DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 6-7, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 6 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of these claims under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7, applicant addresses the rejection of claims 2 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112. Applicant states that “copper and pure cooper were provided as examples of suitable heat pipe material. This does not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112. As noted in MPEP 2173.05(d), “Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim.” Because applicant has stated that they intend “copper and pure copper” to be exemplary, the scope of the claim is unclear, because what applicant intends as exemplary can be interpreted as limiting. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 is maintained.
On pages 8 and 9, applicant contends “Neither Lee nor Davidson teaches or suggest or provides any motivation to replace the conventional aluminum laser base plate with a stainless-steel base plate incorporating embedded heat pipes.” However, Lee recognizes that both the laser base plate and the optical component holders may be made of stainless steel ([0064] “Since the mount jig 25 is to be bonded to the base member 40 through laser welding, it is preferred to use a material having a low expansion coefficient, and any material that can be used for laser welding is acceptable. For example, various materials such as kovar, invar, stainless steel, aluminum (Al) or magnesium (MG) alloy, and the like can be applied.”; [0086] “FIG. 16A is the result of analysis wherein the change in the penetration depth is analyzed using the cross-sections after performing laser welding on a stainless steel substrate with varying laser energy. It can be seen that the thickness between the components to be bonded through laser welding should be appropriately adjusted, and an optimization process for laser welding power is necessary.”). Additionally, Lee discloses that stainless steel and aluminum are known alternatives in the art. Furthermore, Davidson also discloses that the base plate may include steel. Col. 7 ll. 3-7 “Alternatively, use of clamping plate 49 may obviate the need for expensive dispersion hardened copper as the material base plate 45; rather clamping plate 49 fabricated of inexpensive steel functions as the structural element.” Accordingly, the prior art readily recognizes that both the base plate and the optical component holders may be made out of stainless steel and the Office did not improperly rely on applicant’s disclosure to arrive at that conclusion. Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-15 appear to merely repeat the assertion that Lee does not disclose a stainless steel material when Lee clearly discloses stainless as a material for the base plate and the optical holders but applies it to the other claims. Accordingly, these assertions are not persuasive for the same reasons outlined above.
On page 10, applicant contends the rejection of claim 6 is improper. Specifically, applicant contends that “Lee does not teach or suggest using laser spot welding as the sole attachment and final alignment technique for a screw-free optical holder.” The Office disagrees. Lee states at [0053] “laser welding is performed on the mount jig 20, which is already in close contact with the base member 40 by the pressing jig 50, by using a laser head module 60 for laser welding.” As illustrated in Fig. 7, Lee discloses a laser head welding one side and then the other to secure final alignment. Lee further states at [0055] “In this way, by performing laser welding, the mount jig 20 is coupled with the base member 40 through spot welding, and preferably, the work sequence of the laser welding process should be optimized in a way that the variation in the optically aligned power is minimized.”
On page 10 and 11, applicant contends the rejection of claim 7 is improper. Specifically, applicant contends that Lee does not disclose using such a composite laser-welder holder to achieve the required adjustment freedom while permanently converting the assembly. However, Lee discloses exactly this feature in Fig. 15 and [0084].
Accordingly, the art rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 9 are indefinite because it is unclear if “the elongated heat pipes (2) are made of a metal having good thermal conductivity such as copper, and more preferably pure copper” if “such as copper” and “more preferably pure copper” limit the claim or are merely examples. For the purpose of this Office Action, claims 2 and 9 will be interpreted as “the elongated heat pipes (2) are made of a metal having good thermal conductivity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12, 15, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US20160329676A1), hereafter Lee, in view of Davidson et al. (US5253702), hereafter Davidson.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Lee discloses a method of forming a laser base plate wherein holders of laser optical components are attached to the laser base plate (Title), comprising steps of the following: -choosing of material from which the laser base plate (1) and laser optical component holders (5, 5') will be made ([0041]); and -attaching the laser optical component holders (5, 5') to the laser base plate (1) ([0096]-[0097]) and adjusting the laser optical component holders (5, 5') with respect to each other using laser spot welding to their final alignment ([0096]-[0097]); wherein the material selected for the production of the laser base plate (1) and the laser optical component holders (5, 5') is stainless steel ([0041]; [0064]; [0086]). Lee does not explicitly disclose a method for homogenizing the temperature of a base plate comprising steps of - providing the laser base plate (1) with elongated heat pipes (2) inserted into an array of holes made in the laser base plate (1); wherein the elongated heat pipes passive heat transfer elements (2) are selected to have a significantly, preferably at least ten times, a higher thermal conductivity than stainless steel and a coefficient of thermal expansion close to that of stainless steel. However, Davidson discloses a method for homogenizing the temperature of a base plate (col. 3 ll. 20-25) comprising steps of - providing the laser base plate (1) with elongated heat pipes (2) (Abstract “A sintered copper thermal wick”) inserted (Abstract “applied”) into an array of holes made in the base plate (1) (Fig. 2 elements 27 and 28); wherein the elongated heat pipes (2) are selected to have a significantly, preferably at least ten times, a higher thermal conductivity than stainless steel (Abstract; Applicant’s specification indicates the properties of copper meet this limitation) and a coefficient of thermal expansion close to that of stainless steel (Abstract; Applicant’s specification indicates the properties of copper meet this limitation). An advantage is to significantly improve the heat transfer capability of the base plate (col. 2 ll. 53-58). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with a method for homogenizing the temperature of a base plate comprising steps of - providing the laser base plate (1) with elongated heat pipes (2) inserted into an array of holes made in the laser base plate (1); wherein the elongated heat pipes passive heat transfer elements (2) are selected to have a significantly, preferably at least ten times, a higher thermal conductivity than stainless steel and a coefficient of thermal expansion close to that of stainless steel as disclosed by Davidson in order to significantly improve the heat transfer capability of the base plate.
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Davidson further discloses the elongated heat pipes (2) are made of a metal having good thermal conductivity such as copper, and more preferably pure copper (Abstract).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Davidson further discloses the elongate heat pipes (2) which are inserted into the laser base plate (1) are heat pipes of a selected diameter and length (Fig. 2 shows the pipes having a diameter and length) that employs phase transition to transfer heat (col. 5 ll. 20-25).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Davidson further discloses the heat pipes are arranged in one or more different directions with respect to the laser base plate (1) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further discloses the laser optical component holders (5) are monolithic and prior to mounting to the laser base plate (Fig. 2 element 20), the laser optical component holders are aligned in a plane of the laser base plate according to two orthogonal translation coordinates and one rotating coordinate ([0048]; Fig. 5 elements 1R, 2R, and 3R; [0011]), after which the laser optical component holders are mounted using laser spot welding, and after mounting, the final alignment is performed using laser spot welding (Figs. 6 and 7; [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further discloses the laser optical component holders (5′) are composite (Fig. 15 elements 25 and 70), consisting of two monolithic blocks (7) and (8) which are assembled and aligned with each other in a plane perpendicular to a plane of the laser base plate (1) (Fig. 15 elements 25 and 70; [0081]), and fastened by laser spot welding (6′) ([0084]) Lee in view of Davidson do not explicitly disclose the assembled laser optical component holder (5′) is aligned in the plane of the laser base plate and fastened to the laser base plate (1) by laser spot welding (6), or first the laser base plate (1) is aligned and fastened to the lower block (7) using laser spot welding (6), and then aligns and fastens the upper block (8) to the lower block (7) using laser spot welding (6′). However, Lee discloses optimizing the work sequence of welding the first block and the second block in a way that the variation in the optically aligned power is minimized (Fig. 15 elements 60; [0084]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Lee in view of Davidson with the assembled laser optical component holder (5′) is aligned in the plane of the laser base plate and fastened to the laser base plate (1) by laser spot welding (6), or first the laser base plate (1) is aligned and fastened to the lower block (7) using laser spot welding (6), and then aligns and fastens the upper block (8) to the lower block (7) using laser spot welding (6′), since Lee discloses optimizing the work sequence of welding the first block and the second block in a way that the variation in the optically aligned power is minimized and the Court has held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (e.g. the blocks may be welded before welding to the base, a first block may be welded to the base and then the second block may be welded to the first block, or the blocks may be welded together and to the base at the same time), with a reasonable expectation of success (e.g. Lee discloses that its known to optimize the process sequence) requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, Davidson further discloses ends of the elongated heat pipes (2) are connected to an outside of the laser base plate (1) by additional elongated heat pipes (2′) (Fig. 2 elements 30).
Regarding claim 18, Lee in view of Davidson do not explicitly disclose in the laser base plate (1) are channels (4) of a selected shape and direction additionally formed for dissipating excess heat, in which coolant flows. However, the Office takes Official Notice that channels of a selected shape and direction additionally formed for dissipating excess heat, in which coolant flows are well known in the art. An advantage is to help remove heat from the heat pipes. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Davidson with channels of a selected shape and direction additionally formed for dissipating excess heat, in which coolant flows as is well known in the art in order to help remove heat from the heat pipes.
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Davidson do not explicitly disclose the laser base plate (1) and the laser optical component holders (5, 5′) are made of AISI 304 stainless steel. However, the Office takes Official Notice that AISI 304 stainless steel is well known in the art. An advantage of AISI 304 stainless steel is a similar CTE to copper. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lee in view of Davidson with the laser base plate (1) and the laser optical component holders (5, 5′) are made of AISI 304 stainless steel, since AISI 304 stainless steel is well known in the art and has a similar CTE to copper and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 21, Lee in view of Davidson do not explicitly disclose the coolant is water. However, the Office takes Official Notice that water is a well known coolant in the art. An advantage is to use a well known material with known properties to cool the heat pipes. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Davidson with the coolant is water as is known in the art in order to use a known coolant with known properties and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 13, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et in view of Davidson in further view of Camarda et al. (US5598632), hereafter Camarda.
Regarding claim 13, Davidson further discloses the elongated heat pipes (2) are inserted in the holes made in the laser base plate (1) (Abstract “A sintered copper thermal wick”; Abstract “applied”; Fig. 2 elements 27 and 28). Lee in view of Davidson do not explicitly disclose arranged in one direction at equal intervals from each other. However, Camarda discloses the elongated heat pipes (2) are arranged in one direction at equal intervals from each other (Fig. 3 elements 30 in the top layer). An advantage is to better transport heat in two directions while adding redundancy to the design (col. 3 ll. 37-48). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Davidson with the elongated heat pipes (2) are arranged in one direction at equal intervals from each other as disclosed by Camarda in order to better transport heat in two directions while adding redundancy to the design.
Regarding claim 14, Davidson further discloses the elongated heat pipes (2) are inserted in the holes made in the laser base plate (1) (Abstract “A sintered copper thermal wick”; Abstract “applied”; Fig. 2 elements 27 and 28). Camarda, for the same reason outlined above, further discloses the are arranged without intersecting in different directions (Fig. 3 elements 30 in the top layer and elements 30 in the bottom layer).
Regarding claim 20, Davidson further discloses the elongated heat pipes (Abstract “A sintered copper thermal wick”; Abstract “applied”; Fig. 2 elements 27 and 28). Camarda, for the same reason outlined above, further discloses the elongated heat pipes are further arranged according to width and/or length and/or height of the laser base plate (1) (Fig. 3 elements 30).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et in view of Davidson in further view of Ikeda et al. (US2004/0032891A1), hereafter Ikeda.
Regarding claim 16, Davidson further discloses a heat sink (3) for dissipating excess heat arranged on an outside of the laser base plate (1) on its side and on the elongated heat pipes (2, 2′) (Fig. 2 elements 32). Lee in view of Davidson do not explicitly disclose heat sinks arranged on sides of the laser base plate. However, Ikeda discloses heat sinks arranged on sides of the laser base plate (Fig. 4 elements 34 and 35). An advantage is to dissipate heat at predetermined positions ([0052]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Davidson with heat sinks arranged on sides of the laser base plate as disclosed by Ikeda in order to dissipate heat at predetermined positions.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et in view of Davidson in further view of Heintel et al. (US20170108788A1), hereafter Heintel.
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Davidson do not explicitly disclose the laser optical component holders (5, 5′) of the optical components have embedded elongated heat pipes (2). However, Heintel discloses the laser optical component holders (5, 5′) of the optical components have embedded elongated heat pipes (2) ([0040]). An advantage is to better remove heat from the optical components ([0040]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee in view of Davidson with the laser optical component holders (5, 5′) of the optical components have embedded elongated heat pipes (2) as disclosed by Heintel in order to better remove heat from the optical components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited. See, e.g, 6189213 Figs. 1A and 1B showing heat pipes being inserted into a base.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joshua King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 09/30/2026