DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26, 27, 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 109251468 A).
In reference to claim 1, Li discloses molding from a matrix obtained from a reaction of a polyaryletherketone (PAEK) with at least one crosslinker capable of thermal crosslinking with keto groups of the PAEK to form at least two imine groups per crosslinker molecule, the crosslinker being selected from: polyamides (“18 pts. wt. polyetheretherketone, …6 pts. wt. curing agent. …The curing agent is prepared by mixing an aliphatic curing agent and a polyamide curing agent in a ratio of 2:3:1.”. Li describes the material being useful for additive manufacturing. This reads on a molding.)
The cited prior art does not specifically disclose that the structure has the property of being formed by a particular mixture (i.e., polyamide reacting with keto groups on PAEK to form crosslinks). However, the cited prior art teaches an identical or substantially identical structure as claimed (e.g., reaction product of a mixture containing a polyamide crosslinker and a PAEK).
In reference to claim 3, see claim 1 of Li (e.g., “aluminum nitride powder 1-2… titanium dioxide 0.2-0.4 %”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-4, 23, 25, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shroff (US 20180051202)
In reference to claim 1, Shroff discloses a matrix obtained from a reaction of a polyaryletherketone (PAEK) (“PEEK “ [Table 1]) with at least one crosslinker capable of thermal crosslinking with keto groups of the PAEK to form at least two imine groups per crosslinker molecule, the crosslinker being selected from: polyamides (“Examples of hardeners may include… polyamides” [P0015])
Shroff uses the matrix as a coating.
The term coating overlaps with a molding.
Alternatively, Shroff discloses forming a coated particle comprising, e.g., sand coated with the matrix.
The cited prior art does not specifically disclose that the structure has the property of being formed by a particular mixture (i.e., polyamide reacting with keto groups on PAEK to form crosslinks). However, the cited prior art teaches an identical or substantially identical structure as claimed (e.g., reaction product of a mixture containing a polyamide crosslinker and a PAEK).
In reference to claim 3, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Shroff disclose a coated particle comprising, e.g., sand coated with the matrix. Sand reads on a filling agent.
In reference to claim 4, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Shroff disclose a coated particle. This reads on a coating.
In reference to claim 23, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Shroff describes the invention being for oil and gas.
In reference to claim 25, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See paragraph 15 of Shroff.
In reference to claim 29, the prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
See table 1 of Shroff (“PEEK “ [Table 1]).
Conclusion
US 20170218115 A1 discloses a “polyamide curing agent composition, i.e., the reaction product of the amine component and the dimer fatty acid component”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744