DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1-17
Claims amended: n/a
Claims cancelled: n/a
New claims: n/a
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered.
Regarding applicant’s remarks dated 12/01/2025, regarding currently cited references all fail to teach the claim language.
Examiner disagree.
webster dictionary define: Parameter as “any of a set of physical properties whose
values determine the characteristics or behavior of something”. Floury teach a method for enriching an initial video with at least one enrichment object, said initial video including a succession of images acquired by a camera, implemented by a terminal, receiving, by terminal: an initial video including the succession of images acquired by the camera, and parameters, associated with respective images of the initial video, inserting, a first image of succession of images of the initial video, an enrichment object; adapting, at least in images of the succession of images following a first image of the succession of images of said initial video received by the terminal, viewing characteristics for one said enrichment object selected and inserted into said first image, adaptation being performed as a function of parameters of camera associated with images of the initial video, the parameters having been received by the terminal in association with the initial video. (Floury Fig. 1, 3, 4a-4d, P. 9-16, 37, 41, 46-51, 57, 62-66, using a camera within the receiver to monitor the viewer’s gaze at a video the viewer is watching, determine the object/subject within the main content video the viewer is gazing at by analyzing the signals of the camera transmits to the display module the coordinates of the point of the image, locate the coordinates of point of image, gaze point, and other information of the repeated gazed object, (specifically Fig. 3, P. 40, 46-48) which reads on (a function of parameters of camera associated with images of initial video), and getting information from server for elements to insert to the main content in enrichment mode, such as inserting the subject player’s name, club, age, etc. alongside the zoomed/ enrichment mode view of the object/subject as shown in Fig 4B following Fig 4A, which reads on (receiving, by terminal: an initial video including succession of images acquired by camera, and parameters, associated with respective images of the initial video, inserting, a first image of succession of images of the initial video, an enrichment object, … viewing characteristics for one said enrichment object selected and inserted into said first image), adaptation being performed as a function of parameters of said camera associated with images of the initial video, the parameters having been received by the terminal in association with the initial video), similar example is also given from Fig 4C to Fig 4D, with their corresponding cited paragraphs provided).
Trenholm further teach parameters, associated with respective images of initial video, of camera that recorded the initial video, the parameters of said camera associated with the images of the initial video, and said camera which acquired image. (Fig. 4 P. 49, 61, metadata such as EXIF data which are part of images include camera calibration, geolocation information, and other camera information, which are part of the image information).
Thus, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of Floury and Trenholm still teach the language of claims 1, 3, 13, 15 as claimed.
Applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner suggests, further amending the claims using the claimed technology and its background with the cited art to help further differentiate, and move prosecution forward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 11-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (FR0309256A1) to (Floury) in view of (US 20190138786) to (Trenholm).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 3, 13, 15, Floury teach a method for enriching an initial video with
at least one enrichment object, said initial video including a succession of images acquired by a camera, implemented by a terminal, receiving, by terminal: an initial video including the succession of images acquired by the camera, and parameters, associated with respective images of the initial video, inserting, a first image of succession of images of the initial video, an enrichment object;
adapting, at least in images of the succession of images following a first image of the succession of images of said initial video received by the terminal, viewing characteristics for one said enrichment object selected and inserted into said first image, adaptation being performed as a function of parameters of camera associated with images of the initial video, the parameters having been received by the terminal in association with the initial video. (Floury Fig. 1, 3, 4a-4d, P. 9-16, 37, 41, 46-51, 57, 62-66, using a camera within the receiver to monitor the viewer’s gaze at a video the viewer is watching, determine the object/subject within the main content video the viewer is gazing at, locate the coordinates of point of image, gaze point, and other information of the repeated gazed object, (specifically Fig. 3, P. 40, 46-48) which reads on (a function of parameters of camera associated with images of initial video), and getting information from server for elements to insert to the main content in enrichment mode, such as inserting the subject player’s name, club, age, etc. alongside the zoomed/ enrichment mode view of the object/subject as shown in Fig 4B following Fig 4A, which reads on (receiving, by terminal: an initial video including succession of images acquired by camera, and parameters, associated with respective images of the initial video, inserting, a first image of succession of images of the initial video, an enrichment object, … viewing characteristics for one said enrichment object selected and inserted into said first image) adaptation being performed as a function of parameters of said camera associated with images of the initial video, the parameters having been received by the terminal in association with the initial video), similar example is also given from Fig 4C to Fig 4D, with their corresponding cited paragraphs provided).
Floury fail to specifically teach parameters, associated with respective images of initial video, of camera that recorded the initial video, the parameters of said camera associated with the images of the initial video, and said camera which acquired image.
Trenholm teach parameters, associated with respective images of initial video, of camera that recorded the initial video, the parameters of said camera associated with the images of the initial video, and said camera which acquired image. (Fig. 4 P. 49, 61, metadata such as EXIF data which are part of images include camera calibration, geolocation information, and other camera information, which are part of the image information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury by parameters, associated with respective images of initial video, of camera that recorded the initial video, the parameters of said camera associated with the images of the initial video, and said camera which acquired image as taught by Trenholm in order to accurately and reliably identify objects within images.
Regarding claim(s) 2, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, the adaptation of the viewing characteristics for the enrichment object, said camera, the terminal in association with the initial video.
Floury further teach takes into account a shooting parameter for an actual object of a scene filmed by said camera, the shooting parameter for the actual object being received by the terminal in association with the initial video. (Floury Fig. 1, 3, 4a-4d, P. 9-16, 37, 41, 46-51, 57, 62-66, using a camera within the receiver to monitor the viewer’s gaze, and determine the object within the main content the viewer is gazing at, locate the coordinates of point of image, gaze point, and other information of the repeated gazed object, (specifically Fig. 3, P. 40, 46-48)).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, the adaptation of the viewing characteristics for the enrichment object, said camera, the terminal in association with the initial video, said initial video.
Floury further teach is sent as it is acquired. (Floury Fig. 1, 3, 4a-4d, P. 9-16, 35-37, 41, 46-51, 57, 62-66, the content is received and displayed through antenna broadcast and/or network broadcast, or other means).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, the adaptation of the viewing characteristics for the enrichment object, said camera, the terminal in association with the initial video, said initial video, the enriched stream.
Floury further teach a given image and the parameters associated with that image are synchronized in the enriched stream. (Floury Fig. 1, 3, 4a-4d, P. 9-16, 35-37, 41, 46-51, 57, 62-66, using a camera within the receiver to monitor the viewer’s gaze, and determine the object within the main content the viewer is gazing at, locate the coordinates and other information of the gazed object, and getting information from server for audio/video to insert to the main content and provide with main content in enrichment mode in synch with main content).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Floury further teach non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to implement the method of claim 1. (Fig. 1-2, P 45, 69,).
Regarding claim(s) 12 Floury further teach on-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to implement the method of claim 3. (Fig. 1-2, P 45, 69,).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, the adaptation of the viewing characteristics for the enrichment object, said camera, the terminal in association with the initial video.
Floury further teach a communication module to receive an enriched stream composed of the initial video and of said parameters associated with images of the initial video. (Floury Fig. 1, 3, 4a-4d, P. 9-16, 37, 41, 46-51, 57, 62-66, obtaining the gaze point, coordinate information for the main content, wherein it is comminated to server, within server using a communication module to obtain the audio/visual content used for enrichment, for providing to the receiver for display (specifically Fig. 2, P. 28, 42)).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, the adaptation of the viewing characteristics for the enrichment object, said camera, the terminal in association with the initial video.
Floury further teach terminal is remote from camera which captured initial video. (Floury Fig. 1, P. 37, the camera sensor 15 can be integrated into receiver 1 or separately attached via a cable).
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (FR0309256A1) to (Floury) in view of (US 20190138786) to (Trenholm) in view of (NPL: “Exif data SEI message”) to (EDSM)
Regarding claim 4, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, in the enriched stream.
Trenholm further teach position and calibration parameters of said camera. (Fig. 4 P. 49, 61, metadata such as EXIF data which are part of images include camera calibration, geolocation information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm by position and calibration parameters of said camera as taught by Trenholm in order to accurately and reliably identify objects within images.
Floury in view of Trenholm fail to specifically teach an insertion of parameters associated with the images of the initial video control data of the enriched stream.
EDSM teach an insertion of parameters associated with the images of the initial video control data of the enriched stream. (pg1, abstract, intro, insertion of EXIF data into a video stream and generating an enriched stream)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm by an insertion of parameters associated with the images of the initial video control data of the enriched stream as taught by EDSM in order to provide more content option/formats.
Regarding claim 7, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, the parameters of said camera associated with the images of the initial video.
Floury in view of Trenholm fail to specifically teach an optimization of an emission of parameters of said camera.
EDSM teach an optimization of an emission of parameters of said camera. (pg1, abstract, intro, insertion of EXIF data into a video stream and generating an enriched stream, using SEI message)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm by an optimization of an emission of parameters of said camera as taught by EDSM in order to provide more content option/formats.
Regarding claim 8, Floury in view of Trenholm in view of EDSM teach the method, the parameters of said camera associated with the images of the initial video, an insertion into the enriched stream of at least one said parameter associated with a given image of the initial video.
EDSM further teach if and only if this parameter is different from a corresponding parameter associated with previous image. (pg2, 2 Text, EXIF data SEI message semantics, software code showing valid message, multiple images)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm in view of EDSM by if and only if this parameter is different from a corresponding parameter associated with previous image as taught by EDSM in order to provide more content option/formats.
Regarding claim 17, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, the terminal, the camera, the initial video associated with the images of the initial video, the terminal receives the initial video and the parameters
Trenholm further teach parameters are associated with at least a subset of images of initial video. (Fig. 4 P. 49, 61, metadata such as EXIF data which are part of images include camera calibration, geolocation information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm by parameters are associated with at least a subset of images of initial video as taught by Trenholm in order to accurately and reliably identify objects within images.
Floury in view of Trenholm fail to specifically teach receives initial video and parameters in an enriched stream.
EDSM teach receives initial video and parameters in an enriched stream. (pg1, abstract, intro, insertion of EXIF data into a video stream and generating an enriched stream)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm by receives initial video and parameters in an enriched stream as taught by EDSM in order to provide more content option/formats.
Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (FR0309256A1) to (Floury) in view of (US 20190138786) to (Trenholm) in view of (NPL: “Exif data SEI message”) to (EDSM) in view of (US 20140059079) to (Oka).
Regarding claim 9, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, the scene filmed by said camera.
Floury in view of Trenholm fail to specifically teach a step of inserting into the enriched stream.
EDSM further teach a step of inserting into the enriched stream. (pg1, abstract, intro, insertion of EXIF data into a video stream and generating an enriched stream)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm by a step of inserting into the enriched stream as taught by EDSM in order to provide more content option/formats.
Floury in view of Trenholm in view of EDSM fail to specifically teach a shooting parameter for an actual object of scene filmed by camera.
Oka teach a shooting parameter for an actual object of scene filmed by camera. (Fig. 3A, 3B, P. 43, EXIF standard includes shooting parameters such as keyword for an image search, amongst other information of the scene).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm in view of EDSM by a shooting parameter for an actual object of scene filmed by camera as taught by Oka in order to accurately and reliably identify objects within images.
Claim(s) 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (FR0309256A1) to (Floury) in view of (US 20190138786) to (Trenholm) in view of (NPL: “Exif data SEI message”) to (EDSM) in view of (US 20180276885) to (Singh).
Regarding claim 10, Floury in view of Trenholm teach the method, in the enriched stream, the camera, associated with the images.
Trenholm further teach position and calibration parameters of said camera. (Fig. 4 P. 49, 61, metadata such as EXIF data which are part of images include camera calibration, geolocation information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm by position and calibration parameters of said camera as taught by Trenholm in order to accurately and reliably identify objects within images.
Floury in view of Trenholm fail to specifically teach emission of parameters associated with the images of the initial video control data of the enriched stream.
EDSM teach emission of parameters associated with the images of the initial video control data of the enriched stream. (pg1, abstract, intro, insertion of EXIF data into a video stream and generating an enriched stream)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm by emission of parameters associated with the images of the initial video control data of the enriched stream as taught by EDSM in order to provide more content option/formats.
Floury in view of Trenholm in view of EDSM fail to specifically teach repeated.
Singh teach repeated. (P. 6, 62, 66, 75,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Floury in view of Trenholm in view of EDSM by repeated as taught by Singh in order to provide an accurate general-purpose procedure for silhouette extraction.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONG LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421