DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1, 4-5, 12, 15-16, 23, 26-27, and 29 are pending wherein claims 1, 12, 23, and 29 are in independent form.
3. Claims 1, 12, 23, and 29 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed on 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
5. On page 11 of the remarks, applicant argues, “However, the packet header described by Kenney is not the same as, and does not disclose, teach, or suggest, "parameters indicative of a second set of time and frequency resources," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Instead, the packet header of Kenney indicates whether the sending device has a full-duplex capability. See Kenney | [0069]. That is, whether a device is generally capable of full duplex communications, as in Kenney, is not the same as "a second set of time and frequency resources," as claimed. Thus, a packet header indicating whether a device has a capability, as in Kenney, is not the same as, and does not disclose, teach, or suggest, "parameters indicative of a second set of time and frequency resources," much less "parameters indicative of a second set of time and frequency resources for performing a full-duplex communication with the first UE, wherein the second set of time and frequency resources comprises one or more resources of the first set of time and frequency resources," as recited in amended independent claim 1.”
In response, examiner respectfully disagrees because:
The common radio frequency channel/wireless channel when accessed by a first communication device is considered as the claimed first set of time frequency resources. By transmitting the first portion/header of a first packet after gaining access, the first device reserves the radio frequency channel/wireless channel until all the packets available at the first device are transmitted (Par 0038—" Upon completion of the packet transmission, the first communication device 103a may release the wireless channel so that the other communication devices 103 may compete for access to the wireless channel again”.) (Fig. 4, Fig. 6A-C, Par 0037-0039, Par 0089-0090, Par 0094-0098). When first portion/header portion of the first packet includes a full duplex capability information, it (full duplex capability information) indicates to utilize the reserved radio frequency channel/wireless channel for performing a full duplex communication (Fig. 4-6, Par 0057-0059, Par 0075, Par 0080-0083, Par 0085-0087, Par 0089-0090, Par 0094-0098). Therefore, the reserved radio frequency channel/wireless channel is the radio frequency resources used for full duplex communication based on the full duplex capability information included in the first portion/header portion of the first packet. When the reserved radio frequency channel/wireless channel is indicated to be used for full duplex communication, it is considered as the claimed second set of time and frequency resources. Claim recites that the first set of time and frequency resources and the second set of time and frequency resources can be same (“the second set of time and frequency resources comprises one or more resources of the first set of time and frequency resources”), and Kenny discloses that feature when the reserved wireless channel (first set of time and frequency resources) and the wireless channel used for full duplex communication (second set of time and frequency resources) are same.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 12, 23, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kenney et al (US 20160065355 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kenny).
Re claim 1, Kenney teaches a method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (first communication device) (Fig. 3A-B, Fig. 4, Fig. 6A-C), comprising:
(i) transmitting control signaling (first portion/header portion of the first packet) to reserve a first set of time and frequency resources for a sidelink transmission (transmission of the first portion/header portion of the first packet reserves the wireless channel for continuous D2D transmission to the second communication device), the control signaling indicating one or more parameters (header portion indicating full duplex capability) indicative of a second set of time and frequency resources (based on full duplex capability indication, the reserved wireless channel is determined to be used for simultaneous transmission and reception) for performing a full- duplex communication with the first UE (simultaneous transmission and reception with the first communication device), wherein the second set of time and frequency resources comprises one or more resources of the first set of time and frequency resources (According to claim limitation, the first set of time and frequency resources and the second set of time and frequency resources can be same. In view of that, the reserved wireless channel (first set of time and frequency resources) and the wireless channel used for full duplex communication (second set of time and frequency resources) are same) (Fig. 3A-B, Fig. 4, Fig. 6A-C, Par 0037-0040, Par 0058, Par 0061, Par 0069, Par 0071, Par 0077, Par 0085-0087, Par 0089-0090, Par 0094-0098); and
(ii) communicating (remaining portion of the first packet) with a second UE (second communication device) based at least in part on the reserved first set of time and frequency resources (reserved wireless channel for D2D transmission) and the indicated one or more parameters associated with the second set of time and frequency resources (full duplex capability indicating simultaneous transmission and reception over the wireless channel) (Fig. 3A-B, Fig. 4, Fig. 6A-C, Par 0058, Par 0061, Par 0069, Par 0071, Par 0077, Par 0085-0087, Par 0089-0090, Par 0094-0098).
Claim 23 recites an apparatus performing the steps recited in claim 1 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Kenney further teaches that the apparatus comprises one or memories (memory, 227), and one or more processors (processor 225) coupled with the one or more memories (Fig. 2, Par 0043-0046).
Re claim 12, Kenney teaches a method for wireless communication (Fig. 3A-B, Fig. 4, Fig. 6A-C), comprising:
(i) Receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (first communication device), control signaling (first portion/header portion of the first packet) to reserve a first set of time and frequency resources for a sidelink transmission (transmission of the first portion/header portion of the first packet reserves the wireless channel for continuous D2D transmission from the first communication device), the control signaling indicating one or more parameters (header portion indicating full duplex capability) indicative of a second set of time and frequency resources (based on full duplex capability indication, the reserved wireless channel is determined to be used for simultaneous transmission and reception) for performing a full- duplex communication with the UE (simultaneous transmission and reception with the first communication device), wherein the second set of time and frequency resources comprises one or more resources of the first set of time and frequency resources (According to claim limitation, the first set of time and frequency resources and the second set of time and frequency resources can be same. In view of that, the reserved wireless channel (first set of time and frequency resources) and the wireless channel used for full duplex communication (second set of time and frequency resources) are same) (Fig. 3A-B, Fig. 4, Fig. 6A-C, Par 0037-0040, Par 0058, Par 0061, Par 0069, Par 0071, Par 0077, Par 0085-0087, Par 0089-0090, Par 0094-0098); and
(ii) communicating (transmitting second packet) with the UE (first communication device) based at least in part on the indicated one or more parameters associated with the second set of time and frequency resources (based on the full duplex capability indication, second packet is simultaneously transmitted while receiving the remaining portion of the first packet over the wireless channel) (Fig. 3A-B, Fig. 4, Fig. 6A-C, Par 0058, Par 0061, Par 0069, Par 0071, Par 0077, Par 0085-0087, Par 0089-0090, Par 0094-0098).
Claim 29 recites an apparatus performing the steps recited in claim 12 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 12. Kenney further teaches that the apparatus comprises one or memories (memory, 227), and one or more processors (processor 225) coupled with the one or more memories (Fig. 2, Par 0043-0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 4-5, 15-16, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenney as applied to claims 1, 12, 23, and 29 above and further in view of Yi et al (US 20190089502 A1, hereinafter referred to as Yi).
Re claims 4, 15, 26, Kenney does not explicitly disclose to determine the second set of time and frequency resources based at least in part on applying a threshold resource separation after each time and frequency resource of the first set of time and frequency resources, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the threshold resource separation.
Yi teaches to determine the second set of time and frequency resources based at least in part on applying a threshold resource separation after each time and frequency resource of the first set of time and frequency resources (duplex gap between two frequency subbands in subframe 1 (i.e., UE1 SL TX and UE2 SL TX, Fig. 12-13)), wherein the one or more parameters comprise the threshold resource separation (two frequency subbands in subframe 1 for sidelink communication (UE1 SL TX resource and UE2 SL TX resource) include the duplex gap) (Fig. 12-13, Par 0084, Par 0106, Par 0118-0120, Par 0130-0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Kenney by including the step to determine the second set of time and frequency resources based at least in part on applying a threshold resource separation after each time and frequency resource of the first set of time and frequency resources, wherein the one or more parameters comprise the threshold resource separation, as taught by Yi for the purpose of minimizing interference while performing simultaneous transmission and reception, as taught by Yi (Par 0084-0087, Par 0090, Par 0097, Par 0125).
Re claims 5, 16, 27, Kenney does not explicitly disclose that the threshold resource separation comprises a threshold number of physical resource blocks or a threshold number of subbands or both.
Yi teaches that the threshold resource separation comprises a threshold number of physical resource blocks or a threshold number of subbands or both (subband/RB corresponding to the duplex gap between the two SL frequency subbands in subframe 1 (i.e., UE1 SL TX and UE2 SL TX, Fig. 12-13)) (Fig. 5, Fig. 12-13, Par 0084, Par 0106, Par 0118-0120, Par 0130-0131)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Kenney by including the step that the threshold resource separation comprises a threshold number of physical resource blocks or a threshold number of subbands or both, as taught by Yi for the purpose of minimizing interference while performing simultaneous transmission and reception, as taught by Yi (Par 0084-0087, Par 0090, Par 0097, Par 0125).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARUN CHOWDHURY/Examiner, Art Unit 2473