DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “D1 does not contemplate the first SCI format indicating any information "for performing full- duplex communications with the second UE," as recited in independent claim 1. Thus, D1 cannot be relied upon to teach or suggest the features of independent claim 1. The Office Action has not shown that the other cited references overcome the deficiencies of D1. See Office Action, p. 3. For example, D2 describes determining a potential interference between two communications and then determining a duplex mode (either full or half) based on the potential interference”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitations were given a broad and reasonable interpretation. The claim limitation only requires receiving information for performing full duplex communication, but does not require information indicating full duplex communication, such as different beams, different frequencies/channels, etc. Therefore, the communication of first stage SCI clearly meets the requirement of the limitation. It should be noted that D1 discloses full duplex communication being performed by sidelink (0088, The PC5 interface re-uses existing frequency allocation, regardless of the duplex mode (frequency division duplex (FDD) or (time division duplex (TDD)). It should be noted that D2 discloses “determining a duplexing mode for the number of communications based on the identified set of beam configurations, and communicating with the at least one target device based on the identified set of beam configurations and the determined duplexing mode” (0006).
Claims 11 and 27 have been amended to mirror the argued limitation of claim 1, as shown above. The Applicant presented similar arguments for the amended claims. The same response is applied to the presented argument.
Therefore, all the claimed and argued limitations have been met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-26 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200336253 A1 herein D1 in view of US 20190140811 A1 herein D2.
Claim 1, D1 discloses A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a second UE, sidelink control information for performing full- duplex communications with the second UE, the sidelink control information comprising an indication of resources reserved by the second UE (0235, 0238) and an indication of one or more transmit beam directions associated with the resources reserved by the second UE (0238-0240, the first stage SCI);
receiving, via the resources reserved by the second UE, a first message using a first receive beam based at least in part on the sidelink control information (0238-0240, the second stage SCI).
D1 may not explicitly disclose transmitting, via the resources reserved by the second UE, a second message using a first transmit beam of the first UE, a direction of the first transmit beam being different from a direction of the first receive beam.
D2 discloses transmitting, via the resources reserved by the second UE, a second message using a first transmit beam of the first UE, a direction of the first transmit beam being different from a direction of the first receive beam (0106-0107). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include beam modes as taught by D2 so as to adapt beam transmission modes based on network conditions as determined from measurement reports (0005).
Claim 2, D1 discloses The method of claim 1. D1 may not explicitly disclose receiving the sidelink control information via a first transmit beam direction associated with the second UE; and determining the one or more transmit beam directions associated with the resources reserved by the second UE based at least in part on receiving the sidelink control information via the first transmit beam direction associated with the second UE.
D2 discloses receiving the sidelink control information via a first transmit beam direction associated with the second UE; and determining the one or more transmit beam directions associated with the resources reserved by the second UE based at least in part on receiving the sidelink control information via the first transmit beam direction associated with the second UE (0106-0107). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include beam modes as taught by D2 so as to adapt beam transmission modes based on network conditions as determined from measurement reports (0005).
Claim 3, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 4, D1 in view of D2 discloses The method of claim 2. D1 may not explicitly wherein the one or more transmit beam directions comprise a second transmit beam direction, the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions indicating the second transmit beam direction relative to the first transmit beam direction.
D2 discloses explicitly wherein the one or more transmit beam directions comprise a second transmit beam direction, the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions indicating the second transmit beam direction relative to the first transmit beam direction (0106-0107, 0072, beam direction based on reception strength). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include beam modes as taught by D2 so as to adapt beam transmission modes based on network conditions as determined from measurement reports (0005).
Claim 5, D1 in view of D2 discloses The method of claim 1. D1 discloses further comprising: determining a set of directions for transmitting the second message based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions associated with the resources reserved by the second UE, each direction of the set of directions being different from the direction of the first receive beam or directions adjacent to the direction of the first receive beam.
D2 discloses determining a set of directions for transmitting the second message based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions associated with the resources reserved by the second UE, each direction of the set of directions being different from the direction of the first receive beam or directions adjacent to the direction of the first receive beam (0106-0110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include beam modes as taught by D2 so as to adapt beam transmission modes based on network conditions as determined from measurement reports (0005).
Claim 6, D1 in view of D2 discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a set of resources for transmitting a third message concurrent with receiving the first message using the first receive beam, the set of resources comprising resources different from the resources reserved by the second UE, resources different from a second set of resources adjacent to the resources reserved by the second UE, or a combination thereof (as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1), and transmitting, via resources of the set of resources, the third message using a second transmit beam of the first UE, the direction of the second transmit beam being the direction of the first receive beam, a direction adjacent to the direction of the first receive beam, or a combination thereof (as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include beam modes as taught by D2 so as to adapt beam transmission modes based on network conditions as determined from measurement reports (0005).
Claim 7, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. The steps of claim 7 are obvious since the vehicle-to-vehicle communication can have multiple UEs communicating with each other and therefore resource reservation and transmission/reception will follow the same steps as disclosed in D1 and D2.
Claim 8, D1 in view of D2 discloses The method of claim 7. D1 discloses further comprising: selecting, based at least in part on receiving the second sidelink control information and the sidelink control information, resources for transmitting the second message from a set of resources different from the resources reserved by the second UE, the second resources reserved by the third UE, or a combination thereof (0096-0108; transmission/reception resource pool for multiple UEs used for assigning of resources to different UEs for transmission/reception).
Claim 9, D1 in view of D2 discloses The method of claim 1. D1 may not explicitly disclose further comprising: obtaining a set of interference measurements for a set of beam pairs, each interference measurement corresponding to a respective transmit beam and the first receive beam; identifying a first interference measurement of the set of interference measurements associated with a value lower than other interference measurements of the set of interference measurements; and selecting the first transmit beam from a plurality of transmit beams based at least in part on identifying the first interference measurement, the first interference measurement corresponding to a beam pair comprising the first transmit beam and the first receive beam.
D2 discloses obtaining a set of interference measurements for a set of beam pairs, each interference measurement corresponding to a respective transmit beam and the first receive beam (0049, interference based on overlapping transmit and receive beams); identifying a first interference measurement of the set of interference measurements associated with a value lower than other interference measurements of the set of interference measurements (0049, comparison of interferences); and selecting the first transmit beam from a plurality of transmit beams based at least in part on identifying the first interference measurement, the first interference measurement corresponding to a beam pair comprising the first transmit beam and the first receive beam (0049, selecting modes based on interferences and selecting beams based on interference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include beam modes as taught by D2 so as to adapt beam transmission modes based on network conditions as determined from measurement reports (0005).
Claim 10, D1 in view of D2 discloses The method of claim 1. D1 discloses further comprising: transmitting sidelink control information comprising an indication of second resources reserved by the first UE and an indication of one or more transmit beam directions associated with the resources reserved by the first UE (0238-0240, first and second stages).
Claim 12, D1 discloses The method of claim 11, further comprising: receiving second sidelink control information using a first receive beam, the second sidelink control information comprising an indication of resources reserved by a third UE, an indication of a second transmit beam direction associated with the third UE, or a combination thereof; and determining the one or more transmit beam directions associated with the resources reserved by the first UE based at least in part on receiving the second sidelink control information via the first receive beam (0096-0108; transmission/reception resource pool for multiple UEs used for assigning of resources to different UEs for transmission/reception).
Claim 13, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 14, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9.
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claims 2 and 10.
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect t the limitations as discussed in claim 1. D1 discloses one or more memories and one or more processors (Fig. 2: 260 and 240).
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect t the limitations as discussed in claim 2. D1 discloses an antenna array (0047, antenna array)
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect t the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect t the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 21, as analyzed with respect t the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 22, as analyzed with respect t the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
Claim 23, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 12.
Claim 24, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 8.
Claim 25, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9.
Claim 26, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 10.
Claim 28, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 12.
Claim 29, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 13.
Claim 30, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200336253 A1 herein D1.
Claim 11, D1 discloses A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting, to a second UE, sidelink control information for performing full-duplex communications with the second UE, the sidelink information comprising an indication of resources reserved by the first UE and an indication of one or more transmit beam directions associated with the resources reserved by the first UE (0235, 0238, first stage SCI);
transmitting, via the resources reserved by the first UE, a first message to the second UE using a first transmit beam, the first transmit beam having a first transmit beam direction based at least in part on the indication of the one or more transmit beam directions (0238-0240, second stage SCI).
Claim 27, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 11. D1 discloses one or more memories and one or more processors (Fig. 2: 260 and 240).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210058914 A1 - A method by which a terminal transmits a beam discovery signal in a wireless communication system includes: allowing a first terminal having acquired a sidelink synchronization to select a beam discovery resource from a beam discovery resource pool; and transmitting the beam discovery signal by using the beam discovery resource, wherein the selected beam discovery resource is different from the beam discovery resource selected by a second terminal. The UE is capable of communicating with at least one of another UE, a UE related to an autonomous driving vehicle, a base station or a network.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mehmood B. Khan whose telephone number is (571)272-9277. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:30 am-6:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419