DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/15/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues that Yman fails to teach all of the claim limitations of amended claims 1 and 23. Specifically, Applicant argues, “Yman does not disclose an enclosure, configured to internally accept at least the first phase shifting stage and the second phase shifting stage, wherein the enclosure comprises at least a first part and a second part, wherein the first part is connected to the second part via a connecting element configured to provide a capacitive coupling between the first part and the second part," as recited in amended claims 1 and 23. While it is accurate that Yman does not use the word “enclosure”, There is an enclosure taught in the disclosure (Fig. 7, reflector 17). Yman does not teach the additional features of the enclosure as found in amended claims 1 and 23. Additional reference is made to the discussion of Liljevik below which will explicitly teach an RF enclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yman (US PG Pub. 20190372237) in view of Liljevik (US PG Pub. 20040036388).
Regarding claim 1, Yman teaches an apparatus for processing radio frequency “RF” signals (Fig. 9; antenna feeding network), comprising a first phase shifting stage (Fig. 9; 105b, second compartment) configured to receive an RF signal and to provide n1 many, with n1>= 2, phase-shifted portions of the RF signal ([0117] The rail element 106b in the second compartment is provided with a dielectric element 108b which is attached thereto such that the first and second coaxial lines form a splitter/combiner with differential phase shift), at least a second phase shifting stage (Fig. 9; 105c, third compartment) configured to receive the n1 (Fig. 9;104b) many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal and to provide n2 (Fig. 9; 104c1 and 104c2) many, with n2 >= n1, phase-shifted portions of the RF signal based on the received n1 many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal (Fig. 9;104b), wherein a phase shift applied by the second phase shifting stage ([0117] The rail element 106c in the third compartment is provided with two dielectric elements 108c1, 108c2 which are attached thereto in a longitudinally spaced apart manner. The dielectric elements 108c1, 108c2 are configured to co-operate with a respective coaxial line formed with inner conductor 104c1, 104c2, such that the second coaxial line together with the third and fourth coaxial lines form two splitters/combiners with differential phase shift.) to the n1 many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal is based on at least one phase shift applied by the first phase shifting stage to the n1 many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal with respect to the RF signal; and enclosure, configured to internally accept at least the first phase shifting stage and the second phase shifting stage (Fig. 7, reflector 17). Yman fails to teach wherein the enclosure comprises at least a first part and a second part, wherein the first part is connected to the second part via a connecting element configured to provide a capacitive coupling between the first and the second part.
However, Liljevik teaches a shielded housing for RF applications ([0001] The invention relates to a shielded housing for use in various high frequency electromagnetic applications, e.g. a shielded housing for a strip line or microstrip transmission device, a waveguide or some other device) wherein the enclosure comprises at least a first part and a second part, wherein the first part is connected to the second part via a connecting element configured to provide a capacitive coupling between the first and the second part (Fig. 1, [0015] The housing parts 10 and 20 are formed by extrusion of a metal alloy, e.g. of aluminium , and the parts are subsequently coated with an insulating oxide layer in an electrolytic process. Therefore, in the illustrated example, these two parts will be coupled capacitively to each other upon assembly.).
Yman and Liljevik are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of Radiofrequency device technology. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yman in view of Liljevik to combine the two part housing as taught by Liljevik to gain the advantage of a shielding enclosure for the phase shifter that is separate from the body of the phase shifter. This would allow accessing the phase shifting apparatus and connections to it without disturbing the outer conductor of the Yman’s phase shifter in an economically way and also in a manner that allows for well-define coupling of the two halves of the enclosure (Lilijevik, [0003] The main object of the present invention is to provide a shielded housing which can be assembled easily and at low cost while securing a well-defined coupling between the two parts.); with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor and the integration requires no modification of Yman’s phase shifter or the enclosure of Liljevik other than placing the phase shifter in the enclosure.
Regarding claim 2, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein the first phase shifting stage ([0117] The rail element 106b in the second compartment is provided with a dielectric element 108b which is attached thereto such that the first and second coaxial lines form a splitter/combiner with differential phase shift as described above with reference to FIG. 6.) is configured to apply a positive phase shift by a first phase shift value to at least a first portion of the RF signal to obtain a first phase-shifted portion of the RF signal (Fig. 6, [0112] We first consider the case when the dielectric element 8 is placed in a central position, equally filling the first and second output coaxial lines. When a signal is entered at the input coaxial line 4b, it will be divided between the first output coaxial line and the second output coaxial line, and the signals coming from the two output coaxial lines will be equal in phase. If the dielectric element 8 is moved in such a way that the first output coaxial line will be more filled with dielectric material than the second output coaxial line, the phase shift from the input to the first output will increase.) and to apply a negative phase shift by the first phase shift value to at least a second portion of the RF signal to obtain a second phase-shifted portion of the RF signal (Fig. 6, [0112] At the same time the second output coaxial line will be less filled with dielectric, and the phase shift from the input to the second output will decrease. Hence, the phase at the first output will lag the phase at the second output. If the dielectric part is moved in the opposite direction, the phase of the first output will lead the phase of the second output. The splitter/combiner may thus be described as a differential phase shifter.).
Regarding claim 3, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, accordingly the rejection of claim 2 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein the second phase shifting stage ([0117] The rail element 106c in the third compartment is provided with two dielectric elements 108c1, 108c2 which are attached thereto in a longitudinally spaced apart manner. The dielectric elements 108c1, 108c2 are configured to co-operate with a respective coaxial line formed with inner conductor 104c1, 104c2, such that the second coaxial line together with the third and fourth coaxial lines form two splitters/combiners with differential phase shift.)is configured to apply a positive phase shift by a second phase shift value to at least a first portion of the first phase-shifted portion of the RF signal (Fig. 6, [0112] We first consider the case when the dielectric element 8 is placed in a central position, equally filling the first and second output coaxial lines. When a signal is entered at the input coaxial line 4b, it will be divided between the first output coaxial line and the second output coaxial line, and the signals coming from the two output coaxial lines will be equal in phase. If the dielectric element 8 is moved in such a way that the first output coaxial line will be more filled with dielectric material than the second output coaxial line, the phase shift from the input to the first output will increase.) and to apply a negative phase shift by the second phase shift value to at least a second portion of the first phase-shifted portion of the RF signal (Fig. 6, [0112] At the same time the second output coaxial line will be less filled with dielectric, and the phase shift from the input to the second output will decrease. Hence, the phase at the first output will lag the phase at the second output. If the dielectric part is moved in the opposite direction, the phase of the first output will lead the phase of the second output. The splitter/combiner may thus be described as a differential phase shifter.).
Regarding claim 4, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, accordingly the rejection of claim 3 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein the second phase shift value is a multiple ([0114] FIG. 8 shows means for moving two rail elements in an antenna feeding network according to an embodiment of the first aspect of the invention. The means for moving the two rail elements of the coaxial lines is configured to move the rail elements simultaneously at different speeds. The means for moving comprises a longitudinally extending rod 10 and at least first and second connecting elements 11, 12, each connecting element being provided with an internally threaded portion 11a, 12a, the internally threaded portions being configured to co-operate with corresponding (externally) threaded segments or portions 10a, 10b of the rod 10, wherein the threaded segment or portion 10a of the rod has a greater pitch than the other threaded segment or portion 10b, such that the first connecting element 11 moves at a greater speed than the second connecting element 12 when the rod is rotated. The connecting elements 11, 12 are connectable to respective rail elements (not shown in the figure) through elongated slots in the outer conductors. [0119] The embodiments shown in FIGS. 8 and 9 are advantageously combined to provide an antenna with electrically adjustable tilt. In such an embodiment, the means for moving are preferably configured to move the rail 106c (and the dielectric elements 108c1-c2) twice as fast/long as the rail 106d (and the dielectric elements 108d1-d4), and to move the rail 106b (and the dielectric element 108b) twice as fast/long as the rail 106c, i.e. four times as fast/long as the rail 106d.) or a fraction of the first phase shift value.
Yman as modified by Lilijevik does not disclose the second phase shift value is a fraction of the first phase shift value. It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the threaded segment or portion 10a of the rod to have a lesser pitch than the other threaded segment 10b such that the first connecting element 11 moves at a lower speed relative to the second connecting element 12, since it has been held that the provisions of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 5, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein the first phase shifting stage (Fig. 9, 105b; [0117] The rail element 106b in the second compartment is provided with a dielectric element 108b which is attached thereto such that the first and second coaxial lines form a splitter/combiner with differential phase shift) and the second phase shifting stage (Fig. 9, 105c; [0117] The rail element 106c in the third compartment is provided with two dielectric elements 108c1, 108c2 which are attached thereto in a longitudinally spaced apart manner. The dielectric elements 108c1, 108c2 are configured to co-operate with a respective coaxial line formed with inner conductor 104c1, 104c2, such that the second coaxial line together with the third and fourth coaxial lines form two splitters/combiners with differential phase shift.) each comprises at least one phase shifter module configured to split an input signal into at least two phase shifted output signals.
Regarding claim 6, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, accordingly the rejection of claim 5 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein the phase shifter module comprises a first port for receiving the input signal (Fig. 9; 119a connector device), a second port for providing a first one of the at least two output signals (Fig. 9; 119b1 connector device), and a third port for providing a second one of the at least two output signals (Fig. 9; 119b2 connector device), wherein the phase shifter module further comprises at least one coupling element arranged movably with respect to the first port, the second port and the third port (Fig. 9; 108b dielectric element), the at least one coupling element coupling the first port with the second port and the third port with a predetermined phase shift based on a relative position of the at least one coupling element with respect to the first port ([0117] The rail element 106b in the second compartment is provided with a dielectric element 108b which is attached thereto such that the first and second coaxial lines form a splitter/combiner with differential phase shift as described above with reference to FIG. 6.).
Regarding claim 7, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, accordingly the rejection of claim 6 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to move the at least one coupling element (Fig. 9; 108b dielectric element) of the phase shifter module of the first phase shifting stage and the at least one coupling element (Fig. 9; 108c1 dielectric element) of the phase shifter module of the second phase shifting stage at different speeds ([0119] The embodiments shown in FIGS. 8 and 9 are advantageously combined to provide an antenna with electrically adjustable tilt. In such an embodiment, the means for moving are preferably configured to move the rail 106c (and the dielectric elements 108c1-c2) twice as fast/long as the rail 106d (and the dielectric elements 108d1-d4), and to move the rail 106b (and the dielectric element 108b) twice as fast/long as the rail 106c, i.e. four times as fast/long as the rail 106d.).
Regarding claim 8, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 6, accordingly the rejection of claim 6 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein each one of the first port and the second port and the third port is assigned a respective transmission line segment (Fig. 9; 119a, 119b1, 119b2 connector devices) wherein the coupling element (Fig. 9; 108b dielectric element) is configured to establish an electromagnetic coupling between the transmission line segment associated with the first port and the transmission line segment associated with the second port and between the transmission line segment associated with the first port and the transmission line segment associated with the third port ([0116] The inner conductor 104a of the first coaxial line is interconnected to the inner conductor 104b of the second coaxial line by means of a connector device 119a. Opposite ends of the inner conductor 104b of the second coaxial line are interconnected to the inner conductors 104c1 and 104c2, respectively, by means of connector devices 119b1 and 119b2.).
Regarding claim 9, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, accordingly the rejection of claim 7 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to move coupling elements (Fig. 9; 108b dielectric element) of the phase shifter module of the first phase shifting stage with a same relative speed ([0114] The means for moving two rail elements illustrated in FIG. 8 may be combined with two or more splitter/combiners of the differential phase shifting type illustrated in FIG. 6. Thus, the means for moving may be configured to move a rail element 6b and dielectric element 8 of a first splitter/combiner simultaneously and at a different speed than a rail element and dielectric of a second splitter/combiner.) with respect to coupling elements (Fig. 9; 108c1 dielectric element, 108c2 dielectric element) of phase shifter modules of the second phase shifting stage.
Regarding claim 10, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, accordingly the rejection of claim 7 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises a drive system (Fig 8; 11, 12 connecting elements, 10 rod) for driving a movement of the coupling elements ([0114] The rod may be rotated manually or using electric motors controlled by a controlling device such as micro-controller. When using electric motors, the rails, and hence the downtilt of the antenna, can be controlled remotely.).
Regarding claim 19, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches the apparatus comprising at least two printed circuit boards mechanically connectable and/or connected to each other using form closure (Fig. 9, connector device 119a,119b1-2).
Regarding claim 20, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches a phase shifter comprising at least one apparatus according to claim 1 ([0026] A splitter/combiner with differential phase shift may be achieved by means of a pair of interconnected coaxial lines provided with a rail element with a dielectric element in at least one of the coaxial lines, where the phase shift is adjustable by moving the rail element.).
Regarding claim 21, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches an antenna array comprising at least one apparatus according to claim 1 ([0105] FIG. 1 schematically illustrates an antenna arrangement 1 comprising an antenna feeding network 90, an electrically conductive reflector 17, which is shown schematically in FIG. 1, and a plurality of radiating elements 14.).
Regarding claim 22, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Yman further teaches a base station comprising at least one apparatus according to claim 1 ([0056] According to a fifth aspect of the invention, a multi radiator base station antenna is provided, which antenna comprises an electrically conductive reflector, at least one radiating element arranged on the reflector and an antenna feeding network as described above.).
Regarding claim 23, Yman teaches a method for processing radio frequency signals (Fig. 9; antenna feeding network) using an apparatus comprising a first phase shifting stage configured to receive an RF signal and to provide n1 many, with n1>= 2, phase-shifted portions of the RF signal, and at least a second phase shifting stage configured to receive the n1 many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal and to provide n2 many, with n2 >=n1, phase-shifted portions of the RF signal based on the received n1 many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal, and an enclosure, configured to internally accept at least the first phase shifting stage and the second phase shifting stage (Fig. 7, reflector 17), the method comprising: receiving ([0116] The inner conductor 104a forms part of an incoming line 115.), by means of the first phase shifting stage, an RF signal, providing (Fig. 9, 105b; [0117] The rail element 106b in the second compartment is provided with a dielectric element 108b which is attached thereto such that the first and second coaxial lines form a splitter/combiner with differential phase shift), by means of the first phase shifting stage, n1 many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal, wherein a phase shift applied by the second phase shifting stage (Fig. 9, 105c; [0117] The rail element 106c in the third compartment is provided with two dielectric elements 108c1, 108c2 which are attached thereto in a longitudinally spaced apart manner. The dielectric elements 108c1, 108c2 are configured to co-operate with a respective coaxial line formed with inner conductor 104c1, 104c2, such that the second coaxial line together with the third and fourth coaxial lines form two splitters/combiners with differential phase shift.) to the n1 many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal is based on at least one phase shift applied by the first phase shifting stage to the n1 many phase-shifted portions of the RF signal with respect to the RF signal. Yman fails to teach wherein the enclosure comprises at least a first part and a second part, wherein the first part is connected to the second part via a connecting element configured to provide a capacitive coupling between the first and the second part.
However, Liljevik teaches a shielded housing for RF applications ([0001] The invention relates to a shielded housing for use in various high frequency electromagnetic applications, e.g. a shielded housing for a strip line or microstrip transmission device, a waveguide or some other device) wherein the enclosure comprises at least a first part and a second part, wherein the first part is connected to the second part via a connecting element configured to provide a capacitive coupling between the first and the second part (Fig. 1, [0015] The housing parts 10 and 20 are formed by extrusion of a metal alloy, e.g. of aluminium , and the parts are subsequently coated with an insulating oxide layer in an electrolytic process. Therefore, in the illustrated example, these two parts will be coupled capacitively to each other upon assembly.). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the enclosure comprises at least a first part and a second part, wherein the first part is connected to the second part via a connecting element configured to provide a capacitive coupling between the first and the second part of Liljevik with the apparatus of Yman to yield a predictable result of a shielded housing for the apparatus with a well-defined coupling between the parts of the housing as noted by Liljevik ([0003] a shielded housing which can be assembled easily and at low cost while securing a well-defined coupling between the two parts.).
Claim(s) 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yman as modified by Liljevik as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Iluz (US P.G. Pub. 20110273244), hereinafter Iluz.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 10 as noted above. Yman as modified by Liljevik fails to teach the drive system comprises a lever-arm system having a plurality of arms, wherein each arm is coupled to one or more coupling elements of a same phase shifting stage, and wherein the arms are rotatably connected to at least one lever. Additionally, Yman as modified by Liljevik fails to teach wherein the apparatus is configured to move a) the at least one lever and/or b) at least one of the plurality of arms to drive a movement of the plurality of arms.
However, Iluz teaches a Radiofrequency antenna feeder network array with multistage phase shifters (Fig. 6; [0044] In the parallel signal distribution network of FIG. 6, the phase shift associated with the phase shifters in each level is half the phase shift associated with the phase shifters in the previous level. Thus, the phase shift associated with phase shifters 460 and 462 is half the phase shift associated with phase shifter 458.) utilizing lever based mechanisms to achieve proportional displacements of elements, wherein each arm is coupled to one or more coupling elements of a same phase shifting stage, and wherein the arms are rotatably connected to at least one lever wherein the apparatus is configured to move a) the at least one lever and/or b) at least one of the plurality of arms to drive a movement of the plurality of arms. ([0049] Proportional displacement may be achieved, for example, by known in the art lever based mechanisms, pulley based mechanisms and the like.).
Yman, Lilkevik and Iluz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of technological endeavor of Radiofrequency signal processing for application with antenna arrays. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to substitute the drive system of Yman as modified by Liljevik with the lever based mechanism of Iluz before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. No inventive effort would have been required. Furthermore, the resulting substitution would yield the predictable result of a similarly proportional displacement of the coupling element resulting in a proportional phase shift. Even in the context of a combined system, the features of all elements would be expected to work as intended, with each element in the combined system performing essentially the same function as it did separately. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yman as modified by Liljevik by substituting the drive system taught in their disclosure with the lever based system of Iluz.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, as best understood and/or based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 10 as noted above. Yman as modified by Liljevik fails to teach wherein the drive system comprises a pulley system having a plurality of pulleys, wherein each pulley is coupled to one or more coupling elements of a same phase shifting stage, wherein the apparatus is configured to drive different pulleys at a respective different speed, and wherein at least one pulley of the plurality of pulleys comprises a wire for driving a movement of one or more coupling elements of a same phase shifting stage.
However, Iluz teaches a Radiofrequency antenna feeder network array with multistage phase shifters (Fig. 6; [0044] In the parallel signal distribution network of FIG. 6, the phase shift associated with the phase shifters in each level is half the phase shift associated with the phase shifters in the previous level. Thus, the phase shift associated with phase shifters 460 and 462 is half the phase shift associated with phase shifter 458.) utilizing a pulley based mechanisms to achieve proportional displacements of elements, wherein the drive system comprises a pulley system having a plurality of pulleys, wherein each pulley is coupled to one or more coupling elements of a same phase shifting stage, wherein the apparatus is configured to drive different pulleys at a respective different speed, and wherein at least one pulley of the plurality of pulleys comprises a wire for driving a movement of one or more coupling elements of a same phase shifting stage ([0049] Proportional displacement may be achieved, for example, by known in the art lever based mechanisms, pulley based mechanisms and the like.).
Yman, Liljevik and Iluz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of technological endeavor of Radiofrequency signal processing for application with antenna arrays. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to substitute the drive system of Yman as modified by Liljevik with the pulley based mechanism of Iluz before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. No inventive effort would have been required. Furthermore, the resulting substitution would yield the predictable result of a similarly proportional displacement of the coupling element resulting in a proportional phase shift. Even in the context of a combined system, the features of all elements would be expected to work as intended, with each element in the combined system performing essentially the same function as it did separately. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yman as modified by Liljevik by substituting the drive system taught in their disclosure with the pulley based system of Iluz.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yman as modified by Liljevik as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Heinz (US Pat. No. 6,538,619), hereinafter Heinz.
Regarding claim 15, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 10 as noted above. Yman as modified by Liljevik fails to teach the drive system comprises a rack and pinion system having a plurality of racks wherein each rack is coupled to one or more coupling elements of a same phase shifting stage, wherein the apparatus is configured to drive different racks at a respective different speed.
However, Heinz teaches an antenna control system comprising a drive means continuously adjusts phase shifters of a feed distribution network to radiating elements to continuously vary antenna beam tilt (Abstract, Fig. 1) wherein the drive system comprises a rack and pinion system (Page 11; col. 2, lines 56-67 According to a first preferred embodiment the first means includes a gear wheel which drives a rack connected to a first portion of the first phase shifter, arranged so that rotation of the first gear wheel causes the first portion of the first phase shifter to move relative to the second portion of the first phase shifter. Preferably, the second portion of the first phase shifter is mounted to a carriage and the outputs of the first phase shifter are connected to inputs of the second and third phase shifters by push rods so that movement of the second portion of the first phase shifter moves the first portions of the second and third phase shifters with respect to the second portions of the second and third phase shifters.) having a plurality of racks wherein each rack is coupled to one or more coupling elements of a same phase shifting stage, wherein the apparatus is configured to drive different racks at a respective different speed (Page 12; col. 3, lines 1-Preferably a second gear is provided co-axial with and connected to a shaft driving the first gear which drives a rack connected to the second part of the first phase shifter so that rotation of the second gear causes movement of the first portion of the second and third phase shifters relative to the second portions of the second and third phase shifters.).
Yman, Liljevik and Heinz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of technological endeavor of Radiofrequency signal processing for application with antenna arrays. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to substitute the drive system of Yman as modified by Liljevik with the rack and pinion mechanism of Heinz before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. No inventive effort would have been required. Furthermore, the resulting substitution would yield the predictable result of a similarly proportional displacement of the coupling element resulting in a proportional phase shift. Even in the context of a combined system, the features of all elements would be expected to work as intended, with each element in the combined system performing essentially the same function as it did separately. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yman as modified by Liljevik by substituting the drive system taught in their disclosure with the rack and pinion based system of Heinz.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yman as modified by Liljevik as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dahl (SE 543397), hereinafter Dahl.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Yman as modified by Liljevik teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Yman as modified by Liljevik fails to explicitly teaches wherein the connecting element comprises a printed circuit board having a plurality of electrically conductive vias, at least one electrically conductive layer connected to the plurality of electrically conductive vias, and at least one electrically insulating layer arranged on the at least one electrically conductive layer and wherein the printed circuit board comprises at least one opening.
Dahl, Figure 3
However, Dahl teaches an RF cable transit arrangement (Fig. 3, cable transit arrangement 300, Page 7, lines 4-23) consisting of an two part RF enclosure (Page 7, lines 7-9, The cable transit arrangement comprises a compartment 340 having an RF shielding partition 310 configured to divide the compartment into first 340a and second 340b sections.) wherein the connecting element comprises a printed circuit board (Fig. 3, port replicator circuit 320 Page 5, lines 25-26; the port replicator circuit is arranged on a printed circuit board (PCB).) having a plurality of electrically conductive vias, at least one electrically conductive layer connected to the plurality of electrically conductive vias, and at least one electrically insulating layer arranged on the at least one electrically conductive layer (Page 6, lines 1-4; According to aspects, the first zone and the second zone are separated by a plurality of grounded via holes constituting a via fence. The via fence, advantageously, provides a straightforward means of electromagnetically separating the first and second zones on the PCB.) and wherein the printed circuit board comprises at least one opening (Page 7, lines 9-10; A port replicator circuit 320 having a first port 321 and a second port 322 is arranged in the compartment 340).
Yman, Liljevik and Dahl are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of Radiofrequency signal processing device technology. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Yman as modified by Liljevik in view of the printed circuit board of Dahl with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Radiofrequency signal processing devices. The combination would improve the electromagnetic interference resilience of the overall apparatus.
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JBSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646