DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 02/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “h-bridge” as claimed in claim 5, the “restricting device” as claimed in claims 13 and 14, and the “fastener” as claimed in claims 15 and 16 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character in FIG. 18 not mentioned in the description: 1503.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: diaphragm 2002 as mentioned in paragraph [0100], motor system 2011 as mentioned in paragraph [0101], and vacuum motor device 2100 as mentioned in paragraph [0111].
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “2020” in FIG. 20 has been used to designate both a control mechanism and, what is assumed by the examiner to be, a diaphragm.
Specification
The use of the term "Bluetooth", which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application, specifically in paragraphs [0087], [0108], and [0109]. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims state "...the controller is programmed to receive input from the user to control one or both of the electromechanical device and the second electromechanical device to thereby manipulate the vibratory waveform." The structure of this sentence is confusing and leads to misunderstanding as to what devices the controller is meant to control and how that affects the vibratory waveform. Appropriate correction is required. The examiner suggests changing the language of the sentence to “…the controller is programmed to receive input from the user to control one or both of the electromechanical devices to thereby manipulate the vibratory waveform.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The recitation, in claim 1, of “an electromechanical device configured to selectively allow air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion to create a vibratory waveform” has been interpreted as structurally a device that combines electrical and mechanical processes to perform tasks like producing a vibratory waveform, such as a motor, a solenoid or switch [0099]. The electromechanical device has also been interpreted as a flow restrictor valve or pressure relief system, when an electromechanical mechanism may not be needed [0102].
The recitation, in claim 3, of “a second electromechanical device configured to selectively allow air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion to create the vibratory waveform” has been interpreted as structurally a device that combines electrical and mechanical processes to perform tasks like producing a vibratory waveform, such as a motor, a solenoid or switch [0099]. The electromechanical device has also been interpreted as a flow restrictor valve or pressure relief system, when an electromechanical mechanism may not be needed [0102].
The recitation, in claim 10, of “a feedback control mechanism configured to tune the vibratory waveform” has been interpreted as structurally a mechanism in which feedback from the user is collected and reported back to the controller for adjustments [0081].
The recitation, in claim 11, of “an electromechanical device configured to selectively block the suction to create a vibratory waveform” has been interpreted as structurally a device that combines electrical and mechanical processes to perform tasks like producing a vibratory waveform, such as a motor, a solenoid or switch [0099]. The electromechanical device has also been interpreted as a flow restrictor valve or pressure relief system, when an electromechanical mechanism may not be needed [0102].
The recitation, in claim 12, of “a second electromechanical device configured to selectively block the suction” has been interpreted as structurally a device that combines electrical and mechanical processes to perform tasks like producing a vibratory waveform, such as a motor, a solenoid or switch [0099]. The electromechanical device has also been interpreted as a flow restrictor valve or pressure relief system, when an electromechanical mechanism may not be needed [0102].
The recitation, in claim 13, of “a restricting device configured to selectively engage the suction tube to create the vibratory waveform” has been interpreted structurally as a device that can impede or stop the flow of suction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jäger-Waldau (United States Patent No. US 8,734,386 B2) and further in view of Trivikram (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0298947 A1), Berkhof et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0336661 A1; herein, Berkhof), and Kelly et al. (United States Patent No. US 8,137,305 B2; herein, Kelly).
Regarding claim 1, Jäger-Waldau discloses a vacuum motor device for facilitating milk extraction from a breast of a user (breast milk pump 1), the device comprising:
an inlet portion (Fig. 1a, inlet 30);
an outlet portion coupled to the inlet portion (Fig. 1a, outlet 34);
a motor (electric motor 27) configured to cause air to flow into the inlet portion and out of the outlet portion during a breast pumping cycle to create suction for extracting the milk (col. 7 line 59 - col. 8 line 19).
Jäger-Waldau does not disclose an electromechanical device configured to selectively allow air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion to create a vibratory waveform; and a controller programmed to control the electromechanical device.
However, Trivikram teaches an electromechanical device (second electromechanical motor 244). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a second electromechanical motor as taught by Trivikram in order to operate multiple functions of the device at the same time.
Further, Jäger-Waldau in view Trivikram still does not disclose the second electromechanical motor as taught by Trivikram is configured to selectively allow air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion to create a vibratory waveform. However, Berkhof teaches selectively allowing air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion to create a vibratory waveform ([0094], electroactive polymers (EAPs) regulate air pressure and control pressure states to create a peristaltic pressure motion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second electromechanical motor as taught by Trivikram of the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to regulate the air allowed in and out of the pump as taught by Berkhof in order to mimic the baby suckling behavior and create a more realistic vibratory motion.
Finally, Jäger-Waldau in view Trivikram and Berkhof still does not disclose a controller programmed to control the electromechanical device. However, Kelly teaches a controller (control circuit 69) programmed to control the electromechanical device (FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 32-44, “Programmable control circuit 69 provides central control for the system.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a control circuit with the ability to control functionality of the device as taught by Kelly in order to have a central component that manages inputs and outputs for the motors and electromechanical elements of the device.
Regarding claim 2, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Trivikram teaches the electromechanical device is a second motor (second electromechanical motor 244). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to specify the electromechanical device as a motor as taught by Trivikram in order to operate multiple functions of the device at the same time.
Further, Berkhof teaches selectively allowing air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion to create a vibratory waveform ([0094], electroactive polymers (EAPs) regulate air pressure and control pressure states to create a peristaltic pressure motion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second motor as taught by Trivikram of the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to regulate the air allowed in and out of the pump as taught by Berkhof in order to mimic the baby suckling behavior and create a more realistic vibratory motion.
Regarding claim 3, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Trivikram teaches a second electromechanical device (second electromechanical motor 244). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a second electromechanical motor as taught by Trivikram in order to operate multiple functions of the device at the same time.
Further, Berkhof teaches selectively allowing air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion to create a vibratory waveform ([0094], electroactive polymers (EAPs) regulate air pressure and control pressure states to create a peristaltic pressure motion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second motor as taught by Trivikram of the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to regulate the air allowed in and out of the pump as taught by Berkhof in order to mimic the baby suckling behavior and create a more realistic vibratory motion.
Finally, Kelly teaches wherein the controller (control circuit 69) is programmed to receive input from the user to control one or both of the electromechanical device and the second electromechanical device to thereby manipulate the vibratory waveform (FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 32-44, command inputs can include vacuum level selector 19 and vacuum rate selector 21 which are adjustable by the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a control circuit with the ability to control functionality of the device as taught by Kelly in order to have a central component that manages inputs, specifically ones adjusted by the user, and outputs for the motors and electromechanical elements of the device.
Regarding claim 6, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Trivikram teaches the electromechanical device is a second motor (second electromechanical motor 244). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to specify the electromechanical device as a motor as taught by Trivikram in order to operate multiple functions of the device at the same time.
Further, Berkhof teaches create the vibratory waveform by increasing and decreasing pressure ([0094], electroactive polymers (EAPs) regulate air pressure and control pressure states to create a peristaltic pressure motion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second motor as taught by Trivikram of the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to regulate the air pressure allowed of the pump as taught by Berkhof in order to mimic the baby suckling behavior and create a more realistic vibratory motion.
Regarding claim 10, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau discloses a feedback control mechanism configured to tune the vibratory waveform (means for adjusting 41 the speed of the electric motor affects the suction output against the breast).
Regarding claim 11, a vacuum motor device for facilitating milk extraction from a breast of a user (breast milk pump 1), the device comprising:
an inlet portion (Fig. 1a, inlet 30);
an outlet portion coupled to the inlet portion (Fig. 1a, outlet 34);
a motor (electric motor 27) configured to cause air to flow into the inlet portion and out of the outlet portion during a breast pumping cycle to create suction for extracting the milk (col. 7 line 59 - col. 8 line 19).
Jäger-Waldau does not disclose an electromechanical device configured to selectively block the suction to create a vibratory waveform; and a controller programmed to receive input from the user to control the electromechanical device to thereby manipulate the vibratory waveform.
However, Trivikram teaches an electromechanical device (second electromechanical motor 244). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a second electromechanical motor as taught by Trivikram in order to operate multiple functions of the device at the same time.
Further, Jäger-Waldau in view Trivikram still does not disclose the second electromechanical motor as taught by Trivikram is configured to selectively block the suction to create a vibratory waveform. However, Berkhof teaches selectively blocking the suction to create a vibratory waveform ([0094], electroactive polymers (EAPs) “in off state blocks the air vent to ambient [pressure] and an actuated EAP blocks the under pressure, so that the cavity can be regulated between” pressure states). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second electromechanical motor as taught by Trivikram of the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to regulate the air pressure of the pump by blocking vent access occasionally as taught by Berkhof in order to mimic the baby suckling behavior and create a more realistic vibratory motion.
Finally, Jäger-Waldau in view Trivikram and Berkhof still does not disclose a controller programmed to receive input from the user to control the electromechanical device to thereby manipulate the vibratory waveform. However, Kelly teaches a controller (control circuit 69) programmed to receive input from the user to control the electromechanical device to thereby manipulate the vibratory waveform (FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 32-44, command inputs can include vacuum level selector 19 and vacuum rate selector 21 which are adjustable by the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a control circuit with the ability to control functionality of the device as taught by Kelly in order to have a central component that manages inputs, specifically ones adjusted by the user, and outputs for the motors and electromechanical elements of the device.
Regarding claim 12, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Trivikram teaches a second electromechanical device (second electromechanical motor 244). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a second electromechanical motor as taught by Trivikram in order to operate multiple functions of the device at the same time.
Further, Berkhof teaches selectively blocking the suction ([0094], electroactive polymers (EAPs) “in off state blocks the air vent to ambient [pressure] and an actuated EAP blocks the under pressure, so that the cavity can be regulated between” pressure states). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second motor as taught by Trivikram of the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to regulate the air pressure of the pump by blocking vent access occasionally as taught by Berkhof in order to mimic the baby suckling behavior and create a more realistic vibratory motion.
Finally, Kelly teaches wherein the controller (control circuit 69) is programmed to receive input from the user to control one or both of the electromechanical device and the second electromechanical device to thereby manipulate the vibratory waveform (FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 32-44, command inputs can include vacuum level selector 19 and vacuum rate selector 21 which are adjustable by the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a control circuit with the ability to control functionality of the device as taught by Kelly in order to have a central component that manages inputs, specifically ones adjusted by the user, and outputs for the motors and electromechanical elements of the device.
Regarding claim 15, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau discloses an opening formed in the device to allow air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion to create the vibratory waveform (Fig. 1a, passage opening 13 surrounded by conical seal 14 is connected in sequence with inlet 30 and outlet 34); and a fastener sized to engage the opening (Fig. 1a, conical sealing body 16 has shape complementary to seal 14).
Regarding claim 16, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau discloses threading the fastener into or out of the opening to thereby manipulate the vibratory waveform (Fig. 1a, conical sealing body 16 has shape complementary to seal 14 and moving in and out of complementary position affects air flow). Kelly teaches the controller (control circuit 69) is programmed to receive input from the user (FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 32-44, command inputs can include vacuum level selector 19 and vacuum rate selector 21 which are adjustable by the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a control circuit with the ability to control functionality of the device as taught by Kelly in order to have a central component that manages inputs, specifically ones adjusted by the user, for the motors and electromechanical elements of the device which output varying pressures and vibrations.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jäger-Waldau in view of Trivikram, Berkhof, and Kelly as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bonutti et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0253387 A1; herein, Bonutti).
Regarding claim 4, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau does not disclose a frequency of the vibratory waveform is between 2 Hz and 20 Hz. However, Bonutti teaches a frequency of the vibratory waveform is between 2 Hz and 20 Hz ([0170], “Exemplary vibratory energy operating frequencies may include ranges between any of 0 kHz, 0.03 kHz…may be adjusted during operation”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second electromechanical motor taught by Trivikram in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau to output a vibratory frequency between the range of 0 kHz-0.03 kHz as taught by Bonutti in order that the vibration frequency cause enough disruption to the breast to stimulate milk flow. Further, applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see applicant’s specification [0062] indicating the claimed range “may” be ideal for some embodiments).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jäger-Waldau in view of Trivikram, Berkhof, and Kelly as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Feluch et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0347319 A1; herein, Feluch).
Regarding claim 5, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau does not disclose an h-bridge to drive the motor to cyclically create a vacuum and release the vacuum, by alternating a polarity to the motor. However, Feluch teaches an h-bridge to drive the motor to cyclically create a vacuum and release the vacuum, by alternating a polarity to the motor ([0094], “vibration transducer drive circuitry 264 comprises an H-bridge circuit…The H-bridge circuit alternates the polarity of the DC voltage from the capacitors, such that the alternating polarity of the voltage has a particular frequency, where a wave having the frequency may traverse through the tubing 114”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor disclosed in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau to include an h-bridge circuit as taught by Feluch, as it is known in the art h-bridge circuits are a convenient way of switching direction of current and control over the speed and output of the motor.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jäger-Waldau in view of Trivikram, Berkhof, and Kelly as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pate et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0268334 A1; herein, Pate).
Regarding claim 7, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau does not disclose the electromechanical device includes a solenoid that is modulated to provide the vibratory waveform. However, Pate teaches the electromechanical device includes a solenoid (solenoid 145) that is modulated to provide the vibratory waveform ([0169], Pistons 160,170 uses solenoids 145 to maintain pressure of the pump and continuous fluid flow. The persistent activation/deactivation of the individual solenoids as the piston moves around the pump would create a vibratory waveform.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a solenoid that is modulated creating some form of a vibratory waveform as taught by Pate, as it is known in the art that solenoids have fast response times to changing electrical charges and precise motion control in pneumatic system.
Regarding claim 8, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau does not disclose the electromechanical device includes multiple solenoids configured to release a vacuum and provide the vibratory waveform. However, Pate teaches the electromechanical device includes multiple solenoids (FIG. 7, solenoids 145a-m) configured to release a vacuum and provide the vibratory waveform ([0169], Pistons 160,170 uses solenoids 145 to maintain pressure of the pump and continuous fluid flow. The persistent activation/deactivation of the individual solenoids as the piston moves around the pump would create a vibratory waveform.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include solenoids that are being activated and deactivated creating some form of a vibratory waveform as taught by Pate, as it is known in the art that solenoids have fast response times to changing electrical charges and precise motion control in pneumatic system.
Regarding claim 9, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau does not disclose the solenoid is positioned in a normally-opened configuration or a normally-closed configuration. However, Pate teaches the solenoid (FIG. 7, solenoids 145a-m) is positioned in a normally-opened configuration or a normally-closed configuration ([0169], The solenoids attract the piston 160 as it approaches, and repel as the midplanes of the two align by current produced control system 111). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to have the solenoid in a normally-open or normally-closed position displayed in Pate, as it can be inferred that any solenoid would enter into a normally-open or normally-closed position at some point during use. This constitutes whether current is being activated, as seen when the piston approaches the solenoid in Pate, or when no current is being activated, as the other solenoids not near the piston would experience at any given moment in Pate. The applicant has not specified at what point during use of the device the solenoid needs to be in a normally-open or normally-closed position.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jäger-Waldau in view of Trivikram, Berkhof, and Kelly as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Alizoti (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0240533 A1).
Regarding claim 13, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau discloses a suction tube for extracting the milk (Fig. 1a, suction line 31). Jäger-Waldau does not disclose a restricting device configured to selectively engage the suction tube to create the vibratory waveform. However, Alizoti teaches a restricting device (restrictor member 130) configured to selectively engage the suction tube to create the vibratory waveform (FIG. 15A-15C, [0092-0093], restrictor member 130 opens and closes based on exhalation force). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction line of the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a restrictor member as taught by Alizoti in order to regulate the amount of suction allowed through the pump and applied to the user, which would naturally in turn create a vibratory waveform.
Regarding claim 14, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Kelly teaches the controller (control circuit 69) is programmed to receive input from the user to control (FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 32-44, command inputs can include vacuum level selector 19 and vacuum rate selector 21 which are adjustable by the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a control circuit with the ability to control functionality of the device as taught by Kelly in order to have a central component that manages inputs, specifically ones adjusted by the user, and outputs for the motors and electromechanical elements of the device.
Further, Alizoti teaches the restricting device (restrictor member 130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction line of the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a restrictor member as taught by Alizoti in order to regulate the amount of suction allowed through the device and applied to the user. Combining the control circuit and restricting member would give the user the ability to control the amount of suction applied, which would in turn create a vibratory waveform.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jäger-Waldau in view of Trivikram, Berkhof, and Kelly as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of O'Toole et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0361040 A1; herein, O'Toole).
Regarding claim 17, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Jäger-Waldau does not disclose a bleeder valve configured to selectively allow air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion based upon a pressure exerted by the air on the bleeder valve to create the vibratory waveform. However, O’Toole teaches a bleeder valve (bleed valve 126) configured to selectively allow air into the inlet portion or the outlet portion based upon a pressure exerted by the air on the bleeder valve to create the vibratory waveform (FIGURE. 12, [0164], first bleed valve 126 supplies atmospheric air to the system). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to incorporate a bleed valve as taught by O’Toole in order to help regulate the internal pressure of the system during times of negative pressure.
Regarding claim 18, in the modified device of Jäger-Waldau, Kelly teaches the controller (control circuit 69) is programmed to receive input from the user to control (FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 32-44, command inputs can include vacuum level selector 19 and vacuum rate selector 21 which are adjustable by the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to include a control circuit with the ability to control functionality of the device as taught by Kelly in order to have a central component that manages inputs, specifically ones adjusted by the user, and outputs for the motors and electromechanical elements of the device.
Further, O’Toole teaches the bleeder valve (bleed valve 126). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified device disclosed by Jäger-Waldau to incorporate a bleed valve as taught by O’Toole in order to help regulate the internal pressure of the system during times of negative pressure. Combining the control circuit and bleed valve would give the user the ability to control the amount of suction applied, which would in turn create a vibratory waveform.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thistle et al. (United States Patent No. 4,723,941 A) is considered relevant prior art with regards to a pump oscillating to draw fluid from the body.
Kelly et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2008/0177224 A1) is considered relevant prior art with regards to a breast pump that is programmable by a user.
Simmons et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0287767 A1) is considered relevant prior art with regards to a breast pump with customizable user setting and feedback capabilities.
Strom et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0165795 A1) is considered relevant prior art with regards to a pump utilizing an h-bridge circuit to control frequency of oscillation.
/EVELYN A THOMAN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783