DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see the section titled “35 U.S.C. 103(a) Obviousness Rejections” starting on page 5 of the reply filed 01/07/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Bonefas, in view of Faust and Liu, does not explicitly disclose the contents of amended claim 1, specifically determining a location of the receiving vehicle relative to the agricultural harvester, wherein the determined location of the receiving vehicle relative to the agricultural harvester comprises at least one pair of coordinates. However, the Examiner disagrees.
For example, in paragraphs [0087-0092], Bonefas discloses computing the relative location X.sub.1 of the forage harvester 10 and the transport vehicle 12 based on their GPS coordinates from their respective GPS units, or position-determining devices 72 and 76, and computing the relative location X.sub.2 of the first edge 19A of the container 16 to the transport vehicle 12 from the GPS coordinates and the 3D stereo measurements of the salient features of the front edge 19A of the container 18. The Examiner understands that GPS coordinates used in addition to the 3D stereo measurements comprise at least one pair of coordinates.
See also paragraph [0056] of Faust where Faust teaches that the inputs can also include a receiving vehicle position signal 408 indicating a geographic position of receiving vehicle 256 in a coordinate system and/or a harvesting machine position signal 410 indicating a position of harvesting machine 200 in the coordinate system.
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s opinion that Bonefas, in view of Faust and Liu, discloses the newly amended subject matter as claimed. See the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonefas (US 2017/0049053 A1), in view of Faust (US 2022/0095539 A1) and Liu (US 2019/0103026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bonefas discloses a system comprising:
an agricultural harvester (In paragraph [0028], Bonefas discloses a self-propelled harvesting machine 10) comprising:
a crop processor for reducing crop material to processed crop (In paragraph [0029], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes a harvesting attachment 28, in the form of a corn header attachment, which is affixed to an entry channel 30 on the front side 10A of the forage harvester 10, where crop plants 58 harvested from a field 34 by way of the harvesting attachment 28 are conveyed to a cutter head 36 via a gathering conveyor with pre-compression rollers located in the entry channel 30, and the cutter head 36 acts in this embodiment as a crop processing unit for processing the crop plants 58 received from the harvesting attachment 28, and hence chops them into small pieces and delivers them to a discharge accelerator 38);
an unloading conveyor for transferring a stream of processed crop out of the agricultural harvester (In paragraph [0030], Bonefas discloses that the crops discharged from the discharge accelerator 38 exit the harvesting machine 10 to the container 18 of a transport vehicle 12 via an adjustable transfer device 40 in the form of a discharge spout 45); and
a camera for capturing images of an area proximate the agricultural harvester and generating image data (In paragraph [0043], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes an optical image capture device 136, which is placed more or less in the middle of the adjustable transfer device 40 on its left or right or underside 40A (FIG. 1A), and during the harvesting operation, is aligned on the container 18 and is preferably implemented as a stereo-camera having two lenses 137 and two image sensors (not shown) arranged one above the other or side by side); and
a controller (In paragraph [0036], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes an electronic control unit 112 including a processor and memory) comprising:
at least one processor (In paragraph [0036], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes an electronic control unit 112 including a processor and memory); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon (In paragraph [0036], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes an electronic control unit 112 including a processor and memory) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the controller to:
receive the image data from the camera during a harvest operation (In paragraph [0043], Bonefas discloses that the electronic control unit 112 receives the signals from the optical image capture device 136 via an image processing system 138 that processes the image signals from a signal output of the optical image capture device 136 in order to extract the position of features of the container 18 of transport vehicle 12 within the field of view 135 of the optical image capture device 136);
identify, using only image data from the camera, a receiving vehicle from among a plurality of possible different receiving vehicles (In paragraph [0043], Bonefas discloses that the electronic control unit 112 receives the signals from the optical image capture device 136 via an image processing system 138 that processes the image signals from a signal output of the optical image capture device 136 in order to extract the position of features of the container 18 of transport vehicle 12 within the field of view 135 of the optical image capture device 136);
determine location and a size of the identified receiving vehicle in the image data (In paragraph [0048], Bonefas discloses that the distance between the discharge spout 45 of harvesting machine 10 (or the machine 10 itself, e.g. the rotation point of the discharge spout 45 around the vertical axis) and the front edge 19A of the container 18 can be derived from the signal of the image processing system 138 since the optical image capture device 136 is a stereo camera, or if the optical image capturing device 136 were a monocular camera, the size (pixels) of the near edge of the container 18 in the image could be used as an estimate for the mentioned distance; in paragraph [0115], Bonefas discloses that once a target is detected, a target tracking module 402 determines the pose trajectory of the target, such as the receiving vehicle 12 or the container 18, and in one embodiment, the tracking module computes trajectory with four degrees of freedom (3D position plus heading), together with the dimensions of the target (length, width and height), using the input data from the image capture device 136; see also paragraph [0046] where Bonefas discloses that since the optical image capture device 136 is a stereo camera, its signals allow to estimate a distance between the harvesting machine 10 and the container 18 and the height of the upper edges 19 of the container 18 over ground);
determine, using the location and the size of the receiving vehicle in the image data, a location of the receiving vehicle relative to the agricultural harvester, wherein the determined location of the receiving vehicle relative to the agricultural harvester comprises at least one pair of coordinates (In paragraph [0048], Bonefas discloses that the distance between the discharge spout 45 of harvesting machine 10 (or the machine 10 itself, e.g. the rotation point of the discharge spout 45 around the vertical axis) and the front edge 19A of the container 18 can be derived from the signal of the image processing system 138 since the optical image capture device 136 is a stereo camera, or if the optical image capturing device 136 were a monocular camera, the size (pixels) of the near edge of the container 18 in the image could be used as an estimate for the mentioned distance; in paragraph [0046], Bonefas discloses that the electronic control unit 112 controls actuators 46, 48, 52 according to the signal from the optical image capture device 136, processed by image processing system 138, wherein in the image from the optical image capture device 136, features are identified, for example the upper edge 19 of the container 18 (FIG. 1B), and the actuators 46, 48, 52 are controlled such that the crop flow expelled by the adjustable transfer device 40, hits the interior of the container 18, and a feedback for the impact point of the crop plants 58 on the container 18 can be derived from the image signal from the optical image capture device 136, and further, since the optical image capture device 136 is a stereo camera, its signals allow to estimate a distance between the harvesting machine 10 and the container 18 and the height of the upper edges 19 of the container 18 over ground, such that the actuators 46, 48 and 52 can be controlled according to a known kinematic model of the free crop flow downstream the adjustable transfer device 40; see also paragraphs [0087-0092] where Bonefas discloses computing the relative location X.sub.1 of the forage harvester 10 and the transport vehicle 12 based on their GPS coordinates from their respective GPS units, or position-determining devices 72 and 76, and computing the relative location X.sub.2 of the first edge 19A of the container 16 to the transport vehicle 12 from the GPS coordinates and the 3D stereo measurements of the salient features of the front edge 19A of the container 18); and
generate automated navigation data based on the location of the receiving vehicle, the automated navigation data to automatically control operation of at least one of the agricultural harvester and the receiving vehicle to align the unloading conveyor with the receiving vehicle (In paragraph [0046], Bonefas discloses that the electronic control unit 112 controls actuators 46, 48, 52 according to the signal from the optical image capture device 136, processed by image processing system 138, wherein in the image from the optical image capture device 136, features are identified, for example the upper edge 19 of the container 18 (FIG. 1B), and the actuators 46, 48, 52 are controlled such that the crop flow expelled by the adjustable transfer device 40, hits the interior of the container 18, and a feedback for the impact point of the crop plants 58 on the container 18 can be derived from the image signal from the optical image capture device 136, and further, since the optical image capture device 136 is a stereo camera, its signals allow to estimate a distance between the harvesting machine 10 and the container 18 and the height of the upper edges 19 of the container 18 over ground, such that the actuators 46, 48 and 52 can be controlled according to a known kinematic model of the free crop flow downstream the adjustable transfer device 40).
Although in paragraph [0110] Bonefas discloses that a “lazy evaluation” technique is commonly used to optimize machine learning pipelines and avoids the computation of extra features when an input windows is clearly classified as part of the background after only evaluating the first feature channel, Bonefas does not explicitly disclose applying a machine learning model to identify, using only image data from the camera, a receiving vehicle from among a plurality of possible different receiving vehicles; and
determining, using the location and the size of the receiving vehicle in the image data, a location of the receiving vehicle relative to the agricultural harvester by comparing known dimensions of the receiving vehicle with the size of the receiving vehicle in the image data.
However, Faust teaches applying a machine learning model to identify, using only image data from the camera, a receiving vehicle from among a plurality of possible different receiving vehicles (In paragraphs [0027-0028], Faust teaches that a camera 106 can be positioned to have a field of view that captures an image of the side portion 118 of trailer 116, and thus, the visual or optical features of the side portion of trailer 116 can be used to uniquely identify trailer 116, or at least to identify the type of the trailer 116, wherein the visual features can be detected using a computer vision analysis system, using a deep neural network, or using other image processing techniques and mechanisms for identifying visual features or characteristics in an image, a set of images, or a video).
Faust is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to the use of a machine learning model to identify a particular receiving vehicle for the receipt of material being transferred from a harvester. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Faust with the system as disclosed by Bonefas, where the use of machine-learning for image recognition is well understood in the art, and may be implemented without undue experimentation, and with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Doing so may be advantageous in that “Based on the unique trailer identifier or the type identifier, the settings values for the automatic cart filling control system can be obtained so that the cart is filled in a cart-specific way or in a cart type-specific way, depending upon whether the cart is uniquely identified or the cart type is identified” as suggested by Faust in paragraph [0027], thereby increasing the contextual sensitivity and accuracy of operation by the system, for example.
The combination of Bonefas and Faust does not explicitly disclose determining, using the location and the size of the receiving vehicle in the image data, a location of the receiving vehicle relative to the agricultural harvester by comparing known dimensions of the receiving vehicle with the size of the receiving vehicle in the image data.
However, Liu teaches determining, using the location and the size of the receiving vehicle in the image data, a location of the receiving vehicle relative to the agricultural harvester by comparing known dimensions of the receiving vehicle with the size of the receiving vehicle in the image data (In paragraph [0043], Liu teaches depth estimation according to an embodiment, where the tracker 330 uses a pinhole camera model to estimate the depth “Z” (distance) from a vehicle at point C to another object, where “f” represents the focal length of an image sensor of a client device 110 with the vehicle 140 and the other object may be another vehicle having a width “Y” (e.g., approximately 1.8 meters), and in some embodiments, the tracker 330 may use a lookup table to determine the expected width “Y,” height, or aspect ratio of a vehicle based on a type of the vehicle, and based on trigonometry, the tracker 330 may output a bounding box at point “p” having a width y=f*Y/Z, and thus, the tracker 330 determines the depth to be Z=f*Y/y).
Liu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to utilizing the scale of a vehicle in a captured image with its known dimensions in order to determine its relative location. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Liu with the system as disclosed by the combination of Bonefas and Faust, where the Examiner understands that the taught image recognition technique is well understood in the art, and may be implemented without undue experimentation, and with a reasonable expectation of success and with predictable results. Doing so may be advantageous in that the detection of the vehicle and subsequent determination of location may be performed utilizing already known information such as its expected width, increasing efficiency of the calculation, for example.
Regarding claim 3, Faust further teaches the machine learning model comprising a deep learning model (In paragraphs [0027-0028], Faust teaches that a camera 106 can be positioned to have a field of view that captures an image of the side portion 118 of trailer 116, and thus, the visual or optical features of the side portion of trailer 116 can be used to uniquely identify trailer 116, or at least to identify the type of the trailer 116, wherein the visual features can be detected using a computer vision analysis system, using a deep neural network, or using other image processing techniques and mechanisms for identifying visual features or characteristics in an image, a set of images, or a video).
Regarding claim 4, Bonefas further discloses the agricultural harvester further comprising an electromagnetic detecting and ranging module (In paragraph [0043], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes an optical image capture device 136, which is placed more or less in the middle of the adjustable transfer device 40 on its left or right or underside 40A (FIG. 1A), and during the harvesting operation, is aligned on the container 18 and is preferably implemented as a stereo-camera having two lenses 137 and two image sensors (not shown) arranged one above the other or side by side),
wherein the controller further comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the controller to:
receive data from the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module (In paragraph [0043], Bonefas discloses that the electronic control unit 112 receives the signals from the optical image capture device 136 via an image processing system 138 that processes the image signals from a signal output of the optical image capture device 136 in order to extract the position of features of the container 18 of transport vehicle 12 within the field of view 135 of the optical image capture device 136); and
generate the automated navigation data based on the location of the receiving vehicle and the data from the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module (In paragraph [0046], Bonefas discloses that the electronic control unit 112 controls actuators 46, 48, 52 according to the signal from the optical image capture device 136, processed by image processing system 138, wherein in the image from the optical image capture device 136, features are identified, for example the upper edge 19 of the container 18 (FIG. 1B), and the actuators 46, 48, 52 are controlled such that the crop flow expelled by the adjustable transfer device 40, hits the interior of the container 18, and a feedback for the impact point of the crop plants 58 on the container 18 can be derived from the image signal from the optical image capture device 136, and further, since the optical image capture device 136 is a stereo camera, its signals allow to estimate a distance between the harvesting machine 10 and the container 18 and the height of the upper edges 19 of the container 18 over ground, such that the actuators 46, 48 and 52 can be controlled according to a known kinematic model of the free crop flow downstream the adjustable transfer device 40).
Faust further teaches wherein the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module is for detecting at least one of a fill level and a distribution of grain in the receiving vehicle (In paragraphs [0022], [0033], and [0038], Faust teaches that forage harvester 100 includes an automatic cart filling control system (described in greater deal below) that uses a camera 106 mounted on the spout 108, which captures an image of the receiving area 112 of cart 102, wherein the harvesting machine may include sensors 206 such as a LIDAR (light detection and ranging) sensor 228 and/or a RADAR sensor 23 that may be alternatively utilized to perform the same function as optical sensor(s) 220 that capture stereo images that can be processed to identify a distance of receiving vehicle 256 from harvesting machine 200; in paragraphs [0018], [0023], and [0026], Faust teaches that the sensing system can gauge the height of harvested material in cart 102, and the location of that material, and thus automatically control the position of spout 108 to direct the trajectory of material 110 into the receiving area 112 of cart 102 to obtain an even fill throughout the entire length of cart 102, while not overfilling cart 102), and
wherein the received data from the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module indicates the at least one of the fill level and the distribution of grain in the grain bin of the receiving vehicle (In paragraphs [0018], [0023], and [0026], Faust teaches that the sensing system can gauge the height of harvested material in cart 102, and the location of that material, and thus automatically control the position of spout 108 to direct the trajectory of material 110 into the receiving area 112 of cart 102 to obtain an even fill throughout the entire length of cart 102, while not overfilling cart 102).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further implement these teachings of Faust, where doing so allows the harvester to “automatically aim the spout toward empty spots and control the flap position to achieve a more even fill, while reducing spillage” in the receiving vehicle as suggested by Faust in paragraph [0018], which advantageously improves the efficiency in storing and transporting the material by the receiving vehicle, for example.
Regarding claim 5, Bonefas further discloses wherein the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module is configured to perform a two-dimensional scan (In paragraph [0043], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes an optical image capture device 136, which is placed more or less in the middle of the adjustable transfer device 40 on its left or right or underside 40A (FIG. 1A), and during the harvesting operation, is aligned on the container 18 and is preferably implemented as a stereo-camera having two lenses 137 and two image sensors (not shown) arranged one above the other or side by side; see also paragraphs [0079-0080] and [0086-0087], Bonefas discloses that a stereo camera captures the salient features from the video and 3D data near the front edge 19A of the container 18 and use it as the tracking template; the Examiner understands that even in a case where the stereo camera is used to obtain 3D data, the 3D scan includes at least scans in lower number of dimensions, including at least a two-dimensional scan).
Regarding claim 6, Bonefas further discloses wherein the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module is configured to perform a three-dimensional scan (In paragraph [0043], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes an optical image capture device 136, which is placed more or less in the middle of the adjustable transfer device 40 on its left or right or underside 40A (FIG. 1A), and during the harvesting operation, is aligned on the container 18 and is preferably implemented as a stereo-camera having two lenses 137 and two image sensors (not shown) arranged one above the other or side by side; in paragraphs [0079-0080] and [0086-0087], Bonefas discloses that a stereo camera captures the salient features from the video and 3D data near the front edge 19A of the container 18 and use it as the tracking template).
Regarding claim 7, Faust further teaches wherein the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module comprises a light detecting and ranging (LiDAR) module (In paragraphs [0033] and [0038], Faust teaches wherein the harvesting machine may include sensors 206 such as a LIDAR (light detection and ranging) sensor 228 and/or a RADAR sensor 23 that may be alternatively utilized to perform the same function as optical sensor(s) 220 that capture stereo images that can be processed to identify a distance of receiving vehicle 256 from harvesting machine 200).
Regarding claim 8, Faust further teaches wherein the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module comprises a radio detecting and ranging (RADAR) module (In paragraphs [0033] and [0038], Faust teaches wherein the harvesting machine may include sensors 206 such as a LIDAR (light detection and ranging) sensor 228 and/or a RADAR sensor 23 that may be alternatively utilized to perform the same function as optical sensor(s) 220 that capture stereo images that can be processed to identify a distance of receiving vehicle 256 from harvesting machine 200).
Regarding claim 9, Bonefas discloses wherein the electromagnetic detecting and ranging module is mounted at an end of the unloading conveyor distal a body of the agricultural harvester (In paragraph [0043], Bonefas discloses that the harvesting machine 10 includes an optical image capture device 136, which is placed more or less in the middle of the adjustable transfer device 40 on its left or right or underside 40A (FIG. 1A)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Herman (US 2016/0183463 A1) teaches a control arrangement and method for controlling a position of a transfer device of a harvesting machine.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRISON HEFLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665