DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to a communication filed on 12/17/2025.
2. Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent.
3. The IDS submitted on 12/18/2025 has been considered.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered; however, they are not persuasive.
In responding to Applicant’s argument “Rodrigo does not disclose that at least one parameter is parsed” (Remarks p. 11), Examiners respectfully disagree. The limitation “the at least one parameter is parsed” means the at least one parameter is analyzed. Rodrigo discloses analyzing the discovery and selection parameters to select the suitable NF node [para. 7 and 12-13]. Thus, Rodrigo’s analyzing discovery and selection parameters reads on claim limitation “the at least one parameter is parsed” as recited in claim 1.
In responding to Applicant’s argument “Rodrigo, Rajput, and Zhao fail to disclose or suggest, at least, the service request further comprises at least one parameter for determining the second network function by the first service communication proxy, wherein the at least one parameter is parsed” (Remarks p. 12), Examiners respectfully disagree. Rodrigo also discloses the service request comprising information identifying the second NF node; therefore, Rodrigo’s service request comprising information identifying the second NF node is the same as “the service request further comprises at least one parameter for determining the second network function by the first service communication proxy” as recited in claim 15.
Accordingly, rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigo (US PG Pub. 2023/0188625) further in view of Rajput (US PG Pub. 2022/0182835).
As regarding claim 1, Rodrigo discloses An apparatus comprising:
at least one processor [para. 98 and 109]; and
at least one memory including computer program codes [para. 112 and 141];
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus [para. 112 and 141] to:
generate, at a first network function, a service request for requesting a service from a second network function, the service request comprising a header indicating scope information about the requested service [para. 12 and 128; initiating transmission of a service request comprising a HTTP header identifying the parameters to be used for discovery and selection], wherein the service request further comprises at least one parameter for determining the second network function by the first service communication proxy [FIG. 1D and para. 7, 12 and 16; the service request comprising information identifying the second NF node], wherein the at least one parameter is parsed [para. 7 and 12-13; analyzing the discovery and selection parameters to select the suitable NF node]; and
transmit the service request to a first service communication proxy serving the first network function [para. 12 and 128; transmitting the service request to a SCP].
Rodrigo does not explicitly disclose that the scope information indicates requested resources for the requested service and requested actions on the resources, further indicating at least one resource/operation-level scope defined by at least one service application programming interface; However, Rajput discloses it [para. 47-50; the requested scope including NF service names, requested resources and requested actions on the resources || para. 6 and 46-47; making a token request within home PLMN including performing topology hiding for all API messages].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Rodrigo’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Rajput, in order to specify the scope of the requested service.
As regarding claim 2, Rajput further discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the scope information further comprises: information indicating requested resources for the requested service and requested actions on the resources [para. 47-50; the requested scope including NF service names, requested resources and requested actions on the resources].
As regarding claim 3, Rodrigo further discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine the second network function prior to generating the service request [FIGS. 1B & 1C and para. 4, 6].
As regarding claim 5, Rodrigo further discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the first service communication proxy, a service response to the service request [para. 14, 31, 43; receiving a response from the SCP].
As regarding claim 6, Rodrigo does not explicitly disclose that the first network function and the first service communication proxy are in a first Public Land Mobile Network; and the second network function is in the first Public Land Mobile Network. However, Rajput discloses it [FIG. 1 and para. 6, 43 and 46; a consumer NF and a SCP are in a home PLMN and producer NF and a second SCP are on a foreign PLMN].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Rodrigo’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Rajput, in order to create a multiple PLMNs, each consisting of a group of network functions NFs serving a particular geographical region.
As regarding claim 7, Rajput further discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first network function and the first service communication proxy are in a first Public Land Mobile Network; and the second network function is in a second Public Land Mobile Network different from the first Public Land Mobile Network [Rajput FIG. 1 and para. 6, 43 and 46; a consumer NF and a SCP are in a home PLMN and producer NF and a second SCP are on a foreign PLMN].
As regarding claim 8, Rodrigo discloses An apparatus comprising:
at least one processor [para. 98 and 109]; and
at least one memory including computer program codes [para. 112 and 141];
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus [para. 112 and 141] to:
receive, at a first service communication proxy, a service request from a first network function for requesting a service from a second network function, the service request comprising a header indicating scope information about the requested service [para. 12 and 128; receiving, at a SCP from NFc, a service request comprising a HTTP header identifying the parameters to be used for discovery and selection of the NFp that provides the requested service]; the service request further comprises at least one parameter for determining the second network function by the first service communication proxy [FIG. 1D and para. 7, 12 and 16; the service request comprising information identifying the second NF node], wherein the at least one parameter is parsed [para. 7 and 12-13; analyzing the discovery and selection parameters to select the suitable NF node];
Rodrigo does not explicitly disclose that the scope information indicates requested resources for the requested service and requested actions on the resources, further indicating at least one resource/operation-level scope defined by at least one service application programming interface; However, Rajput discloses it [para. 47-50; the requested scope including NF service names, requested resources and requested actions on the resources || para. 6 and 46-47; making a token request within home PLMN including performing topology hiding for all API messages].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Rodrigo’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Rajput, in order to specify the scope of the requested service.
Rodrigo does not explicitly disclose obtain an access token for the service request based on the scope information. However, Rajput discloses it [para. 42 and 48; the SCP obtaining access tokens, on behalf of the NFc, based on the scope information];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Rodrigo’s SCP to further obtain an access token based on the scope information, as disclosed by Rajput, in order to specify the scope of the requested service.
Rodrigo and Rajput further disclose transmit the service request and the access token to a second service communication proxy serving the second network function [Rodrigo para. 127-129; transmitting a service request to a second SCP || Rajput para. 50; sending a service request including the obtained access token].
As regarding claim 9, Rajput further discloses The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the scope information comprises: information indicating a service name of the requested service [Rajput para. 47-50; the requested scope including service names, requested resources and requested actions on the resources].
As regarding claim 10, Rodrigo further discloses The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the service request further comprises at least one parameter for determining the second network function by the first service communication proxy, and the apparatus is further caused to: in response to receiving the service request, determine the second network function based on the at least one parameter [Rodrigo FIG. 1D and para. 7 and 16].
As regarding claim 11, Rajput further discloses The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: transmit a request for the access token to a network function repository function, the request comprising the scope information; and receive a response to the request from the network function repository function, the response comprising the access token [Rajput para. 42 and 47-48; the SCP obtaining access tokens, on behalf of the NFc, based on the scope information sent with the service request].
As regarding claim 12, Rajput further discloses The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: in response to receiving a service response to the service request from the second service communication proxy, forward the service response to the first network function [Rajput para. 14, 31, 43; receiving a response from the SCP].
As regarding claim 13, Rajput further discloses The apparatus of claim 8, wherein: the first network function and the first service communication proxy are in a first Public Land Mobile Network; and the second network function and the second service communication proxy are in the first Public Land Mobile Network [Rajput FIG. 1 and para. 6, 43 and 46; a consumer NF and a SCP are in a home PLMN and producer NF and a second SCP are on a foreign PLMN].
As regarding claim 14, Rajput further discloses The apparatus of claim 8, wherein: the first network function and the first service communication proxy are in a first Public Land Mobile Network; and the second network function and the second service communication proxy are in a second Public Land Mobile Network different from the first Public Land Mobile Network [Rajput FIG. 1 and para. 6, 43 and 46; a consumer NF and a SCP are in a home PLMN and producer NF and a second SCP are on a foreign PLMN].
8. Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodrigo (US PG Pub. 2023/0188625) in view of Rajput (US PG Pub. 2022/0182835) further in view of Zhao (US PG Pub. 2022/0052989).
As regarding claim 15, Rodrigo and Rajput disclose An apparatus comprising:
at least one processor [Rodrigo para. 98 and 109]; and
at least one memory including computer program codes [Rodrigo para. 112 and 141];
the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus [Rodrigo para. 112 and 141] to:
receive, at a second service communication proxy, a service request and an access token from a first service communication proxy, the service request originating from a first network function for requesting a service from a second network function and comprising a header indicating scope information about the requested service [Rodrigo para. 12 and 127-129; receiving, at a second SCP node from a first SCP node, a service request comprising a HTTP header identifying the parameters to be used for discovery and selection of the NFp that provides the requested service || Rajput para. 50; receiving a service request including the obtained access token], the service request further comprises at least one parameter for determining the second network function by the first service communication proxy [FIG. 1D and para. 7, 12 and 16; the service request comprising information identifying the second NF node], wherein the at least one parameter is parsed [para. 7 and 12-13; analyzing the discovery and selection parameters to select the suitable NF node]; wherein the scope information indicates requested resources for the requested service and requested actions on the resources, further indicating at least one resource/operation-level scope defined by at least one service application programming interface [Rajput para. 47-50; the requested scope including NF service names, requested resources and requested actions on the resources || para. 6 and 46-47; making a token request within home PLMN including performing topology hiding for all API messages];
Rodrigo and Rajput do not disclose verify the access token based on the header of the service request; in response to the verification of the access token succeeding, transmit the service request to the second network function without transmitting the access token to the second network function. However, Zhao discloses it [FIG.7 and para. 299-301 and 307].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the effective filing of the invention to modify Rodrigo and Rajput’s system to further comprise the missing claim features, as disclosed by Zhao, in order to reduce the workload of verifying the token on the receiving network function.
As regarding claim 16, Rodrigo, Rajput and Zhao further disclose The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: verify integrity of the access token; and in response to the integrity of the access token being verified, validate the access token by checking if the scope information about the requested service matches scope information about an authorized service comprised in the access token [Rajput para. 272-277 and 299-301].
As regarding claim 17, Rodrigo, Rajput and Zhao further disclose The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the scope information about the requested service comprises first information indicating a service name of the requested service, the scope information about the authorized service comprises third information indicating a service name of the authorized service, and the apparatus is further caused to: determine whether the first information matches the third information; and in accordance with the determination that the first information does not match the third information, determine that the validation of the access token fails [Rajput para. 47-50; the requested scope including service names, requested resources and requested actions on the resources and if the service name do not match, the authentication is unsuccessful].
As regarding claim 18, Rodrigo, Rajput and Zhao further disclose The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the scope information about the authorized service comprises fourth information indicating authorized resources for the authorized service and authorized actions on the authorized resources, and the apparatus is further caused to: determine whether the second information matches the fourth information; and in accordance with the determination that the second information does not match the fourth information, determine that the validation of the access token fails [Rajput para. 47-50; the requested scope including requested resources and requested actions on the resources and if the requested resources and requested actions do not match, the authentication is unsuccessful].
As regarding claim 19, Rodrigo, Rajput and Zhao further disclose The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: in response to receiving a service response to the service request from the second network function, forward the service response to the first service communication proxy [Rajput para. 14, 31, 43; receiving a response from the SCP].
As regarding claim 20, Rodrigo, Rajput and Zhao further disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the first network function and the first service communication proxy are in a first Public Land Mobile Network; and the second network function and the second service communication proxy are in a second Public Land Mobile Network different from the first Public Land Mobile Network [Rajput FIG. 1 and para. 6, 43 and 46; a consumer NF and a SCP are in a home PLMN and producer NF and a second SCP are on a foreign PLMN].
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THONG TRUONG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433