DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Restriction/Election
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, 12-14, 18-19, and 27 in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of species (i) “Vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV)” and “Sindbis virus (SINV)” is acknowledged.
Applicant indicated that claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, 12-14, 18-19 and 27 read on the elected species.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the restriction / election is made final.
Status of Claims
3. Claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, 12-14, 18-19, 27-31, 33-34, 36 and 41 filed on 01/08/2024 are pending.
4. Claims 28-31, 33-34, 36 and 41 are withdrawn from examination due to restriction / election.
5. Claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, 12-14, 18-19, and 27 are under examination.
Priority
6. This application is a national stage filing under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Application No. PCT/US2021/063930, filed December 16, 2021, which claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/126,516, filed December 16, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
7. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/14/2023, 04/25/2025, 09/30/2025, 03/23/2026, and 04/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The instant claim 1 and dependent claims are directed to a method of producing a modular viral genome. One or more synthesized DNA fragments comprising a nucleic acid of the viral genome consist of viral adaptors (VAs) that are different and are located on a terminal end of the nucleic acid fragment. The VA at 3’ end of first nucleic acid fragment is same to the VA on the 5’ end of the second fragment to allow for linking in a pre-designed order. The nucleic acid fragments comprise protein coding region and non-coding features and heterologous genes or reporter genes or marker genes thereby producing a modular viral genome. Specific viral genomes e.g. VSV and Sindbis virus genome are designed and constructed into a modular viral genome to produce a virus that is infectious or replication capable. The specification describes computer aided design modular viral genome and chemical synthesis or enzymatic synthesis of nucleic acid to construct modular viral genome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bennett et al 2004 (US20040219516A1, published 11/04/2004).
Claim 1: Bennett et al 2004 is directed to viral vectors and methods for the construction of nucleic acids comprising all or portion of a viral genome and discloses a method of producing a modular viral genome (see, para [0301], [0303], abstract, claims 17-28) comprising:
a. selecting one or more synthesized DNA fragments comprising a nucleic acid, wherein each DNA fragment comprises a first viral adaptor (VA) and a second VA, wherein the first VA is different than the second VA, and wherein each VA is located on a terminal end of the nucleic acid (see, para [0201], [0202], [0200], [0913], [0303], claims 17-28, abstract); and
b. assembling the one or more synthesized DNA fragments, wherein a first synthesized DNA fragment is assembled or joined to a second synthesized DNA fragment via homologous VA regions, thereby producing a modular viral genome (see, para [0042], [0301], [0342], [0364], claims 17-28, Fig. 2, abstract). Bennett et al 2004 disclosed adapter sites that can be different on a first and second nucleic acid molecule by disclosing - "the present invention utilizing more than one (e.g., two, three, four, five, seven, ten, twelve, fifteen, twenty, thirty, fifty, etc.) recombination sites, such recombination sites may be the same or different and may recombine with each other or may not recombine or not substantially recombine with each other (see, para [0042]); "Adapter...refers to an oligonucleotide or nucleic acid fragment or segment (preferably DNA) that comprises one or more recombination sites (or portions of such recombination sites) that can be added to a circular or linear Insert Donor molecule as well as to other nucleic acid molecules described herein...adapters are preferably added at or near one or both termini of a linear molecule. Preferably, adapters are positioned to be located on both sides (flanking) a particular nucleic acid molecule of interest (see, para [0200]), and further discloses applying adapters to construct a viral vector (see, para [0364]) - "one or more nucleic acid segments comprising viral sequences and/or one or more recombination sites and/or topoisomerase recognition sites. Segments may be provided with recombination sites...may be combined in order to construct a viral vector''; - "the invention provides a modular system for constructing viruses". The adapter...comprises one or more recombination sites" (see, para [0301], [0200]) Figure 2). Bennett et al 2004 thus anticipated a method of producing or construction of a modular viral vector or modular viral genome (See, claims 17- 28, para [0303], entire prior art).
Claim 3: Bennett et al 2004 disclosed added limitation of instant claim 3, wherein the one or more synthesized DNA fragments comprise one or more genes by disclosing methods for the construction of nucleic acids comprising all or portion of a viral genome. Nucleic acid molecules of the invention may be constructed to contain multiple recombination and/or topoisomerase recognition sites. The compositions include vectors having multiple recombination sites with unique specificity that contain all or a portion of a viral genome. Structural and nonstructural genes of a vial genome are disclosed. Different viruses such as adenovirus, herpesvirus, alphavirus, flavivirus, and togavirus are disclosed and can be used (See, abstract, claims 1-11, claim 17, para [0153]-[0158], [0035]).Different genes of adenoviral genome are taught that can be used for construction of entire adenoviral viral genome that comprise more than one viral gene (see, para [0007]).
Claim 4: Bennett et al 2004 disclosed added limitation of instant claim 4, wherein the one or more synthesized DNA fragments comprise one or more genes from one or more viruses by disclosing nucleic acid molecule comprises all or a portion of at least one viral genome selected from the group consisting of a herpesvirus genome and a pox virus genome, nucleic acid molecules comprising all or a potion of more than one viral genome, for example, a nucleic acid molecule of the invention may comprise all or a portion of a first viral genome an adenoviral, a herpesvirus genome and a pox virus genome (see, claim 21, and claim 17, para [0032]).
Claim 5: Bennett et al 2004 disclosed and anticipated added limitation of instant claim 5, wherein the one or more viruses are vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV) (see, para [0756]) the VSV-G gene from Vesicular Stomatitis Virus and Sindbis virus (SINV) (see, para [0058]).
Claim 9: Bennett et al 2004 disclosed and anticipated added limitation of instant claim 9, wherein a first synthesized DNA fragment comprises one or more genes from a first virus and a second synthesized DNA fragment comprises one or more genes from a second virus (see, para [0303], [0022]) - "each having at least one recombination site and some having viral sequences (e.g., baculoviral or adenoviral sequences) may be constructed and combined to produce a nucleic acid molecule of the invention."; (see, para [0364)] - "one or more nucleic acid segments comprising viral sequences...Segments may be provided with recombination sites such that a series of segments (e.g., two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, etc.) may be combined in order to construct a viral vector or other nucleic acid molecule of the present invention...Segments may be combined in reactions involving two or more segments (e.g., three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, etc.)."; (see para [0201]) - "linear nucleic acid molecules in a variety of contexts and by a variety of techniques, including but not limited to amplification (e.g., PCR), ligation (e.g., enzymatic or chemical/synthetic ligation)"; (see, para (0202]) - "Template ...refers to a double stranded or single stranded nucleic acid molecule that is to be ...synthesized").
Claim 10: Bennett et al 2004 disclosed and anticipated added limitation of instant claim 10, wherein the modular viral genome comprises at least three synthesized DNA fragments by disclosing (see, para [0303], [0022]) - "each having at least one recombination site and some having viral sequences (e.g., baculoviral or adenoviral sequences) may be constructed and combined to produce a nucleic acid molecule of the invention."; (see, para [0364]) - "one or more nucleic acid segments comprising viral sequences...Segments may be provided with recombination sites such that a series of segments (e.g., two, three, four, five six, seven, eight, nine, ten, etc.) may be combined in order to construct a viral vector or other nuclei acid molecule of the present invention...Segments may be combined in reactions involving two or more segments (e.g., three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, etc.)."; (see, para [0201]) - "linear nucleic acid molecules in a variety of contexts and by a variety of techniques, including but not limited to amplification (e.g., PCR), ligation (e.g., enzymatic or chemical/synthetic ligation)"; (see, para [0202]) - "Template...refers to a double stranded or single stranded nucleic acid molecule that is to be...synthesized").
Claim 12: Bennett et al 2004 disclosed and anticipated added limitation of instant claim 12, wherein the one or more synthesized DNA fragments comprise a coding sequence (CDS), an mRNA, a 5' untranslated region (UTR), a 3' UTR, a signal peptide, or a mature peptide by disclosing " viral vectors that, upon expression of a sequence of interest, produce fusion proteins having more than one property, function, or activity, these expression products (proteins) can be fusion proteins that contain a signal peptide to export from cell to outside of the cell (see, para [0325]). A nucleic acid that contains information necessary for expression of a polypeptide, protein, or untranslated RNA. When the gene encodes a protein, it includes the promoter and the structural gene open reading frame sequence (ORF) (mRNA), as well as other sequences involved in expression of the protein (see, para [0041], [0153], [0157]).
Claim 13: Bennett et al 2004 disclosed and anticipated added limitation of instant claim 13, wherein the one or more synthesized DNA fragments comprise a genetic kill switch, a reporter gene, a therapeutic agent, a watermark, a barcode, or a diagnostic agent by disclosing a virus comprising a nucleic acid molecule encoding a fusion polypeptide with a reporter activity, and detecting a reporter activity (see, para [1142], [0187]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over prior art teachings of Bennett et al 2004 (US20040219516A1, published 11/04/2004) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, and 12-13 and further in view of Clarke et al 2007 (US20070218078A1, 09/20/2007) and Lawson et al 1995 (PNAS, 92(10), 4477-4481).
For purposes of obviousness, the teachings of Bennett et al 2004 regarding instant claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, and 12-13 as recited supra are incorporated here in entirety.
Claim 14: The method of claim 1, wherein at least one synthesized DNA fragment comprises at least one of a nucleocapsid protein (N) of VSV, a phosphoprotein (P) of VSV, a matrix protein (M) of VSV, and a glycoprotein (G) of VSV.
The prior art teachings of Bennett et al 2004 rendered obvious claim 1 as recited supra but failed to specifically disclose the added limitation of claim 14.
Clarke 2007 disclosed a genetically modified vesicular stomatitis virus (VSV. A method of constructing a virus containing vector (Claim 29 - "A genetically modified VSV vector comprising the VSV"), and further discloses a nucleocapsid protein (N) of VSV (para (0009) - "the VSV N gene...wherein N is the gene encoding the nucleocapsid protein"). Since Bennett discloses including a gene from the Vesicular Stomatitis Virus (para [0756) - ''The VSV-G gene from Vesicular Stomatitis Virus is used"). VSV genome is 11 Kb genome has five genes which encode five structural proteins of the virus; the nucleocapsid protein (N), which is required in stoichiometric amounts for encapsidation of the replicated RNA; the phosphoprotein (P), which is a cofactor of the RNA-dependent RNA polymerase (L); the matrix protein (M) and the attachment glycoprotein (G) (see, para [0002], [0009]).
Lawson et al 1995 is in the art and teaches modular construction of VSV genome and rescue of recombinant vesicular stomatitis viruses from DNA and thus teaches N, P, M and G genes and regulatory elements of VS genome (see, abstract, Fig 1, entire article).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Clarke 2007 and Lawson et al 1995 on claimed VSV N, P, M and G genes and associated regulatory sequences in the modular viral genome construction methods and develop the modulator vector to further improve the functional properties of a modular viral construct for applications thereof.
Claim 18: The method of claim 1, wherein at least one synthesized DNA fragment comprises a nucleocapsid protein (N), a phosphoprotein (P), and a matrix protein (M) of VSV.
The prior art teachings of Bennett et al 2004 rendered obvious claim 1 as recited supra but failed to specifically disclose the added limitation of claim 18.
Clarke 2007 disclosed a method of constructing a virus containing vector (Claim 29 - "A genetically modified VSV vector comprising the VSV"), and further discloses a nucleocapsid protein (N), a phosphoprotein (P), and a matrix protein (M) of VSV (para [0009) - "the VSV N gene...N is the gene encoding the nucleocapsid protein, P is the gene encoding the phosphoprotein, M is the gene encoding the matrix protein").
Lawson et al 1995 is in the art and teaches modular construction of VSV genome and rescue of recombinant vesicular stomatitis viruses from DNA and thus teaches N, P, M and G genes and regulatory elements of VS genome (see, abstract, Fig 1, entire article).
Since Bennett et al 2004 disclosed a gene from the Vesicular Stomatitis Virus (para (0756) - "The VSV-G gene from Vesicular Stomatitis Virus is used"), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the nucleocapsid protein (N), a phosphoprotein (P), and a matrix protein (M) of VSV, of Clarke 2007 or Lawson et al 1995, in the modular viral genome construction methods and compositions in order to further improve the functional properties of a modular viral construction and application thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior arts teachings as applied to claim 1 with additional teachings of Clarke 2007 and Lawson et al 1995 to arrive at the invention of claims 14 and 18. One of the ordinary skills would have been motivated to modify the prior arts teachings as applied to claim 1 to arrive at the claimed inventions to develop modular method of construction and production of viral genome including flexibility of molecular design to tailor the produced VSV viral genotype and phenotype for commercial success. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the combined prior art teachings as applied to claims 14 and 18 as recited supra. This is analogous to some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the invention as claimed in claims 14 and 18. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, example of rationales, A -G).
12. Claims 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over prior art teachings of Bennett et al 2004 (US20040219516A1, published 11/04/2004) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Li 2008 (US20080096274A1, 04/24/2008) and Agapov et al 1998 (PNAS, 95(22), 12989-12994).
For purposes of obviousness, the teachings of Bennett et al 2004 regarding instant claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, and 12-13 as recited supra are incorporated here in entirety.
Claim 19: The method of claim 1, wherein at least one synthesized DNA fragment comprises at least one of a nonstructural protein 1 (nsP1) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 2 (nsP2) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 3 (nsP3) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 4 (nsP4) of SINV, a capsid protein (C) of SINV, a spike glycoprotein El (E1) of SINV, a spike glycoprotein E2 (E2) of SINV, and an assembly protein E3 (E3) of SINV.
The prior art teachings of Bennett et al 2004 rendered obvious claim 1 as recited supra but failed to specifically disclose the added limitation of claim 19.
Li 2008 disclosed a virus containing vector (Abstract - "The Sindbis viral vector includes a nucleic acid segment encoding a fusion protein comprising a Sindbis virus nonstructural protein") and further discloses a nonstructural protein 1 (nsP1) of SINV (para (0048] - "Alphaviruses express four nonstructural proteins, designated nsp1, nsp2, nsp3, and nsp4. Vectors of the present invention derived from alphaviruses should contain sequences encoding the four nonstructural proteins. In wild-type Sindbis virus, nonstructural proteins").
Agapov et al 1998 is in the art and teaches modular construction of noncytopathic Sindbis virus RNA vectors for heterologous gene expression and thus teaches all structural and non-structural genes and sequences of Sindbis virus for rescue or modular construction of the viral genome, the genes include the instant claimed genes a nonstructural protein 1 (nsP1) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 2 (nsP2) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 3 (nsP3) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 4 (nsP4) of SINV, a capsid protein (C) of SINV, a spike glycoprotein El (E1) of SINV, a spike glycoprotein E2 (E2) of SINV, and an assembly protein E3 (E3) of SINV (see, abstract, Fig. 1, 3, entire article).
Since Bennett discloses including a gene from the Sindbis virus (para (0058] - "at least one of the viral genomes may be an RNA virus genome...Sindbis virus"), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the nonstructural protein 1 (nsP1) of SINV, or all required structural and non-structural proteins of Sindbis virus taught by Li 2006 or Agapov et al 1998 in the modular viral genome construction methods and compositions of Bennett, in order to further improve the functional properties of a modular viral construct for applications thereof.
Claim 27: The method of claim 1, wherein at least one synthesized DNA fragment comprises a nonstructural protein 1 (nsP1), a nonstructural protein 2 (nsP2), a nonstructural protein 3 (nsP3), a nonstructural protein 4 (nsP4), a capsid protein (C), a spike glycoprotein E1 (E1), a spike glycoprotein E2 (E2), and an assembly protein E3 (E3) of SINV.
The prior art teachings of Bennett et al 2004 rendered obvious claim 1 as recited supra but failed to specifically disclose the added limitation of claim 27.
Li 2006 disclosed a virus containing vector (Abstract - "The Sindbis viral vector includes a nucleic acid segment encoding a fusion protein comprising a Sindbis virus nonstructural protein") and further discloses a nonstructural protein 1 (nsP1), a nonstructural protein 2 (nsP2), a nonstructural protein 3 (nsP3), a nonstructural protein 4 (nsP4) (para [0048] - "Alphaviruses express four nonstructural proteins, designated nsp1, nsp2, nsp3, and nsp4. Vectors of the present invention derived from alphaviruses should contain sequences encoding the four nonstructural proteins. In wild-type Sindbis virus, nonstructural proteins"), and further discloses a capsid protein (C) of SINV (para [0065] - "There are generally two types of SINV vectors...viral structural genes (capsid"; para [0021] - "the desired viral capsid polypeptide coding regions are operably linked into an expression vector"), and further discloses a spike glycoprotein El (El), a spike glycoprotein E2 (E2), and an assembly protein E3 (E3) of SINV (para [0034] - "alphavirus structural proteins (e.g., C, E3, E2, 6K, E1)"; para (0038] - "The expression cassette should include...sequences which, when expressed, code for one or more biologically active alphavirus structural proteins (e.g., C, E3, E2, 6K, E1), and a 3' sequence which controls transcription termination."). Since Bennett discloses including a gene from the Sindbis virus (para (0058] - "at least one of the viral genomes may be an RNA virus genome...Sindbis virus"), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the nonstructural protein 1 (nsP1). a nonstructural protein 2 (nsP2), a nonstructural protein 3 (nsP3), a nonstructural protein 4 (nsP4), a capsid protein (C), a spike glycoprotein E1 (E1), a spike glycoprotein E2 (E2), and an assembly protein E3 (E3) of SINV, of Li, in the modular viral genome construction methods and compositions of Bennett, in order to further improve the functional properties of a modular viral construct for applications thereof.
Agapov et al 1998 is in the art and teaches modular construction of noncytopathic Sindbis virus RNA vectors for heterologous gene expression and thus teaches all structural and non-structural genes and sequences of Sindbis virus for rescue or modular construction of the viral genome, the genes include the instant claimed genes a nonstructural protein 1 (nsP1) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 2 (nsP2) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 3 (nsP3) of SINV, a nonstructural protein 4 (nsP4) of SINV, a capsid protein (C) of SINV, a spike glycoprotein El (E1) of SINV, a spike glycoprotein E2 (E2) of SINV, and an assembly protein E3 (E3) of SINV (see, abstract, Fig. 1, 3, entire article).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior arts teachings as applied to claim 1 with additional teachings of Li 2006 and Agapov et al 1998 to arrive at the invention of claims 19 and 27. One of the ordinary skills would have been motivated to modify the combined prior arts teachings as applied to claim 1 to arrive at the claimed inventions to develop modular method of construction and production of viral genome including flexibility of molecular design to tailor the produced Sindbis viral genotype and phenotype for commercial success. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the combined prior art teachings as applied to claims 19 and 27 as recited supra. This is analogous to some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the invention as claimed in claims 19 and 27. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, example of rationales, A -G).
13. Relevant Prior Art
Cello et al 2002. Chemical synthesis of poliovirus cDNA: generation of infectious virus in the absence of natural template. science, 297(5583), 1016-1018. Cell et al 2002 is in the synthetic viral genome art and teaches chemical synthesis of a virus, a poliovirus cDNA and modular assembly of three nucleic acid fragments that has adapters at 5’ and 3’ end of the fragments, comprising 5’ UTR in one of the fragments, genes encoding structural domain P1 (encoding P1 protein) and non-structural domains P2 and P3 (non-structural proteins) for modular production of poliovirus cDNA and generation of an infectious poliovirus in the absence of a natural polioviral genomic RNA template resulting in de novo synthesis of infectious poliovirus (see, abstract, Fig 1-3).
Noyce et al 2018. Construction of an infectious horsepox virus vaccine from chemically synthesized DNA fragments. PloS one, 13(1), e0188453. Noyce et al 2017 is in the chemical synthetic virology art and teaches modular construction of horsepox virus genome from chemically synthesized DNA fragments, ten large (10±30 kb) fragments of DNA were synthesized based on the HPXV sequence along with two 157 nt VACV terminal sequences, a reporter gene encoding yellow fluorescent protein fused to guanine phosphoribosyltransferase protein (YFP-gpt) and production of an infectious horsepox virus vaccine virus strain (see, abstract, Fig. 1, 4, Table 1, methods, entire article).
Villalobos et al 2006. Gene Designer: a synthetic biology tool for constructing artificial DNA segments. BMC bioinformatics, 7(1), 285. Villalobos et al 2006 is in the art and teaches Gene Designer software a synthetic biology tool for constructing artificial DNA segments (See, abstract, entire article).
Oldfield et al 2017. Genome-wide engineering of an infectious clone of herpes simplex virus type 1 using synthetic genomics assembly methods. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 114(42), E8885-E8894.
Akama-Garren et al 2016. A modular assembly platform for rapid generation of DNA constructs. Sci. Rep. 6, 16836.
Conclusion
14. No claim is allowed.
/SAMADHAN JAISING JADHAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600