DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues
Examiner does not find this persuasive because Lin refers to the polyamide as a curing agent. Lin contemplates that the nylon 4T is reactive, not merely coextruded.
Applicant argues
Examiner does not find this persuasive because the claim requires a product of the reaction of PAEK crosslinked with polyamide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In reference to claim 1, there is no support for the limitation
the specification provides a range of polyamide chain lengths / polyamide species, the amendment limits the chain lengths / polyamide species without commensurate support from the specification and amounts to an arbitrary selection that lacks explicit or implied support.
Note: Claims 2-29 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 109251468 A) in view of CN317 (CN110684317A, of record by applicant, translation made of record herein).
In reference to claim 1, Li discloses molding from a matrix obtained from a reaction of a polyaryletherketone (PAEK) with at least one crosslinker capable of thermal crosslinking with keto groups of the PAEK to form at least two imine groups per crosslinker molecule, the crosslinker being selected from: polyamides (“18 pts. wt. polyetheretherketone, …6 pts. wt. curing agent. …The curing agent is prepared by mixing an aliphatic curing agent and a polyamide curing agent in a ratio of 2:3:1.”. Li describes the material being useful for additive manufacturing. This reads on a molding.)
Li does not disclose the polyamide is a long chain polyamides crosslinked with PAEK (e.g., “polyamides, which are selected from PA 4.T, PA 5.T, PA 6.T, PA 9.T, PA 8.T, PA 10.T, PA 12.T, PA 6.1, PA 8.1. PA 9.1, PA 10.1, PA 12.1, PA 6.T/6, PA 6.T/10, 6.T/12, PA 6.T/6.I. PA 6.T/8.T, PA 6.T/9.T, PA 6.T/10.T, PA 6.T/12.T, PA 12.T/6.T. PA 6.T/6.I/6, PA 6.T/6.I/12, PA 6.T/6.1/6.10, PA 6.T/6.I/6.12, PA 6.T/6.6, PA 6.T/6.10, PA 6.T/6.12, PA 10.T/6, PA 10.T/11, PA 10.T/12, PA 8.T/6.T, PA 8.T/66, PA 8.T/8.I, PA 8.T/8.6, PA 8.T/6.1, PA 10.T/6.T, PA 10.T/6.6, PA 10.T/10.I, PA 10.T/10.1/6.T, PA 10.T/6.1. PA 4.T/4.I/46, PA 4.T/4.I/6.6, PA 5.T/5.I, PA 5.T/5.I/5.6, PA 5.T/5.I/6.6, PA 6.T/6.I/6.6, PA MXDA.6. PA 6.T/IPDA.T, PA 6.T/MACM.T, PA T/PACM.T, PA 6.T/MXDA.T, PA 6.T/6.I/8.T/8.I,PA 6.T/6.1/10.T/10.1,PA 6.T/6.I/PDA.T/IPDA.I.PA 6.T/6.I/MXDA.T/MXDA.I PA 6.T/6.I/MACM.T/MACM.I, PA 6.T/6.I/PACM.T/PACM.I, A 6.T/10.T/IPDA.T, PA 6.T/12.T/IPDA.T, PA 6.T/10.T/PACM.T, PA 6.T/12.T/PACM.T. PA 10.T/IPDA.T. PA 12.T/IPDA.T, PA 4.6, PA 6.6, PA 6.12, PA 6.10 and copolymers and mixtures thereof.”) and <10% crosslinker.
In the same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the particular problem faced by the inventor, cross-linked polyaryletherketones (abstact), CN317 discloses a similar material wherein the molecular chains of the polyether-ether-ketone and nylon 4T are crosslinked. Nylon 4T is a longchain polyamide and reads on the claimd polyamides. It is identical to PA4T and renders the group as a whole obvious.
CN317 explains that this allows that “an interpenetrating network structure is formed, and the normal-temperature impact resistance of the product is enhanced”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the molding to comprise long chain nylons at <10% as claimed and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claim 3, see claim 1 of Li (e.g., “aluminum nitride powder 1-2… titanium dioxide 0.2-0.4 %”)
Claim 1, 3-4, 23, 25, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shroff (US 20180051202) in view of CN317 (CN110684317A).
In reference to claim 1, Shroff discloses a matrix obtained from a reaction of a polyaryletherketone (PAEK) (“PEEK “ [Table 1]) with at least one crosslinker capable of thermal crosslinking with keto groups of the PAEK to form at least two imine groups per crosslinker molecule, the crosslinker being selected from: polyamides (“Examples of hardeners may include… polyamides” [P0015])
Shroff uses the matrix as a coating.
The term coating overlaps with a molding.
Alternatively, Shroff discloses forming a coated particle comprising, e.g., sand coated with the matrix.
Shroff does not disclose the polyamide is a long chain polyamides crosslinked with PAEK (e.g., “polyamides, which are selected from PA 4.T, PA 5.T, PA 6.T, PA 9.T, PA 8.T, PA 10.T, PA 12.T, PA 6.1, PA 8.1. PA 9.1, PA 10.1, PA 12.1, PA 6.T/6, PA 6.T/10, 6.T/12, PA 6.T/6.I. PA 6.T/8.T, PA 6.T/9.T, PA 6.T/10.T, PA 6.T/12.T, PA 12.T/6.T. PA 6.T/6.I/6, PA 6.T/6.I/12, PA 6.T/6.1/6.10, PA 6.T/6.I/6.12, PA 6.T/6.6, PA 6.T/6.10, PA 6.T/6.12, PA 10.T/6, PA 10.T/11, PA 10.T/12, PA 8.T/6.T, PA 8.T/66, PA 8.T/8.I, PA 8.T/8.6, PA 8.T/6.1, PA 10.T/6.T, PA 10.T/6.6, PA 10.T/10.I, PA 10.T/10.1/6.T, PA 10.T/6.1. PA 4.T/4.I/46, PA 4.T/4.I/6.6, PA 5.T/5.I, PA 5.T/5.I/5.6, PA 5.T/5.I/6.6, PA 6.T/6.I/6.6, PA MXDA.6. PA 6.T/IPDA.T, PA 6.T/MACM.T, PA T/PACM.T, PA 6.T/MXDA.T, PA 6.T/6.I/8.T/8.I,PA 6.T/6.1/10.T/10.1,PA 6.T/6.I/PDA.T/IPDA.I.PA 6.T/6.I/MXDA.T/MXDA.I PA 6.T/6.I/MACM.T/MACM.I, PA 6.T/6.I/PACM.T/PACM.I, A 6.T/10.T/IPDA.T, PA 6.T/12.T/IPDA.T, PA 6.T/10.T/PACM.T, PA 6.T/12.T/PACM.T. PA 10.T/IPDA.T. PA 12.T/IPDA.T, PA 4.6, PA 6.6, PA 6.12, PA 6.10 and copolymers and mixtures thereof.”) and <10% crosslinker.
In the same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the particular problem faced by the inventor, cross-linked polyaryletherketones (abstact), CN317 discloses a similar material wherein the molecular chains of the polyether-ether-ketone and nylon 4T are crosslinked. Nylon 4T is a longchain polyamide and reads on the claimd polyamides. It is identical to PA4T and renders the group as a whole obvious.
CN317 explains that this allows that “an interpenetrating network structure is formed, and the normal-temperature impact resistance of the product is enhanced”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the molding to comprise long chain nylons at <10% as claimed and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
In reference to claim 3, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Shroff disclose a coated particle comprising, e.g., sand coated with the matrix. Sand reads on a filling agent.
In reference to claim 4, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Shroff disclose a coated particle. This reads on a coating.
In reference to claim 23, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Shroff describes the invention being for oil and gas.
In reference to claim 25, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See paragraph 15 of Shroff. CN317 indicates that crosslinking PAEK and nylon together forms an improved product. Optimizing the amounts of each ingredient is obvious.
In reference to claim 29, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See table 1 of Shroff (“PEEK “ [Table 1]).
Conclusion
US 20170218115 A1 discloses a “polyamide curing agent composition, i.e., the reaction product of the amine component and the dimer fatty acid component”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744