and conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.02. Aubrun provides strong motivation to incorporate KH2PO4 where they disclose that it is a known alkali metal salt used as an anion for use in a composition comprising a polyvalent cation such as magnesium and an anion, to be utilized in a method for the treatment of human perspiration. Furthermore, Aubrun does not teach away from using KH2PO4 in such compositions but rather discloses it as a preferable salt. As such, in light of the Aubrun disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been sufficiently motivated to formulate Ramos’s composition to comprise KH2PO4 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 and 9-12 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/LEZAH ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612