DETAILED ACTION
Restriction Requirement
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-8 and 14-17, drawn to a method for treating.
Group II, claim(s) 10-13, drawn to a method for producing a composition.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I-II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of claim 1, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Herthel et al. (US 2017/0173093, Jun. 22, 2017) (hereinafter Herthel).
Herthel discloses a method of treating Clostridium difficile associated disease, or a symptom thereof, comprising the step of administering a composition comprising smectite (Ref. Claim 39).
In view of this document, the common technical feature linking Groups I-II does not constitute a special technical feature as defined by PCT Rule 13.2, as it does not define a contribution over prior art for the reasons set forth above.
During a telephone conversation with Hyunseok Park on 12/16/2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-8 and 14-17. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 & 4recite an “Na-type bentonite”, “Ca-type bentonite”, and/or “Mg-type bentonite”. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear how “type” modifies the otherwise definite terms “Na”, “Ca”, and/or “Mg”. Since the term “type” isn’t necessary for an understanding of the claimed subject matter, the examiner recommends deleting it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herthel et al. (US 2017/0173093, Jun. 22, 2017) (hereinafter Herthel).
Herthel discloses are compositions useful for the treatment or prevention of Clostridium difficile associated disease in a subject where the compositions comprise an effective amount of smectite and, optionally, an effective amount of at least one second agent (or at least one
further agent) for the treatment or prevention of Clostridium difficile associated disease in a subject in need thereof (¶ [0002]). In another aspect, Herthel discloses methods of
treating or preventing C. difficile associated disease in a subject in need thereof where the methods comprise administering the aforementioned composition in an amount effective to treat or prevent the disease (satisfies method of claim 1) (¶ [0012]). In certain embodiments,
the smectite is in the form of bentonite (satisfies active of claim 1-2) (¶ [0019]). In certain embodiments, the composition can further comprise one or more pharmaceutical agents such as antibiotics. Suitable antibiotics include vancomycin (satisfies claim 5-6 and 14-15) (¶ [0057]). The prior art anticipates the indicated claims because it discloses methods of
treating or preventing C. difficile associated disease comprising administering smectite that is in the form of bentonite along with antibiotics such as vancomycin as instantly claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 7-8 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herthel et al. (US 2017/0173093, Jun. 22, 2017) (hereinafter Herthel).
Herthel discloses are compositions useful for the treatment or prevention of Clostridium difficile associated disease in a subject where the compositions comprise an effective amount of smectite and, optionally, an effective amount of at least one second agent (or at least one
further agent) for the treatment or prevention of Clostridium difficile associated disease in a subject in need thereof (¶ [0002]). In another aspect, Herthel discloses methods of
treating or preventing C. difficile associated disease in a subject in need thereof where the methods comprise administering the aforementioned composition in an amount effective to treat or prevent the disease (¶ [0012]). In certain embodiments, the smectite is in the form of bentonite (¶ [0019]). In certain embodiments, the composition comprises 1 mg to 50 g smectite (¶ [0033]). In certain embodiments, the composition can further comprise one or more pharmaceutical agents such as antibiotics. Suitable antibiotics include vancomycin (¶ [0057]).
Herthel differs from the instant claims insofar as not explicitly disclosing the ratios and dosages of bentonite and vancomycin recited in the instant claims.
However, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, bentonite and vancomycin are active pharmaceutical ingredients, which makes ratios/dosages thereof a result effective variable, since ratios/dosages directly impact the therapeutic effect. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed ratios/dosages of bentonite and vancomycin to yield the desired therapeutic effect.
Therefore, the teachings of Herthel render obvious claims 7-8 and 16-17.
2. Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herthel et al. (US 2017/0173093, Jun. 22, 2017) (hereinafter Herthel) in view of Naik et al. (US 2017/0251674, Sep. 7, 2017) (hereinafter Naik).
The teachings of Herthel are discussed above.
Herthel differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the bentonite used is sodium bentonite.
However, Naik teaches a method of modulating the flora of bacteria in an environment comprising administering an effective amount of a quorum sensing control composition comprising at least one quorum sensing control agent such as phyllosilicate clays (Abstract). Diseases caused by drug-resistant Gram-negative bacteria, such as C. difficile, which exhibit resistance to current antibiotic treatments, could also be treated by administering effective amounts of an agent that inhibits or interferes with bacterial quorum sensing alone or in combination with antibiotics or other antibacterial agents to treat, for example, an animal,
whether it be a human or companion animal (¶ [0009]). Suitable clays include bentonites such as sodium bentonite (¶ [0054]). The quorum sensing control formulations may also include one or more antibiotics (¶ [0113]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Herthel discloses wherein the composition may comprise bentonite. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Herthel to comprise sodium bentonite, since it is a known bentonite for use in methods for treating diseases caused by bacteria such as C. difficile as taught by Naik.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Herthel and Naik render obvious claims 3-4.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-8 and 14-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,890,295 in view of Burnie et al. (US 2008/003826, Feb. 14, 2008) (hereinafter Burnie).
The instant claims and the patented claims both recite a clay mineral complex comprising smectite and antibiotics for treating a bacterial infection.
The patented claims differ from the instant claims in that they disclose specific antibiotics such as gentamicin and do not disclose treating C. difficile.
However, Burnie teaches compounds, medicaments and treatments for Clostridium difficile infection (Abstract). Gentamicin is utilized in the method of treatment of infection Clostridium difficile (¶ [0047]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the composition of the patented claims in the method of the instant claims since gentamicin is a known and effective antibiotic for use in method of treating Clostridium difficile infections as taught by Burnie.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 and 14-17 are rejected.
Claims 10-13 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/LEZAH ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612