DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 6/5/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naik et al. (US 2017/0251674, Sep. 7, 2017) (hereinafter Naik) in view of Guerrant et al. (US 2015/0133366, May 14, 2015) (hereinafter Guerrant).
Naik discloses a method of modulating the flora of bacteria in an environment comprising administering an effective amount of a quorum sensing control composition comprising at least one quorum sensing control agent which is an adsorbent/catalytic inhibitor (Abstract). Diseases caused by drug-resistant Gram-negative bacteria, such as C. difficile, which exhibit resistance to current antibiotic treatments, could also be treated by administering effective amounts of an agent that inhibits or interferes with bacterial quorum sensing alone or in combination with antibiotics or other antibacterial agents to treat, for example, an animal, whether it be a human or companion animal (¶ [0009]). Suitable quorum sensing adsorbent/catalytic inhibitors include clays (¶ [0046]). Suitable clays include bentonites such as sodium bentonite (¶ [0055]). For oral, subcutaneous or spot-on, a dose of an adsorbent/catalytic inhibitor typically ranges from about 0.01 mg/kg to about 100 mg/kg (¶ [0111]). The quorum sensing control formulations may also include one or more antibiotics (¶ [0113]).
Naik differs from the instant claims insofar as not explicitly disclosing the dosage of the antibiotics and resulting ratios thereof nor wherein the antibiotic is vancomycin.
However, Guerrant discloses compositions and methods useful for preventing or treating a Clostridium difficile infection, including re-infection, using a low dose of antibiotics. By low dose is meant a dose that is lower than what is typically prescribed by a physician. For example, some of the commonly used anti-C. difficile antibiotics are routinely administered in the art in doses much higher. In one embodiment, depending on the particular antibiotic being administered and the route of administration, the dose ranges from about 0.1 mg/kg/day to
about 20 mg/kg/day (¶ [0012]). In one aspect, a useful compound of the invention is
vancomycin (¶ [0016]). Lower doses of antimicrobial agents enable better immunologic responses and protection from relapse or reinfection, and likely also cause lesser alterations of the gut flora, reducing recurrent disease and ultimately, death from the infection. This strategy also cause less adverse events (toxicity from drugs) and is more economical (¶ [0018]). A suitable dosage of the antibiotic is about 5.0 mg/kg (¶ [0022]). Administration routes are not limited but include oral and parenteral (¶ [0028]). In one embodiment, at least one antibiotic of the invention can be administered in conjunction with another therapeutic agent (¶ [0033]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant claims, to have modified the treatment method of Naik to include antibiotics such as vancomycin in a low dose such as 5.0 mg/kg motivated by the desire to achieve better immunologic responses, better protection from relapse or reinfection, less alterations of the gut flora, reduced recurrent disease, and reduced death from infection as taught by Guerrant. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success when attempting such a modification where Guerrant discloses that such antibiotics (i.e., and their respective dosages) can be administered in conjunction with another therapeutic agent using the same administration routes disclosed by Naik.
Regarding the ratio recited in instant claim 1, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the adsorbent/catalytic inhibitor (i.e., sodium bentonite) is included in the method/composition of Naik in view of Guerrant in an amount of from about 0.01 mg/kg to about 100 mg/kg, such as 50 mg/kg. A suitable dose of antibiotics in the method/composition of Naik in view of Guerrant is 5 mg/kg. This would result in a ratio of 10:1. Accordingly, the claimed ratio would have been obvious from one of ordinary skill in the art selecting an amount of sodium bentonite and an amount of antibiotics from the above ranges/amounts and such ratio overlapping with the claimed ratio.
Regarding the dosages recited in instant claim 8, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). As discussed above, the adsorbent/catalytic inhibitor (i.e., sodium bentonite) is included in the method/composition of Naik in view of Guerrant in an amount of from about 0.01 mg/kg to about 100 mg/kg, such as 50 mg/kg. Further, suitable dose of antibiotics, such as vancomycin, in the method/composition of Naik in view of Guerrant is 5 mg/kg. Accordingly, because the amounts recited in the instant claims lie inside the ranges/amounts disclosed by Naik in view of Guerrant, the ranges/amounts disclosed by Naik in view of Guerrant meet the instantly recited limitations
Therefore, the combined teachings of Naik and Guerrant render obvious claims 1, 6, and 8.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1, 6, and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,890,295 in view of Burnie et al. (US 2008/0038266, Feb. 14, 2008) (hereinafter Burnie).
The instant claims and the patented claims both recite a clay mineral complex comprising smectite and antibiotics for treating a bacterial infection.
The patented claims differ from the instant claims in that they disclose specific antibiotics such as gentamicin and do not disclose treating C. difficile.
However, Burnie teaches compounds, medicaments and treatments for Clostridium difficile infection (Abstract). Gentamicin is utilized in the method of treatment of infection Clostridium difficile (¶ [0047]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the composition of the patented claims in the method of the instant claims since gentamicin is a known and effective antibiotic for use in method of treating Clostridium difficile infections as taught by Burnie.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 8 have been considered but are moot because new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment have been made. The teachings of Naik in view of Guerrant are applied to meet the requirements of the new combination of limitations of “sodium bentonite and antibiotics, wherein a ratio of a content concentration of the sodium bentonite and a content concentration of the antibiotics is 9:1 to 11:1”.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 6, and 8 are rejected.
Claims 10-13 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612